Rome Fiumicino Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 288 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"clean and spacious terminals"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Beautiful buildings, clean and spacious terminals. The signage was clear and I found my way around easily. The staff were courteous and professional and the shopping facilities just amazing. The security and passport controls were practically queue free. Easily the best airport I have been to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"clean, spacious and well laid out"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Used Terminal 3, very easy to drop bags and get through security. Well signposted which seems to be a dying art at some airports. Far easier than at Heathrow which is where we had flown from the previous week. Shopping area and departure gates area very clean, spacious and well laid out. Airport probably benefits from being smaller than "hub" airports in other capitals (London Paris etc) so is actually a friendly and nice place to be. Got there early so did have a long wait which we didnt mind because it was a far better airport than nearly every other that I've used.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"everything seems to be properly signposted"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Leonardo Express from Termini is efficient and relatively fast if a bit pricey at 14 Euros. The alternative is the standard Trenitalia local train at 8 Euros but with plenty of stops between the centre and the terminal. Check in staff a bit stressed but if you are nice to them they will be nice to you. Remember theirs is a hard and underpaid job. Security and passport control remarkably fast. Was I lucky? The new C Pier at Terminal 3 is beautiful and airy if a bit underused. Good selection of (pricey) shops and eateries. I don't understand other reviewer's comments about getting lost. To me everything seems to be properly signposted. Arrival was a different story. Disembarked by finger but were then herded by bus to a small and cramped room where handluggage was X-rayed and then there was another queue for passport control. Altogether this took almost one hour. Wifi is free and worked fine. Plenty of toilets and they were clean.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"Very well signposted internally"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Biggest and best airport we have ever been through. Very efficient. Very well signposted internally. Polite staff. Excellent, spacious and air-conditioned departure lounge, with a surprising selection of places to eat and/or drink, not to mention shop though, of course, expensive. Even a grand piano for those able to play and entertain the rest of us. Plus a brilliant ‘people mover’ railway to the departure gates.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

" very rude and inefficient staff"

(United States)

Unverified | If I were going to a shopping mall, this would be a nice place, but it is perhaps the worst international airport I've ever experienced. No signage for bathrooms, no place to get a quick snack for the plane - plus very rude and inefficient staff. I will never fly out of Rome back to the US again. Worst experience after a lovely trip.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"experience at the airport spoiled it all"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Long wait to drop a bag. No drinking water fountain after security and the staff at the Bistrot Fiumicino refused to fill the water bottle and were very rude! A small bottle of water will cost you €2. The staff at the duty free have no idea about customer service. I really hope they will improve it soon because after a lovely trip and amazing people we've met in Rome, the experience at the airport spoiled it all! Shame!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"found the process remarkably efficient"

(Ireland)

Unverified | I found the process remarkably efficient. Security and passport control completed in about 10 minutes. The building is bright and spacious and the restaurants and bars easy to use. Seating airside could be improved but all in all a hassle free experience. Shops are quite expensive but with a captive audience that's what happens.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"it is very well organized"

(United States)

Unverified | It is a very big airport, it is very well organized and everyone is polite. It has a very good connection with the center of Rome. It is the cleanest airport I have ever seen along with Dubai and Zurich airports. It is too big and has a great variety of shops, where you can prepare for your flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"It is now one of the best"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have been going through Fiumicino Airport at least 20 times/year for the past 20 years. For several years it used to be one of the worst airports on almost all accounts. It is now one of the best. Security and passport control have improved dramatically and it rarely takes more than 10 min for the entire process. The new terminal E is great for shopping and for eating/drinking. The Wifi service is excellent and it is free (when I am in the BA lounge, I ignore their Wifi, which is worthless, and use instead the free one provided by the airport).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"a civilized functioning place"

(United States)

Unverified | I recently used Fiumicino three times - to connect from an international flight to a domestic flight, to arrive on a domestic flight, and to depart on an international flight. Overall, I was satisfied with the cleanliness, signage, modern bathrooms (with running water in the sink, liquid soap, and electric dryer side by side), and spaciousness. The transit involved a long walk and we were amazed that there were only two of us who was "exiting" into the domestic section and there were two agents who readily stamped our passports. The departure was by a bus to the plane parked far off on the tarmac. The bus was packed and having boarding zone #1 on the boarding pass made no difference as everyone rushed out of the bus to clamber up the staircase! Flying into Rome, the plane was again parked away from the terminal but the bus was prompt and quick and it was a breeze to get out of the terminal. Followed the signs and a long walk on moving sideways to the Leonardo express train where bought tickets using English language instructions. Attendants helped us validate the ticket and we were on the train where the ticket checker helped passengers find seats by moving luggage around. Returning was again surprisingly smooth. We took the train back and followed the signs to E terminal. The security check for flights to the U.S. was separate and there was hardly anyone. The immigration check area looked busy but our queue moved fast and no fuss. We walked into shops -- similar to any major international airport. The E terminal was quite a distance away and we went into an Alitalia lounge. It was small, crowded, and hot. Food and drinks were limited and two assistants helped with getting you those. The lounge did not offer the quiet and class that was available at JFK. Outside the lounge, a flight up was a Musei Vatican gift shop where I picked up a few last minute souvenirs. The flight time was posted and at the gate there was a huge crowd. The boarding went smoothly, the electronic boarding pass on my i-Phone worked and we were ushered into our seats. All in all, Fiumicino was a civilized functioning place - easy to get to and leave by the express train -- with all elements working. The lounge could be better, the bus rides to and fro from the planes could be less chaotic but otherwise, And the best part was that all the Alitalia flights I took were on time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes