Airline of the Year  

Stockholm Arlanda Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 72 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"clean, tidy and well looked after"

(United States)

Transited through from within Sweden (landing in T4) to Norway (T5) and found the queue at security into Terminal 5 terrible with 15+ of waiting before getting to the scanning. Signs between terminals not always clear and as the Security Queue was so long it was difficult to work out where you needed to stand. Airside there is a good selection of shops and eating places and the terminals are clean, tidy and well looked after. Separately departing from T5 early in the morning spent 30 minutes in the Security Queue which covered the whole of the SAS part of the terminal - there is clearly not enough capacity for the number of people/flights using the airport both early in the morning and in the evening. The length of queues becomes an issues as it "hides" Check-in desks and other activities and people end up joining the queue thinking it is to drop off bags! Once airside things are OK but the stress and time spent queuing do make for a pleasant experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"terminal 2 was a terrible experience"

(Czech Republic)

Arlanda terminal 2 was a terrible experience. Long waiting lines, disorganised terminal (checks in on one side, arivals in middle and another check in at the other end). The security check had a very long waiting line but at least had friendly staff, but after this the airport had almost nowhere to sit. However, the terminal was nice and clean. Overall a poor visit to Arlanda.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"an excellent airport"

(United Kingdom)

Absolutely fantastic. It is such a good airport with all of the required facilities that an airport requires (and more). An amazing lounge courtesy of SAS and the staff are all very friendly apart from one woman who was sat at border countrol. Very unpleasant and looked as though she would rather have been anywhere else. All in all an excellent airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"signs at Arlanda Airport are terribly bad"

(Sweden)

I departed from terminal 5 and parked in parking house P53. I landed late at night at terminal 2 and getting from there to P53 was impossible. I followed the signs to terminal 5, after walking 10 minutes I follow the signs towards the parking area. But no numbers, just "P". The signs lead me outdoors to a snowstorm and after a while I could tell it was the wrong parking area. I go back cold and dirty and try to find signs to P53, but I can't find them. The signs at Arlanda Airport are terribly bad. Have they never been tested? At every terminal there should be signs to every parking area, outdoors, indoors, but there is not. Getting from terminal 2 to terminal 5 parking area took about 30 minutes. The shape of the airport is also ridiculous.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"smooth process with most airlines"

(Sweden)

This is my home airport. What I really like about Arlanda is the smooth process with most airlines. Usually I can be at the gate 20 minutes after arriving at the airport, and that is as an economy passenger. The security check is almost never more than 10 minutes wait. The gates are a short distance. Oneworld airlines at the small terminal two benefit from quick baggage handling. Never had a major delay from Arlanda. On my last flight (12 Sep 2016) with transfer in Helsinki, my luggage was lost. The arrival service was very effective and delivered the bag to my home address on the next day at a time of my choosing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"T5 to T2 requires significant time and effort"

(Denmark)

Stockholm Arlanda is by far the worst airport in the Nordic capitals, it wasn't always the case. The crazy shape of the airport means that changing from Terminal 5 to Terminal 2 requires significant investment in time and effort, if you walk. But wait, you can call a bus on demand. That's right, transferring from Terminal 5 to Terminal 2 is a piece of cake, you just go down two flights of stairs to a basement labelled Gate 9 and press a call button that will send a bus and a driver, within 10 mins (reckon with 30 mins). Whoever heard of such a system? What nonsense! Why not tell passengers to report to Gate 61 instead of confusing them by sending them to Gate 9 and pressing a call button? Never have I seen such a system before in any airport in the world, just mad. But not to worry, once you have inevitably missed your flight, you can buy a snack, say at a hamburger and a beer for USD 40? Arlanda is really the worst advertising for tourism to Sweden that there is, and its really no wonder that everyone that works there is unfriendly, bordering on rude, it is probably as bad a work environment as it is for its travelling customers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"hundreds of bags everywhere unattended"

(United States)

Arrived 14 August 2016 to Stockholm, still haven't received our luggage although we know it is now at Stockholm Arlanda airport. When we arrived, we saw hundreds of bags everywhere unattended. No one even attempting to manage the mess of luggage. Can't get anyone to answer the phone. It appears that there are not enough personnel to handle the backup. Finally talked to Delta, they said go shopping could be days until our luggage is delivered.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
8/10

"mostly clean and easy managed"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | This airport is quite easy to navigate in. The only hiccup so far is to find the lounges if someone is new for that. Also, it can be hard to find the gates from which airport buses transport passengers to the aircraft. Otherwise, the airport is mostly clean and easy managed. The staff are easy to deal with and I have so far not encountered any issue with them. Mostly, if such occur as I have seen, the main issue is probably between persons rather than professional. I have myself never had any issues with any of the staff, rather opposite (positive). Sometimes, it can be a bit messy in the restrooms, but that is usually due to some not so clean visitors. Overall, a good airport which is conveniant and hasslefree. It can be quite crowded sometimes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"utter chaos and disorganization"

(Sweden)

Saturday 6 August, utter chaos and disorganization. It was sad to arrive at an airport that functions as badly as Arlanda now does. Baggage everywhere, broken coveyor belts, signs posting wrong arrival information, dirty toilets and inordinate amounts of paper garbage on the floor. Worst of all, staff seemed to have given up. Until this airport gets it act together I would recommend to stay away if possible.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"waiting times were not bad"

(Czech Republic)

Stockholm Arlanda is a nice and clean airport. The waiting times were not bad, the food within the same price range as you'd pay in Stockholm. The only annoying thing is getting out of the airport without getting ripped off (Sweden is simply expensive so you try to save money) - why do you have to take a bus to then switch on the same train which stops at the airport directly? Why do you have to pay extra to get directly on the same train?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 48 Reviews