San Diego Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 29 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

San Diego Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 24th June 2015

Went through security in under 10 minutes. Many outlets to charge my phone. Variety of food to take on board. Clean, well ventilated. Plenty of seats.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit24-06-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
yes
1/10

San Diego Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 17th June 2015

I have never had an issue before but I am beyond upset. I got to the airport 2 hours early and check in took me the whole time making me miss my flight. I was in line to check in and was told to go in another line that took forever then finally got up front after finding out I missed my check in time after I kept asking to go to the front to avoid missing having the staff tell me no because I'll make but turns out I didn't make it me now on standby for a flight that's full. Their staff are not helpful one bit.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit16-06-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
5/10

San Diego Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 15th June 2015

Utilized San Diego International Airport for a connecting flight. To put it simply, the Southwest Airlines terminal at this airport is far too small to accommodate the amount of traffic that it is currently going through it. It's standing room only more often than not at many of the gates and seating is insufficient. Also, it was very confusing to hear flight information with all the announcements being made over one another. Furthermore, there is only one bathroom facility to service 10 gates. One positive thing about this terminal is the food choices one is offered. Overall, an unpleasant experience at the airport here in San Diego, and one that can be greatly improved for the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit13-06-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
na

San Diego Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 23rd April 2015

Avoid Terminal 1 Southwest at all costs. This is the most poorly designed terminal I have ever seen. Considerable food stands zero seating. One restroom for 8 gates. Two security lanes apparently performing on- the-job training for TSA staff.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
8/10

San Diego Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 5th January 2015

This airport has really stepped up its game in recent times with the upgrade. I have traveled through more than 300 airports and this one ranks as one of the more aesthetically appealing I have seen at least in the US. I recall on my first visits in the 90s and early 2000s when the terminal felt very cramped. The hallways were narrow and people were sitting in the aisles because there was not enough room in the gate area. That has changed drastically for the better. The airport is what I would call medium-sized and therefore is quite manageable. Upon our arrival it was late and the airport was not crowded. We were nonetheless struck by the improvements in appearance. The walk to the baggage claim was not bad at all. We did have to wait a rather long time for our luggage and that was probably the biggest negative we experienced. Otherwise everything was smooth. We found our way out to the taxi area without too much difficulty though the directions were not as well marked from our end of the terminal. There were plenty of taxis waiting and we had no problem getting one right away. Our hotel did not have a shuttle and it was about $18 with tip to get to the Hyatt about 3 miles away. There is a lack of transportation options. It would be nice if they extended a light rail line to the airport or provided some alternate means of public transport. With our departure the check-in area functioned smoothly and the security lines were fairly well managed making the wait times pretty reasonable. The facilities in the airport were quite nice. I waited with my daughter for her flight back home and there was plenty of space to sit and relax for the short time before the flight was called. In the Delta Sky Lounge the facilities there were superb. The atmosphere was relaxing and presented a great place to wait for boarding. I did not take advantage of the shops and eating options in the airport while they seemed to be a bit limited the were nice. Overall I was quite impressed with this airport. The size makes it very usable. Getting to the airport and getting away are processes that are manageable. While the facilities might not be as packed with commercial options and eateries as some larger airports it is a small price to pay. The thing that cannot be underestimated is the general atmosphere that simply allows this place to become a very pleasant part of the travel experience and not a necessary evil.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
10/10

San Diego Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st September 2014

Took a flight from London to San Diego. The airport is wonderful very clean and modern and the views of palm trees the bay and skyline from the moment one steps off of the plane (new T2) is a real treat. The immigration and customs area was smaller than expected but I hear they are working on expanding this as part of the general airport expansion plans. Staff is courteous efficient and friendly. The airport is conveniently located minutes from downtown and probably has one of the nicest physical locations of an international airport I've visited - it is surrounded by water and is right across (literally walking distance) from the bay with its resort hotels manicured promenades and huge marinas filled with pleasure boats.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
10/10

San Diego Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 7th April 2014

Recently traveled through San Diego Lindbergh Field and the newly renovated and expanded Terminal 2 West. In addition to the added gates the new restaurants bars and Sunset Cove area deserve special mention. The new security area was large and easy to traverse with almost no waiting. There's a new elevated departures drop off zone which is very convenient. Improvements to Terminal 1 are being designed. Short of a new airport they've done a nice job.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
3/10

San Diego Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 14th November 2012

Apparently upgraded recently to international airport and just not up to it. Facilities poor but not as poor as quality and competence of check in and gate staff who appear to be let down by their systems. Not a great advert for what San Diegans call the 'Greatest City in the USA'. If we went back there would seriously consider flying into LAX and driving down.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
5/10

San Diego Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 5th June 2012

Security was quick and the walk to the gate is very short. However the airport is poorly designed. The gates are very crowded with little or no seating areas. The gate areas are not designed to handle the capacity of today's travel capacity. The gate areas are very dirty with trash everywhere. The airport is badly in need of a redesign and expansion.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
6/10

San Diego Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 24th November 2011

Flew into T2 on BA. Terminal very quiet and we were through immigration in about 10 mins after leaving the plane. Baggage on the carousel within a further 10 mins. Passengers are then made to stand in line and have their hand and checked bags x-rayed and themselves scanned before being allowed to leave. Big queues by then as another flight had come in. What a shabby way to treat passengers.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities N/A
yes
1 to 10 of 26 Reviews