Paphos Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 72 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"It was utter chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We arrived back from Paphos Airport, late last night, and we’re still aching, as a result of the interminable length of time it took us to eventually reach the departure lounge. It seems like the airport has lapsed back into the chaos of a few years ago. In fact, I would even go so far as to say it has become worse, a situation I wouldn’t have thought possible! We’d lived in hope that things had finally improved at Paphos Airport, having had a brilliant and quick check-in when we were there, earlier this year, in April. Unfortunately, this is not the case. On our arrival, at the airport, we were met with a long queue, outside the terminal building. Our hearts sank even further when we finally entered the building, to be met with a throng of people which must have numbered in thousands, given the number of Tui flights leaving, at similar times. It was utter chaos and begs the question as to why Tui doesn’t use Larnaca Airport, a bit more, in the winter months, as many of the people we spoke with had been staying in Limassol or disembarking a Tui cruise ship there. It was also a more efficient service when each check-in desk was designated a particular destination e.g, Cardiff, Manchester and so on. Now, everyone is just thrown into one enormous mass, not great for security or health and safety, I thought to myself, as I stood there getting hotter by the minute. I only spotted three Tui reps - nice enough young ladies but rather inept, to say the least. At least, one of them tried to offer sweets to people still on the periphery of the queue. When one man started to complain that he’d prefer not to queue than have a sweet, she flippantly replied ‘Queue and chew’. All very well, perhaps when you’re in your mid-20s but not so great if you are a retired couple or someone with health problems. Having got out of one enormous queue, you are then greeted by two more, as you make your laboured way through security, By now, it was obvious people were heartily fed up. Some tempers were starting to fray and some were intent on cheating the queue. Thankfully, these people were few in number. Eventually, we made it to passport checks and we were finally in the departure lounge where chaos once more ruled the day, as a result of the huge numbers of people trying to make their way to their respective gates. And, yes, there were long queues here, too, as we had to wait for the buses to take us to our plane. It seems to me that Tui and airport management need to sit down and talk. There are too many Tui planes departing the airport at similar times. This inevitably leads to overcrowding. The check-in staff are very efficient but have to deal with unacceptably high volumes of people, all at one time. Airport management also needs to review how it deals with all of this because it is more than obvious it’s not coping. Tui reps could also do with some further training on customer care, as they seemed to be failing in this instance. However, I do recognise that theirs wasn’t an easy task to manage. Such situations will undoubtedly lead to some holiday makers giving Cyprus and Paphos Airport a miss, in the future. This is such a shame. We have been visiting the island for over twenty years. It’s a wonderful place with such lovely people and has many excellent hotels. We are fairly well-travelled but nowhere have we met with the chaos of Paphos Airport. Surely, someone needs to take charge of this awful mess and restore Paphos Airport to its former glory.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a horrible ending"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Never use Paphos Airport on a Wednesday. We had to queue to get into the airport then faced 1 hours wait to get checked in. Queued again to complete security checks which was totally chaotic and again at passport control. In all 2 hrs. It was a horrible ending to what was otherwise a brilliant holiday.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Not worth the hassle"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Just arrived home from a lovely holiday in Paphos. Due to our experience in the airport, I seriously doubt that we will return. We arrived 3 hours before our flight to see a queue outside the airport approx 100m long, and that was only a fraction of it as we learned when we eventually got into the airport. There was no information as to what to so we joined the queue. This part really was unbelievable. All TUI flights to all UK destinations were in one long queue which meant we were in real danger of missing our flights. We were herded through disorganised queues like cattle for 2 hours. The reps were constantly shouting for us to move and calling for passengers who's flights were boarding. These people hadn't checked yet due to the chaos. When we eventually got to check in we had to go back through the crowds to get in the queue for security which had by this time merged with the check in queue! Security was a joke. Again like a cattle market, we were herded through, no proper checks because they didn't have time. A real worry. The security was non existent. We were lucky I suppose as we are fit and well. People with babies and older, frailer people must have really struggled. You couldn't leave the queue to use toilets or get a drink. Paphos airport has really let Cyprus down. Not worth the hassle!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Frankly it needs gutting and renewing"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | For anyone looking for gifts - other than duty free booze or cigarettes - buy before you get to the airport. Chocolate, sweets, local gifts are all much more expensive than at local shops. A proper rip off. You may even be better buying on your journey out if you come from one of the major UK aiports. We paid for the "Premium Lounge" - I don't know when the "premium" lounge was last visited by Priority Pass, or Thomson (which is who we booked with), but the sandwiches and food looked like the ones we passed on last year. Dried up sandwiches, UHT milk. Even the flies could not be tempted by the food. You should wipe your feet on the way out! Having managed to make it all the way through the holiday without a mosquito bite, the stained chairs hosted more critters than the food episode of "I'm a Celebrity" and meant we left Cyprus with a few more "presents" on our legs and arms than we bargained for. Frankly it needs gutting and renewing. It is quiet though, as everyone seems to know it's dirtier in here than in the main terminal. Mind you, on the plus side, we did make it through check in and baggage drop, and also security into departures in double quick time. Last year with BA we stood for an hour because the staff stuck rigidly to the two hour rule! I don't remember the lounge being this bad last year, but I would think twice about paying again. Especially when you compare it to the journey out here when we used The Club Rooms at Gatwick North. Absolutely brilliant place.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
7/10

"No delays. No undue queuing"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrival - passport control process was fine. No delays. No undue queuing. Took an age to get luggage off the carousel but I'm not sure how much control the airport have over this. We were meant to have priority luggage reclaim, meaning ours came off first but it came off last! Departure - got there three hours before flight. No issues with check in as we'd done it online and simply had to drop off our cases. No issues or delays with security or passport control. Duty free was very expensive. Food and drink were the price you'd expect to pay at an airport. Toilet facilities were clean. Once we went through boarding we were ushered to a holding area which had fans to keep us cool whilst we waited for the flight to be ready. We witnessed a case fall off the baggage truck taking cases from a plane, reported it to the member of staff boarding us. She wasn't bothered and said ground staff would deal. The case sat there until one of the ground staff noticed it. It was picked up and taken on to the appropriate location after a few minutes. Overall experience - fine, no issues to speak of but prices in duty free are far too high!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"could hardly move due to crowding"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Getting airside early at Paphos Airport was a plus as later we could hardly move around due to crowding. I had the misfortune to use the food village outlet to obtain a sausage roll and chips. Having travelled extensively, I can tell you that I took it back, part eaten, as it was cold and lacking in taste. They did offer to exchange my choice of food for another but I feared it could have been worse than what I had already rejected. As to the allocation of gates to flights departing, there appeared to be no defined lines and therefore you had people heading for their flight home in all directions thus blocking any access to exit areas in case of an emergency. Whilst we should not depend on announcements, updating passangers via the departure boards would help.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"prices in duty free are expensive"

(United Kingdom)

Paphos is a clean and tidy airport with efficient arrival and departure facilities within the terminal building. Small but provides choice of eating places and a few shops. The prices in duty free are expensive - each item we compared with high street prices in U.K were higher. Sales assistants in duty free very pushy and wouldn't leave us alone to the point of being rude, they are desperate to put their "stickers" on your items presumably so they can get commission but their methods and lack of manners is really off-putting and inappropriate. Our flight was delayed an hour so we enjoyed sitting outside in the café, it's nice that they have an open air area, although the smokers were enjoying it too! When your flight is called you walk across the road to a holding pen - this is literally a caged area. We waited 20 minutes in here-there was no seating on the Speedy Boarding area in the cage although a few seats are provided in the other section of the cage. It was extremely hot in there, everyone was complaining about the lack of space, the heat and being treated like cattle at a market. For someone with claustrophobia I imagine it would be almost impossible to wait there. They really need to think of another way to hold the passengers before boarding.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"horrified at the cost of everything"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived at Paphos airport for our return to the UK last night. Generally it wasnt too bad, checked in and got to the departure lounge quite quickly but was horrified at the cost of everything in the airport, the duty free is apparently 20% cheaper than our high street prices which is an absolute joke, the only items cheaper were cigarettes and thats it! It was 8 euros for a toblerone which is about £1.99 at home, 1.80 euros for almost a fun size bag of skittles as an example, fragrances were more expensive than our local Boots (they were even cheaper on the flight than the airport), and alcohol on average was at least 5 euros more per bottle than our high street / supermarket prices. The food court prices were also seriously expensive for what was on offer, sayers / greggs quality food at Harrods prices.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no signs of proper management"

(United Kingdom)

Total disgrace. Paphos is a lazy airport with little or no signs of proper management. It took well over 2 hours to check in and clear security. At one time around a thousand anxious passengers were being herded together like cattle with no sort of control. The sparse public address announcements were made who could not be understood. Security under these circumstances was near impossible. A sole Thomson travel agent was trying to explain that the chaos was due to the problems in Turkey. Total rubbish. According to locals (and staff) this a regular occurrence especially on Wednesdays and Thursdays. Avoid the airport altogether until this gets sorted. Many of my fellow holidaymakers said they would not be coming back to Cyprus and who can blame them when their holiday ended in this way?.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"small friendly and efficient airport"

(United Kingdom)

A small friendly and efficient airport. Although lacking in some facilities as planes are parked on open tarmac. The level of decent friendly service and respect for its passengers as human being makes it a pleasant airport to visit. The disabled assistance is excellent.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 71 Reviews