Vancouver Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 177 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"There were endless queues"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | My first time leaving Canada for the US and it has put me off ever flying through Canada to the US ever again. My experience here left me feeling like I was in the third world. There were endless queues that only ended in more queues. It took me just shy of two hours to get through security and customs. This airport needs to rethink their systems and procedures as they are a joke.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"has lost site of two critical aspects"

(Canada)

Not Verified | This review is not specific to any one trip, it is an overall review on arrivals and bag claim. YVR for all it's impressive space and art has lost site of two critical aspects that no other airport in the world seems to have lost site of: 1). When you are asking people to walk incredible distances from gate arrivals to customs. 2). Often a 45 minute plus wait for baggage to arrive at baggage carousels is simply inexplicable. By the time you've cleared customs (30 min/ walk to custom, then clearance) you now have to stand around and wait ridiculous lengths of times. This doesn't happen in the busiest hubs in the World. Get rid of the art and décor - get practical, get people on with their final destination. Painful.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very long line not moving at all"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Air Canada flight 1831 on Dec 6, 2017. After checking our bags, we arrived at the security screening room where there was 1 screening lane open. The only travelers getting through were Nexus card holders. Waited over an hour with the very long line not moving at all. Attempted to call over the Manager that was standing at the back of the room but he wouldn't come and discuss the situation. The young man at the head of our line controlling the flow of Nexus passengers was downright rude. Blamed budget cuts on the delay. After several passengers started yelling out, they finally opened a second screening lane. Rude, inefficient and arrogant. Worst treatment of any airport anywhere.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Completely out of control"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Air Canada flight 1830, Dec 20. Arrived at Customs which was crowded and getting filled quickly. Staff had failed to set up pathways properly - dead ends, shortcuts, lineups through the automated check out kiosks, so some passengers were shortcutting. Completely out of control. It was like they had never done this before. Thought this was a world class airport, but not the last 2 times I came through here.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"a great airport to travel through"

(Canada)

Not Verified | YVR is a great airport to travel through when departing and arriving. Lineups are short, staff are helpful and the airport features modern architecture with lots of art designed by local artists. The wifi at this airport is both fast and easy to connect to and terminal directions are simple and logical. The many services at this airport along with the incredible airport atmosphere makes this airport easy to recommend.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Come on get the process figured out"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I arrived on AC34 from Sydney Australia, 7.20am, Nov 30th. Then walked the up/down route to get to the Immigration/Customs clearance. I would think that someone could have designed this airport better, having to go Up/Down stairs (they have escalator too) instead of on one level! But this isn't the worst part. Immigration/Customs clearance with the new computer terminals, where they scan your passport then you need to line your face in a narrow scan on the screen but the camera is up higher than where you are looking, so fail! After that you spend at least 1 to 2 hrs snaking back and forth to see an agent, whoever looks after this process needs to visit Australia. Sydney Airport where they put through a higher numbers of passengers. It took me 3 mins in Sydney once I arrived at the Immigration/Customs clearance area. Come on get the process figured out.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
4/10

"lots of seating and nice washroom facilities"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I was flying out of Vancouver airport to Brisbane. My flight was scheduled to depart at 12.30am from gate D50. Unfortunately where gate D50 seemed to be located was in a far corner of the internationals terminal (You turned left immediately after the main security line). The only flights that were boarding in this area of the departures was the 2 Air Canada flights to Australia that night. There were no restaurants or bars nearby and the only shop that was open was a newsagent that also had a small 9 table area where a lady was serving either 'Red or White'. I did go for a glass of the red, as that was the only thing that was around. However, we did take a quick walk towards the main part of the international terminal once we got through security, which looked like there were a few more options that were still open at that time of night. It was about a 10 minute walk back to our gate so we didn't want to go too far. The terminal did have lots of seating and nice washroom facilities. I just wish we had a better gate number that was more central in the international terminal. If you do plan to enjoy yourself at this airport just give yourself lots of time in the case that you get assigned gate D50 for departure.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"45 minutes for airport staff to locate my wife"

(South Africa)

Unverified | LHR TO YYV via YVR. Had requested assistance due to age and infirmity. Self 85, wife 72. Usually assistance is provided and works like a charm with both my wife and I being transported through the airport together. Not in Vancouver! Very slick (important) male said my wife must find her own way to departure counters. It took 45 minutes for airport staff to locate my wife and bring her to the gate where I was waiting. On our return flights things were as they should have been on the first flights. Just shows how one overzealous person can get an airport a bad reputation.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"extreme long waiting times"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | The worst ever experience on any western continent Airport! Flying in from Salt Lake City on September 1 and flying out the same day to Amsterdam. Thousands of passengers did experience the same as we did. It was horrible, hot, no fresh air, unorganized, and extreme long waiting times. We needed to go through customs for no reason at all when you are in transit. We needed also an ESTA form and pay for it. The baggage was not forwarded. The check in procedure was exhausting. We were treated as animals and separated from Canadians and Americans. Never again via Vancouver!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"2 hours to get through"

(United States)

Verified Review | Worst inbound customs and immigration lines, and the worst experience I've ever had in an airport. Yes, worse than Bangkok without fast track, worse than Moscow. Budget for at least 2 hours to get through.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no