Rhodes Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 20 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Rhodes Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 2nd July 2015

This has to be at the top of the 10 worst airports that we have experienced around the world. I know that the Greek economy is in the mire at the moment, but looking at reviews of this airport done nearly 10 years ago, the same conditions prevailed, so they reap what they sow. I would never return to use this airport again. Usual airport business of baggage handling - waited ages for arrival of our cases and on departure had to queue to bag drop, but then had to join another queue to place bags in x-ray. Passenger facilities were abysmal - toilets had a very strong stench - there was no A/C in the building and on a 90 degree day that is not great! There were seats for about 50% of the passengers waiting to depart - there were long queues for everything, yet there was a state-of-the-art duty free shop.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit02-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
4/10

Rhodes Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 26th June 2015

Arrival 3.00am. Disgusting toilets. Some problems over luggage delivery but a word to a member of staff did sort this out. Otherwise, quick and straightforward. Departure 22.00: We didn't have to queue but courier mentioned chaos ruled about one hour before so extra gates had been opened. Rather confusing to have to book in and then queue again to send your luggage through. Toilets are awful! No toilet seats, door locks broken or missing, no soap, no paper towels and driers not working - not too clean either. The nastiest loos we encountered in Rhodes. The usual duty free shop. Catering poor and expensive with indifferent service, so take snacks with you. Lacking in organisation at the gates but take off on time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit26-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

Rhodes Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 22nd June 2015

Queued for 2 hours to get onto Thomson flight to Glasgow. Nearly a riot when Glasgow bound passengers called forward as running out of time. Would be a joke if wasnt so dangerous. Wheelchair passengers waiting 2 hours in non air conditioned Greek summer. Avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit22-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

Rhodes Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 20th November 2014

My main concern are the state of the toilets for ladies and children. They are absolutely disgusting some with broken toilet seats some don't have any toilet seats flushes not working no toilet paper doors broken and not able to close and certainly no locking toilet doors. The smell is awful. No soap and broken hand dryers. We have used this airport in the last 2 years 4 times and nothing changes! The queuing downstairs at the checking in desk is very frustrating - then to queue again to put suitcases through the scanner it's madness. Passport control is not much better. I think it is time for passengers to be treated in a reasonable respectable way.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Rhodes Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 22nd October 2014

Luckily no queues to check in at 11pm but what a pain taking your case elsewhere for it to be scanned. At Glasgow on way out cases were weighed individually as well as hand luggage. In Rhodes both cases on side by side with one resting on metal at side of belt hence not an accurate weight. Only reason she wanted them up was so labels could be attached. She could not have cared less about size or weight of hand luggage. Passports and security no problem at that time of night. Toilets were worse than 3rd world. Smelly no hand dryers working and towels long since finished. Thank god I am a man. My poor wife emptied a load of hand disinfectant gel onto her hands after her visit. Where are the restaurants? Where are the bars. Not enough seats people sitting on the floor etc. Rhodes is a lovely island so why spoil it all with so such a desperately poor airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

Rhodes Airport customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 13th October 2014

Departing from Rhodes means more than 90 minutes to wrestle through 4 queue's (early October!). One to get your luggage labels one to get your luggage on the belt one to get through security and one to get into the bus to the plane. The men's toilet after passing security is the deepest level of Hell a man can get. Probably some man never returned from a visit and spent the rest of their life trapped in an odour I try to get out of my nostrils since my expedition into that room.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Rhodes Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 6th July 2014

You queue at check in lift your baggage onto the conveyor beside the check in clerks desk to have labels attached and it goes though to the baggage sorting area - wrong - you have to then lift it off push through the people queuing behind you and take it to another desk where once again queue then you have to lift it on to a different part of the same conveyor to go through a security scan. After waving farewell to your luggage you go upstairs through security which on the face of it is quite good Boarding card check point - yes hand baggage and body scan - yes Passport Control - hmm there was a roller shutter door open between the scan area where you could see through to the departure lounge which was cordoned off with the sort of barrier posts and tape used for queuing in your bank. Duty free is average until to come to pay for your items. After standing in a queue of about 15 people for what seems like half an hour you present your purchases to them which they present to the barcode scanner from many different angles to get it to scan they then ask for your boarding card which has a lovely neatly printed barcode on it ripe for scanning - do they scan it? Of course not they continue on with their one finger typing hoping they manage to input the correct details. Whatever you do please do not try to pay with a combination of your left over currency and your plastic - this throws them into utter confusion. The departure gates were obviously designed when air travel was a rarity and planes only held 75-100 people. They are small cramped and with very little seating - you will end up sitting on the floor in the main departure lounge like some homeless refugee in a displacement camp. When your flight is called if you're lucky you will be able to walk to the plane however in our case we were loaded on to a bus driven by the star of the local rally scene who drove at full speed pulling tight turns to get us to the plane - make sure you hold onto to your luggage and small children tightly. In summary I'm sure the are far superior airports in third world countries and I would advise avoiding this place like the plague.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
7/10

Rhodes Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 27th April 2014

Adequate regional airport. Generally good for Greece easy to use food OK. One of Greece's best. Has a VIP lounge but you must go up to find it on first floor.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
7/10

Rhodes Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 10th October 2013

Dreaded using this holiday island airport but was pleasantly surprised. Baggage reclaim on arrival not well lit and a bit chaotic but probably due to large number of flights that had just landed. Even more chaotic trying to find Thomson rep had to go out of terminal and re-enter through another door just to find her! Return journey was much better no thanks to passengers for other flights on our coach who just wanted to push and shove to get their bags and into airport. Dealt with very efficiently at check-in Thomson rep even wheeled my mother's case to the scanner for her. Upstairs departure area very bright and clean even the toilets. Strange that our departure gate could not be accessed as dividing doors to that part of terminal remained closed for about 2 hours leading to congestion (people queuing) and no seats then available in gate area. Overall was not as bad as I had expected.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
na

Rhodes Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 4th August 2013

Absolutely appalling place. Avoid at all costs - visit at your peril and just hope you don't need the toilet. Hideous.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 16 Reviews