Rhodes Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 46 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Queues were hours long"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Most ridiculous airport I've ever been to. Queues were hours long and organisation was poor. Had to queue up twice even before getting into security. The greeks didn't seem to care either. We nearly missed our flight and we were there over 2 hours before our flight! When flying hope ensure you have plenty of time. Theres also no air con and its very hot and humid. Wouldn't reccomend at all. Suprised we got home.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I have ever experienced"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have travelled extensively throughout the world and without doubt this is the worst airport I have ever experienced. We arrived at 00.10 on a typical hot July night. The arrivals hall was stiflingly warm. There was no air con or fans. The place was packed as many flights arrive around that time. There were at least 5 flights showing as using Belt 2 and eveyone was packed around it. There was no way of telling what flights the bags were coming off without asking people or looking at tags. 1.5 hours after landing our bags arrived. If we thought arrival as bad then departures decided to up the level of badness. The departure area was the same as arrivals, no air con or fans and unbearably warm. After a long wait in a queue for check-in all that happened was our bags were tagged and we had to take them and join another huge queue to put them through a security scanner. We arrived at the airport at 18.55 and it was 20.45 before we cleared security. We had a brilliant time in Rhodes but until the airport is improved we will not return.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Not a good first impression"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Arrived in the early hours. Went to the ladies toilet in arrivals hall - absolutely filthy, smelly and no toilet paper, paper towels or working hand dryer. Not a good first impression. The departure toilets were if possible even worse - they stank. There were piles of food debris everywhere and no sign of any cleaners. No air con on a particularly hot night - we were lucky and found a secret room behind one of the food areas - so secret there was only us two in there despite having lots and lots of seats. Two huge aircon units made it lovely and cool. Rhodes airport you need to get your act together - has definitely put me off visiting your lovely island again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Lovely island, it's a shame about the airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Rhodes airport was not very nice at all, go to the toilet before getting to the airport, or hold it until you get on to the plane, as they are filthy! I went into the toilets to get changed for my flight, and it had such a vile smell, people walked in and walked straight back out. Also if you're a lady, be prepared to have no toilet seat to sit on nor tissue (apparently nor did the men's). Security weren't very brutal with a family who had bottles amongst bottles of what they said was water? It could have been any clear liquid substance? And what happened to the 100ml allowance for bottles in your hand luggage? Staff had a very bad attitude in the duty free shop, and general airport staff. Lovely island, it's a shame about the airport. Another issue I had, was whilst queuing up for duty free things, I waited patiently at the till, and as it was my turn, the member of staff, got out her mobile and started making phone calls, she walked off and carried on her conversation elsewhere. Very rude!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Plenty of places to sit and wait"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I don't recognise most of the previous comments. Travelled from and to Athens on Aegean Airlines. Arrival: On time and bused to the terminal. No passport control as we were on domestic. The baggage hall was full and seemed chaotic - but our bags were reasonably prompt. Short walk to the Avis desk - and we were out of the airport withing 30 minutes of landing. Departure: Also on Aegean Airlines. We arrived 2.5 hours before our flight and we checked in with no queue. The departure lounge was reasonably pleasant. There is air conditioning! Well stocked duty free shops. 2-3 snack bars. The food looked good and was not overpriced. e.g. 4.5 euro for a large filled baguette. Plenty of places to sit and wait. Departure well organised - again via buses to the aircraft. I did see the other side of the check in area a few days previously when dropping off my son for a Thomson flight home. We got there 2.5 hours before the flight and the were 3 queues for all 3 Thomson flights. 4-5 people ahead of him, so he was checked in relatively promptly. However, within 10 minutes - a load of tour buses arrived and suddenly each queue had trebled in size. So timing is critical. My son had a trouble free journey through the various procedures. Tip - If, like us, you arrive with time to spend, there is a nice little Taverna within 5 minutes walking distance of the terminal. Check in first then go out of the terminal, walk to the right where all the tour buses park - up some steps and a ramp onto the main road - There is a taverna called Deipnos - we had an excellent lunch - so much better than being stuck in the terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"chaotic, tiring and hot"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrival isn't the worst, however there are very few carousels and as such 3 flights worth of luggage was eventually tipped onto one carousel - this seemed to take an absolute eternity - which with no air conditioning and some very tired children was horrendous. Departure wise this is sincerely, the worst airport I have ever had the misfortune to be in. There is no air conditioning - and Rhodes is a very hot place. We had to queue to have our luggage weighed and tagged, then we had to queue to check our luggage in, then queue to go through security (cattle class really did spring to mind here), then queue for passport control. It was chaotic, tiring and hot. The toilets are an absolute disgrace! Foul smelling, not one toilet had a toilet seat, the smell of stale urine was eye watering and a large proportion of toilets had no toilet paper. The sinks were filthy, there was no soap to wash your hands and I couldn't find paper towels. This was the same of both the check in terminal and the departure terminal toilets. They seem to put through far too many flights at the one time. It is clearly a small airport which can barely cope with this volume of travellers. Departure lounges were dirty with litter lying about - no bins for obvious reasons, but no cleaning staff to be seen. Genuinely, I will never return to Rhodes again because of this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most unpleasant airport I've been to"

(Finland)

Verified Review | Perhaps the most unpleasant airport I've been to. The toilets were disgusting, lacking soap and paper and cover. I had checked in through Finnair, so I was saved the long queueing contrary to all others. The Finnair plane was waiting at 50 metres from the window, but the only way the airport staff could transfer us to the plane was with buses. There was only one slow person at the gate, and our take-off was delayed with half an hour. No thanks to Rhodes again!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport needs a complete re-think"

(United Kingdom)

This airport needs a complete re-think on how it operates. To support many of the comments posted in previous reports: The queuing is ridiculous. We spent an hour waiting last night to check in to our TUI flight. The girl on our particular desk seemed to be having major system challenges when faced with any parties greater than 2. A supervisor did appear at one point to help her, but the system failed again with the next large group. Maybe the supervisor should have stuck around (Swissport please note). In the queue next to us (Thomas Cook) one gentleman fainted. No aircon working. The lady in charge of scanning the bags seemed to have taken her customer service notes from Basil Fawlty. The toilets are in total disrepair, No toilet seats, paper everywhere, flush not working. Flight delayed due to ground crew not knowing who was or wasnt aboard. I award the airport 1 point for having a runway.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"run as effectively as it could be"

(United Kingdom)

After curiosity struck me to see what other travelling people thought of this airport I decided to read the reviews written on here. I would just like to say that I totally disagree with many of these as the airport is run as effectively as it could be on such a small island. The only downside is the queuing and the scanning of your luggage, yourself. Yes, this is a pain and its not the most ideal situation but most airlines have at least 3 desks open were they try their best to cut down queues as much as possible. Queues are also long upon arrival at passport control, which may I add is more than expected, as some planes land within a couple of minutes with one and other and each passport must be checked upon arrival. I have arrived and departed twice from this airport now and during these visits the toilets have never been as poor as some people are saying. Also the overall quality of the airport is a good standard considering the country and the amount of people passing through each day. All I'm saying is travel with an open mind (you may be surprised) as its really not as bad as what some people are saying and certainly does not deserve a 1/10.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the main issue was the cleanliness"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The first thing that hit me on departure were the extremely long queues. If you checked in online the queues were marginally shorter, but if you had luggage, you still had to have it weighed and then queue up again to have it scanned. What a hassle that was. But the main issue was the cleanliness. I have been to many airports, but this is by far the most disgusting. The ladies toilets were revolting. No toilet seats wee all over the floor no toilet roll, empty soap dispensers and the hand dryers didn't work. There was a cleaner in there, but she clearly wasn't cleaning. Shame on you Rhodes airport. This was my first visit to Rhodes airport and it was not a good impression at all. The only positive thing that I can say is that the water was €1 which has to be the cheapest I have come across having come through security where you normally get charged the earth. In summary. A very rundown, dirty, smelly airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 42 Reviews