Penang Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 32 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"rude, inept and arrogant immigration staff"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Generally speaking its not a bad airport at all. Has all the facilities etc.. Some things could be better. In particular what really needs to be addressed is the behaviour of Immigration staff. I have travelled a lot as an airline pilot and then after I retired I estimate I have been to 40 countries so far, and nowhere else I have experienced such rude, inept and arrogant immigration staff. I'm generalising of course because I am sure many do their job very well. Over the past couple of years or so I been visiting Penang frequently as I am interested in the MM2H scheme. Its a big decision so frequent visits are required so as to be sure Penang is the place to live and it also takes time to look at suitable properties to purchase. It has been on these frequent visits that I have been unlucky to encounter these rude officials. They seem to think that if a visitor is coming in for a 90 day visa and leaving the country for 2 weeks and returning again, the visitor is breaking the law. As I mentioned earlier, I need time in Penang to look for a property to purchase as I have applied for the MM2H scheme. In addition immigration officers are not really aware of the workings of the MM2H scheme. I produced a letter of approval from my agents in Penang and the immigration officer said he did not know of any agent by that name. When shown on the internet he wasn't interested. Instead he wanted me to go to Putra Jaya in KL, and get a copy of approval from the immigration department with an official letter head. It does not work like that. So instead of a 90 day visa, I got a 7 day visa, which is a huge waste of time and money for me. Please train your Immigration officials to be respectful, professional and empathic. Remind them that we are tourists, and also make them familiar with the MM2h scheme. We are the same tourists that the government spends millions of dollars a year attracting to Malaysia. Tourism is big business, creating jobs and opportunities for the locals. We are not criminals. Treat us with respect and we will come back, disrespect us and we will not return. I was so badly treated I cancelled my application for MM2H the next day.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Please get rid of it"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The passport and boarding pass check point to let me into the immigration has this weird silly rule of “one phone per one person”. My boarding pass was in my partner’s phone because he booked the ticket for me and when he tried to share my boarding pass with me via a link, it didn't work. Hence, my boarding pass with my name was in his phone. I was asked to go back to the check in counter and reprint a physical boarding pass, which totally defeats the purpose of online check-in being paperless and environmentally friendly. In the future when I want to make a booking for my 86 years old grandmother, I cannot simply show 2 boarding passes on my phone but I must print another boarding pass to show them? If this was the case at least the airline counter should have printed it for me in the first place. In summary, “the one phone, one boarding pass” is totally unjustified. Please get rid of it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Not efficient at all"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | The counters available for baggage drop at AirAsia were so few (only 3) and the queue was crazily long. Not efficient at all! The PA system in the departure hall was so bad that I couldn't hear a single thing from the announcements in both English and Malay. The passengers mentioned all of them did not get the announcements despite the announcement being repeated. Kindly please upgrade the system.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a lot of room for improvement"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | There is a lot of room for improvement at the immigration (especially for arriving and departing Malaysians). New passport readers were installed and that has changed the way passports are expected to be placed in order for the biometric reader to work. As a frequent traveller to Penang, I fidgeted with it for a few minutes at my first encounter with the new reader. Unfortunately, I see many more locals were turned away without understanding why it failed. I suggest the airport have officers who can be readily available to assist the locals, otherwise it defeats the purpose of having such hi-tech machines.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"definitely much better than I expected"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Arrival was a breeze, bit tight as arrivals and departures are on the same floor. Baggage was fast and the taxi stand easy to find, you pre-pay and are told where to wait. Departure - long line ups so get here early. There is KFC and MacDonalds prior to security. Less choices after security although the Starbucks was good for an ice chocolate drink (snacks were available here too). The toilets were clean and my husband was happy with a smoking area. Got a great view of the runway from inside the terminal, It looks to be an old airport but works well and is definitely much better than I expected.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Arrival was a breeze"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Arrival was a breeze, bit tight as arrivals and departures are on the same floor. Baggage was fast and the taxi stand easy to find, you pre-pay and are told where to wait. Departure - long line ups so get here early. There is KFC and MacDonalds prior to security. Less choices after security although the Starbucks was good for an ice chocolate drink (snacks were available here too). The toilets were clean and my husband was happy with a smoking area. Got a great view of the runway from inside the terminal, It looks to be an old airport but works well and is definitely much better than I expected.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"pure horrible"

(Singapore)

Unverified | Penang airport is pure horrible. Very small, not many eateries and shopping inside and outside of the departure hall and seems old and outdated. Toilets at the arrival hall smell really bad, but the one inside the departure hall was better. Immigration staffs didn't look very interested. Most of the planes land and disembarked travellers through the overhead walkway. However, some planes such as AirAsia, use the stairs and ask travellers to walk on the airstrip. If it's raining, you have to wait for the rain to stop or wait for the staff to transport passengers slowly using umbrellas. Food options were very limited, and weren't very appetising either. They placed 3 flights worth of passengers into one small boarding gate waiting area, which caused much confusion as the screen showed Ho Chi Minh City when the plane was actually bound for Singapore. Staff didn't announce it properly too. The free wifi was pure horrible, couldn't access anything.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"smoking room continuously spewing bad air"

(New Zealand)

Penang Airport smoking room near gate B7 seems to be continuously spewing bad air into the surrounding area. This should be fixed immediately as too many people especially young kids and senior folks are breathing in second hand smoke. I already feel less healthy after sitting here for 20 minutes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"food and prices reasonable"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | My first time to Penang. It is small airport. Easy to find fast food and prices reasonable. Boarding room quite clean but not comfortable. Trasnport to city just 2 options - bus or taxi. Be careful if your flight is between morning and noon ans everything is jammed near the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"a serviceable airport that does the job"

(Australia)

Flew into Penang from Singapore on Silk Air and left on Malaysian Airlines to KL. Arrival process was quick with no delays at immigration. By the time I arrived to pick up the bags they were already there. Had planned on changing money upon arrival but very poor rate of exchange at the airport. Did not change any money and was able to pay for taxi voucher with credit card. Check in for the flight to KL was quick and no delay through security. Was flying in Business so went straight to the Golden Lounge which was OK. Flight was due to depart at 10.35am and as we went to leave the lounge was told there was a delay with the flight. It turned out that the flight had not arrived but the screens were showing ready to board. The incoming flight was delayed by about an hour. Overall a serviceable airport that does the job.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 30 Reviews