Split Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 40 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Desperately needs a renovation"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Desperately needs a renovation and about 5x more space to provide any kind of experience above horrible. Transit time 3 hours and there is literally nowhere to stand! No excuse for such a popular location.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"cannot handle the number of flights"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Sitting in over crowded departure lounge wishing I had reviewed it first and not got here early. Experienced awful Greek airports before the EU upgraded them. This is as bad. People on stairs, all over the floor - and no flight delays. It just cannot handle the number of flights. Chaos!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the worst civilian airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is easily the worst civilian airport I've ever flown from. Ive flown from military airbases that had better facilities. We arrived to a departure lounge so full of people, that there were more families sat on the floor and stairs than on seats. Customer service is shocking. The staff are surly at best and have a demeanour that suggests it is an inconvenience to serve you. Not that there is much to buy but a few premade sandwiches and junk food. Airport staff run the boarding gates not the airlines, so you cannot take advantage of speedy boarding and forget about children getting to the front. With so many people in a small area, it was absolutely sweltering. And even in a packed hot departure lounge they still closed one of the two shops selling water at bang on 2130hrs. This is right at the beginning of the season. I would hate to experience this at peak times. It is enough to put me off ever returning to Croatia.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"the worst in terms of service"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | An airport can be small, it can be because of the fact the country isn’t considered developed, that the airport be lagging behind big cities, but Split Airport is the worst in terms of service. There’s none to speak of at the departure hall, which is the place that tourists have as a last impression before boarding the plane. In particular, the business lounge has no service. The old man at the reception struggled to scan the electronic boarding pass before telling me I cannot use the lounge because I must show him my frequent flyer card. There are 2 key problems with this. First, the boarding pass states my membership. Second, he refused to help even after my explanation that in Dubrovnik or anywhere else in the world, I never had to show my frequent flyer card. Then I went to the information counter to ask for some assistance and the girl at the counter just shrugged her shoulders and said there’s nothing I can do. I have a few questions. 1) Why is it that I need to show my card when it states on my boarding pass and when in so many other cities, including Dubrovnik, I just showed my boarding pass? Because the lounge is more secure than customs? 2) Whatever lame reason there is behind this, shouldn’t it be such that members aren’t inconvenienced? If not, what’s the membership for? 3) If this is the standard of the airport, then it really begs the question if this is the kind of tourism in Croatia is offering given that this is a tourist’s last impression of the place before leaving.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"lack of seating"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Overcrowded, lack of seating, long queues for toilets, two kiosks selling drinks and food. No price list, over priced. Better going thru security at the last possible time, spend time on the lower level. Would avoid this airport for Croatia in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
10/10

"amazing service"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Seen a few negative reviews on here, we used Split for the first time last week. Arrival was fine apart from being hassled by taxi drivers after our business. On departure I had a pulled muscle in my shoulder so enquired at check in as to whether there was a pharmacy beyond check in. The very helpful check in girl said there was not but that they had a doctor that would bring something down. 5 minutes later a very pleasant doctor came down with painkillers free of charge, amazing service! We thought the departure lounge was great, not that busy and the duty free and cafe/draught beer were directly opposite our departure seating! All in all very happy with the airport and the Croatia Airlines flight home was superb with free snacks and drink and on time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"an okay airport"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Very small airport based similarly to Luton/Stansted. Very crowded so I was unable to take a seat at my gate, which was quite awful for me as I stand up a lot at airports. Very kind staff, relatively clean toilets. Security is sonic mode all the time. Passport check is quick too. Overall, an okay airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"lousy area for departure"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Check in is fine and no problems during security but, what a lousy area for people waiting for departure! Only chairs for half the people waiting. Everything was a mess and people standing everywhere and on the floor. No lounge in airport. Find another airport if possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"departures is terrible"

(Ireland)

Unverified | The airport is fine to arrive in; passport check is quick and there is a bus stop outside that will bring you straight to the centre. Departures is terrible though; way way too small for the amount of people, only stale, expensive pre-made sandwiches to eat and the unfriendliest retail staff in the entire country (which is great). Toilets were also not great. The check-in was also chaotic and I travelled out of season, shudder to think what it would be like during peak times.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"People sitting on floor, stairs and window sills"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | An earlier reviewer suggested that the people who gave bad reviews of this airport may not have travelled much. Well I have visited the best Changi and one of the worst Zakynthos (I understand better now) but Split takes some beating. We had to check in outside but at least under cover. A number of passengers on reaching front of queue told to come back later as checkin not open for their flight but no screens to let them know that. We checked in and through security and passport control no problems but departure lounge a disaster zone. Seating for only half the people in lounge. People sitting on floor, stairs and window sills. The queue for the ladies stretched from toilets down corridor and into the main lounge. Dread to think what would have happened if they had to evacuate in an emergency. The airport was not built to handle the number of flights/passengers it is trying to cope with. God knows what it was like in July/August.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 40 Reviews