Tampa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 44 reviews
7/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Suggest to fly into Orlando"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Have been flying in and out of TPA for 15+ years. The experience was always a pleasant one. After landing, take the tram to the luggage area, get you bags, cross the street and pick up your rental car. The current set-up requires that after bag pick up - drag your luggage across the room, take an escalator up for 3 flights, drag your luggage to another tram, ride a run away twisting bumping tram for at least 5 minutes to the car rental counters (at least 2 stops on the tram), drag your luggage to the rental counter, take the escalator down 2-3 flights, drag your luggage to another rental car counter to get the car keys, and finally drag your luggage to the car. This entire process took over 1:30 hours. My 1,000 mile flight from Newark to Tampa took 2:21 hours, my 5 mile track to the car rental took 1:30 hours. Suggest for future flights is to fly into Orlando and drive the 1 .5 hours from Orlando to Tampa
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a total disaster in terms of customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have been traveling through this airport since the early 1980's. The airport was clearly well designed from the start with a central hub supporting multiple airsides via automated trams. The system worked and worked well for many years. After 911, the main long term parking terminal was closed and a remote long term parking garage was built away from the main terminal. It wasn't a great solution, but the shuttle buses ran quickly and delivered you right to the correct airside. Later, the original long term parking area was reopened with increased pricing. The new remote site was renamed "economy parking", though at $10 per day it was hardly economy. But that price was better than the $18 per day of the reopened long term garage. So, for many years I would park in the economy garage then ride the shuttle to the main terminal. From there I would check-in at curbside and take the tram over to my airside. Recently the airport has undergone major revisions which include a monorail system that joins the economy garage to the main terminal. Also, a new centralized car rental facility has been built which is next to the economy garage and also served by the monorail. The result is a total disaster in terms of customer service. I don't know who designed this mess, but I can tell they have no idea how to move people through an airport facility. First you must find parking in the economy garage, which isn't easy because the space inventory system is now broken. There used to be signs that would tell you how many spaces were on each floor. Apparently the new construction broke that system, so good luck finding a space. Next you have to take the elevator down to the first floor, even though the monorail is located on the 4th floor. Then, you drag your luggage to the middle of the garage road and jump on the moving floor system. Yes, they mounted the moving floor in the middle of the garage's shuttle roadway. Not on the sidewalk (where they have plenty of room), but right in the lowest part of the garage where surely the Florida rains will short circuit the machinery. The moving floor thing will slowly take you to the opposite side of the garage where a new elevator systems has been installed. Where next? No problem in deciding, there are only 2 floors to select. So now you go back up to the 4th floor to wait for the monorail. And wait, and wait. There appear to be only two trains and one was broken. Once on the train, prepare for a wild ride. First the train drops 4 floors and accelerates as it follows the access road to the main terminal. People and luggage fly about as the train dips and weaves at high speed. I'm sure injuries have already occurred due to this new system. As it approaches the main terminal, the train climbs quickly and stops abruptly at the station. If you've survived this far, you must now drag your luggage to the escalator for a trip down 3 floors. Now good luck finding your airline counter. If you're flying Southwest then you're in luck, it's the first one you find. Other airlines are scattered around and the signage isn't so good. Prepare for a lot of wandering around. Once you check-in, you now ride another escalator up and find that you are nowhere near your airside tram station. So, more walking to find the correct station and ride the tram over to your airside. In my case, the airside has been redesigned (which means less space and more expensive restaurants).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Much better before remodel"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Not enough places to eat. Much better before remodel. Lines are extremely long. Food and drinks expensive. $20 for a glass of house wine? This was in terminal C. Not sure what the other terminals are like. No complaints about the rest of the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"it used to be a great experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have been flying in and out of Tampa for years and it used to be a great experience. The checking in and screening process are better than at most airports I know. One of the features of the airport I always enjoyed, was the availability of good restaurants, both in the terminal, before screening, and at the gate area. Last year the airport started to "remodel" the terminal and all of these nice restaurants were gone. I figured they would be back after the construction was over, but not only are they still doing construction a year later, the nice restaurants are gone, even in the gate area, and all they now offer is Chinese and fast food. They destroyed the whole pre-boarding experience, especially since you have to come to the airport early for your flight. The only place you can get a decent meal now, is in the airport hotel Marriott restaurant.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
10/10

"stress-free environment"

(Canada)

Best airport we have been to. Stress-free environment, easy to maneuver, people are friendly and helpful. Lots of seating, clean, quiet. Very smart of Tampa to put smoking areas after security checkpoints. Smokers can go through security early, find their gates and go for a smoke instead of waiting until the last minute to try and get through security. It also alleviates stress and irritable passengers if flights are delayed, etc. It is such a simple solution to create a win-win for smokers, non-smokers, and employees alike. It does not affect non-smokers at all, and instead creates a calmer environment. Good for you Tampa.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"clean and good variety of shops"

(United Kingdom)

BA2166, Tampa International - London Gatwick, Monday 16 November. Been quite a few years since I last used this airport - no queues at BA check in and through security in 5 minutes. Clean and good variety of shops and eateries landside. Looked ok airside but did not shop as used the International Lounge for BA customers. This was a disappointment - comfortable seats but food selection dreadful - a few curled up sandwiches that were not replenished and a few crackers and pieces of cheese with dips. Poor choice of wine. Not acceptable, Tampa, but from what I read no different from other North American Lounges. Apart from the lounge will use Tampa again certainly better than Miami, Washington Dulles, Newark, Chicago etc.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
5/10

"lack of any compassion"

(United Kingdom)

Tampa International is a great airport and we have travel on a yearly basis from the UK. Now we have a small child we have noticed that there is a lack of any compassion when going through security to get to our gate. We were not offered a expedited queue even thought we had a lot of baggage and had a distressed child (2 years). There were three security lines two for those in economy and one for first class whilst we were waiting in line for nearly 20 minutes (not that bad I know but its different with children). Families need extra time to get all the food out ready and additionally my wife was chosen for an invasive pat down. The priority queue only saw a max of 8 passengers with staff looking around but noticing our frustrations. Hope this changes as we won't be back again unless Tampa is truly a family airport, it is not at current.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"well maintained and clean airport"

(United States)

Well maintained and clean airport. Going thru security check and baggage claim is fast and easy. Signage is clear and easy to use. They have many in terminal rental cars companies. Restaurants are decent.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"a well designed airport"

(United States)

Tampa Airport is a well designed airport. The circular design made it easy to pass through the TSA checks, and for an easy trip to the departure gates. After a month traveling through Reagan, Dulles, O'Hare, and MSP, it turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Well maintained, and signage was in abundance. The rental car areas were close, and well marked. A less stressfull airport environment.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

Tampa Airport customer review

(Ireland)

I have flown in and out of TPA for the last 10 yrs. No questions it is a superb airport to travel through. I will continue to use it as my airport of choice with no problem. With respect to the gentleman in Feb 2015 who was looking for an easy way to pick up his wife use the car park they don't charge for the first hour!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 42 Reviews