Phuket Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 40 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

Phuket Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 14th April 2015

The International Check-in area has expanded to include a crudely added "Terminal 2" which has no road access to be dropped at. Security is very thorough at all stages throughout the airport and the amenities are reasonable in the Departures Lounge. If you are flying with Bangkok Airways they have a free refreshment stand if you present your boarding pass. In the International Departures area there is a Duty Free Shop (liquids not allowed to be taken to Australia) and even a place to get a massage. Food-wise there are more choices prior to clearing immigration as there are quite a few chain stores at the front of the terminal.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
2/10

Phuket Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 19th January 2015

I've used this airport 6 times in the last few months always for domestic flights. It is a horrible airport to have to wait any amount of time in. It is completely inadequate for the number of people using it airside people have to sit on the floor because there aren't enough seats. Eat before you get here - airside there is just a Burger King a Subway and what must be Thailand's most expensive sandwich shop (it cost us $15 for two drinks and one small bagel). The only positive thing is that the airport is so small it doesn't take long to get through and the queues usually aren't too bad.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Phuket Airport customer review

Review by (Japan) 14th January 2015

An airport of two halves. Arrivals: ridiculously long queue for immigration (30 minutes) small. Luggage was waiting (but probably only because of the immigration delay). Customs scan luggage on arrival. (On my trip I had my bags scanned five times including at airport entrance). Departures: reasonably spacious no queue at all for immigration exit stamp good shops airside lots of seating. Bag Drop (AirAsia) satisfactory. It was like a different airport! Difficult to give an overall rating given the contrast between Arrivals and Departures.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Phuket Airport customer review

Review by (Thailand) 5th January 2015

Thai international staff great and accommodating. Horrid conditions at the domestic departure concessionaires after security. The seating area was like a rubbish dump perhaps because of no trash cans. Clearly no cleaning staff present. Unacceptable standard for Thailand's premier island destination. AAT should look at Bali Langkawi and Samui for examples of how to run airports.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
8/10

Phuket Airport customer review

Review by (Singapore) 15th August 2014

Arrived at 2pm and queued for 10 minutes at immigration. Didn't have any luggage and was out of the airport by 2.20pm. Departure was smooth. Had an early morning flight at 8.40am so we arrived at 6.30am to find that the airport was already bustling and almost all shops and restaurants were open. The best food options are before immigration so arrive early if you need to eat something substantial. The staff while not friendly were professional.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1/10

Phuket Airport customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 7th August 2014

Horrible experience. The departure procedure is a pain. No queue management and baggage security in the entrance door to the terminal. Chaos around the check in desks and just to top it all off security staff who are rude and disrespectful beyond belief. We had our baby's water bottle emptied in a demonstrative fashion in front of our eyes without explanations and in fact without any verbal communication whatsoever. Once in the air-side part of the terminal you find that all the real restaurants were actually before the security check. And that's after you have queued for 30 minutes in the slowest ever immigration queue. Arrogance and ignorance is the name of the game here.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Phuket Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 27th July 2014

Dreadful experience both on arrival and departure. Waited one and a half hours to be processed through immigration because we didn't want to pay the scam money to be processed quickly. On departure our bags were security checked 4 times with same experience as Peter Yeoman see his 19 August 2013 review. Two of the checks involved having our bags opened and searched through every single zip and pocket. They couldn't even tell us what they were looking for.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Phuket Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 20th July 2014

We waited for over one and a half hours at immigration whilst staff chatted to each other. It was taking between 3-4 mins for them to check each passport at all of the exits except the end one where if you paid 100 bahts it took 20-30 seconds. It certainly felt like it was deliberate just so you would pay as many people were doing because they were so fed up with standing around.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Phuket Airport customer review

Review by (Singapore) 22nd April 2014

Immigration departure just terrible. Immigration officer rude yelling hand gestures. Very disappointing for an official country rep and considering the good nature of the Thai people. Granted lots of people queuing up and the chaotic line management from security screening to immigration boots does not help but I have never experienced such a disrespectful behavior of an official towards tourists and visitors. Simply unacceptable and reflects badly on the Thai immigration department.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Phuket Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 7th February 2014

Immigration was just terrible. My partner went to the counter and the immigration officer indicated there was something wrong by sitting there using hand gestures to indicate the number 1 and 2. He did not speak a word to either of us and sat there pointing around. When we tried to ask him what was wrong he just flashed 2 fingers at us and refused to say a word. We then figured out after a while that we needed to show him our departure card as well as our arrival card. When I went forward to his desk he asked me 'what do you want?' in clear English. I was so surprised he could speak English after all and secondly what a stupid question. I asked him if he had any spare departure cards and he told me to go away and find mine repeatedly he refused to provide me with any or direct me to a place where I could get one. Luckily we did find our cards when we brought him our departure cards he and his colleague talked and laughed between each other about our confused reactions to his rudeness right in front of us. As we tried to book a minicab to our hotel in the stalls outside the airport the girls behind the counter shouted at us as we decided to go with another company. Our first contact in Phuket and what a warm welcome to Phuket it was.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1 to 10 of 39 Reviews