Tenerife Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 28 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"my gripe is lack of information"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Dreadful 19 hour delay, caused by the weather, but my gripe is lack of information, and no provisions supplied for a delay of that length given by the airport, all the shops shut apart from one which couldn’t cope and run out of almost everything. Our vouchers when we got them for food couldn’t be used for sometime as they had problems with the WiFi. Regardless of if it was our travel agent Thomas Cook lack of information supplied to the airport staff I don’t feel they were helpful enough and were actually quite dismissive when myself and other passengers asked for help. The toilets became very dirty and ran out of toilet paper, I can’t believe there is no plan for such emergency situations where so many flights are cancelled.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"a good experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrival all ok, biometric passport readers in use, work well but as none are standard it can take some time to get through. Fingerprint is also required. Odd part was no immigration on departure. Bags a little slow to be delivered but overall a good experience. Departure, great space and facilities at check in hall, shops restaurants etc, security loud but efficient, after security huge duty free shops, and in fairness good choice of eating and drinking, just not enough seating area. Gates had very few seats so everyone stays in the cafeteria seat hanging on until flights called so it’s very difficult to find anywhere to sit with your drink and food, and given the limited choice on flights these days the airport facilities are in great demand prior to flights, just doesn’t seem the airport can adapt.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
8/10

"A tale of two halves"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This review is for Tenerife South Reina Sofia airport. A tale of two halves. Arrival experience wasn't great. They insist on sending people through complicated automated passport readers (including thumb print) which seem to fail with every other person and need around three employees monitoring them. However once through the experience is OK. Departures completely different and most pleasurable. The range of shops and eating places is good and the security was well manned, pleasant personnel, and all lanes open. UK airports should take note of this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"he was screaming at me again"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We got off the plane and headed for passport control. With a biometric passports we chose the automated checks. There was a slightly different system to what I’ve come across before in that you also place you finger on a pad that records your fingerprint. This is then used at another set of gates manned by a passport policeman. At the said gate you place your finger on the pad then proceed through the gate. As far as I’m aware there were no visible instructions in English. When I got there what I didn’t realise is that the gates hadn’t closed after the previous person had passed through, I placed my finger on the pad and walked through the gate to find the policeman screaming at me at the top of his voice "get behind the door woman". I had no idea what I had done wrong so went back, put my finger on the pad and stepped through the gate (which still hadn’t closed) and he was screaming at me again "get behind the door woman". I did not know what to do. I looked behind me and the gates had now closed so now I was stuck like a rabbit in the headlights with this man screaming at me. Eventually the system must have caught up and verified my fingertip and I was allowed through. My initial reaction was anger but by the time we got to the luggage hall I was in bits. Normally a confidant person I cannot believe how much this has affected me. I stood there in the middle of the airport and cried. I would gladly have got a plane straight back home. Other travellers actually came up to me and said that the way I had been treated was disgusting but what can I do. At this moment in time I don’t feel like ever travelling abroad again and I seriously doubt that I will ever come to Tenerife again but who knows. This experience has definitely knocked the stuffing out of me.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"I have never felt so humiliated"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I have never felt so humiliated or had my dignity so fully removed as I did on my way home from Tenerife. I am in a wheelchair and with my family being young I hate complete strangers pushing me preferring my husband or father to do it. I was refused this at the airport with them insisting they took me through and yes they say it’s quicker but I’d prefer to be treated like any other person and wait to go through. It’s a vital service for people who don’t have someone with them to help but there were ten of us so I wasn’t short of assistance from family and they were so busy it took 45 minutes to get someone to take me through when I could have done this without their assistance thus freeing the staff up to help people who needed them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"No warnings were given"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Returning on 29th December from a Thomson "Dream" cruise, return flight to Luton, I had my wallet stolen during the rush of retrieving two suitcases from the coach, no Thomson staff present, I first noticed wallet missing as we were waiting in line to check-in. Later during police interview a further two men arrived from two further Thomson cruise coaches, this time for flights to Manchester and then a further coach for a flight to Glasgow. All three of us were bumped/jostled by a woman at the time of suitcase retrieval. No warnings were given by Thomson of problems at the airport but clearly coaches are being targeted by pickpockets, Thomson staff are not to be seen on the return coach journey. Local police had pictures of suspected females but too few staff to stop it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"large and clear signs"

(Norway)

Verified Review | I would like to thank Air Europa check-in personnel for their professional work. They were polite and warm at all times. Very good a/c temperature, lots of natural light and large and clear signs to move around the airport. It was very difficult to find a portable electronic devise power plug. Very nice 'barraquito' coffee.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"rude and unacceptable behaviour"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | A dirty airport with aggressive security staff that pushed me across airport security as they wanted to close. Very rude and unacceptable behaviour. It's not that I'm slow, I was just trying to get my laptop out of its bag but not quick enough for security. The seating was disgusting and was full of food left by by passengers. A nice island though.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Cannot fault them"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We as a family were travelling with our son who has a disability. We had booked special assistance and were taken very good care of by the special assistance team. Cannot fault them, they made sure our son was taken care of right from check in through to boarding. Very pleasant and friendly staff. Airport was also clean and had plenty of available seating with a good viewing area for my oldest son to watch the planes. The only downside was nothing to do with the airport at all. The looks, moans and groans from fellow Brits was pretty shameful. Clearly because my son does not have a visible disability they felt the need to moan and complain despite being with a special assistance walker. We were last off the plane at our destination, didn't matter to us because we know it doesn't make much difference at passport control. Why do people want to be first off? The bundling and pushing and shoving was laughable. Mainly because it gets no one anywhere quicker. We still got our bags before those first off. I'd definitely recommend this airport if you require special assistance. You just have to ignore the ignorant that are in a hurry to get on and off the same plane you are getting onto, it's much less stressful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"rude, surly and aggressive security staff"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Condemned to spend 7 hours in airport on 8 December, flight delayed, not a good experience. Experienced rude, surly and aggressive security staff. Made no attempt to explain, just gabbled in Spanish and pointed. Staff at information desk ignored me for ages chatting amongst themselves and looking at their phone. Total lack of information.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 28 Reviews