Pisa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 47 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"facilities are not enough"

(United States)

Verified Review | This is a busy airport but the facilities are not enough to support the traffic. Positive: airport is well connected to train station and city, free wifi Negatives: not enough seating space, only 2 restaurants with very limited seating space, limited seating space at the gates.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no one trying to control the flow of people"

(United Kingdom)

Probably the worst experience I have had - disorganised, unprofessional, potentially dangerous. The passport control area on the way to the departure gates is at the top of a flight of stairs and escalator. I was on the escalator when it stopped suddenly. I thought it had broken so moved to walk up stairs instead. But it wasn't broken - a member of staff stopped it (without explaining why) due to massive overcrowding in the passport control area causing a long jam of people. That person then disappeared. People were crowded on the stairs, the escalator and in the departure hall. There were at least 4 flights all going through the gates at the same time and only 2 officials checking tickets despite there being 4 checking stations available. The temperature was unbearable and it took nearly an hour to get through. The officials on the gate seemed oblivious - laughing and joking with each other and working very slowly. There were no other officials around, no one trying to control the flow of people, no one offering any explanation as to why this was happening - every one of the flights was delayed as people were stuck in the passport control area - my flight was one hour late. The airport is not fit for purpose - the passport control area is in the worst possible location, there is no ventilation in the area, there were not enough staff on duty, those who were on duty lacked any sense of customer service. I have travelled via Pisa before and it has always been a slightly chaotic and uncomfortable experience but this really is unprecedented in what is supposed to be a international airport. My rating is actually 0 of 10 but I don't seem to be able to select that. I was flying with Jet2 and will write to them as well - they don't run the airport but the only way things will improve at Pisa is pressure from the airlines using it. I will think twice before flying via Pisa again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not enough places to sit"

(Brazil)

Pisa is easily the worst international airport in Europe. Not enough places to sit. There's not a priority area. The shops don't accept credit cards. It closes between 2-4:30am (yes, if you waiting a connection you get kicked out) After being kicked out, they turn the irrigation system on outside, so you need to go to the parking lot. I'll never, ever travel from here again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid this hell hole"

(Panama)

I honestly cannot believe an airport such as Pisa can exists in Europe. Shops don't accept credit cards below a certain spending limit (is this the 80s?). Very rude staff in tobbacconist/magazine store landside (airside shop was nice though). No electric sockets to charge your phone / laptop. Limited wifi (when it works), later didn't work at all for several hours while waiting for delayed flight. Rude staff at gate who just play with their phone instead of being helpful. Frequent flight delays at the slightest of bad weather. Food voucher for flight delays entitles you to a disgusting slice of pizza or sandwich at the bar, and this is Italy for heaven's sake. Always try to fly through Florence and avoid this hell hole, but for some flights unfortunately it is unavoidable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a lack of customer service"

(Italy)

Shocking treatment from the staff at Pisa airport. Generally a lack of customer service and friendliness from the staff that instead of being there to help you, they treat you as you owe them something. Considering that Pisa airport is the only one in Tuscany is a bad advertisement for any passenger traveling there. Shame
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not enough seating, poor signage"

(United Kingdom)

Check in for jet2 flights is unorganised and staff were rude. Once through to departures, not enough seating and poor signage to tell you where to go. The little space is stretched when any flight is delayed as there is no additional capacity to hold passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"insufficient seating"

(United Kingdom)

Ridiculously long queue for check in. Only one check in desk opened initially for a full flight. Had the staff member not complained about not being able to process quickly enough to get everyone through on time which meant another was eventually opened we wouldn't have gotten to the gate on time. Insufficient seating. The single toilet facilities were closed once we were through to the gate. Poor timing which meant many had to wait until in the air. Not good.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not given any priority"

(Greece)

There was no option of a web check-in and the queues at the check-in counters were too slow. I was traveling with my family with small children and an infant and we were not given any priority at any location of the airport. We had to wait for ever in order to check-in and then we had to rush in order to make it for the flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"have put in too many shops"

(Italy)

They have put in too many shops in departures at the expense of seating and hence when it's busy the place is mayhem with a lot of people standing everywhere and the staff looking very harrassed. Bologna and even Florence are far better airports to use if your schedules permit.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"lack of professionalism"

(Norway)

This airport is the most ineffective airport I have visited. Check in started 2 hours prior flight and to check in the 3 first in the queue took 25 minutes. The staff at this airport were not able to check us in at our transfer flight from Copenhagen (they didnt know how to), after that you got to go to security and after that an overcrowded and very noisy public area. The plane was supposed to depart at 15.10 - it was departing at 16.40 because the staff had problems putting the luggage from the trolley to the aircraft. Overall: lack of professionalism, overcrowded, noisy. Tip: other airports have check-in machines doing a better job than their staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 45 Reviews