Philadelphia Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 179 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Never did I see anyone cleaning"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I'm a native Philadelphian, and though I currently live outside the city use Philadelphia International Airport ( PHL) a few times per year. I'm embarrassed that this is "my airport". Each restroom I used smelled like a barn. Stalls, toilets and floors were filthy. Never did I see anyone cleaning anything. In March, my PHL flight to Miami was cancelled due to weather, I used Baltimore (BWI). Both BWI and MIA were clean, modern and nice. Today I'm at Chicago's O'Hare- very clean and modern! In recent months I was in the Tampa airport, also very clean. Even if something is old it can be clean! The restaurant scene is also very poor at PHL compared with others. Not sure what's going on here but I know I have an option to fly out of another airport, so will be in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most inefficient airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is the worst airport I have ever experienced and the most inefficient airport I have ever witnessed. It is ridiculous that they make you collect your luggage and go through all controls, check in and security again even when you are on in transit. This is the biggest waste of time and ludicrous. They do not keep their flight departure times up to date and so we were running through the airport to get our connecting flight as it said it was on time, however 2.5 hours after the said departure time I am still waiting to leave for London. The gate number changed 5 or 6 times confusing everyone and now we have been sitting on the plane for over an hour and it appears they have lost half of the planes luggage. The pilot has had to get off of the aircraft to try and sort this out because everyone is clueless. Absolutely ridiculous airport will definitely avoid ever returning here. All connecting flights should try and do the same in future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Does no one work here?"

(United States)

Not Verified | Arriving plane had to wait 45 min before we could arrive at gate. Baggage took 1:15 minutes to come out To connect to next flight had to go out of security area. Security lines were closed in all terminals so now way back into the gate area until one line night man helped us fond the one open security area. Virtually no staff to ask any questions. At 9:30 pm most food areas closed. Boarded plane and waited 1+ hour. Pilot kept updating us that the baggage handlers had left the door open and no one was answering their calls. Now they have no communication with anyone on the jetway. Does no one work here?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I have ever experienced"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst airport I have ever experienced (and I’ve been to a lot). Both times my plane has sat on the runway for an hour, delaying my flight. Horrible staff, horrible organization, just down right horrible. Never again will I fly here. Save yourself the time and never go here.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"very pleasantly surprised"

(Austria)

Not Verified | I was very pleasantly surprised by Philadelphia airport. I usually fly into Boston, where international arrivals are a zoo and can take hours. In Philadelphia, passport control was quick and friendly, and the free wifi worked immediately. We were through in less than 10 minutes. Flying out, the terminal was clean, lots of seating and power stations, and fantastic free wifi. We had plenty of food choices (though a few less fast food and more healthy options would be great) and well organized lounges. But the shining crown was the response of lost and found, after my son left his Nintendo in the waiting lounge. We filled out the online form and within 2 hours had a response that the item was found. They organized having it sent to us (we pay postage, of course), and a "disaster" was averted seamlessly. Very impressed!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"flights never depart on time"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I'm at Philadelphia airport at least once a year and I'd like to think I know it pretty well by now. I can't say Philadelphia airport is the worst airport I've ever been to as it's clean, has a lot of places to get food and shop, there are a few places to charge your phone, and most of the staff I have encountered are friendly. My only problems with this airport are that flights never depart on time because boarding almost always starts when the flight was supposed to originally take off, it's impossible to get a wifi connection and some of the staff can be quite careless. I was recently in a position where I had a connecting flight and was put on standby and left to sit around the gate even after the plane had taken off just to be informed I would not be put on the flight, and if I managed to get on the next one I would be stranded in Arizona overnight for possibly 3 whole days. I had only ever agreed to originally being on standby as the person who booked my ticket had assured me I'd be on the plane, so I can understand what the other reviewers are talking about when they comment on confusion among staff. I had to talk to 3 people before having to cancel my flight and pay for a new ticket, but the situation left me stuck in Philadelphia, as I had come from New Jersey. I wish Philadelphia airport had more options when it comes to getting from there to Jersey and vice versa as Philadelphia airport is the only airport near Jersey besides New York (Atlantic City doesn't count). Other than those flaws it is an airport and it does get the job done - maybe not in the best way possible, but good enough to still go to.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"I always have to wait an hour"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport does not know how to route baggage properly. I always have to wait an hour and they switch baggage claim bays without telling you. They said it was due to the cold weather tonight. Ok. What’s your excuse the other 364 days? The guy who is in charge of baggage claim should be fired. But we all know that will never happen.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"I nearly missed my connecting flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I see absolutely no purpose for automated passport control at this airport. You have to queue to use the terminals, you then have to queue again to be questioned by a CBP agent. On this trip the queue time for the agent review was in excess of 40 minutes and I nearly missed my connecting flight. It is unacceptable that when two or three wide bodied international planes arrive in short order there are only eight of 30+ CBP desks open. Also, even when you're in transit, you have to pass through security screening again. I cannot recommend this airport if you have a tight schedule for a connecting flight.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"There obviously is no supervision"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever. The employees will not look you in the eye and aren’t at all friendly. I sat in three different places in the airport and heard loud, foul language (very offensive). There obviously is no supervision. As a guest traveler, I felt very uncomfortable. I’ll try to find another spot to sit to avoid these offensive crowds of workers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"sad miserable place"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was in Jacksonville flew to Philadelphia and then flew back out of Philadelphia to Jacksonville. The difference in the way the staff at the airport treat you in unbelievable!!! In Jacksonville everybody is helpful and friendly. In Philadelphia they don’t even look you in the eye, they act like you are a complete nuisance and are not friendly when checking in, when going through security - really never! I could not believe how I overheard other people complaining about how mean security was . I really suggest you give them some training in manners, because it’s a sad miserable place!!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no