Santorini Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 71 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"have never had an issue"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | I have been to many island airports, and Santorini Airport rates among the best, in the things that really matter. I have flown in and out of JTR over a dozen times, and I have never had an issue with organization, service, luggage, bathroom, food or cleanliness. It can get a little crowded in peak season when large numbers of package tourists are going through, but any lack of decorum is generally caused by poorly behaved and inconsiderate tourists, and not a lack of organization on the airport's part. From arrival at the terminal to collecting luggage and departing terminal took 5 minutes, which I have always found to be the case. You won't find junk food restaurants, duty free gauntlets with pushy salespeople, or one hour walks to get to your gate as you do in the large high volume airports, and that's a blessing. It got a little overcrowded on one occasion when I was departing and a couple of flights had been delayed due to airline mechanical checks, but I have encountered this at Heathrow, LAX, Rome, Dubai, Singapore and most large international airports. At least in Santorini you can easily step out and enjoy the lovely island air while you're waiting, as opposed to being stuck in an exit lounge in some labyrinthine building. I will point out that small airports are part of the island travel experience, and travelers with unrealistic logistical expectations may consider if a 12 hour ferry boat ride from Piraeus would be more convenient for them.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"total lack of management"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Worst airport I've ever been at. Dirty, chaotic, total lack of management, unkind personnel, lines with no sense at all. It's the "best" way to ruin the beauty of an island and the kindness of a people.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"we won't be going back to Santorini"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Suffice to say we won't be going back to Santorini. Totally spoilt our lovely time there. Herded like cattle. Cramped space and queues overlapping. A high security risk and I do not understand how the airport authorities allow thousands of travellers in such a small space. No signs to indicate where to go or what to do. A total disaster and shame on you Santorini for allowing such diabolical customer service. People sitting on stairwells whilst at the same time people were queueing right up the stairs - no way could you pass. Oh I could go on and on and on. One very unhappy customer! And to add to my anger only 1 ladies toilet in use - queues out the door - no toilet paper!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Chaos, Chaos, Chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Chaos, Chaos, Chaos. 1 person on Passport control, arrival and departure 1 hour minimum to pass through 45 minute wait for bags to arrive on arrival - after 1 hour wait at Passport control! Huge queues on departure. Airport way too small to handle so many flights. Duty free the smallest you will ever see. Airport departure lounge over filled with every departure. This one aspect, the airport, will ensure that we never visit Santorini again - they appear not to want our Euros.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport I've been in"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Easily the worst airport I've been in. They allow hundreds of people through to the gates but the space is minimal. There is literally no oxygen in the place. It can't facilitate the thousands of tourists passing through with space for 2 customs/passport control officers and 3 runways Lots of planes delayed so passenger numbers swell whilst everyone waits for announcements. The air canteen was the only good thing about the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Friendly staff everywhere"

(Norway)

Not Verified | Friendly staff everywhere directed our family of five all the way through the too small airport. Well organized. They made sure there were no serious bottlenecks anywhere. We have experienced much worse in large airports, also in the US. Got seats at a table upstairs, outside, but in the shade with fans in the ceiling. Good food, no stress.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"really hate this airport"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | If you want to go to Santorini, just use a ferry from Athens and back, do not go to Santorini airport, because it will ruin your vacation. Especially if you have children or if you are a bit older and do not want to stand there for 5 hours, cause there are not enough seats for children and older people. The people are treated like cattle, the air-conditioning is not working well and there actually should be a limit to a number of people that such a small space can host, but people sit on stairs and children are on the blankets on the floor. The balcony does not have a roof, so we all got wet from the rain. There is not enough air and there is only one little shop for food . I nearly fainted there and the staff would rather send you to the hospital than open the windows for security reasons. I really love to fly, but I really hate this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"diabolical airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Just to say I will never go back to Santorini again due to it’s diabolical airport. Over 5 hours of being herded like animals, no organisation, no customer comfort, worst airport and departure of my life! Shame on you Santorini!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"over 200 meter line"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | After a fantastic visit to the island, our remaining thoughts were the worst experience ever on departing, ie. The Airport. Queued outside the airport over 200 meter line, same once inside, herded through security and cattle penned into the departure lounge, I use the word "lounge", loosely. They clearly can't cope with numbers and is woefully 3rd rate. For that only reason we will not return to this beautiful Island as we had planned to do so during our stay.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the airport cannot cope"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Shocking airport. Whilst the island gets busier the airport cannot cope. Its just got even less organised. Not enough people are aware that you can check in your luggage then leave to go to the bars outside - much nicer!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 71 Reviews