Tokyo Narita Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 213 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"airport was easily navigated"

(Indonesia)

Not Verified | Narita was designed to cater international flights only, and it's located further out of the city than Haneda. I would pick Haneda in a heartbeat, as Narita will only be good for transit purpose should you travel to/from US/CA to any other destinations. The transportation options to get to the city are limited and all are expensive. Taxi is horribly expensive (talk about hundreds of dollars) and will only be good so long if your destination is not blanketed with traffic jam. NEX is another fast and direct option, which cost a fraction of cab but still will cost you US$30 one way. The airport was easily navigated so it's a plus point.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"degradation in terms of quality"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The below applies to Narita Terminal 2 as of November 2017. Having lived 5+ years in Japan in 2012, I used to enjoy the calm and quality of Tokyo Narita. However in recent years, the airport has shown a significant degradation in terms of quality. This includes: lengthy security check despite using the Fast lane, single gift shop overcrowded and unable to cope with the recent influx of Chinese tourists (20+ minutes to check out!). Staff constantly addressing in Chinese regardless of the customer, poor choice of food at the business lounge (measly choice of completely dried out pastries). Old/dark terminal with unappealing shops layout. Compared to newer terminals Narita used to be miles ahead from western airports but has now fallen behind pretty much any airport I have been to recently. The airport management seems to solely dedicate its efforts to cater for their growing Chinese customers. It would be wise not to forget other customers especially business ones and provide a real Japanese experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"very fast and efficient"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Super easy airport to access from Tokyo using the Skyliner. Perhaps the easiest check-in experience we have had at any international airport. Security and immigration very fast and efficient. Did not spend much time looking through the retail airside but seemed extensive. Multiple lounge choices in Terminal 2 but a bit underwhelmed with the JAL First Class Lounge.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"one of the best airports I've visited"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | Very nice airport. On arrival fast and smooth immigration procedure. Baggage was already on belts, when we arrived there. Good information about transport to Tokyo and well organised. On departure, our check-in took a bit longer (we immediately recieved a free candy from observant staff. Staff very friendly and kind and helpful. Plenty of shoping and dinning options with good prices. Very clean. Comparable to Haneda (second Tokyo airport), one of the best airports I've visited (if not the best).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"a most impressive airport"

(Australia)

Verified Review | We landed at the furthest gate of the satellite terminal but after 7 hours on the aircraft I welcomed the walk through a deserted facility. Despite the walk we went from aircraft to Limosuine bus stop in 30 minutes. Extremely efficient formalities and baggage delivery in a very clean and organized terminal. I struggled to believe how quiet it was on arrival at 6.00pm on a Friday. Departure on a Sunday morning was busier but equally quick. Overall a most impressive airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"excellent airport as usual"

(France)

Unverified | Transit from Noumea to Paris: excellent airport as usual (5th time in Narita). The airport is clean, luminous with a lot of shops. I have appreciated the traditionnal stores and museum to taste Japanese culture during transit time. Narita is one of my favourite airports in the world.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"everything is clean, tidy and orderly"

(Japan)

Verified Review | First time using the domestic terminal 3 at Narita. Similar to the other two terminals at Narita that I've used previously in that everything is clean, tidy and orderly. Easy to understand and follow the directions and signposts and generally a stress free experience. It's a little far away from the city center in that it takes approx 60-80 minutes on the coach depending on traffic but once at the airport it's a fuss free and customer friendly terminal with helpful and calm staff.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"one of the cleanest airports"

(Japan)

Verified Review | I had a good experience at this airport which is one of the cleanest airports in my opinion. There are several types of food and beverages from Western style to Japanese traditional style which means everyone could find their favorite food in there. Another good point is duty free shopping mall, where many high quality products are sold. The immigration process was fast and comfortable for me. In future, I hope come back to this airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"Wonderful airport"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Wonderful airport! If possible, I always try to transit in Narita on my flights from Asia to the US. I never worry about a short transit of 90 minutes. Narita is efficient, friendly and systematic, everything you would expect from Japanese service standards. The return transit to Asia is always 3 hours and I never tire of exploring the shops and cafes. Love it that € and $ are accepted. The wifi is easy to connect to and it is free and reliable. If only other international airports could follow the exceptional standards of Narita!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"works extremely well"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Narita is clean, efficient, friendly staff, good signing. A perfect synthesis of Japan's well organized society. The airport is not very close to Tokyo, correct, but the comfy limousine bus services are very frequent, easy to use, and provide direct connections to the city's major hotels at affordable pices (28 USD / 25 EUR), with excellent free onboard wifi, and through a 60 minutes ride only. I spent more time reaching my hotels from LHR, JFK, CDG. Excellent catering when leaving through Narita T2, but better do so before than after security. Maybe a "grey" and somewhat dull airport, but do not be afraid of Narita, as an airport it works extremely well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes