Rhodes Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 51 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"airport is adequate for its purpose"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Understand Rhodes is not Northern Europe, don't expect Schiphol amenities or Scandanavian design/German efficiency. Rhodes is a small, poor island and the airport reflects that. The lines are long, however the tourist loads outweigh what the airport was designed to handle. The signage could be improved, information more available, however there is a marked language barrier with some staff. The departure lounge is adequate, the entire airport is adequate for its purpose - to get you to/from a beautiful small, 2d-world island.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"archaic, intrinsically unsafe and very inconvenient"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Somebody who is responsible for Rhodes Airport or someone more senior in the Rhodes local government needs to read this and the other reviews here carefully. Rhodes Airport is seriously letting your beautiful island down. We have been spending holidays in Rhodes for over a decade and are unlikely to go again any time soon. On arrival for our 10.00pm flight at 7.45pm on 30th August the lounge was absolutely packed. We were mis-directed to our queue twice and the check in staff were incredibly slow and rude. I say this with considerable experience having been throug over 40 airports around the world. The check in process of first getting tickets and then passing suitcases through a scanner is crazy. Customers have to queue twice adding to the cram of people. You need to re-invest in the system and update it to the standards found in nearly every country I have visited. The baggage check in is archaic, intrinsically unsafe and very inconvenient to your paying customers. I would say the system is third world, but most third world systems are better than this (I have travelled to a number of countries in Africa and the Far East). There was no airconditioning. Children were screaming by the end and several people were vomiting through heat stroke by the time they got on the plane. I made the mistake of quickly popping to the toilet airside. Every urinal was out of order. Really? You have to re-invest or you will see a progressive decline in your tourism.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"All in all a seamless process"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Having read some of the previous reviews I was apprehensive about using the airport. Arrivals - We landed at 1.30am and went fairly quickly through security. The toilets on arrivals are not very pleasant, there were broken tiles, the flush didn't work, toilet roll very rough material and the taps were rusty. Not as bad as I had feared though. Baggage came reasonably quickly. All in all a seamless process, however, this may have been due to time of arrival. Departures - Arrived at the airport at midnight for a 2am flight. Straight through check in, which is odd as you have to queue twice. Went through very quickly however, again probably due to the flight time. I can imagine if it was a daytime flight it would be very chaotic. There was a coffee shop and the duty free open. Very expensive for both. Cost £12 for 2 drinks of pepsi and a slice of pizza but to be expected. Seating not too bad and there were electrical sockets to charge phone. There was a cleaner in the ladies toilets and they were in much better condition than the ones on the way out. My son however said the gents toilets smelt awful. All in all it wouldn't stop me going to Rhodes again, I loved it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Limited seating. Utter chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Disorder and chaos. Check in boards say a check in desk, you queue half an hour to be told it isn't open yet. So queue again. Staff very rude. Airport ambassadors say the opposite of check in. Check in opened less than two hours, didn't move for twenty minutes. We got back to the front 35 minutes post the official time of opening. Check-in staff chatting on on her mobile on social media. At border control directed the wrong way to domestic flights not passport control. Limited seating. Utter chaos!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most abysmal airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Rhodes airport is the most abysmal airport I have ever experienced. We flew back to Birmingham last night (23.05 plane delayed until 23.40). There were about 8 flights returning to the UK with similar departure times so the airport was heaving. Also, almost every plane was delayed. The temperature inside the airport was unbearable. It was so hot and sticky and there was no air conditioning in the airport at all. We had to queue for 45 minutes to have our cases weighed and the labels printed where they then sent all UK flights from every different queue to one massive queue to then scan the luggage and take it away. This can't be safe as people could have then added anything to their luggage in the next 45 minute queue. Once the cases were checked in (eventually) we were all sent in the wrong direction to the departure gates (including a lady on crutches). When a staff member queried why we were all in the wrong place, we took him to the lady who had misdirected us and she laughed at her mistake. Then we sat (in a filthy lounge) for 2 hours waiting for the flight that was never announced or signposted when it was boarding time. The lounge area had an inside temperature of 35°, it was full of litter, it was a disorganised, chaotic shambles with broken and unhygienic toilets. What a contrast to Birmingham airport on our return.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Queues were hours long"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Most ridiculous airport I've ever been to. Queues were hours long and organisation was poor. Had to queue up twice even before getting into security. The greeks didn't seem to care either. We nearly missed our flight and we were there over 2 hours before our flight! When flying hope ensure you have plenty of time. Theres also no air con and its very hot and humid. Wouldn't reccomend at all. Suprised we got home.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I have ever experienced"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have travelled extensively throughout the world and without doubt this is the worst airport I have ever experienced. We arrived at 00.10 on a typical hot July night. The arrivals hall was stiflingly warm. There was no air con or fans. The place was packed as many flights arrive around that time. There were at least 5 flights showing as using Belt 2 and eveyone was packed around it. There was no way of telling what flights the bags were coming off without asking people or looking at tags. 1.5 hours after landing our bags arrived. If we thought arrival as bad then departures decided to up the level of badness. The departure area was the same as arrivals, no air con or fans and unbearably warm. After a long wait in a queue for check-in all that happened was our bags were tagged and we had to take them and join another huge queue to put them through a security scanner. We arrived at the airport at 18.55 and it was 20.45 before we cleared security. We had a brilliant time in Rhodes but until the airport is improved we will not return.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Not a good first impression"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Arrived in the early hours. Went to the ladies toilet in arrivals hall - absolutely filthy, smelly and no toilet paper, paper towels or working hand dryer. Not a good first impression. The departure toilets were if possible even worse - they stank. There were piles of food debris everywhere and no sign of any cleaners. No air con on a particularly hot night - we were lucky and found a secret room behind one of the food areas - so secret there was only us two in there despite having lots and lots of seats. Two huge aircon units made it lovely and cool. Rhodes airport you need to get your act together - has definitely put me off visiting your lovely island again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Lovely island, it's a shame about the airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Rhodes airport was not very nice at all, go to the toilet before getting to the airport, or hold it until you get on to the plane, as they are filthy! I went into the toilets to get changed for my flight, and it had such a vile smell, people walked in and walked straight back out. Also if you're a lady, be prepared to have no toilet seat to sit on nor tissue (apparently nor did the men's). Security weren't very brutal with a family who had bottles amongst bottles of what they said was water? It could have been any clear liquid substance? And what happened to the 100ml allowance for bottles in your hand luggage? Staff had a very bad attitude in the duty free shop, and general airport staff. Lovely island, it's a shame about the airport. Another issue I had, was whilst queuing up for duty free things, I waited patiently at the till, and as it was my turn, the member of staff, got out her mobile and started making phone calls, she walked off and carried on her conversation elsewhere. Very rude!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Plenty of places to sit and wait"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I don't recognise most of the previous comments. Travelled from and to Athens on Aegean Airlines. Arrival: On time and bused to the terminal. No passport control as we were on domestic. The baggage hall was full and seemed chaotic - but our bags were reasonably prompt. Short walk to the Avis desk - and we were out of the airport withing 30 minutes of landing. Departure: Also on Aegean Airlines. We arrived 2.5 hours before our flight and we checked in with no queue. The departure lounge was reasonably pleasant. There is air conditioning! Well stocked duty free shops. 2-3 snack bars. The food looked good and was not overpriced. e.g. 4.5 euro for a large filled baguette. Plenty of places to sit and wait. Departure well organised - again via buses to the aircraft. I did see the other side of the check in area a few days previously when dropping off my son for a Thomson flight home. We got there 2.5 hours before the flight and the were 3 queues for all 3 Thomson flights. 4-5 people ahead of him, so he was checked in relatively promptly. However, within 10 minutes - a load of tour buses arrived and suddenly each queue had trebled in size. So timing is critical. My son had a trouble free journey through the various procedures. Tip - If, like us, you arrive with time to spend, there is a nice little Taverna within 5 minutes walking distance of the terminal. Check in first then go out of the terminal, walk to the right where all the tour buses park - up some steps and a ramp onto the main road - There is a taverna called Deipnos - we had an excellent lunch - so much better than being stuck in the terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 47 Reviews