Philadelphia Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 204 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"very pleasantly surprised"

(Austria)

Not Verified | I was very pleasantly surprised by Philadelphia airport. I usually fly into Boston, where international arrivals are a zoo and can take hours. In Philadelphia, passport control was quick and friendly, and the free wifi worked immediately. We were through in less than 10 minutes. Flying out, the terminal was clean, lots of seating and power stations, and fantastic free wifi. We had plenty of food choices (though a few less fast food and more healthy options would be great) and well organized lounges. But the shining crown was the response of lost and found, after my son left his Nintendo in the waiting lounge. We filled out the online form and within 2 hours had a response that the item was found. They organized having it sent to us (we pay postage, of course), and a "disaster" was averted seamlessly. Very impressed!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"flights never depart on time"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I'm at Philadelphia airport at least once a year and I'd like to think I know it pretty well by now. I can't say Philadelphia airport is the worst airport I've ever been to as it's clean, has a lot of places to get food and shop, there are a few places to charge your phone, and most of the staff I have encountered are friendly. My only problems with this airport are that flights never depart on time because boarding almost always starts when the flight was supposed to originally take off, it's impossible to get a wifi connection and some of the staff can be quite careless. I was recently in a position where I had a connecting flight and was put on standby and left to sit around the gate even after the plane had taken off just to be informed I would not be put on the flight, and if I managed to get on the next one I would be stranded in Arizona overnight for possibly 3 whole days. I had only ever agreed to originally being on standby as the person who booked my ticket had assured me I'd be on the plane, so I can understand what the other reviewers are talking about when they comment on confusion among staff. I had to talk to 3 people before having to cancel my flight and pay for a new ticket, but the situation left me stuck in Philadelphia, as I had come from New Jersey. I wish Philadelphia airport had more options when it comes to getting from there to Jersey and vice versa as Philadelphia airport is the only airport near Jersey besides New York (Atlantic City doesn't count). Other than those flaws it is an airport and it does get the job done - maybe not in the best way possible, but good enough to still go to.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"I always have to wait an hour"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport does not know how to route baggage properly. I always have to wait an hour and they switch baggage claim bays without telling you. They said it was due to the cold weather tonight. Ok. What’s your excuse the other 364 days? The guy who is in charge of baggage claim should be fired. But we all know that will never happen.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"I nearly missed my connecting flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I see absolutely no purpose for automated passport control at this airport. You have to queue to use the terminals, you then have to queue again to be questioned by a CBP agent. On this trip the queue time for the agent review was in excess of 40 minutes and I nearly missed my connecting flight. It is unacceptable that when two or three wide bodied international planes arrive in short order there are only eight of 30+ CBP desks open. Also, even when you're in transit, you have to pass through security screening again. I cannot recommend this airport if you have a tight schedule for a connecting flight.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"There obviously is no supervision"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever. The employees will not look you in the eye and aren’t at all friendly. I sat in three different places in the airport and heard loud, foul language (very offensive). There obviously is no supervision. As a guest traveler, I felt very uncomfortable. I’ll try to find another spot to sit to avoid these offensive crowds of workers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"sad miserable place"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was in Jacksonville flew to Philadelphia and then flew back out of Philadelphia to Jacksonville. The difference in the way the staff at the airport treat you in unbelievable!!! In Jacksonville everybody is helpful and friendly. In Philadelphia they don’t even look you in the eye, they act like you are a complete nuisance and are not friendly when checking in, when going through security - really never! I could not believe how I overheard other people complaining about how mean security was . I really suggest you give them some training in manners, because it’s a sad miserable place!!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"wasn't just me who missed the flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is the worst. Inefficiency meets power trips. I had over an hour to make my flight and get to the security check line. It was about a 1/2 mile long because they would not open three of the lines due to giving TSA precheck priority. Once I finally got through the checkpoint, I had 30 minutes to catch my flight. Security decided they would pull me aside to check my bags. This wouldn't have been a problem had I not been behind four other people, one of which had about one hundred bite size snickers in her bag. They checked each stupid snicker four times. This took forever. I asked if I could just leave my food behind so they didn't have to check it, and I would just bring my keys, wallet, and cellphone. They wouldn't budge at all. Once they finally checked my food bag, I ran like a fool as fast as I could to make it to my flight. Once I got to my gate, they had already boarded. Surprisingly, it wasn't just me who missed the flight. There were 6 other people (just for my flight) that had missed the flight. Spare yourself and don't go to Philadelphia airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"lack of good customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was definitely my worst experience at an airport. It's been years since I have last traveled by plane so a little direction from the employees would have helped but barely any was given throughout the whole process, and the only time they did was either with an attitude or by harassing you. The woman who weighed and took my luggage was an absolute joke. I asked her multiple times what I had to do first, since it's been a while, to make both her and my job easier but she insisted on giving me a hard time and actually asked me why I didn't know what to do? Maybe because she couldn't do the only job she had and tell me. It would have taken 2 seconds to understand and get that process over with but she obviously had some personal issues or horrible customer service skills. There is no comparison with this airport and the airports in Florida where I traveled to. Philadelphia already has a bad reputation and a lot of the employees there definitely make it worse, it's embarrassing. I will try my very best to stay away from this airport in the future due to the lack of good customer service.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Massive delays due to rain"

(United States)

Unverified | Massive delays due to rain. Yes, rain. What century is this? Pathetic. Is this extreme risk aversion or is the infrastructure that antiquated that the airport can’t handle ‘weather’. Makes it easy for the big airlines customer no service as well to say there is nothing they can do. I should have known better! Too bad I can’t rate air traffic control a big fat Zero!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"More delays than anywhere else"

(United States)

Unverified | Worst airport in the country. I travel all over and Philadelphia is consistently the worst experience. I have stopped checking bags due to the horrendous wait times for bags. More delays than anywhere else. Sucks it is my home airport. They could invest in the infrastructure but choose not to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no