Stuttgart Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 28 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"5 minutes from aircraft to the taxi"

(Germany)

STR airport is a medium sized airport. When travelling with hand luggage within Schengen it take you less than 5 minutes from aircraft to the taxi. Check in at departure was fast, security check despite flying in rush hour quiet efficient, it tooks around 10 mins. Restaurants (except the outstanding but expensive Red Baron - before security check) are not even what you could expect. Most of them are snack bars with low quality food and choice. Shops are better. Enough places for waiting. Smokers lounge and free wifi available.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"a very positive experience"

(Germany)

Verified Review | All in all I was surprised about the Stuttgart Airport. The architecture is modern and simple, everything is clean (the toilets too). It's not the biggest airport, most of the shops and restaurants / bars are before the security check - after them are only a few (no McDonald's), and they are very expensive. Also, the gate area is very small, especially for "bigger" planes with more passengers like an A321. Also, the WiFi coverage (operated by Telekom) could be improved. Boarding was done via "bridges", very comfortable and fast. On the return flight back to Stuttgart, I was very surprised by the short ways. You leave the plane, walk one minute to the luggage belt and the luggage already comes after 5-10 minutes, very fast. If you got your luggage, the exit is just a few steps away. This was a very positive experience. In a summary, I can recommend Stuttgart airport because of the short walking distances and the fast boarding and luggage times. The gate area after the security checks could be improved and extended.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"not enough space for every person"

(Germany)

Verified Review | The airport has four terminals so its really easy to have an overview where to check in. The architecture of the terminals are really nice. Screens in the terminals show which security control has the shortest queue. The gates are clean even though there is often not enough space for every person at the gates.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"very welcoming staff"

(Nepal)

The best thing about Stuttgart airport is there is the Free WiFi. Medium sized airport which is not as busy as the ones in bigger cities. Very clean with very welcoming staff. Even the immigration officers were quite nice (had never seen that before). They have a lot a places where you can go and ask for help, and they will be happy to do so. The tap water there is drinkable, so the free water was quite nice. Plus, two elevators down, you have a train station which can take you almost anywhere in the city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"airport was clean and nice"

(Switzerland)

I was in Stuttgart to catch my connecting flight to Thessaloniki. The airport reminds me of Zurich but one problem is that to get to your gate you always have to go down stairs. Overall the airport was clean and nice.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"airport is too slow and expensive"

(Singapore)

A very small regional airport. Flights are mainly within Europe and you need to connect for Long haul flights. The airport is well connected to the S-Bahn (train) and well connected to Stuttgart downtown within just 25 minutes. My overal experience is that the airport is too slow and expensive. Mostly I have to wait about 20-30 mins before luggage arrives. An overnight parking costs a shocking 36 Euros (US$ 45) and food and drinks are very very expensive. It is clear that passengers are used as cash cows. After the security check there is no way back, Euro 10 for a simple sandwich, EUR 4 for a Coke. The lounges are old and busy. Such a pitty because it could be a faster and efficient airport but in reality it is slower than mainports like Frankfurt at comparable Prive levels. In my opinion the airport should try to be very attractive by its small size to be faster and more efficient for passengers. Lastly there is only very limited free internet (after registration). Welcome to 2016.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"very good and organised"

(Italy)

I can say this airport is very good and organised. The waiting time at the security controls is good and not so much: 10-15 minutes. They have also a high-tech scanner for the tickets. I don't understand why they don't control the passports. They have also a sosphisticated system to control the body heat.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

Stuttgart Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Enjoy endless, meaningless queues with inaccurate gate and check-in information?. Try terminal 4 at STR. 3 hours to check-in and then clear the 2 scanner equipped security area and compulsory frisk search. To help the authenticity the air-conditioning doesn't work either. We will stick to the rather more pleasant MUC next time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Stuttgart Airport customer review

(Germany)

How bad can an airport be? Absolutely uneffective, unorganised, unmotivated, confused security, and ridiculously expensive drinksuncharming sitting areas, etc. I could go on and on and on. To me, the worst airport in all of Germany.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
8/10

Stuttgart Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Used this airport in early December and was impressed with almost everything about it. On arrival we were bussed to the terminal (probably because Germanwings wont pay for an airbridge). Passport control wasn't the quickest but acceptable and our bags were delivered promptly. We then used the rail service to get into Stuttgart which was excellent. On our return the check-in staff at the Germanwings desk were most pleasant and efficient. No long queues at security and the place was spotlessly clean. The only gripe would be the fantastically high prices at the bars and cafes. I thought Heathrow was expensive but Stuttgart prices are an order of magnitude higher how can they justify Euro 4-50 for a cup of coffee in a paper cup after all it's not exactly a five star hotel is it. We would however have no qualms about using this airport again.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 25 Reviews