Top 100 Airlines  

Palma de Majorca Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 56 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"out in less than 20 minutes"

(Russian Federation)

We arrived at Palma de Majorca and off the plane quickly - a bit of a walk to passport control but if your coming from the EU it takes about 10 seconds for checks and even if it's a visa check it's no longer than half a minute. The queue takes no longer 5-10 minutes in peak times with a lot of arrivals. The baggage reclaim is no walk and it's a big belt so no crowds. Then the baggage came a bit late but I was out in less than 20 minutes. Also the staff all speak English, German, French, Spanish and Italian. Also cold water, drinks and snacks are in vending machines but very expensive. Also no seating in arrivals, only in bars. Signs were okay but outside in the parking area not great. No brochures of Palma and other cool things to do. And no tourist offices or info desks currency exchange places and more.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"the signposts were fairly clear"

(United Kingdom)

This is a vast airport and was our first time here. It was clean and the signposts were fairly clear. On the return we were in the hands of the transfer company who determined the pick up time and we hit some traffic on the road leading to the airport, which was a little bit stressful. However, we still arrived 2 hours before departure and joined the huge easyJet queue. It did move fairly quickly and then we headed straight up to security. That was fine - queues not too long and efficient staff. Getting through the duty free shop was a bit like herded cattle and then the problems started. There are no announcements at all so you need to keep checking the boards. We saw our flight was boarding so we headed straight towards the gate along a huge corridor, which was one huge queue with hundreds upon hundreds of people. In the far distance we could see passport control booths. I think there were 6 booths but only 2 were manned - ridiculous. The queue hardly moved. People were upset and pushing. It was hugely stressful and the board said our gate was closing and we were still nowhere near the booths. With 2 minutes to go they finally opened more booths and there was a huge surge (they barely glanced at our passports) and we literally sprinted to the gate and made it with seconds to spare - not easy with a small child in tow. I truly thought we would miss the flight. We had no idea how much further it would be on the other side of the passport booths, but luckily our gate was close. My advice would be to leave more than 2 hours and just get through check in, security and passport control as quickly as possible. Don't bother with the big duty free shop - there are smaller ones next to the gate. I never want to go through that stress again and if flying to Palma again I think we would book Speedy Boarding to cut down on the queuing time for check in.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"rudeness by every staff member"

(United Kingdom)

On arrival to Palma de Majorca - all clean and to follow the crowd is the only guide for arrivals. Never spoke to or spoken to by any staff member. On departure, however, there was rudeness by every staff member I talked to. Total rudeness from staff at passport control - no help or guidinance just pointing and tutting. Not a pleasant experience. Then there is the marathon to the departure gates - they push a whole flight load on to some stairs to wait for busses out to the aircraft for fifteen minutes in heat. Majorca is beautiful, but these people need a good look at themselves.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a nice airport overall"

(United Kingdom)

Palma is a nice airport overall, check in easy, Very easy navigation, mostly up to date but a bird infestation in terminal A! Shops very expensive, we had to walk 15 minutes to find a suitable eatery so they need to add more to different areas of the airport. All staff very polite and happy to help. Toilets awful, with no working hand dryer, soap or towel dispenser, there was just a toilet roll on the surface where the basins were. On time and stress free boarding and departure (this was late by 35 mins due to ATC restrictions). WiFi accessible throughout terminal but confusing to connect to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"a complete shambles"

(United Kingdom)

My partner and I visited this Airport for our journey home on 10 May 2016 and were astounded by the poor service and lack of Airport staff on duty. Firstly we were forced to queue for over 50 minutes in the baggage check in area, then we had to que for over 45 minutes in the hand baggage check in area, then finally, when we arrived at passport control checking before the departure lounge, there was only 2 of the 6 passport check points open for a total of over 1700 passengers. Result, was that passengers were arguing, and nearly fighting with other passengers who were queue jumping. Furthermore, we had no time left to visit duty free and the plane took off 20 minutes late. A complete shambles and one reason we will never visit Majorca again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not friendly at all"

(United Kingdom)

I have just travelled out of Palma with my 91 year young mother. She needed assistance so a wheelchair and man met us at the check in. She was made to stand for at least 10 min at security which she found distressing. 5 different people pushed her and then they took her to the wrong gate. They were not friendly at all and made her feel like she was a nuisance which she us not.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"no queues at security"

(United Kingdom)

We've never seen Palma airport so quiet as when we landed: Arrivals was positively deserted and the car rental offices which were open were waiting for customers. Consequently as hand luggage only passengers we were through the airport and on our way in double quick time. Again as we prepared to depart, there were no queues at security, and the only hitch we encountered was losing our way through Duty Free en route to Departure area D. Our flight was actually delayed but we were kept informed and so we settled ourselves without any difficulty at the designated gate. There are many worse places at which to be delayed than Palma airport, and I do find the complaints about inadequate seating difficult to understand as, to me, Palma seems to provide plenty of places to sit in or near the gate areas, even when as non-Schengen travellers, we are sent to the most distant departure points.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
8/10

"still needs some improvement"

(Spain)

Well, as I live in Majorca, I usually travel thru Son Sant Joan and I think it's a good airport. I like the architecture of the main building, and the freeway, bus and taxi acesses are good but the parking is a bit expensive. The airport staff has helped us many times, they were friendly with us. Some years ago there were horrible queue problems at the security controls, but now they have learned and the qeueing has improved a lot. The same happened with baggage claiming, as many years ago we waited for the lugagge for hours, but now they are a lot faster. Altough the airport personnel installs more seating every year, there's still a lack of seating. My general opinion is that Palma is a good airport, but it still needs some improvement.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"luggage reclaim was quick"

(United Kingdom)

Passport control was quick, sent to a carousel at the far end of the baggage reclaim area and surprisingly for Palma airport the luggage reclaim was quick (20 mins after landing). All UK flights go from Module A which is a long way from check in - it is cramped with very little in the way of shops and restaurants (best to use the outlets before passport control) and hardly any seats. Arriving passengers have to walk through the departures lounge causing more congestion.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"there is plenty of seating in most areas"

(United Kingdom)

Have been through Palma airport many times since I last submitted a review and think I may have been somewhat carping then. Perhaps familiarity helps, but despite its size and busyness my wife and I find it reasonably congenial. We've never been delayed excessively going through security, there is plenty of seating in most areas and on our return transit last week gate numbers were being displayed straightaway instead of the usual "will appear in X minutes". We even consider the distances to be covered as simply the equivalent of our daily walk. We remember how small and congested Palma airport used to be when we first visited Mallorca over 20 years ago: its present incarnation is much better.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 56 Reviews