Pisa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 58 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"40 minutes to get through security"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I should first say that the airport was dealing with cancellations from the night before due to fog at the airport. But: It took 40 minutes to get through security (we were hand-luggage only). Our flight was due to leave at 10.40 and was showing as delayed till 11.05. At about 10.15 our flight's gate came up with a revised departure time back to 10.40. We joined the queue to get up the stairs to gate 21. This queue crossed the entire airport ground floor. At 10.30 the status changed to boarding. At 10.35 it changed to 'gate closing'. We were at the bottom of the stairs with a sea of people ahead of us. Another flight had been called for our gate that was leaving after our flight which made matters worse. A general push started up of people on our flight trying to get through. We surged through to the top of the steps and realised there was a further snaking queue ahead to get through passport control. A passport control officer opened a side channel and we raced through, expecting to find ourselves last on the flight. But at our gate there were no staff, just a throng of people trying to find out whether our flight had left. About half an hour went by with no announcement and then we were called for boarding. Complaints: horrendous queues for check-in (which we thankfully didn't need), even more horrendous queues for security, dangerous bottleneck on the stairs leading to passport control at gates 21-25 - incorrect information on boards regarding status of flight leading to rushing and crushing - absence of information at the gate about our flight. But, if you want to visit Florence you have no choice. Just be early.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely no organisation"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Arrived two hours before boarding time and barely made the flight. There is absolutely no organisation at the check in or security areas. Queues so long that they intersected each other leaving people not knowing which queue they were supposed to join. So many people queuing, there was no room for people to pass so people were being jostled all the time. After waiting an hour in the check in queue we then had a further hours wait for security. The security area was chaotic, the part that we used had only one desk working and no automated system for the security storage box collection or despatch. Finally boarded our aircraft only to be told by the captain that the baggage handlers had loaded all of our luggage into the wrong hold on the aircraft, took a further half hour to unload and reload. Not only frustrating but dangerous to think that such a thing could occur. Thank goodness I have now seen the Tower and other buildings so I will have no need to transit Pisa airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Horrendous organisation of security"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Horrendous organisation of security - spent 1 hour 15 mins queuing despite arriving two hours 20 minutes ahead of the flight to check in early. They split people on the same flight as some kind of a way of prioritising flights which made no sense and some of us had to go into the longer queue - standing for that length of time with a health condition is not good.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no proper signage"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I had hoped that a small provincial airport would be quick and comfortable (many are) - how wrong I was! We arrived a day late (thanks Ryanair). Was told in advance that car rental was on airport, it was but needed a shuttle bus to get there. More waiting. Car hire company had lost the amended booking. Returning was worse, no proper signage to the rental returns area and the security was a nightmare - queuing outside the terminal. Fine to have a higher level of security than Stanstead if they had enough operators but they don't - totally inadequate.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"was very unprofessional"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Queues for security yesterday morning were terrible - one and a half hours. At security, very few x-ray machines were working. Staff were standing or sitting around, doing little to speed the process. Even those supposedly checking screens were talking rather than concentrating, not even looking at screens. It felt very unsafe and was very unprofessional.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"badly organized"

(France)

Verified Review | Worst airport ever. Badly organized - I had to wait more than 1 hour to pass the security checks and I almost lost my flight. This is the second time in this airport with the same bad experience. Rental car desks are far away, and it is required to take a shuttle that comes only every 30 minutes. Very nice when you are in a hurry to catch your flight!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"it dealt with a delayed flight very well"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | This airport gets quite a lot of bad reviews but it dealt with a delayed flight very well. We were supposed to be the last but one departure (PSA/MAN) but were delayed for 4 hours. The lounge and at least one bar/cafe remained open for the whole time, even though it was well after their advertised closing time. The ground staff and others that I cam into contact with remained polite and even friendly, even though their working day had been extended by several hours.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Surprisingly bad airport"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Terrible airport with all manual check in, no self service bag drop, crowded restrooms, extremely crowded terminal, few restaurants with limited seating and almost no general seating. Surprisingly bad airport considering it looks new. The transfer from Pisa Centrale was very quick and convenient.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not one official in attendance"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Concur with comments that the airport is not fit for purpose. It's got to be a security and H&S issue with far too many people squashed into a far too small area and limited facilities. It's true we arrived early for UK flight but as there are precious few seats in the main building, you go through security in the hope there'll be some there. Then you might find (as we did) that your in a queue for p/port control with no one manning the kiosks and no indication when they will. Currently in the queue for over an hour with not one official in attendance. 30 mins before gate closes!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport I have ever experienced"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Just stood in queues for 3h. 45 min to drop bags with easyJet, 1h 45min to get through security, 30 min standing in a queue at the gate to get through the gate check. Appalling. Possibly the worst airport I have ever experienced. Staff provided no instructions, no explanations and no apology. Don't fly through Pisa airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 56 Reviews