Vote Now  

San Francisco Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 120 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"worst for immigration queuing time"

(Indonesia)

San Francisco is the worst airport for immigration queuing time. Only 3 counters open. I waited for more than an hour for a stamp, not to mention the rude staff that keep yelling at the passengers. I thought America has the best airports, by looking at the advancement in the country. I was wrong. The airport in my hometown in Jakarta is even better at queuing time for immigration. Do note that my country is still a "developing" country they said.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"so many people willing to help me"

(United States)

Verified Review | I want to thank the staff that helped me find my lost briefcase which I foolishly left in a bathroom after arriving to San Francisco from a long flight. The ground floor baggage office, the oversize baggage office, the cleaning staff, the lost and found office and the Qantas desk. Also all the various TSA, police officers and information desk staff. All these people in one way or another were so helpful and never just told me tough luck. There was nothing of particular value in the briefcase, just a lot of items which I collected on my trip, but nevertheless I wanted to keep. It is hard to believe in such a major airport so many people would be so willing to help me. I was especially impressed with the downstairs luggage office in the international terminal who very willingly contacted a staff member who quickly checked the plane and searched it for the briefcase. The lost and found police officer did more than have me fill out a form and quickly confirmed that the briefcase had been found and returned to Qantas.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst airport experience"

(Australia)

We flew into the SF domestic terminal from Newark with United Airlines, with a 6 hour wait before flying Qantas to Sydney. Because my mother-in-law needs wheelchair assistance, the plan was to meet her at the Qantas departure gate. However, she wasn't there and nobody at all in the airport was able to assist us. I spoke with about 25 staff about the misplaced family member but all they could do was direct me to others who sent me on a wild goose chase for five hours. Even though numerous PA announcements were made for my mother-in-law, when she approched counter staff she was rudely ignored. Most of the staff, including the company responsible for delivering her to the wrong gate on the other side of the huge airport, seemed unconerned about the plight with absolutely no procedure for missing wheelchair passengers. I only found her after going through three security checks to various sections of the airport. As a regular traveller for over 30 years, this would have to be the worst airport experience of my life. San Francisco Airport is callous, rude and incompetent.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"food options are limited and expensive"

(South Africa)

San Francisco is my home airport. It has some serious problems. Severe delays due to weather are extremely common all year. The worst I've ever experienced was 4 hours. The terminals are also poorly organized. Terminal 3 is strictly for domestic UA flights. Terminal 1 is also domestic-only and all other airlines. Terminal 2 is strictly international. If you have a connecting flight on a different airline, be prepared to walk a long way. The security lines are longer and slower than most US airports. The food options are very limited and all are expensive. The employees at security, UA customer service are all very rude.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"best airport in the US"

(United States)

Unless you're flying out of the dreadful Terminal 1, SFO is the best airport in the US. We flew United from Terminal 3, a thoroughly modernized relic of the 1970s (the 1950s if you take into account the original design). Check-in is pretty efficient, but the gamble is with security, which can be very congested, even sometimes with TSA Pre-Check. In our case it was very quick indeed, but we were going through at midday. Shops and services throughout Terminal 3 are excellent as is United's main club at the junction of two main piers. The airport is airy and open and hold areas are reasonable. Things get even better if you are flying through either of the International Terminals or the completely renovated Terminal 2.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"signage is clear and easy to follow"

(Canada)

San Francisco is a modern airport. Excellent selection for food both outside and inside the gate area. Free Wifi is excellent. Signage is clear and easy to follow. Airport Staff seems nice except for the UA Boarding agents on my flight who all looked miserable and did not smile. I always enjoy SFO airport. Very clean.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"security is also good and thorough"

(United States)

I usually depart out of SFO for both International and Domestic. In the first weekend of May 2016, right before the peak of a proposed busy season due to a good economy, airport security was smooth. My flight was delayed as my handy TripIt app informs me of any changes so I wasn't too worried. The staff here are friendly. Security is also good and thorough. Lines were long but it is to be expected especially since I do not have TSA Pre Check. For this trip I traveled Domestic to PDX. Airport was great but delayed flight out was a nightmare. Rainy weather in early May what a drag. When I took a trip back in April 2016 same thing flight delayed. I flew Virgin America each time. I do not think it mattered too much in terms of airline, it was mostly the weather out of the airport. That is my biggest gripe flying out of SFO. Otherwise, great security and employees. Also, another thing I do like about SFO is that there are filtered water stations immediately after security. Bring your reusable bottle and refill.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"left scouring the walls "

(United States)

I came in from XNA looking at a 3 hour hold over. I have been in a lot of airports but the terminal for the United gates were very sub par. My biggest complaint is that there is almost no places for travelers to charge phones or plug in laptops. They have one area that seats 8, as in eight people with a desk and outlet. Other than that, you are left scouring the walls looking for a way to plug in your phone. Even small airports today have gate seating areas with outlets and USB ports. You'd think that a major airport like San Francisco would be up to date. Food options lack as well. The food options you do have are very expensive. They think every traveler is a millionaire.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"food options very mediocre"

(United States)

Travelling from SFO to Japan using the international terminal. Because of a long layover and an after midnight departure I was looking forward to having a decent meal prior. SFO it appears to feature mostly Japanese buffet/fast food options. An upscale Japanese restaurant was featured on their dining options chart for the North Area food court but there didn't appear to be any sign of the restaurant itself. I wish Stone Brewery had a dining facility here like they have in Terminal 3 because it is badly needed. Not sure what Firewood Grill is doing at SFO because the quality of their food options for a sit down dinner were very mediocre at best. The International Terminal is otherwise very spacious, airy and welcoming.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"check-in was painless and quick"

(United Kingdom)

Check-in was painless and quick. Having travelled through SFO airport before I knew to eat before you pass security as food places after are poor. Going through security was a little slow (took about 30-mins) but the people in charge seemed friendly and chatty - unlike Boston. Wi-Fi was good and quick. Getting to my gate was a little walk but nothing too strenuous. Overall SFO airport is pretty good and I won't mind travelling in/out of there again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 76 Reviews