Ponta Delgada Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 15 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"fairly organized and clean"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Airport is small and fairly organized and clean. There are not sufficient places to park to leave or pick up passengers and Public transport is terrible, close to non existent. You have the usual taxi service, you have a very small bus that connects to some hotels but if you live in the city or if you just want to commute to the city centre to then take a bus an hotel out of town, you are out of luck. It is absolutely shameful that you need to insert a coin to get a cart, you do get it when you return the luggage cart but if you don't have local currency with you, you are out of luck. Staff are friendly enough. Almost no places to eat or drink anything, very bad in this respect. The lines for security were far too big and took far too much time for such a small number of passengers. The waiting area is clean and nice but it is far too small. Luggage delivery usually takes too much time and I can't say things are well organized. Decent place but nothing special.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"it is clean, convenient and easy to get around"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | This is a very small airport but it is clean, convenient and easy to get around. Passing through security was a breeze, no big queues to wait at. The waiting room was easy to find and it was nice, clean and comfortable. There isn't many places to eat or shop but I really don't care for that. Airport staff was ok, they aren't the friendliest out there but they weren't rude either. It is a shame there is no public transport access to the airport except for a mini bus that links to the major hotels but not to the city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"there are a quite a few problems with it"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Well, this a small airport, reasonably well kept but small. Arriving was easy and dropping off the luggage was a fast process as well as paying for excess luggage and going through security. The airport was clean and it looks nice but there are a quite a few problems with it: Foods and drinks are expensive and the offer is small. Waiting rooms are very small, not much in terms of shopping. Don't know any other airport that requires you to insert a coin to use the carts/trolleys. And finally, at the arrival, it was terrible. There were just 4 flights at that time and still people had no place to be while waiting for their luggage, I couldn't even get an eye on the convier belt and it was very hard to notice my bag let alone get to it. Some people couldn't even get a trolley for the luggage as they weren't nearly enough. It was very bad to walk amongst that people in such a crowded place with the luggage and I must confess I have been to much bigger airports like Frankfurt, Haneda or Kansai and never felt so crowded. People working in the airport were professional but not much in the way of nice. They could do so much better.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"everything was clean and organized"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | The airport was a bit crowded and it is small but everything was clean and organized. Boarding was simple and easy. One negative aspect was the security officer at the X-ray machine, he was quite rude and unprofessional. I had forgotten my swiss in my carry on and instead of asking me to remove it, he insisted in opening my bag and going to all my belongings himself. I offered to find what he was looking for, another security officer remembered him that it would be better and faster if I did it but he insisted in going through my stuff. I am not sure but I would say this is incorrect and probably illegal as the security officer should never go through the belongings of a passenger. In every other airport where my bag need to be check, they always asked me to open it and to remove the items so they could watch it. It almost seemed as if the security officer was enjoying going through my stuff and exposing it to everyone.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"staff aren't friendly"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Ponta Delgada is a small airport. If you have to stay for more than 1 or 2 hours you are out of luck. Almost no places to spend your time, few options to have a drink or something to eat and no wifi. Staff aren't friendly nor are they efficient or helpful. Check in and boarding takes abnormal amounts of time for such a small amount of passengers to take care and sometimes people don't even respect the check in queues and the staff don't care. You are on your own. Waiting rooms are small and with inadequate seating. Cleanliness could be much better and strangely I couldn't find any place to place my suggestions. To get a luggage cart you need to deposit a coin, this is not practical as many flyers don't have local currency on arrival and there is no place to exchange your currency for the local one at the airport. I have travelled a bit and never found another airport where I had to deposit money to have a trolley, this is even a bit offensive, not sure if they are afraid I might steal their carts.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"small, basic, regional airport"

(Poland)

Ponta Delgada is a small, basic, regional airport, very close to the city. Easy to use, everything within short walk distance. Aircraft are parked close to the terminal, but there are no air bridges, so passengers have to walk between the aircraft and the terminal. Experienced about 15-20 min queue at check in and security check, but the airport staff were all quite nice, helpful and doing their best. Long boarding procedure. The departure hall is pretty modern, but offer very limited waiting area and amenities. Clear and loud announcements. The terminal gets quite crowded when there are few departures at the same time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"overall pretty good"

(United Kingdom)

I like smallish, unfussy, convenient airports - they are much easier for the traveller than the huge hub airports. The airport seems relatively new. The road access is easy. Check-in was quick and efficient. Catering and some commercial outlets are reasonable. Passports are checked prior to gates, although the e-system was not available on the day of our visit. I wasn't wildly impressed by the seat comfort, which was well tested due to a flight delay. But overall pretty good.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"staff not friendly or helpful"

(Portugal)

Staff at Ponta Delgada were not friendly or helpful. No concern for the well-being of passengers and it is simply amazing that we need to use a coin to get one of the carts for the luggage. Waiting time at security was far too long for such a small airport and no one seemed to care to provide passengers with info when the flight was late. Lots of noise and loud speaking people - I have been in much cleaner airports and lighting in the terminal is poor.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

Ponta Delgada Airport customer review

(United States)

I have flown into out of and through Ponta Delgada. As the end or start of a flight it is fine and that is the basis of my rating. A nice small airport. However if you are flying through it is awful. You have to walk from the aircraft no matter what the weather and the transit lounge is life a glassed in prison. Very limited amenities. Even shopping is limited although you can see the much bigger shops through the glass.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
10/10

Ponta Delgada Airport customer review

(United States)

Much much improved airport. Good facilities before entering the security area and good ones afterwards too. The airport and the region more airlines to offer more competition and better prices but PDL can't do anything about that. There is also a restaurant on the second level. Too bad that the view is into the terminal and not over the runway. That would be great. Also big planes can now come to the terminal. Passengers still walk on the tarmac and during the winter - that can be a challenge.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 14 Reviews