Pisa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 65 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"passport check brisk"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I was concerned by the poor reviews but my (our) experience was fine. Arrival was smooth, passport check brisk (in contrast to return at Stansted). Departure, the budget airline gates slightly out of the way, very short queue for Ryanair bag drop. Security slightly disorganised and no fast track, trays too small, but no big problem. Adequate shopping and cafes beyond security. Seating at gate (22) left many standing and then the usual Ryanair practice of being checked through gate only to stand for many minutes in sloping corridor.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Staff unfriendly"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Really bad structure of check-in, bag drop, and security. Not much space inside terminal. Bad sound in speakers, and bad info in english. Staff unfriendly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very disorganised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Avoid if at all possible. Reading some of the other reviews sounded familiar to our experience. Very disorganised, not enough information, very poor English spoken and some of them just rude. We too experienced the danger of queuing on the stairs. Had been called to go to boarding area but check in desks were unmanned. People were going up escalator with nowhere to go and I was sure an accident was going to happen as people were shouting move on please as they came off escalator! Eventually a member of staff came from somewhere and just turned it off. By this time people were queuing on escalator and stairs. Sometime later two security men sauntered in and opened the check in desk. When waiting to get on plane, fast track people were going through but in the end we were just in one big queue together again on stairs. Bearing in mind this was a hand luggage only flight this was madness and proved very difficult for some passengers with heavy bags. Other problems, not enough seats, poor food, overpriced. Just stay away if you can!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"should really be avoided"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Pisa airport is very disorganized. Passport control takes ages as the officer show up at their desks way after the gate opening time. The staff is quite unhelpful as they never informed the passengers of what is going on in case of a flight delay. Last December I was going to London from Pisa and I was due to leave at 1500. All passengers had to wait until 2100 in the evening to see the face of staff coming around to communicate a very obvious delay and didn't add more info. The flight cancellation was finally confirmed at 2330 and we were moved from the airport heading to a hotel. The day after no one could tell us when we would leave at the checking desks. An awful experience. Then today again I have been flying to Liverpool and the flight was late. We were standing in the queue for an hour but the staff didn't feel the need to give us any info and were surprised when people started to complain about this bad service. Really this airport should be avoided.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaos with no organisation"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Horrendous organisation. Airport Staff are completely in chaos with no organisation. Last night travelling home to Dublin from Pisa the queue to get through security was 45 minutes then the queue to get up the stairs to passport control was an absolute safety risk! People hoarded onto a dormant escalator and a set of stairs! The staff announced nothing - people missed flights, there was no organisation, only 2 security immigration officers on for 4 full flights leaving at the same time one being an international long haul where every person requires stamped out of the country. No fast track, no priority. It was awful, it was hot and it was a major accident waiting to happen! The Ryanair team cannot get the blame on this one they were kept in the dark as much as anybody else and it was informed 40 people missed their flights. There was no excuse the team at Pisa will need to compensate people. My photo shows the craziness and at the top of these steps which took 1 hour to get up was another 45 minute queue if you were pushing and fighting people who were all in desperation to get the 200 ft away to the gates!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport security is a joke"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever. Avoid this airport at all costs. The airport security is a joke. 1 long queue for 1 scanning machine - all the staff seem to have to work together for 1 machine and can’t handle others, even though there are 3 machines available. Waited for an hour to get through because they have to check bags and then hold up the queue. Also not very intelligent people - I’m surprised my electric toothbrush didn’t freak them out. If you use this airport give youselves an hour to go through security and good luck waiting - you’ll hate your life.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a horrendous queue at passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived on the BA602 from Heathrow. Cleared the runway and sat for at least 30 mins as there was nowhere to park the aircraft. Had to wait for Ryanair to move. On arrival there was a horrendous queue at passport control with only two police officers to check passports. On getting into the baggage hall the chaos got worse. No screen info to say what belt was handling what flight. My hold luggage arrived after approx 90 mins. No trolleys available unless you have 2 euros. Nowhere to find 2 euros either. I had 3 cases and a very nice lady saw me struggling and got me a trolley. I luckily was able to give her a £2 coin. On exiting the arrival hall you then have to take a tiny shuttle bus to get to the car hire building. It looks like half of Italy is trying to do the same thing. Had to wait in line for the bus to make 4 round trips before I got to the front of the queue. No trolleys can be taken onto the bus. On arrival at the car hire building there are no trolleys, Struggled with my luggage. Waited another 90 mins to be checked in by Avis. You then have to walk at least 300m to find your car. Just turned round in time to catch a guy trying to steal one of my cases. No police anywhere in sight. On my return to Heathrow I went looking for the manager after I had checked in to relay my customer experience of Pisa airport to him. Without even acknowledging me he handed me an A4 sheet with a poorly printed e mail address on it. I expect that was for me to write a complaint. Not even basic good manners. This place is not customer friendly from the minute you step inside. It is badly organised with nothing aimed at passenger ease or comfort. I've seen better organisation in 3rd world airports. Its an airport for goodness sake - people travel with luggage - they need trolleys on arrival, on departure and at the car hire. My advice to people would be to avoid this dump unless you have no choice. Remember Genova is just along the coast.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"40 minutes to get through security"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I should first say that the airport was dealing with cancellations from the night before due to fog at the airport. But: It took 40 minutes to get through security (we were hand-luggage only). Our flight was due to leave at 10.40 and was showing as delayed till 11.05. At about 10.15 our flight's gate came up with a revised departure time back to 10.40. We joined the queue to get up the stairs to gate 21. This queue crossed the entire airport ground floor. At 10.30 the status changed to boarding. At 10.35 it changed to 'gate closing'. We were at the bottom of the stairs with a sea of people ahead of us. Another flight had been called for our gate that was leaving after our flight which made matters worse. A general push started up of people on our flight trying to get through. We surged through to the top of the steps and realised there was a further snaking queue ahead to get through passport control. A passport control officer opened a side channel and we raced through, expecting to find ourselves last on the flight. But at our gate there were no staff, just a throng of people trying to find out whether our flight had left. About half an hour went by with no announcement and then we were called for boarding. Complaints: horrendous queues for check-in (which we thankfully didn't need), even more horrendous queues for security, dangerous bottleneck on the stairs leading to passport control at gates 21-25 - incorrect information on boards regarding status of flight leading to rushing and crushing - absence of information at the gate about our flight. But, if you want to visit Florence you have no choice. Just be early.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely no organisation"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Arrived two hours before boarding time and barely made the flight. There is absolutely no organisation at the check in or security areas. Queues so long that they intersected each other leaving people not knowing which queue they were supposed to join. So many people queuing, there was no room for people to pass so people were being jostled all the time. After waiting an hour in the check in queue we then had a further hours wait for security. The security area was chaotic, the part that we used had only one desk working and no automated system for the security storage box collection or despatch. Finally boarded our aircraft only to be told by the captain that the baggage handlers had loaded all of our luggage into the wrong hold on the aircraft, took a further half hour to unload and reload. Not only frustrating but dangerous to think that such a thing could occur. Thank goodness I have now seen the Tower and other buildings so I will have no need to transit Pisa airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Horrendous organisation of security"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Horrendous organisation of security - spent 1 hour 15 mins queuing despite arriving two hours 20 minutes ahead of the flight to check in early. They split people on the same flight as some kind of a way of prioritising flights which made no sense and some of us had to go into the longer queue - standing for that length of time with a health condition is not good.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 63 Reviews