Top 100 Airlines  

Rome Fiumicino Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 259 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"cold metal chairs"

(Finland)

Rome Fiumicino airport and surroundings were quite clean and as expected. Unfortunately we arrived really early for a morning flight from Rome to Cagliari. There was literally no one in the airport and still the staff managed to be rude. They were making us hurry at security check when there was absolutely no lines. There was nowhere to rest but cold metal chairs and the 'relaxing' area was a joke - there was few lounging chairs infront of an ATM maschine.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not how we want to remember Rome"

(United Arab Emirates)

There are some serious management issues at Rome Fiumicino airport. We landed from Dubai in the early afternoon, on a full A380 flight, meaning more than 500 passengers. On the way out of the airplane and towards passport control, the line for the passport control counters started at the bottom of the last escalator and hundreds of people queued at the same time. I could see to the left an electronic counter for EU and CH biometric passports, and on our flights there were a lot of Italian / EU passengers, who were still waiting on the "all passports" line because none of the airport staff bothered to come and encourage them to use the electronic counter. Second thing, due to some kind of renovation works I assume, there was absolutely no ventilation in this area, also, no proper lines formed leading to the counters, because half of the space was closed. Half of the hall was empty and the other half full of hundreds of passengers pushing each other for more than an hour. The staff themselves were absolutely disorganized. We were approaching the counters (after more than 40 minutes in the line already), when one of the airport staff opened the line for around 20-30 people right behind me directing them to one of the passport control desks and she didn't let us go through. I explained she wasn't being fair and her response was "your line will be quicker". It is a matter of principle after all we were all waiting on the same line. So we waited for another 30 minutes till we reached the immigration counter and the people she let go ahead of us were long gone. We were stuck in a line to get to passport control counters for about 1hour 15 minutes. Of course, due to the long waiting time the driver we booked was gone. It is a shame because Rome is such a beautiful city and I would assume that most of the people coming here are holidaymakers. This is not how we want to remember Rome, this is not how anyone would want to start their holidays.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"very limited seats at each gate"

(United Kingdom)

This airport seemed very efficient up until waiting at the gates. The security and customs moved very quickly and every line was open. We took a shuttle to our gate section. We were a group of six travelling together. We arrive at our gate section only to look around and see very limited seats at each gate. Approximately 50 seats at each gate when these planes hold 200. It's unfortunate to see such a major airport in a big city not being able to provide seats to travellers and watching everyone having to find space on the floor in order to rest 2 hours before their flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"lack of seating"

(United Kingdom)

A joke of an airport. The food choices are poor and expensive and the staff are all grumpy and do not attempt to make your experience smooth. The main issue is the lack of seating. Not only is it uncomfortable, but there is simply not enough. I did not expect to find myself waiting for a flight sat on the floor. Would not recommend you fly from here.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"confusing signs"

(Australia)

Avoid if you can. Taxis operators not willing to take anywhere apart from the centre of Rome. You have to use a 3rd party which rip you off (you might be able to haggle the price down). Terrible food options. Long queues. Unhelpful staff. Confusing signs. Probably the worst experience at an international airport I have had. Thank goodness for their wifi service.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not a good end to our holiday"

(United Kingdom)

We landed at Rome Fiumicino and were unloaded by bus and taken to the terminal. Got our bags, walked into the arrival hall, picked up our driver and walked to the car park and drove out in 30 minutes. I have never got out of a major airport so quickly, so 5 stars for that. On leaving it wasn't so good - very confusing signs and lack of help to find our check in. Once through to departures the air-conditioning wasn't working, every shop selling drinks had only warm drinks - even the soft drinks dispensers had warm drinks. No fault of the airport but our flight was delayed for over a hour so we had to sit on the most uncomfortable seats. It's bad enough having to wait but on badly made seats in hot conditions it was not a good end to our holiday.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"staff were reluctant to help"

(Turkey)

The airport staff at Rome Fiumicino generally were reluctant to help when you ask something. Direction signs were complicated and unsatisfactory. In general, the airport was clean and tidy. Security was average and waiting periods for passport control were acceptable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"staff are helpful, professional and patient"

(Australia)

As with all major air, rail, bus, taxi and any other major terminals in Italy, at first everything appears to be in total chaos at Rome Fiumicino airport. The trick is to take a few deep breaths and work out what the system is. Once that is done, it's a snap. The boards suddenly become very clear about what check in counters to go to, and what gate your flight will leave from. And staff are helpful, professional and above all, patient. Just be careful playing dodgems with your luggage cart while looking up at the boards. Rome city traffic has nothing on the cart and foot traffic at Rome airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"navigation terrible across the airport"

(United Kingdom)

Rome Fiumicino airport website has terrible maps, with colour codes and icons, but without legends, so it is impossible to identify the shops or restaurants, nor lounges. Pretty useless. Similar at the airport, missing signs make your navigation terrible across the airport. You see a sign showing direction to a lounge, you go that way and never see the sign again. You literally must ask staff for information just like a tourist in the city. Ridiculous.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
6/10

"much better than anticipated"

(Australia)

After reading all the terrible reviews about Rome I was a little nervous about the type of experience we would have. 1) Arrival went smoothly and the wait for luggage was not too long and the pass through immigration/customs was neither longer or shorter than other major airports we have travelled through. 2) We had an internal flight Rome to Palermo - based on the advice we got to the airport earlier than normal but check in (with Vueling) was quick and seamless and security was fine - in fact we had extra time to kill - and it is obvious they are upgrading facilities. 3) Rome to Doha - again arrived earlier than normal and the time for check in/security was not exceptionally long - which meant we had more time to wait (lucky we have club membership). Overall our passing through Rome was much better than anticipated - the dreaded cues/poor service were not evident - maybe we were just lucky.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes