Panama Tocumen Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating N/A
Terminal Cleanliness N/A
Queuing Times N/A
Customer rating from 64 reviews
0/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Bad service all around"

(United States)

Unverified | Awful airport! Bad service all around. First off they are doing work that has caused several black outs and are not prepared for what's to come or how to fix it. Several cancelled flights, with no consideration for its members. I've included pictures of their "waiting area" at the gates for the cancelled flights. While they had an area blocked off for another gate. Not to mention the disaster at baggage (pic also included). Not one employee would give you a straight or similar answer to everyone's concern over baggage or cancelled flights. They were saying it's "unofficial" but "officially" they're cancelled. Umm what? No vouchers for food. No comp for the flights. They did offer a stay, if you were willing to wait for hours to get transported, without your luggage of course. That "might" get brought to you later or the next day. Bathrooms were disgusting because their water was off too. Don't know how that ties to electricity but whatever. Never coming here again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"If you can avoid this airport, do it"

(Netherlands)

Unverified | I must say I agree with all the bad reviews listed. This airport is more like a shopping mall than anything else and the food is extremely expensive. Prices are far higher compared to other airports in Latin America, even higher than airports in USA and Europe. Most of the choices offered at the good court is fast food. Burgers for US14, Domino's Pizzas for US18. Cappuccinos for US7. Unbelievable! Not sure why people are forced to a secondary check before boarding. Once you are checked a second time, they place some sort of stamp in your boarding pass and you are forced to seat on a designated area while you wait for boarding. This is ridiculous. If you can avoid this airport, do it. If not, make sure you don't have to wait more than 1-2 hours for your connecting flight.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"fails as a good airport hub"

(United States)

Verified Review | Horrible service at Panama airport. Horribly dirty floors and walls in waiting areas. No signage for food court. Super expensive food for so little options and bad service. Bathrooms everywhere in the airport are packed and filthy. Overall the worst airport ever! I have been travelling through Panama for over 20 years. Although they remodeled it, it still fails as a good airport hub.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"next time I'll skip Tocumen"

(United States)

Verified Review | Panama is probably the worst overall airport experience that I have ever had - and I've had a lot. The secondary checks are preposterous, the airport personnel (including airline personnel) are uniformly ill informed and rude, the place is quite hot and humid, and on and on. Nothing a lot of other people haven't said, but I went through their comments and it was yes, yes, yes all true. I also believe that the airport is more of a shopping mall than an airport. Gates are very far apart because of all of the shopping, none of which appealed to me in the least. Signage was horrid. Food was almost funny: $16 for a Domino's pizza. Really nothing good to say about it. We would have gone into Panama City for our layover, but were advised that it could take more than an hour by taxi if traffic was bad. Next time I'll skip Tocumen.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"secondary security checks are infuriating"

(Canada)

I have been travelling through Panama City airport for many years. Since before it developed itself as a hub. The secondary security checks before you can board your plane are infuriating. They force you to throw away liquids - like water that you bought in the terminal after you passed the original security and force you to sit in an area where there is nothing to drink until you board. I flew about 12 times between Colombia, Venezuela and Panama City over a period of 3 weeks, recently. I bird watch. I am used to searches because I am often in difficult areas. I am more familiar than most people with the need to keep an eye on things. I have never see anything as incompetent as Panama City airport and I like COPA. But the airport security authorities must be damaging their business.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"security continues to become less reasonable"

(United States)

I have flown in and out of this airport at least twenty time in the past ten years and this was the worst of those. While the airport continues to improve, part of what they likely see as an improvement has become a ridiculous problem - their form of security. Coming from someone who has seen the USA TSA continue to improve and become more reasonable, the Panamanian airport security continues to become less reasonable. They no longer let you carry your umbrella onboard any Panama flights and so mine was checked in as required and consequently broken. They do not allow carry on fishing poles even those that are designed for travel in a case that fits overhead - they called it a potential weapon. If that wasn't strict enough, they also confiscated my short blunt tweezers as a potential weapon. They wanted to take my travel scissors as well until I refused and explained that they are expensive and have no sharp or pointy parts. So, they allow ink pens that could truly be used to hurt someone, but tweezers are too dangerous? Then, while I am not sure where this happened, the TSA-approved lock was removed and not put back on so I now need to buy another travel lock. I suspect it was removed in Panama since the TSA people designed these locks and have keys to remove them. I have to say that I am very upset with the Panama airport security measures. It seems to me that they may be trying too hard and have gone overboard as our own TSA did in the years right after 9/11.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"noisy, crowded, hot and humid"

(United States)

Panama Tocumen Airport is noisy, crowded, hot and humid, gives way to near freezing then back to the gate where it is hot and humid again. Hard seats. Dirty carpets. Few or no outlets to charge at. Bathrooms tiny and crowded. Noisy, did I mention that? Free WiFi but you have to give them your name and email to get in. People literally standing at our gate because there aren't enough cheap hard seats. Also you have to throw away any drinks you may have bought at your previous airport because at each gate is a security check point. So ditch any expensive airport purchased drinks, take off your belt, keys, change, wallet, watch, shoes, backpack, hat etc for the second time today.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"worst airport for a layover"

(United States)

Verified Review | Panama Tocumen is the worst airport for a layover. No comfortable places to sit, often crowded, no place to smoke in or outside the airport (literally have to take a cab 300m away from the airport). The prices are high in this airport. The restaurant and food costs put most American airports to shame. $12 for chips and salsa. $20 for a caprese salad. I would rather a layover at PAP. At least you know what you're getting there.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"no air conditioning"

(United States)

Verified Review | There is no air conditioning at Panama airport. The temperature is very high and humid. A bad situation and miserable. I can't believe that in this weather, people at the airport don't bother about this situation. If Tocumen wants to become a hub of the Americas, they need to fix these problems.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"horribly congested airport"

(United States)

Panama Tocumen is a horribly congested airport and the staff are not well trained to handle big arrivals. When finally it was time to board our plane more than 1 hour late, they put us in a bus and drove us around from gate 25A to 30 where the departure was supposed to be 1hr before. Totally unnecessary situation and they didn't handled it the way it should be. Nasty restrooms. A big mess.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 57 Reviews