Top 100 Airlines  

Vancouver Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 187 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"waited for 10 minutes and none arrived"

(Canada)

My wife and I recently arrived from Mexico. We are both handicapped with mobility issues needing wheelchair assistance for longer walks. Since we were walking with the aid of a luggage cart we were told not to go to the wheelchair entrance but the regular line having to stand with difficulty for about 20-25 minutes to get through customs. Once we were through customs were were transported to the waiting area before boarding our plane. In Cancun we had 2 wheelchairs waiting for us at the airplane door. Two attendants transported us on our wheelchairs through customs, they picked up our luggage and dropped us off at our bus. When leaving Cancun we were met at the bus by two attendants with wheelchairs. Again they took our luggage. Took us through customs and were wheeled to the loading area at our gate. When it was time to load the plane they wheeled us to the entrance of the plane. Arriving back in Vancouver we had one wheelchair waiting and the called for another. We we transported by golf cart from the exit ramp of the plane to our luggage pickup and told that was a far as he goes. The driver said he would call for 2 wheelchairs. We waited for 10 minutes and none arrived. Found an attendant and we were told we have to go to our airline desk which was closed to get chairs. Found two wheelchairs in the area but they were locked up. We made our way to the bus pickup. I suggest that the personnel at the airport take a lesson from the Mexicans on how to treat and serve people.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not a good start to our long journey"

(United Kingdom)

Skipped breakfast to arrive with plenty of time for lunch before our 11hr flight from Vancouver to London Gatwick. There were no restaurant or bar facilities in D Gate, so our meal options consisted of Burgers, Subway, Hanami or Pizza Slices, not really substantial enough for a long haul flight. This was due to refurbishment of all the bar and restaurants. Ridiculous for an International airport. I noted that all these facilities where available across a walkway to E Gate (USA Flights), but we were prohibited from crossing just to eat. Not good enough. Why refurbish them all at once? Not a good start to our long journey home.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"process was quick and easy"

(United Kingdom)

Excellent transit as usual at Vancouver airport. I had separate airline bookings so I had to exit the secure area and check in again, and the process was quick and easy. The food is great, but as of June 2016 the international departures section was getting work done on its restaurants, so the selection was below what it usually is.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"alternative arrangements could be made"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flying back to UK had a flight delay of 3 and a half hours, there was nowhere to get a beer or glass of wine. The bar was closed for refurbishment. A big international airport in a big city like Vancouver with one bar beggars belief. Surely if a facility is going to be closed for some time alternative arrangements could be made.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"it is dysfunctional"

(Canada)

Vancouver may be shiny and clean, but it is dysfunctional, and filled with workers who are unsure of what to do. The security lines are long and slow. We were in transit for more than 2 hours, and still almost missed our connecting flight. As one of the flagship airports in Canada, YVR, you need to pull your socks up.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"top 5 worst airport experiences"

(United States)

Vancouver is in the top 5 worst airport experiences. Began with the arrival at the international terminal. The traffic router at the curb wanted to deny the bus unloading access. After suitable remonstration the driver prevailed. In the airport we moved our luggage to an American Airlines kiosk for check-in. A helpful agent assisted in tagging the bags and securing the boarding passes. That's when the fun started. She directed us to the baggage check-in counter. To our total amazement, the clerks there were simply weighing the baggage and ensuring the tags were properly affixed and matched the boarding pass. Then they simply directed us to get in the line behind the counter and haul our own bags somewhere further on. They did not accept the bags and load them onto a belt to a baggage handling area. We have never encountered such a system. So we got into a serpentine line that through a series of temporary barriers had a few hundred fellow travelers. Apparently 3 out of 4 baggage belts were not operating and we had to take them to the one that was operating. Security took a while once we had finally surrendered our bags to the conveyor (and they did arrive with us at our final destination). Then we had the US Customs and Border Patrol process with all of its redundancy, but that's not Vancouver Airport's problem. Finally we were enroute to the gate. The terminal has some odd numbering schemes for gates that require rapt attention to ensure, despite being on a relatively linear setup, that you are proceeding to the correct one. A very long walk with only a couple of short mobile walkways. They do have plugins for charging devices, some food vendors and the typical airport shops. Still, an unusual layout not particularly helpful for first time visitors. If I can avoid it, I'll never go through Vancouver airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a smooth departure"

(China)

Vancouver Airport is busy but check-in and security lines are smooth. Airport has large shopping facilities to cater for a large contingency of Chinese shoppers. Resting space is adequate and I used the Plaza Premium lounge. Easy transportation to airport via the train from downtown. It was a smooth departure.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"signage is perfect"

(New Caledonia)

This airport is clean, bright and very welcoming with the traditional first nations art installed everywhere through the arrival and departure terminals. You feel like taking pictures everywhere to save these wonderful sculptures and artworks as souvenirs of your travels. The signage is perfect, and I had no queue at all getting to the immigration.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"clean and easy airport"

(New Caledonia)

Clean and easy airport, with some traditional sculptures to welcome you to this part of the world. Strong and efficient Wi-Fi, and many shops, cafés and bars to spend extra time in if you have some. The observation area is a good place to watch the planes or wait for friend/family members flight to take off or land. Once you are in the security zone, you will find many comfortable benches and some power outlets to charge your electronic device.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"took over an hour"

(Canada)

It took over an hour to drive through just to pay and exit parking lot. This is the worst parking lot experience I have encountered. One attendent on for 40-50 cars in a line - get an automated system. The airports charge an arm and a leg to use this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no