Top 100 Airports  

Santorini Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 32 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"staff seemed to ignore the situation"

(United Kingdom)

Utterly disgraceful situation at Santorini (Thira) airport last night. Flight arrivals delayed by mild cross winds meant that hundreds of departing travellers from 7 or 8 flights were crammed into tiny waiting area for several hours. Before passing through security we received no warning of the delay and the lack of facilities (or breathing space) ahead. The crush was so dense that when flights restarted people struggled to reach passport control. Very lucky there were no major health problems such as fainting or panic attacks and no fights breaking out despite the chaos. Staff all seemed to ignore the situation at best - or even to be as obstructive as possible. A disgrace to Greece and to all airlines using this wretched excuse for an airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"filth and grime everywhere"

(Malta)

Arrival at Santorini Airport was ok as we had only hand luggage and were out in 2 minutes. However on departure when we entered filth and grime everywhere. Chairs, walls, doors all super dirty with empty cans and bottles everywhere. Looked like it had not been cleaned for years. Toilets disgusting. No doubt the worst airport I have ever been. Santorini is a wonderful place and does not deserve such a disgusting airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"abysmal, unreal airport experience"

(Australia)

Santorini is the most abysmal, unreal airport experience I have ever had. I will never use it again and advise anyone to get there and back via Athens. Agree with all previous reviews. Queues outside in hot sun for hours for absolutely no good reason. No staff member cares or is available to help. Every flight left there late with major problems for anyone connecting to an international flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"queue for hours outside"

(United Kingdom)

This wonderful island is stunningly beautiful. It has so much luxury accommodation that must generate enormous amounts of income from tourism. The local people are so hospitable and genuine., how then is the airport so shocking and ran by people who are totally ignorant. Be prepared to queue for hours outside in intense heat with no information when your flight is delayed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"a disgrace to a beautiful island"

(Ireland)

Arrived at Santorini Airport to find the queue for security out the door and around the side of the airport. Took almost 2 hours to get in the door only to find 1 security gate open. A group of older women who were in front of us proceeded to skip half the queue. I alerted a female staff member who informed me "it is not her problem" and to "ignore them". To make matters worse, my flight was to leave at 11:15pm and at 11:05pm I was still in the queue with about 50 people ahead. A male staff member seemed to be the only person with a bit of sense. He organised the insane queue, and gathered all passengers all in a pleasent manner. Overall, I have never experienced worse treatment in all of my travels. Such a disgrace to a beautiful island.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"2 hours of chaos"

(Denmark)

Santorini airport is chaotic. Our arrival and the bus transfer from the plane was ok, but the number of toilets in the baggage area was not. Only 2 for women - no hand soap, no paper towels nor drying devices available. Leaving two weeks later we arrived 2 hours prior to departure. In other airports this should leave adequate time for relaxing / shopping before boarding. But in the end there was absolutely no time for such extravagances. We queued outside the building in the cold, strong evening wind to go inside in small groups to have our luggage weighed and registered. 2 desks were open for this procedure, our travel reps collected the passports handing them to the persons at the desk. Then each passenger had to carry the checked-in luggage to another belt, supervised by 1 man, where the luggage was scanned. To queue for the security check we had to go outside the building again. This meant we had to cross through the queue of new passengers waiting to go in and having their luggage weighed etc. We queued again in the cold wind for security check. As we were waiting in the queue for security check, we noticed a board above one of the gates announcing our plane was boarding. We hurried naturally through the massive crowd after security check to get to the gate. Make sure you are ready for 2 hours of chaos before you book any holidays in the islands of wonderful Santorini.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"the most sub-standard airport"

(United Kingdom)

It's ironic that Santorini, a beacon of opulence and luxury, has the most sub-standard airport I've ever been to. The staff were rude, facilities disgusting (the toilets were worse than a campsite and stunk out the airport), and organisation bad even for greek standards. We were forced to wait in line for security (which locals just jumped over and walked through), for 40 minutes because the airport was 'full' - they had however failed to open any of the waiting areas. What transpired was a large group of people crammed into a tiny area, with the smell of sewerage lingering through. Not a great way to end your trip.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"away within 15 minutes"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived on Ryanair from Athens on a day trip, we only had hand baggage. We picked up a rental car and were away within 15 minutes. Returned to Athens in the evening on Aegean. Small airport only opens for a couple of hours prior to flight departures. Checked in on line so no problems .Security was very poor, airport staff including the lady from the cafe wondered landside to airside with no scans or checks of any kind. Toilets very poor, broken locks, no lights in one, the only one to be acceptable in departures was the ladies. I would not like to use this airport on a busy, hot summers day.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"departure was atrocious"

(United Kingdom)

The arrival went reasonably well. The departure was atrocious. The other reviewers really aren't wrong - it was absolute chaos. We were queing outside in long queues for about 30 mins, then let in by our Thomson rep 6 at a time, another queue to have your luggage weighed whilst people are crammed in and pushing past you, then yet another queue to hand your luggage in to be x-rayed (thank goodness for the Thomson rep who was loading everyone's cases for them due to lack of airport staff). Then finally crammed into the passport/boarding area like sardines. No one knew what was happening. One person checking about 400 peoples passport's. If it wasn't for the Thomsons rep callling out for boarding - we would still be there crammed in. This spoilt a beautiful holiday to a lovely island.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"destroys the enjoyment of the holiday"

(United Kingdom)

Absolute chaos. Long, long queues. Aegean Airlines broke into a queue that had been waiting for more than 30 minutes to ensure their passengers shortcut the wait even though the queueing passengers flights left earlier. Beautiful island but the chaos of the airport destroys the enjoyment of the holiday.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 31 Reviews