San Francisco Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 151 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"People backed up back to the gate"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | It took more than 3 Hours through immigration. No one there to ask a question. Since I traveled alone no chance to go to restrooms. When I asked someone to look after my bag for a minute to check with someone to see if there could be anything done to reach my connecting flight, all that I got was someone shouting at me from one of the officers. To picture it: Some flights had arrived in a short sequence, there must been more than 1000 people and there were 4 officers, one of them dealing exclusively with a large number of people using a wheelchair. After that he disappeared. People backed up back to the gate. So if more than 3 hours are not enough to get a connection, then I guess you cannot go through SFO at all. I made it with closing doors, sweating like hell, and wishing I hadn't booked my vacation. I booked business to have a pleasant trip, this did not work. Maybe it is some support for the airlines, so that tickets have to bought twice. So: If visitors with a willing credit card and in good spirit to use it are abosutely not welcome, why not close the border completely? Fortunately the nice people on Hawaii made more than up for it. I doubt I will travel through or to SFO ever again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Staff were inefficient and rude"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Disappointing experience in SFO. Upon arrival, waited close to two hours to exit customs. Now at departure, queue to security was an hour long. Staff were inefficient and rude. Toilets were littered with used seat covers. Shops were limited. Queue for lift to enter departure area was also slow. Nothing to be excited about really, if given a choice, I will never fly out of this airport again. Note to all passengers - Account for a long waiting time and be very early. Airport wifi was spotty. Upon arrival - unable to connect for close to an hour (but I was already queuing for 2 hours at the customs so..). Upon departure, wifi comes on and off. They can work more on signages to inform passengers better - be it security checks or even direction to gates.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"there is always a delay"

(United States)

Not Verified | Every time we fly into SFO there is always a delay due to traffic. Why does this only ever happen here? Is there a shortage of air traffic controllers? We are to the point of rather flying into Oakland.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"very long queues at immigration"

(India)

Trip Verified | As usual very long queues at immigration. They seriously need to modify their immigration hall; its too small and cramped for handling so many international arrivals all the time. There are substantial immigration counters but very few staff. The baggage area is also very small and gets crowded because the flights arrive in quick succession but the immigration takes time, so there's a lot of baggage waiting to be collected. Customs is fast and they don't bother you much.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the most disorganised airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | As a seasoned traveller I am accustomed to arriving at chaotic airports but never in a million years expected to witness such poor customer service / organisation at a US airport! Arrived on A380 flight from London at the same time as an Air France flight. 10 minute walk to passport check not too bad but that is as good as it got! Met by a very rude SFO staff member whom herded us like cattle into the international queue. It was at this point that it dawned on me I was going to be there a while ... a very long while to be precise. 10+ CBP desks all unmanned except ,yep you guessed, 1 CBP to check what I estimated to be at least 400 people in the queue. I counted probably 100 in front of me so unless they were to put more staff on (I counted at least 3 walking around chatting but not on desks) average 2-3 mins per person, I was in the queue for the long haul (pun intended!) There were families with small children in the queue some as young as 2 whose parents seemed to be at their wits end trying to keep them within the confines of the queuing system ......come on SFO airport sort it out so those with very small children and the elderly be given priority it is not on! Anyway after 2 hours in the queue and approx 40 people in front of me somebody took the initiative to open up a few more desks and some 30 mins later I received my stamp and was in the baggage hall. At least I won’t have to wait for my bag to arrive I thought - wrong it had arrived but then they had put the Air France flight on the same carousel mixing everybody’s bags up. As we had all been in immigration so long the bags had been removed from the belts and dotted around the baggage hall. Top tip if you can’t find your suitcase and are told that it has arrived ask to see if any bags had been taken downstairs to make space! As after about 50 minutes that was where I had to gamble on going (have to clear customs to go downstairs with no way back if it is not there) to visually identify it - to summarise disembark the airplane 1700 arrive immigration 1710 walk out of the airport at 2030 makes SFO officially the most disorganised airport I have ever had the displeasure to arrive sprinkle it with unmotivated rude staff really gives such a poor first impression of what is a fantastic city / country which is a shame! Next time I visit it will be OAK or SJC no way will I ever go through SFO again!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"staff indifferent and inefficient"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We arrived on a full international flight from AKL and landed in SFO to transfer to ORD. It took 2 hours to get through to the domestic terminal. The security staff was indifferent and inefficient. The TSA PRE line was empty and fully staffed. The employees in that area were yawning and indifferent while there was a line of about 200 people going through the only other line. In addition, there were at least 5 other security employees standing idle. However, they chose to have only one person checking passports and only one person managing the security line who was extremely slow. It was the worst security I have ever experienced from both a domestic and international perspective. Unless I am coming to San Francisco the stay, I will try to avoid this airport in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"complete lack of helpers"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Barely caught connection: signage, directions and complete lack of helpers, greeters or assistants makes navigation very challenging. Multiple possible trains to change terminals and little guidance on the quickest one. Must go through security again when transferring terminals: real downside. Also our first flight waited 25 minutes for a gate to park. Cut our time way down. I would avoid SFO Airport for connecting flights. They should work harder on user friendliness. (Snarky TSA guy was no help.)
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"I try to avoid SFO"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I fly weekly for business, and my client for the past year has been in the San Francisco Bay area - so I've flown into and out of all three Bay Area airports, Oakland, San Jose, and San Francisco. Overall, I would say that SFO has great shopping and dining, is wonderfully decorated, is convenient to drive into and out of - and totally blows at making airplanes land and take off on time. In the past year, I have had a higher percentage of my flights into and out of SFO delayed than at any other airport. When I check FlightAware, in general the other two Bay Area airports will be on-time, while SFO will be delayed. I have been delayed due to fog, winds, air traffic, runway construction and smoke. The most heinous delay was when airport operations decided to "flip the airport" - switch which direction traffic would land and take off - which made every airplane on the ground, even ones lined up to take off, have to then taxi around to a different runway. This happened after they closed the boarding door on my flight and put us twenty-sixth in line for take-off and delayed us for over an hour. This was one of the only two times I've ever actually missed a connecting flight. Other than SFO's near-incompetence with their core function, the airport is largely okay. I fly American from Terminal 2, but I go through security at the Delta terminal, Terminal 1, because there are currently only 8 gates in operation there, and I can go through PreCheck in less than 5 minutes, then walk over to T2 inside security. The tram that runs to the rental car facility is rather slow, but does the job fairly stress-free. And, it's fun to look at the jumbo and super-jumbo jets (Airbus 380, that is) that fly internationally. But in general, I try to avoid SFO, especially for departures if I have to make a connection.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff were nowhere to be located"

(United States)

Trip Verified | On 12/19/17, at Gate 66 United. The 140+ Decibel Alarm Rang For Over 30 Minutes at 8.00 am, finally silencing around 8.30 am after the third call by airport personnel. No excuse for forcing passengers to be subjected to dangerous sound levels while staff were nowhere to be located. A complete failure to follow public health sound regulations and codes. A ridiculous amount of damage to the hearing for many. Felt like I was in a greyhound station without an adult attendant. Elderly passengers cringing with hands over ears. A major incident where no-one seems to care.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Overall, it's a decent airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | SFO is my home airport. I've flown domestically a couple of times out of it, but with the lack of service on domestic airlines, I really don't like flying on US carriers. Thus, my review is a compilation of experiences on both departures and arrivals at SFO over the last six years. My wife and I travel two to three times a year, mostly to Asia to visit her relatives. Most of the TPAC flights we've taken out of SFO have been late night and the security line experience has been quite quick. SFO doesn't use TSA agents. They were allowed to hire contract employees instead and the difference shows, at least in the international security lines. I believe the longest I've taken in a security line is about 15 minutes, and that was for a rare day flight. So departures are typically pretty good. Arrivals have been a different story. We got into the Global Entry system pretty early in the game, back before credit card offers to reimburse the $100 fee were common. We did it after one particularly heinous arrival in which two 380's and a couple of 777's all landed within minutes of each other, coupled with a computer glitch, caused the lines to simply be ridiculous. If you're familiar with the arrivals layout, you know there's a gate way the heck down at the far end of the arrivals hall. That's where the back of the line was. I believe it was 2.5 hours to get through immigration after all was said and done. But even before that, lines were typically about an hour long, even when fewer than the maximum number of flights land simultaneously. Global Entry changed that for us. The last flight we took arrived back in SFO on December 5th at 6.16pm, according to FlightAware. We were in my brother-in-law's car at 6.45 with our baggage. Lounges at SFO are pretty spartan. We have the Priority Pass, and the only lounge that's available in the entire airport, domestic or international, is on the OneWorld (AA) side of international departures. None are in domestic departures. And the international departure area is separated to such an extent that if you go to the OneWorld side and your flight is departing on the Star Alliance side, you have to back out from the secure area and then pass security on the other side. Not a well thought out design. We've also used the United Lounge, and those are pretty universally grim. Signage is good. The food and beverage on the airside, while a little steep (what airport isn't), was pretty decent. While it's possible to get to and from the airport on public transit, I wouldn't recommend it. BART is a pretty poorly run system and security is not exactly their forte, so I would imagine someone with suitcases would be seen as easy pickings. My one experience with the super shuttle was a Zero Dark Thirty ride one morning from our house about 10 miles away. For my wife and I, it was about $20. Overall, it's a decent airport. It won't compare with the Changi's, Incheon's or even Bangkok airports of the world, but it's serviceable and, sadly, it represents one of the better airports in the country.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 99 Reviews