Top 100 Airlines  

Santorini Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 42 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"disgusting toilets, demotivated staff"

(United Kingdom)

Santorini Airport has disgusting toilets, demotivated staff. Total confusion at the departure gates. This was a dehumanising experience. Some complained about the Government or the Santorini Tourist Board but this is now the responsibility of the German company Fraport! I only saw one cleaner in the airport and he was sweeping up in the outside smoking area, whilst at the same time the women's toilets were all blocked and marked out of order. Women had to use the disgusting men's toilets. Come on Fraport, you can take care of Frankfurt Airport, why not Santorini Airport? Put on more maintenance staff and cleaners as well as advisors and check in staff. The Greek people on the island of Santorini worked so hard to give us an amazing holiday experience which was all but destroyed by Fraport, a German company.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"you have to wait outside"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I was told and had read online that Santorini Airport was horrible but I told myself that it must exaggerated. Well this was the worst airport ever. The smallest, dirtiest, most unorganized and with the rudest employees. We flew with Ryanair and we were told to be there 2 and half hours before our flight. The people from the airport were managing the check-in, not the airline. We waited outside for the check in line. The airport is so small that you have to wait outside. We queued and when it was our time to check in, the employee told us to wait again. Our flight was not there. There was no indication as to where to wait and no information about our flight. The employees just told us to wait in a queue. Finally we checked in 1.5 hours before the flight and the employees were still rude. The security was a joke and the boarding was chaotic.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poorly serviced airport"

(United Kingdom)

This is the dirtiest, most inefficient, poorly serviced airport that it has ever been my misfortune to use. It is completely out of sync with the needs of the beautiful island that it serves. The Greek Government should be deeply ashamed at this 'gateway' to one of their greatest natural assets.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"airport was clean but shabby"

(United Kingdom)

Having read all the horror stories, I was prepared for the worst but actually - it was OK. It's a basic airport, which is clearly overstretched. Be prepared to queue to get your luggage ticketed, and queue again to put it through security. Total time to get luggage checked in and through security was 45 minutes for us in August. Further queue of around 15 minutes to get through the gate. The airport is small, so queues extend outside the terminal at times. We found staff helpful and friendly, although limited in number. The airport was clean but shabby. Food was the usual airport standard - not great choice, and over priced. Staff here were not so good - rude and chaotic. Check your bill - one person in the queue was landed with someone elses bill and it took some arguing to sort out.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not a drop of compassion"

(United Kingdom)

The beautiful island of Santorini deserves a better airport. The waiting queue for lost/delayed baggage is long and awful - not a drop of compassion. Total indifference. Best option to find luggage: to contact the flight company. Everyone in the tourist business in Santorini knows of lost/delayed luggages with shrugged shoulders. Many trips to the airport to check. Luggage turned up five days late. Santorini is extremely expensive, each day waiting for the wedding luggage is an expensive ruined day. I am speaking of £400-£600 expenses (hotel, restaurant, car renting, petrol) per day for two people, for a whole wedding party just multiply. Surely Santorini must do better - or lose us. Defensive option: Take your wedding and swimming things with you. If your luggages are lost/delayed and the likelihood of help is nil. Think twice before chosing Santorini. Getting off the island is also challenging. No proper queing system, no one knows what to do, hot and bothered.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"appalling experience"

(United Kingdom)

I agree with the reviews written about Santorini airport. Appalling experience and in much need of an upgrade. Our easyJet flight was delayed for 2 hours, no apologies given, people just hearded about like cattle and made to wait outside for no reason. Toilet facilities are terrible, considering the lovely island and the luxury it attracts their airport should really show it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"most appalling airport"

(United Kingdom)

The most appalling airport I have experienced in 50 years of travel. I appreciate that at the height of the holiday season in August the airport will be running at maximum capacity, but the experience we had has put me off going back to the island in future. The departure lounge is like a badly ventilated and massively over crowded cattle shed. It seems that the systems in place can only handle the processing of 1 flight at a time although passengers for multiple flights are crowded together jostling in the confusion.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"such a shambles"

(United Kingdom)

What a shame Santorini airport was such a shambles. Despite arriving 3 hours before the flght time, didn't get though to the departure lounge until 5 minutes before being called to the actual gate. Santorini's weather was extremely hot and we queued outside the airport for half an hour only to find that we were in the wrong queue. Queued again to check in, with virtually no airport staff. Once checked in, then you have to queue to check in your hold luggage. Stood longer at that queue than the check in desk. The staff were obviously balancing which desk to man with so few staff. After that, we were told to join a 3rd queue, again outside the airport because of queue length, for security checks. Toilets dirty, food and drink choices not good and typically expensive. Frankly, it's the worst airport I've ever been to in 40 odd years of international travel. Such a shame as it's a beautiful island
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"dirty and smelly toilets"

(Sweden)

Santorini is the worst airport I have ever seen. It brings a huge disgrace to such a beautiful island. AC not working, dirty and smelly toilets, crowded and people lying down on the stairs. I am sure they could change something about this place that is meant to be an "airport".
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"going downhill year by year"

(United Kingdom)

This is the fourth year of travel to Santorini which is a fantastic place to holiday. However, the airport to put it bluntly is awful and going downhill year by year. The facilities are poor and the place is dirty. On leaving this year, once our luggage was checked in, we made our way through into the departure area and then upstairs instead of going to the tavernas up the road which is the usual process at this airport due to its lack of size. I could not face staying in the heat with few toilet facilities at the tavernas and knew that there were toilet facilities upstairs and air con. This was wrong - all the toilets upstairs were closed off. There were 2 female toilets downstairs which were in a disgusting state. There were no male facilities. The only other toilet facilities were after passport control just before boarding the flight. I would visit Santorini again however have decided against it at this point due to the condition of this airport. I don't think I can face it. On a plus, the staff at the food counter were pleasant and worked hard in difficult circumstances. All other staff were polite and were also working under pressure. The airport building however is not fit for purpose
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 41 Reviews