Top 100 Airports  

Panama Tocumen Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 53 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"horribly congested airport"

(United States)

Panama Tocumen is a horribly congested airport and the staff are not well trained to handle big arrivals. When finally it was time to board our plane more than 1 hour late, they put us in a bus and drove us around from gate 25A to 30 where the departure was supposed to be 1hr before. Totally unnecessary situation and they didn't handled it the way it should be. Nasty restrooms. A big mess.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"airport is simply too small"

(United States)

Verified Review | The airport is simply too small for the tasks it has to do now. The rise of COPA Airlines using PTY as a transfer point and the masses of visitors Panama receives these days means the airport simply can't handle the traffic. A bit like Istanbul and some other cities. A new terminal is under construction but in the short term it's probably going to get worse before it gets better as COPA continues to expand.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"crowded but many things to do"

(United States)

Crowded but many things to do while there - more than enough shopping and restaurant options available. Beats LAX. They are building a new terminal one can see across the way from the existing terminal. The success of COPA airlines and the rise of Panama economically is reflected in the above comments.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"disorganized and unkempt"

(Brazil)

By and large the worst airport I've been through in Latin America. Extremely rude staff. Unreasonable confiscation of items that were confiscated in other countries, including very strict American airports like JFK. Refusal to even begin communicating with me in a language other than Spanish, which should be a basic requirement for immigration, for example. Nasty eye rolling and teeth sucking when I couldn't understand questions. Everything is disorganized and unkempt. I was forced to throw away coffee I purchased a few feet from the gate in order to get to the gate (through a second round of security, shoes off and x-rays.) Poor signage and communication throughout. Wifi was a joke and extremely limited, especially when it's considered how long Copa Airlines layovers tend to be. The shopping is decent, but who the is going to be in the mood to spend hundreds on designer clothes when they're being treated the way they are here? I frequently travel between countries in North and South America and I will never fly through this airport again and I will certainly never visit that country again. Avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

Panama Tocumen Airport customer review

(New Caledonia)

Panama Tocumen is the only airport in the world where you are almost obliged to take a taxi (30US$) to get in town, even if there are local buses a few hundred meters away. The airport lacks a bus ticket vending machine, which is a shame. The information staff are not really friendly and the taxi drivers are almost harrassing you as soon as you get out the arrival door. Everything else went smoothly and at a normal pace.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"staff are helpful"

(Guatemala)

Panama is one of the bigger airports in Central America. It has many shops inside the terminal which is good for spending time in while in transit. Prices are good at all these shops. Airport is very clean. Has free wifi but it is not of a good speed. There are not many restaurants, just a few. Food quality is good. Airport staff are helpful.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"food court has a lot of choice"

(Netherlands)

Arriving and departing Panama Tocumen in January 2016. Arriving an OK experience, although somewhat slow in immigration and customs. I noticed that local people walked to the right (couple of hundred meters) to take the cheaper yellow cabs (instead of the airport cabs). There is a shaded walkway, but not recommended with a lot of luggage. Departure good. Food court on second floor of departures has a lot of choice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"the airport is very dirty"

(United States)

Horrible. There are very few food options especially if you have food allergies or intolerances. I was hugely disappointed. First airport I have been to that doesn't have free wifi. It claims it does but it just doesn't work. We even asked a customer service person and she said it wouldn't work. In the future I will do my best to book flights that avoid this airport. If for whatever reason you cannot avoid it go to Margaritaville the restaurant in the food court and they will give you wifi access and have the most decent food. By the way the airport is very dirty.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"this airport is clean"

(United States)

This airport is clean. Getting through security was similar to the United States. Encountered no issues. If you are looking for restaurants, go to Gate 23, head upstairs and you will find a Margaritaville full service restaurant as well as a small food court. If you want to smoke, be aware that you cannot smoke anywhere either inside or outside this airport. There are many high end shops and duty free shops to browse.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"nothing to write home about"

(India)

Flew to Panama to join a cruise. Airport resembled a bus stand. Due to a document check I was taken away to a special immigration counter. After a wait of about an hour I finally got my visa paper and immigration cleared me. Found my luggage removed from belt on the floor and being last one remaining from my flight was easy to locate. Although this airport serves a capital city there was nothing to write home about. Air conditioning not great and it was hot and humid.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 48 Reviews