Best Cabin Crew  

Shanghai Pudong Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 157 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"horrible 10 hour transit"

(India)

I would say the worst airport I have been to in my whole life. Everything was in Chinese, I used the currency exchange and ended up giving them 1/3 of my cash in commission. For food and beverages, the shops were in Chinese, people had no idea what I was asking, the vending machines saved me that day. The horrible 10 hour transit.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"flights always leave late"

(New Zealand)

Was travelling on reward travel, which involved transferring between Air NZ and Air China. Unfortunately there was no check-through of bags, so I had to arrive, clear immigration, grab bags, drag them back upstairs, then check in for the Air China flight. Not fun. If you're connecting between NZ and Lufthansa, Swiss International or Virgin Atlantic you can skip immigration and use the transfer facilities. Terminal 2 is huge and modern. Some interesting shops. The Air China lounge is new and massive and very nice: a great refreshing shower. Remember to have a VPN setup on your devices if you want to use Facebook or Google whilst in China-these sites are all blocked. Don't bother going to your gate until your flight shows boarding. Even once it's "boarding" you'll probably have to wait 45 or more minutes, since flights always leave late it seems. That part of the journey was shambolic.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

"experience was horrifying"

(United States)

Shanghai Pudong International Airport needs to employ more staff who speak English. If you have a transit there and you do not speak Chinese, you will have an extremely hard time getting around because there are not enough signs, staff do not speak English at all, most of them will not even try to help you, and there is no wifi if you do not have a Chinese number and yes it is an international airport. My experience was horrifying.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"things moved well enough"

(China)

Shanghai Pudong seems chrome-plated. Restrooms and concourse are spotless. The distance from the gate is long-no surprise-but there are 3-4 people movers to help matters, and free luggage carts. The worst part is passport control, the lines seem long, with 2-3 arriving flights, but things moved well enough. The shuttle to Hongqiao was easy to locate, with my limited mandarin. English speakers are abundant, the signs are both Chinese and English, with Arabic numerals.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"shops and eateries are abundant"

(United States)

Pudong is the worst airport I’ve experienced. 1) As an international transit passenger, you must clear security twice – even though you cleared security at your previous destination. 2) You must also hike a good distance before taking escalators to get up two floors from the arrivals area to the main lounge, or waiting area. 3) The airport is one long – very long – building. To get to your gate from the point at which you emerge into the main lounge can take as many as 10 or more minutes. 4) The air conditioning is barely adequate – meaning you’re likely to sweat pulling your luggage from point to point. 5) There’s only one smoking area: it’s make-shift room, down one floor and at one end of the long terminal. 6) The PA system, if one exists, is inaudible in the main lounge and monitors indicating flight times and gates are few and far apart. 7) Shops and eateries are abundant, but – again – locating what you’re looking for may require a long trek from the point at which you start. 8) The first and business class lounges are back down a floor – and very distant from the point at which you enter the main lounge. Escalators take you down, up elevators were inoperative during our visits. 9) Because of the lack of a PA system, boarding announcements in the business class lounge were made by an attendant walking up and down the aisle and all but shouting the information.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"there were staff shortages"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived at gate 15 minutes before departure. Check in took 70 minutes, security a further 60. Raised the issue with security and at the gate. It was public holiday in China and there were staff shortages. Totally unacceptable for an international airport. Terrible start to a 22 hour day (flying back to UK) and poor reflection on Emirates. The VIP lounge was poor also. Definitely did not feel like China was open to the world that day. I suppose it never fully will be. Will definitely think twice about using Pudong again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

Shanghai Pudong Airport customer review

(Australia)

Shanghai Pudong Airport (PVG) is the "shiny" of the two airports in Shanghai, the other of course being Hongqiao, however it fails miserably in just about every way that matters. Firstly, the baggage retrieval is woeful - terribly slow. I flew into PVG twice in August and both times waited for over an hour for my bags. One one flight that arrived at 7pm, I left the arrivals hall at 9pm. The immigration process was ridiculous, three international flights arrived simultaneously from HK, Narita and Sydney to be processed by, wait for it, 2 immigration agents. The taxi system outside the terminal is frankly broken and required a wait of over an hour to progress through the queue. The problem was not the number of travellers; simply that there were too few taxis coming into the queue and no apparent way of requesting more. By the time I got a taxi, it was well after 10pm on one occasion and closer to 11pm on the other. If you fly into Shanghai for any reason - choose Hongqiao even if it requires a transfer.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Shanghai Pudong Airport customer review

(Canada)

Landed in Shanghai Pudong International Airport to find out our short flight (2hrs) to Guangzhou was cancelled. Asked airport staff where we should go, she pointed us to move forward to check in. We passed by 2-3 more airport staff who pointed us in the same direction. When we get to the check in point before getting to the gate, we were told to go back to the beginning. After consulting at least 5 airport staff (FYI we spoke to them in Mandarin as my mom is from China), we were brought back to the right place and told we'd have to take the next available flight which was the next day in the afternoon and that a hotel room would be provided. We were put in an area with others whose flight had been cancelled (there was a lot of people) to wait for the shuttle buses which took more than an hour to come. When shuttle buses came, it was like a stampede. It was so disorganized and I was frustrated after being on a 15+ hour flight. Wifi did not work either so we were forced to purchase a calling card to call our family members about our cancellation. If you have alternate choices, do not stop at this airport. Even as someone who knows how to speak Chinese, you'd have trouble getting help from staff here.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
8/10

Shanghai Pudong Airport customer review

(Thailand)

We went to Shanghai in April 2015. The Pudong Airport had great transportation options. We bought transportation cards and took a metro to Shanghai city center. The WIFI did not work for Facebook YouTube and Google. We could check Hotmail and Yahoo Mail. The foods were expensive. The other facilities were excellent.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
7/10

Shanghai Pudong Airport customer review

(China)

PVG is well known for delays. April 3 flying back with CZ from PVG to SHE flight was delayed 4 hours. In fact all flights going north from PVG were delayed 3-4 hours whilst flights going south left on time so what is this? Another military exercise causing vast delays or another VIP landing in PEK and creating havoc in the skies? Could not blame CZ airplane was there crew was there etc. After boarding on time we were asked to deplane and go back to the waiting hall. Just sit and wait - no announcements then suddenly I saw that my gate was boarding again without any notice or announcement. As many other reviewers say there is nothing to do in PVG - no decent food and far too expensive. Long walks to the end of the terminal while other gates are empty I think they want you to walk past all those shops with bored sales staff and overpriced items. Same comment for the WIFI as others say here. All in all PVG is not too bad - just a bad day I suppose.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 88 Reviews