Top 100 Airlines  

Philadelphia Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 176 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"signage is sparse"

(United States)

Worst airport in 30 years of traveling. Absolutely no restaurants or cafes outside of security checkpoints and bathrooms are extremely limited and very dirty. Customer service exists as a bunch of airline and airport-badges personnel hanging out and talking while customers are waiting. Signage is sparse and monitors are inaccurate. I've never seen so much hassle of customers over a carry-on that will ostensibly fit in the overhead. I sat in front of the offending ticket counter watching the debacle for too long.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"this is unfortunately common"

(United States)

Got in on a 5pm flight from Denver on American Airlines. Have been waiting for my luggage for 50 minutes, they just made an announcement that there is a delay and will let us know when the baggage is coming. We have a driver waiting. This is unfortunately common. Why can I get my luggage right away in other airports? Ok here comes some of our luggage now. It is 5.56 pm. An hour later. Someone next to us complained to an airport employee and her reply was that they are Union and have up to 45 minutes to deliver the bags - great attitude
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"lack of viable electrical outlets"

(United States)

Every time time I fly through Philadelphia Airport I find that the standard of customer service during the check-in process continues to degrade. Not only am I tagging my own bags now but I am also putting my bags on the conveyor belt as well. I'm expecting to have to put it on the plane myself eventually. Once through security my biggest complaint is the lack of viable electrical outlets available and of the few that are functional it is not uncommon to see airport employees utilizing them. As a frequent flyer it is the norm to be on a computer or phone during a layover/delay and the inability to plug in and recharge these items is troublesome. My home airport has just put in new seating which has usb and standard plugs on each chair. Fabulous improvement and would love to see that done at PHL.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"limited seating and no facilities"

(United Kingdom)

We, along with many others were disappointed when we arrived early for our flight the day after Storm Jonas. We were too early to do the bag drop and had to wait in an uncomfortable hall with limited seating and no facilities until the check in opened. No staff were there to help us find the concession in the arrival hall as I have experienced in other airports and any staff we asked were very unhelpful. Furthermore, there was not even signage for restrooms or elevators, which surely should be standard in any public building. The travel conditions were such that it was advisable to arrive in good time, but the airport made no provision to make this wait comfortable. Also, the departure boards only listed US and Canadian flights, so it was impossible to find out anything about the status of the flight until the check in opened. Again, this is the first time I have ever been at an airport where information was not provided about all of its departures. Once we passed through security, the overall standard was much hire, but first impressions are difficult to forget, especially whe experienced for a number of hours.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"has shown vast improvement"

(United States)

Philadelphia International is an airport which has shown vast improvement over the past several years. Terminals are clean and bright. It's layout has become much more user friendly and both the quality and number of amenities offered has been greatly enhanced. Public transportation (SEPTA's Airport Line of its regional rail system) provides quick and easy access to Center City Philadelphia and Amtrak. It is also located near I-95, I-76 and 474 (the Blue Route). For international travel, customs is a breeze. My biggest complaint is with the airline industry which charges hundreds of dollars more for the convenience of flying out of Philadelphia. They are practically forcing leisure travelers on a budget to hike north to Newark and JFK. Given that those airports are in no danger of going out of business, I fail to understand why Philadelphia travelers are treated so shabbily.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"we had no problems whatsoever"

(United States)

I liked Philadelphia Airport. It is easily accessed from the SEPTA train, we had no problems whatsoever. Clean restrooms, comfortable seating while waiting for our Southwest flight to Los Angeles. The restaurants were good, and staff friendly. For some reason, though, it is quite a bit more expensive to fly internationally from Philadelphia as opposed to JFK. Why, I wonder?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the airport staff move at a snails pace"

(United States)

If you are returning to the U.S. on an International flight that requires you to get your connecting flight home through Philadelphia, make sure you have about a 3 hour layover. Airport is a nightmare! I have flown internationally several times and have never experienced upon re-entering the U.S, an airport that is as ill equipped in handling this process. From beginning to end, it took 2.5 hours. You are required to be processed through multiple stages where you stand in one horrific line after another. The airport staff you encounter through the entire process are completely apathetic about their jobs and move at a snails pace. Luckily my flight was delayed but even then I barely made it. I literally had to run full speed through the airport to catch my connecting flight and the plane door closed right behind me. Avoid this airport if at all possible when needing to connect from an International flight - it is a nightmare.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
6/10

"bright and sunny, ample seating "

(United States)

I am thrilled that the new Commuter Terminal is finally completed. For years, literally, years, they have been working on that terminal, seemingly without end. It is finally done and it is a Universe away from where they started. It is bright and sunny, ample seating and electrical outlets and has lots of food options at the new Food Court. Gone is the " Prison Riot just ended" look that plagued the place for years and made me cry every time I had to connect through PHL. There is still construction ongoing and you have to slough a mile to get your luggage, all the while dodging sketchy men approaching you to see if you want a taxi. They are older men in suits, clearly not licensed Taxi company employees. The Airport Authority need to keep these shady characters out of the baggage claim/ground transport. I recommend it reservedly because I have to chose one. I would still rather fly through Charlotte, all day, everyday.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

Philadelphia Airport customer review

(United States)

I was departing from PHL on a flight to Atlanta, onward to Dallas. When I arrived we checked in at a kiosk which was, I admit, nice. So it printed our boarding passes. We went to security which was not long. So after the security we went to the gate. On the way, we got Auntie Anne's. Then we went to the gate and simply waited for boarding. The airport in my opinion was very good.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

Philadelphia Airport customer review

(United States)

It was torture to sit in the terminal that was so over air conditioned that everyone around me who didn't check their bags was adding sweatshirts and scarves. One shouldn't need coats to be comfortable indoors in the summer. The rest of the aspects of the airport were fine, I just wish I wasn't shivering for two hours.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes