Top 100 Airlines  

Rome Fiumicino Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 245 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"staff unhelpful and obstructive"

(United Kingdom)

The whole experience at Rome Fiumicino was dire, from car hire trying to rip you off to poor singage when approaching the airport. Poorly stocked and untidy shops and the worst coffee in Italy - it really must be Europe's most awful airport. The staff at all levels seemed to pride themselves at their ability to be as unhelpful and obstructive as possible. The final joke was at the departure gate in section H where you have to get on a bus, wait in the heat until it is bursting with passengers then it drives no more than 10 metres to the plane. Why not just stop the traffic on the tiny road between the gate and the plane?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"plenty of shops and bars"

(Germany)

We transited at FCO en route to and from Florence. The airport is quite big, but nonetheless the ways between the gates are not too far. The Terminal was clean, there are plenty of shops and bars within the transit area and wifi is available, too. There are also places to charge your phone or laptop. Only minus point is that most gates are bus boarding gates which makes the boarding process longer than boarding through a bridge. We would travel through FCO again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"A real nightmare"

(France)

Verified Review | What a mess. Arrived in Paris with delay but that's not the point. Long bus ride from plane to main hall. From there arriving from a Schengen country had to walk for ever to get G gates where some of non Schengen flights leave. There a long line to get through passports control, no EC lane, and the fast track for European citizens was broken. There were mixing the lane EC and not EC citizens. Then you think you will get to plane. Not at all, u take a bus which brings you to terminal G. When you reach terminal G, another bus to the plane, and then another long ride through the airport in progress. A real nightmare.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"waiting times ridiculous"

(Australia)

This airport is terrible. The waiting times through security were ridiculous. There is a reason this airport is cheap. Airport staff do not care. Once I had passed through the passport line (20 minutes) I had to get a train and walk further to my gate. I just made my flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"has much improved"

(United Kingdom)

Fiumicino airport has much improved in the last couple of months. For several months after the fire that destroyed half of the terminal T3 in 2015, the airport was very poorly managed. Now things seems to be fine. My review concerns terminal T3. I went through security in less than 5 min.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"nice and clean"

(Italy)

I found Rome Fiumicino Airport to be nice and clean, toilets were clean too. Many shops around, also a piano to play for customers. Well signed. Screens are multilingual (Chinese and Russian), I think it s a good airport to travel through. I dont know about luggage area as I flew only hand bag...
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"airport itself is clean"

(Egypt)

I flew Alitalia CAI-LHR via FCO recently with a group of business colleagues. The airport itself is clean and well maintained. The main issue is that it doesn't have enough terminal space. We had to use a remote terminal which required a bus to get there from the main terminal. We also had to use buses to get to/from the aircraft in cold and wet conditions. I can understand budget airlines doing this but not Alitalia at its home airport. The WiFi is good but if you want to get full access to WhatsApp and other social media you have to sign up for a premium service where you register your email, name etc but don't have to pay.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"this airport is a nightmare"

(Belgium)

This airport is a nightmare, I had to take 3 buses, one from the plane to terminal, one from terminal to terminal, another one from terminal to plane, average every time I come is always 2 bus journeys. If you come from international and fly national you have to go out and re-enter. Lounges are far away from the gates, it's almost a 30 min walk from B gates. Forget about extra schengen flights, you have to walk all the way though the airport before catching one of the above mentioned buses to get to the other terminal. On the positive side there are some good shops and restaurants with good service.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"delays were so long"

(Australia)

Wins the award for the worst airport I've been through. Delays of 3 hours to get through the long line of passport control. Again on flight out, arrived 3.5 hours before flight and just made it as the delays in security and passport control were so long. Italian police and bureaucrats in uniform everywhere but none of them actually working.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"It was utter chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Total ineptitude on the part of this airport meant that we missed our flight home. We arrived in plenty of time, but gates G and H had just one security channel open for hundreds of passengers. We waited over an hour and a half to get through. Our flight had gone by the time we were through. Tannoy announcements could not be heard as they were too quiet. People were trying to push in, anxious about their flights too. It was utter chaos. We were not the only ones to miss our flight that day. We had to buy new tickets with another airline to a different airport, leaving 11 hours later, then pay for a train to the original UK airport, then a taxi to collect our car - and to rub salt in the wound, Allianz, our travel insurance company, won't pay out as it doesn't cover for missed flights even though it was not our fault. Add to this having to pay through the nose for very expensive and not very nice at all airport food - a bad end to a short break away.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no