Rome Fiumicino Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 292 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"noisy, busy, dirty and uncomfortable"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | Simply terrible. It is constantly noisy, busy, dirty and uncomfortable. To find an area where a loud TV is not present is basically impossible. The programs are on a loop and are mostly ads. Useful indications are buried between the retroilluminated panels flashing ads. I have often seen the cleaning team in action. They keep chatting about their own private business, loudly, with abundance of vulgarity, while pushing the mop in front of them. Baggage is often lost. I hate spending time there. Even the barman serving you a coffee wil not say good morning, nor will look at you with a smile.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

19th February 2018 : Rome Fiumicino Airport response

Dear Mr Shaw, we are sorry to read that you were so disappointed with the services offered at the airport. We would like to inform you that your comment have been forwarded to the departments involved, even those not managed by Aeroporti di Roma, as courtesy towards passengers is of primary importance for us to guarantee the highest standards of behaviour. However, if you could send more details with the date and flight to our feedback area http://www.adr.it/web/aeroporti-di-roma-en-/suggestions-and-complaints, this would allow us to carry out a more in-depth investigation in order to avoid future such unpleasant situations and to improve service in general. Trust to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

5/10

"practically threw our passports"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport is alright except for the immigration officer at departure. He was probably the most surly and rude airport immigration official I have ever had the misfortune to encounter, and I have traveled extensively over 6 continents. He practically threw our passports back at us!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"An absolutely disgraceful airport!"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | An absolutely disgraceful airport! Rude staff, poor signage. Needs a broom and demolition to restart. Based on a complete run around by ground staff and visiting each terminal many times to be told we were in the wrong place - what should have taken 30 minutes, took us 2 hours! I will be better prepared next time. Also - Dear Italian customs staff - smile, say hello and if you are in the EU passport section with no passengers, perhaps lend a hand to clear the “other passport” queue. I saw more staff sitting on smartphones (including customs staff) at this airport than at and other workplace. Perhaps a job at Rome airport might be a good thing? I rated everything at 1 star because all I wanted to do was get out!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

19th January 2018 : Rome Fiumicino Airport response

Dear Mr Jones, We are sorry to read that you were so disappointed with the services offered at the airport. We would like to inform you that your comment have been forwarded to the departments involved, even those not managed by Aeroporti di Roma, as courtesy towards passengers is of primary importance for us to guarantee the highest standards of behaviour. However, if you could send more details with the date and flight to our feedback area http://www.adr.it/web/aeroporti-di-roma-en-/suggestions-and-complaints, this would allow us to carry out a more in-depth investigation in order to avoid future such unpleasant situations and to improve service in general. We trust to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

1/10

"very bad experience in this airport"

(France)

Trip Verified | I had a very bad experience in this airport. The staff in general were not helpful at all. The organisation is bad. The worst being to have very aggressive waiter and waitress in the café and restaurants of the airport. A waitress yelled at me for nothing! Also it is very rude to speak to a foreigner in Italian when you know that he does not understand a word. It's an international airport so speak English.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

4th December 2017 : Rome Fiumicino Airport response

Dear Mr Foster we regret the inconvenience you experienced at Fiumicino airport. We would like to ensure you that courtesy towards passengers is of primary importance for Aeroporti di Roma and in order to make inquiries and take action to avoid such unpleasant situations, we invite to send us more details about the cafè and restaurants you refer and the Terminal. If you wish you can send a reply using this site or the feedback section on our website: www.adr.it

9/10

"clean and spacious terminals"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Beautiful buildings, clean and spacious terminals. The signage was clear and I found my way around easily. The staff were courteous and professional and the shopping facilities just amazing. The security and passport controls were practically queue free. Easily the best airport I have been to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"clean, spacious and well laid out"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Used Terminal 3, very easy to drop bags and get through security. Well signposted which seems to be a dying art at some airports. Far easier than at Heathrow which is where we had flown from the previous week. Shopping area and departure gates area very clean, spacious and well laid out. Airport probably benefits from being smaller than "hub" airports in other capitals (London Paris etc) so is actually a friendly and nice place to be. Got there early so did have a long wait which we didnt mind because it was a far better airport than nearly every other that I've used.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"everything seems to be properly signposted"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Leonardo Express from Termini is efficient and relatively fast if a bit pricey at 14 Euros. The alternative is the standard Trenitalia local train at 8 Euros but with plenty of stops between the centre and the terminal. Check in staff a bit stressed but if you are nice to them they will be nice to you. Remember theirs is a hard and underpaid job. Security and passport control remarkably fast. Was I lucky? The new C Pier at Terminal 3 is beautiful and airy if a bit underused. Good selection of (pricey) shops and eateries. I don't understand other reviewer's comments about getting lost. To me everything seems to be properly signposted. Arrival was a different story. Disembarked by finger but were then herded by bus to a small and cramped room where handluggage was X-rayed and then there was another queue for passport control. Altogether this took almost one hour. Wifi is free and worked fine. Plenty of toilets and they were clean.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"Very well signposted internally"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Biggest and best airport we have ever been through. Very efficient. Very well signposted internally. Polite staff. Excellent, spacious and air-conditioned departure lounge, with a surprising selection of places to eat and/or drink, not to mention shop though, of course, expensive. Even a grand piano for those able to play and entertain the rest of us. Plus a brilliant ‘people mover’ railway to the departure gates.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

" very rude and inefficient staff"

(United States)

Unverified | If I were going to a shopping mall, this would be a nice place, but it is perhaps the worst international airport I've ever experienced. No signage for bathrooms, no place to get a quick snack for the plane - plus very rude and inefficient staff. I will never fly out of Rome back to the US again. Worst experience after a lovely trip.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"experience at the airport spoiled it all"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Long wait to drop a bag. No drinking water fountain after security and the staff at the Bistrot Fiumicino refused to fill the water bottle and were very rude! A small bottle of water will cost you €2. The staff at the duty free have no idea about customer service. I really hope they will improve it soon because after a lovely trip and amazing people we've met in Rome, the experience at the airport spoiled it all! Shame!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no