Rome Fiumicino Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 271 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"passport control took over 2 hours"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I arrived at Fiumicino airport today at 1.30 pm, the process of getting through passport control took over 2 hours due to only 6 counters being open, the queue was extremely long, there were no airport staff assisting, a dreadful start to our Italian holiday. Not good enough.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst flight and airport experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst airport service that I have ever been to and I travel a lot so have been to many airports. Our flight was at 10am and we were standing in line to check in at 8 am. We were in the family line because of our baby. There were just 2 families before us. The women at the counter literally took 1 hour to check them in. It was 9 am by the time we got to the counter, now it was a different lady helping us. She didn't know what she was doing. It was 9.30 and we were still waiting. I checked the screen and it showed the flight was boarding. I told her the flight was boarding and she said it wasn't and we didn't have to worry about it. Than the manager walks in and tells us, flight is closed and he especially has the flight waiting for us. We told him we have been standing here for an hour and a half and these people were not able to check us in. The lady at the counter lied to our faces and said we arrived late. So finally we check in, and he tells us that we need to run to the gate otherwise they will close the gate and if we miss the flight it is not their responsibility. We started arguing that it's their fault we are late but he rude, arrogant and ignorant and started yelling at us that we should come to the airport early. We had to go get our VAT money back and he told us we have to choose, either catch the flight or get the VAT back. Just to add this is happening with us carrying a 1 yr old, stroller and 2 bags. We run to the security check, and to the gate. We were being rushed. When we got to the gate we realized we forgot our stroller at the security check. We told the staff at the gate that we forgot our stroller and if we could run and get it. The staff at the counter started shouting that it was not their responsibility and either we go get the stroller or miss the flight, we had to choose one and if we miss the flight than it's not their responsibility. On top of all this we requested a vegetarian meal which we did not get. Also we requested a bassinet which they did not give us. Overall worst flight and airport experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

19th March 2018 : Rome Fiumicino Airport response

Dear Bisharah, thanks for reporting this. Learning about the experience of our passengers is very important to grow the quality of our services and the customer orientation of all ground airport operators. Airports are complex structures, with the presence of personnel from multiple companies. Your report concerns different situations, not all directly managed by Aeroporti di Roma. It seems to refers to airline operator and its handler. In order to identify the responsibilities correctly could you please fill in the online form explaining what occurred to you in detail and which was your flight : http://www.adr.it/web/aeroporti-di-roma-en-/suggestions-and-complaints ?

1/10

"it was very chaotic and unsafe"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | We arrived to Rome 02/03 and there were a huge amount of people at the passport control. There were no staff to help or organize the process so it was very chaotic and unsafe. The room was too small and very hot for so many people. After an 18 hour flight we had to spend 2 hours in horrible conditions. We had organized the airport transfer from our accommodation but driver could not wait for so long. We have been in many airports in the world in many countries and passport process was always controlled and organized. This airport is the worst and we will try to avoid it in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

12th March 2018 : Rome Fiumicino Airport response

Dear Mr Edwards, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Fiumicino Airport. We understand your disappointment, however passport control is not managed by Aeroporti di Roma; it is managed directly by public security forces. We have informed them of your complaint for further investigation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Kind regards, Aeroporti di Roma

9/10

"everything is clean, fast and efficient"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | I have lived in Rome nearly 6 years, when I first arrived, FCO was dirty, slow service in everything from security to baggage collection. Now, it is world class, everything is clean, fast and efficient. Keep up the progress and you will be the best in the world. Why don't you build a large exhibition center with all the land you have? It would bring so much prosperity to the area. Every city who has done this has seen its ROI come back multiple times, eg, Milan, Paris, London, Birmingham, Frankfurt. Rome is already in a good position with its holiday/tourist attractions, but this limits the prosperity of its local economy, which with the good recent management experience at the airport, could make it the most popular city to visit in Europe.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"noisy, busy, dirty and uncomfortable"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | Simply terrible. It is constantly noisy, busy, dirty and uncomfortable. To find an area where a loud TV is not present is basically impossible. The programs are on a loop and are mostly ads. Useful indications are buried between the retroilluminated panels flashing ads. I have often seen the cleaning team in action. They keep chatting about their own private business, loudly, with abundance of vulgarity, while pushing the mop in front of them. Baggage is often lost. I hate spending time there. Even the barman serving you a coffee wil not say good morning, nor will look at you with a smile.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

19th February 2018 : Rome Fiumicino Airport response

Dear Mr Shaw, we are sorry to read that you were so disappointed with the services offered at the airport. We would like to inform you that your comment have been forwarded to the departments involved, even those not managed by Aeroporti di Roma, as courtesy towards passengers is of primary importance for us to guarantee the highest standards of behaviour. However, if you could send more details with the date and flight to our feedback area http://www.adr.it/web/aeroporti-di-roma-en-/suggestions-and-complaints, this would allow us to carry out a more in-depth investigation in order to avoid future such unpleasant situations and to improve service in general. Trust to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

5/10

"practically threw our passports"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport is alright except for the immigration officer at departure. He was probably the most surly and rude airport immigration official I have ever had the misfortune to encounter, and I have traveled extensively over 6 continents. He practically threw our passports back at us!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"An absolutely disgraceful airport!"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | An absolutely disgraceful airport! Rude staff, poor signage. Needs a broom and demolition to restart. Based on a complete run around by ground staff and visiting each terminal many times to be told we were in the wrong place - what should have taken 30 minutes, took us 2 hours! I will be better prepared next time. Also - Dear Italian customs staff - smile, say hello and if you are in the EU passport section with no passengers, perhaps lend a hand to clear the “other passport” queue. I saw more staff sitting on smartphones (including customs staff) at this airport than at and other workplace. Perhaps a job at Rome airport might be a good thing? I rated everything at 1 star because all I wanted to do was get out!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

19th January 2018 : Rome Fiumicino Airport response

Dear Mr Jones, We are sorry to read that you were so disappointed with the services offered at the airport. We would like to inform you that your comment have been forwarded to the departments involved, even those not managed by Aeroporti di Roma, as courtesy towards passengers is of primary importance for us to guarantee the highest standards of behaviour. However, if you could send more details with the date and flight to our feedback area http://www.adr.it/web/aeroporti-di-roma-en-/suggestions-and-complaints, this would allow us to carry out a more in-depth investigation in order to avoid future such unpleasant situations and to improve service in general. We trust to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

1/10

"very bad experience in this airport"

(France)

Trip Verified | I had a very bad experience in this airport. The staff in general were not helpful at all. The organisation is bad. The worst being to have very aggressive waiter and waitress in the café and restaurants of the airport. A waitress yelled at me for nothing! Also it is very rude to speak to a foreigner in Italian when you know that he does not understand a word. It's an international airport so speak English.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

4th December 2017 : Rome Fiumicino Airport response

Dear Mr Foster we regret the inconvenience you experienced at Fiumicino airport. We would like to ensure you that courtesy towards passengers is of primary importance for Aeroporti di Roma and in order to make inquiries and take action to avoid such unpleasant situations, we invite to send us more details about the cafè and restaurants you refer and the Terminal. If you wish you can send a reply using this site or the feedback section on our website: www.adr.it

9/10

"clean and spacious terminals"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Beautiful buildings, clean and spacious terminals. The signage was clear and I found my way around easily. The staff were courteous and professional and the shopping facilities just amazing. The security and passport controls were practically queue free. Easily the best airport I have been to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"clean, spacious and well laid out"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Used Terminal 3, very easy to drop bags and get through security. Well signposted which seems to be a dying art at some airports. Far easier than at Heathrow which is where we had flown from the previous week. Shopping area and departure gates area very clean, spacious and well laid out. Airport probably benefits from being smaller than "hub" airports in other capitals (London Paris etc) so is actually a friendly and nice place to be. Got there early so did have a long wait which we didnt mind because it was a far better airport than nearly every other that I've used.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes