Top 100 Airlines  

Rhodes Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 37 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the main issue was the cleanliness"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The first thing that hit me on departure were the extremely long queues. If you checked in online the queues were marginally shorter, but if you had luggage, you still had to have it weighed and then queue up again to have it scanned. What a hassle that was. But the main issue was the cleanliness. I have been to many airports, but this is by far the most disgusting. The ladies toilets were revolting. No toilet seats wee all over the floor no toilet roll, empty soap dispensers and the hand dryers didn't work. There was a cleaner in there, but she clearly wasn't cleaning. Shame on you Rhodes airport. This was my first visit to Rhodes airport and it was not a good impression at all. The only positive thing that I can say is that the water was €1 which has to be the cheapest I have come across having come through security where you normally get charged the earth. In summary. A very rundown, dirty, smelly airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"need to get their act together"

(United Kingdom)

We returned on an Jet2.com flight following a wonderful fortnight in Rhodes. When we arrived in Rhodes at the start of the holiday we were processed and greeted pretty quickly so cannot complain there. What a difference the return journey was, no sooner had we stepped foot out of our taxi, the Jet2.com rep informed us there was going to be a 2 hour delay but was unable to offer an explanation. Having read previous reviews whilst the process of check in is a bit long winded, we didn't have to wait too long as some of the other reviewers experience had been. I do agree wholeheartedly that this is an area that needs improving not just at Rhodes but other Greek airports. In terms of security and passport control I always find this a bit unnerving due to the hostile demeanour of the staff working in this field. I don't want them to be my 'mates' but a bit of courteousness wouldn't go a miss. Once checked in, the seating area was filthy, cups / food / debris all over the place, very few bins around (Granted for security reasons). But if you don't want us to dispose of our own clutter, ensure cleaners are constantly on duty. The toilets are as bad as previous descriptions - disgusting. The seating 'lounge' is so uncomfortable, as our 2 hour delay rolled into 2 my coccyx took a hammering. With our birds eye view we were able to witness the baggage handlers fiasco. Trailers of luggage were coming uncoupled and rolled back into the loading bay, the drivers were absolutely in oblivious. Luggage too was falling off the trucks and left on the runway, until somebody could be bothered to pick them up. Food is over priced and poor quality if you are not a lover of plastic sandwiches or fast food. The tannoy system was appalling - you could not hear or understand a word they were saying. Once boarded, granted the Jet2.com cabin crew were very apologetic for the delay and provided us with an explanation. All in all, I agree with previous comments, Greece relies heavily on their tourist industry, so they need to get their act together with the way they operate their airports. It would make me think twice about going to this resort again because of this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"It ended up completely fine"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | After reading the reviews on this site I was very anxious about my departure from Rhodes airport. There did not seem to be any info regarding online check in with hand luggage only. I worried about it all afternoon with two children on apparently the busiest departure day at the airport (Weds). It ended up completely fine, a bit of rubbish around. Ice creams for kids were overpriced, but not unusual for airports. We had carry on luggage and did not check bags. We also printed our boarding passes, checking in online, so went straight through security and to the gate. Hand luggage was not weighed, which was my main concern as we were over the 6kg limit for Thomas Cook. There was however a huge amount of people queuing to check bags in. So I can totally see why there would be problems, delays and the potential for a horrendous journey.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"it was a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Have used this airport many times in the past at this time of year July/August though crowded there has been some semblance of coordination. This year upon departure it was a disgrace with queues from departure desks to the doors and as more passengers enterred there was no recognition of a queue. Children were distressed, arguements arose with queue jumping and I witnessed a disabled passenger totally disrespected by a tourist rep who himself was totally overwhelmed by the situation he was in. We were informed that this was commonplace on a Wednesday as flights are grouped together for departure. Customer satisfaction NIL
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"signage is totally inadequate"

(United Kingdom)

I arrived at 04.20, two hours before check-in and there were no staff and no-one to assist with directions. Despite being one of the first people to arrive, I ended up being behind about 100 people an hour later because the signage is totally inadequate and misleading. I was in a good mood until I encountered this place. At the moment I am sitting in Athens airport, which is fine in comparison. Perhaps the management at Rhodes airport think people are telepathic and instinctively know where to go, or even possess abilities which enable them to distinguish correct gate numbers from the incorrect gate numbers displayed on the electronic screens? The advertised free wi-fi did not function.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"filthy rundown airport"

(United Kingdom)

Without doubt the most filthy rundown airport I have ever had the misfortune to pass through. Flew in to Rhodes 8 days ago and the ladies toilets were disgusting. Cracked bowls, no seats, more than half blocked, paper and fluids all over the floor, mirrors so filthy they appeared opague. I am told the urinals were sealed off with tape and the cubicles in the men's were filled to overflowing. Fly back out this morning and it doesn't look like anyone has done anything in the week between. The floors, walls and seating are dirty and sticky. Someone dropped a whole cup of coffee between security and passport control and it was just left, no hazard warning, no attempt to clean it up, airport staff stood in clear view of it. Coffee cups, food trays, bottles etc are on every surface available it looks like they have no cleaners and no one cares. Plenty of airport staff around, all stood doing nothing. We were told to queue at desks 24/25 and stood there for 45 mins before someone opened desk 25 just 1hr 30mins before the due time for the flight. I heard an airport employee tell the Olympic Rep that the other desk may be opened in 5-10 mins when the staff finish at the gate but despite there being 5 Olympic staff stood there at that point no one made any attempt to impart this information to their customers. As a previous reviewer stated we then had to take our cases to the scanners. One must wonder why the airport has a travelator for cases installed at the desks if it doesn't use them. The stairs to security and the gates were in darkness, so much so we thought we had been given wrong directions. No wifi available - plenty of seating at gates but all dirty and a huge amount of food and detritus left by previous flights. We had a great week in Rhodes but we will not be returning because of the state of the airport. This is the first impression that visitors to the island receive and their last impression as they depart - do the authorities have so little respect for their customers and their island?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"utter shambles of Rhodes airport"

(United Kingdom)

Just arrived back from Rhodes had a lovely weeks holiday but tarnished by the utter shambles of Rhodes airport. On departure we were met by our Jet2 rep and ushered into our queue as is the usual procedure we then queued for 90 minutes to check in our cases, only to find that we then had to queue again to put our cases through the scanner. This is totally unlike any other airport I've flown from. We then had the usual queue of going through passport control and security and we all thought we might miss our flight and had very little time for refreshments. The staff were abysmal and so unhelpful and to top it all the toilets were a disgrace. Its a shame because the island is lovely but I would definitely think twice about returning due to the shambolic airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"the tannoy system is a shambles"

(Netherlands)

Arrival at Rhodes Airport as a Schengen passenger - checked in luggage quick to arrive and a reasonably clean toilet is available. Nothing special and nothing to complain about. Departure was another story. Ryanair check-in opens 2 hours before departure time. Very few seats in the departure hall available. Check in counters have very bad signage. As said many times here, after checking in you have to go to another queue to drop your bag off. Next step is the personal security check and lots of shouting officials at the security itself. After that a long walk to the departure gate. The gate area is a vast room with enough seats for everybody but the check for boarding was at the entrance of this room and we had to wait, with very few seats available, until the staff from the check-in counters transferred to the boarding check. There were separate busses for priority boarding to transport passengers from the gate to the plane and this was a nice surprise. However, the tannoy system is a shambles. As already said by other people, what a difference between the island and its airport. Because of the arrival I rate this airport as a 6.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"processed by one person only"

(United Kingdom)

Arrival at this airport was not too bad at all. Very quickly through immigration and baggage collection followed shortly. Departure was tantamount to awful. Queue to check in and weigh baggage, queue to have baggage screened, queue to get through security and then one mass of humanity trying to get through immigration. I am not exaggerating when I say that maybe two or three hundred people were waiting to be processed by one person only. The toilets were mostly broken or not working, were filthy and stank to high heaven. Food vastly over priced and of poor quality, need I go on. Such a shame that a facility such as this has to be endured after enjoying all that Rhodes has to offer.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"overcrowded with huge queues"

(United Kingdom)

Have had the misfortune to use this airport on a number of occasions since the early 80's and I can honestly say it is just as bad now as it was then. We had a superb holiday in a wonderful hotel but would really think twice about ever returning due to the dreadful airport. Overcrowded with huge queues and very hot even though it nowhere near the height of summer. Toilets disgusting. Food choices very poor.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 33 Reviews