Best Economy Class Seats  

Rome Fiumicino Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 255 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"confusing signs"

(Australia)

Avoid if you can. Taxis operators not willing to take anywhere apart from the centre of Rome. You have to use a 3rd party which rip you off (you might be able to haggle the price down). Terrible food options. Long queues. Unhelpful staff. Confusing signs. Probably the worst experience at an international airport I have had. Thank goodness for their wifi service.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not a good end to our holiday"

(United Kingdom)

We landed at Rome Fiumicino and were unloaded by bus and taken to the terminal. Got our bags, walked into the arrival hall, picked up our driver and walked to the car park and drove out in 30 minutes. I have never got out of a major airport so quickly, so 5 stars for that. On leaving it wasn't so good - very confusing signs and lack of help to find our check in. Once through to departures the air-conditioning wasn't working, every shop selling drinks had only warm drinks - even the soft drinks dispensers had warm drinks. No fault of the airport but our flight was delayed for over a hour so we had to sit on the most uncomfortable seats. It's bad enough having to wait but on badly made seats in hot conditions it was not a good end to our holiday.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"staff were reluctant to help"

(Turkey)

The airport staff at Rome Fiumicino generally were reluctant to help when you ask something. Direction signs were complicated and unsatisfactory. In general, the airport was clean and tidy. Security was average and waiting periods for passport control were acceptable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"staff are helpful, professional and patient"

(Australia)

As with all major air, rail, bus, taxi and any other major terminals in Italy, at first everything appears to be in total chaos at Rome Fiumicino airport. The trick is to take a few deep breaths and work out what the system is. Once that is done, it's a snap. The boards suddenly become very clear about what check in counters to go to, and what gate your flight will leave from. And staff are helpful, professional and above all, patient. Just be careful playing dodgems with your luggage cart while looking up at the boards. Rome city traffic has nothing on the cart and foot traffic at Rome airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"navigation terrible across the airport"

(United Kingdom)

Rome Fiumicino airport website has terrible maps, with colour codes and icons, but without legends, so it is impossible to identify the shops or restaurants, nor lounges. Pretty useless. Similar at the airport, missing signs make your navigation terrible across the airport. You see a sign showing direction to a lounge, you go that way and never see the sign again. You literally must ask staff for information just like a tourist in the city. Ridiculous.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
6/10

"much better than anticipated"

(Australia)

After reading all the terrible reviews about Rome I was a little nervous about the type of experience we would have. 1) Arrival went smoothly and the wait for luggage was not too long and the pass through immigration/customs was neither longer or shorter than other major airports we have travelled through. 2) We had an internal flight Rome to Palermo - based on the advice we got to the airport earlier than normal but check in (with Vueling) was quick and seamless and security was fine - in fact we had extra time to kill - and it is obvious they are upgrading facilities. 3) Rome to Doha - again arrived earlier than normal and the time for check in/security was not exceptionally long - which meant we had more time to wait (lucky we have club membership). Overall our passing through Rome was much better than anticipated - the dreaded cues/poor service were not evident - maybe we were just lucky.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"staff unhelpful and obstructive"

(United Kingdom)

The whole experience at Rome Fiumicino was dire, from car hire trying to rip you off to poor singage when approaching the airport. Poorly stocked and untidy shops and the worst coffee in Italy - it really must be Europe's most awful airport. The staff at all levels seemed to pride themselves at their ability to be as unhelpful and obstructive as possible. The final joke was at the departure gate in section H where you have to get on a bus, wait in the heat until it is bursting with passengers then it drives no more than 10 metres to the plane. Why not just stop the traffic on the tiny road between the gate and the plane?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"plenty of shops and bars"

(Germany)

We transited at FCO en route to and from Florence. The airport is quite big, but nonetheless the ways between the gates are not too far. The Terminal was clean, there are plenty of shops and bars within the transit area and wifi is available, too. There are also places to charge your phone or laptop. Only minus point is that most gates are bus boarding gates which makes the boarding process longer than boarding through a bridge. We would travel through FCO again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"A real nightmare"

(France)

Verified Review | What a mess. Arrived in Paris with delay but that's not the point. Long bus ride from plane to main hall. From there arriving from a Schengen country had to walk for ever to get G gates where some of non Schengen flights leave. There a long line to get through passports control, no EC lane, and the fast track for European citizens was broken. There were mixing the lane EC and not EC citizens. Then you think you will get to plane. Not at all, u take a bus which brings you to terminal G. When you reach terminal G, another bus to the plane, and then another long ride through the airport in progress. A real nightmare.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"waiting times ridiculous"

(Australia)

This airport is terrible. The waiting times through security were ridiculous. There is a reason this airport is cheap. Airport staff do not care. Once I had passed through the passport line (20 minutes) I had to get a train and walk further to my gate. I just made my flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no