Vote Now  

Palma de Majorca Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 59 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Service was hopeless"

(United Kingdom)

Flew from Palma to Doncaster Sheffield to return from holiday. Check in with Thomson was appalling. Check in desks opened 2 hours before departure time and 2 of the 4 computers were not working. One girl was training and the check in staff did not speak with passengers but just talked among themselves. It took forever to sort out 2 couples who disputed the costs for overweight luggage. On finally getting through, we went to the Formentor VIP lounge as we had already planned it. Do not pay for this. There was little time. How it can be called VIP is amazing. It was the worst lounge I have ever used and I have used many. Hardly any food available. The few staff were in the back eating doughnuts and chatting. Service was hopeless. We had to ask if there were any sandwiches and they gave us a prepackaged pack marked basic. We decided to have a drink before boarding. My wife asked if there was any gin to make a g and t but was told they had run out. What a difference at Doncaster airport where we flew out. So efficient and the executive lounge was top class.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

" we've not encountered any serious problems with queues"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | As regular visitors to Mallorca, my wife and I find Palma airport quite congenial. Yes, it is large and the distances to walk, particularly when using low-cost carriers, can be considerable, but we are prepared for that. As pensioners we tend to travel out of high season, so we've not encountered any serious problems with queues, even at security which seems to be reasonably efficient, anyway. Signage is helpful and it seemed to us on our last transit that it has recently been upgraded, which is a good thing as the massive duty-free area after security can prove something of a maze as one tries to find the way to the departure gates. There is plenty of seating away from the commercial outlets and the availability of toilets seems quite generous. Travelling with hand luggage only and not using any of the shops or bars, we tend not to have much interaction with many of the airport staff, but those we do encounter seem quite welcoming.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"no ambulift was available"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The special assistance service at the airport on October 8 was absolutely ridiculous. On arrival about 2 hours before check in, we were pleased to find that there were plenty of wheelchairs and special services staff available and were escorted through to security where the problems started. It took about an hour to get my wife through to the other side from where I wheeled my wife to the departure gate. There the real chaos started when we were called to board the plane early along with other special assistance passengers. We went through the boarding gate and were then told to wait because no one from the special services had arrived to take us on to the ambulift. Eventually a young woman arrived to take us down one by one to the floor level. There we had to wait in the smell, noise and heat for nearly an hour because no ambulift was available. Please do not blame the special services staff as they did their best. Because of this our plane was delayed for takeoff for about an hour. As you can imagine all of this does not reflect well on the special services management at this airport unlike Cardiff airport were this is managed very well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"out in less than 20 minutes"

(Russian Federation)

We arrived at Palma de Majorca and off the plane quickly - a bit of a walk to passport control but if your coming from the EU it takes about 10 seconds for checks and even if it's a visa check it's no longer than half a minute. The queue takes no longer 5-10 minutes in peak times with a lot of arrivals. The baggage reclaim is no walk and it's a big belt so no crowds. Then the baggage came a bit late but I was out in less than 20 minutes. Also the staff all speak English, German, French, Spanish and Italian. Also cold water, drinks and snacks are in vending machines but very expensive. Also no seating in arrivals, only in bars. Signs were okay but outside in the parking area not great. No brochures of Palma and other cool things to do. And no tourist offices or info desks currency exchange places and more.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"the signposts were fairly clear"

(United Kingdom)

This is a vast airport and was our first time here. It was clean and the signposts were fairly clear. On the return we were in the hands of the transfer company who determined the pick up time and we hit some traffic on the road leading to the airport, which was a little bit stressful. However, we still arrived 2 hours before departure and joined the huge easyJet queue. It did move fairly quickly and then we headed straight up to security. That was fine - queues not too long and efficient staff. Getting through the duty free shop was a bit like herded cattle and then the problems started. There are no announcements at all so you need to keep checking the boards. We saw our flight was boarding so we headed straight towards the gate along a huge corridor, which was one huge queue with hundreds upon hundreds of people. In the far distance we could see passport control booths. I think there were 6 booths but only 2 were manned - ridiculous. The queue hardly moved. People were upset and pushing. It was hugely stressful and the board said our gate was closing and we were still nowhere near the booths. With 2 minutes to go they finally opened more booths and there was a huge surge (they barely glanced at our passports) and we literally sprinted to the gate and made it with seconds to spare - not easy with a small child in tow. I truly thought we would miss the flight. We had no idea how much further it would be on the other side of the passport booths, but luckily our gate was close. My advice would be to leave more than 2 hours and just get through check in, security and passport control as quickly as possible. Don't bother with the big duty free shop - there are smaller ones next to the gate. I never want to go through that stress again and if flying to Palma again I think we would book Speedy Boarding to cut down on the queuing time for check in.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"rudeness by every staff member"

(United Kingdom)

On arrival to Palma de Majorca - all clean and to follow the crowd is the only guide for arrivals. Never spoke to or spoken to by any staff member. On departure, however, there was rudeness by every staff member I talked to. Total rudeness from staff at passport control - no help or guidinance just pointing and tutting. Not a pleasant experience. Then there is the marathon to the departure gates - they push a whole flight load on to some stairs to wait for busses out to the aircraft for fifteen minutes in heat. Majorca is beautiful, but these people need a good look at themselves.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a nice airport overall"

(United Kingdom)

Palma is a nice airport overall, check in easy, Very easy navigation, mostly up to date but a bird infestation in terminal A! Shops very expensive, we had to walk 15 minutes to find a suitable eatery so they need to add more to different areas of the airport. All staff very polite and happy to help. Toilets awful, with no working hand dryer, soap or towel dispenser, there was just a toilet roll on the surface where the basins were. On time and stress free boarding and departure (this was late by 35 mins due to ATC restrictions). WiFi accessible throughout terminal but confusing to connect to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"a complete shambles"

(United Kingdom)

My partner and I visited this Airport for our journey home on 10 May 2016 and were astounded by the poor service and lack of Airport staff on duty. Firstly we were forced to queue for over 50 minutes in the baggage check in area, then we had to que for over 45 minutes in the hand baggage check in area, then finally, when we arrived at passport control checking before the departure lounge, there was only 2 of the 6 passport check points open for a total of over 1700 passengers. Result, was that passengers were arguing, and nearly fighting with other passengers who were queue jumping. Furthermore, we had no time left to visit duty free and the plane took off 20 minutes late. A complete shambles and one reason we will never visit Majorca again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not friendly at all"

(United Kingdom)

I have just travelled out of Palma with my 91 year young mother. She needed assistance so a wheelchair and man met us at the check in. She was made to stand for at least 10 min at security which she found distressing. 5 different people pushed her and then they took her to the wrong gate. They were not friendly at all and made her feel like she was a nuisance which she us not.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"no queues at security"

(United Kingdom)

We've never seen Palma airport so quiet as when we landed: Arrivals was positively deserted and the car rental offices which were open were waiting for customers. Consequently as hand luggage only passengers we were through the airport and on our way in double quick time. Again as we prepared to depart, there were no queues at security, and the only hitch we encountered was losing our way through Duty Free en route to Departure area D. Our flight was actually delayed but we were kept informed and so we settled ourselves without any difficulty at the designated gate. There are many worse places at which to be delayed than Palma airport, and I do find the complaints about inadequate seating difficult to understand as, to me, Palma seems to provide plenty of places to sit in or near the gate areas, even when as non-Schengen travellers, we are sent to the most distant departure points.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 59 Reviews