Palma de Majorca Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 72 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"departure was as painless as our arrival"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | As frequent visitors to Majorca we are very familiar with Palma Airport and have few problems when passing through. Arrival and departure in low season can be something of an adventure, however, as major alterations take place then so UK originating flights are often sent to more remote gates. This was the case last week. Our plane had a long taxi-ing to a distant stand and the transfer bus also had an extended journey. Making our way to the arrivals hall, we walked through unfamiliar parts of the terminal. Long distances apart, there were no delays as the airport was very quiet. It was much the same in reverse for departure: quickly through security (though I was selected to have my hand luggage swabbed) but then a long walk to our gate area which seemed to be hidden behind a screened-off section being redeveloped. We then had to wait for some time at passport control until the officers in their boxes deigned to open up for business, presumably in no hurry as our flight to Liverpool was the only UK-bound flight for a while. That minor irritant apart, our departure was as painless as our arrival. The difference in activity in the airport between summer and winter seems to be increasingly greater: absolutely bustling in the former and almost deserted in the latter.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"this was the worst experience"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Do not use this airport if you are disabled because the organisation of the help and assistance in this airport is an utter disgrace and not fit for purpose. You cannot get any kind of portering help until you have booked in and got your bording pass, what good is that when you get off of your coach outside the doors of the airport with two people in wheelchairs, another person who can just about walk herself but couldn't possibly push anything or person and a luggage trolley with four suitcases and four hand baggage bags! When I finally got to the booking in desk, which was 10 o'clock (I arrived at the doors of the airport at 7.45 am and my flight was 10.30 am) without any assisstance whatsoever from any airport staff the computer system shut off. When we were finally booked in we then had to try to get portering help to get to the airplane and transport to get up on the airplane, the first response we got from the portering desk was you've missed your flight! With help from an english TUI rep we got them to understand that it was through no fault of ourselves that we were in this mad situation and they eventually came to their senses and actually, for the first time, since arriving at this airport, gave us some help and by the grace of god we actually got on to our plane just before take off. I have taken many flights through many different airports but I can honestly say that this was the worst experience I have ever had to endure.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"It put my mind at complete rest"

(Spain)

Unverified | I contact Palma Airport direct as I needed Special Assistance for my father and I can only give great praise to the Special Assistance team at Palma airport this morning. I was travelling with my father from Menorca to Palma at 07.05 for my father (who is 80) to be transferred to a Thomas Cook flight and then I was returning the Menorca. They took my father all the way to the boarding gate (even though he was 2 hrs early) in Terminal A with me and then returned myself to Terminal B. It put my mind at complete rest that he was going to be on the correct flight. Thank you very much.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
2/10

"most awful, incompetent person"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | My partner walks with a stick but we had not asked for special assistance as we were prepared for a long slow walk and had left time for this. However the check in girl very kindly offered him assistance. Someone came promptly and we were taken to a special assistance area. At this point a woman came to us and shouted at us that our flight was boarding and we had missed the flight and we needed 2 hours if we needed help. I pointed out that we still had 45 minutes before boarding closed but she continued shouting at us. At this point we began to walk but naturally we were very upset and felt very anxious and under pressure. When we arrived at the gate the plane for the return had not even arrived. Not only did this woman know nothing about customer service but she was absolutely rubbish at her job as she had obviously got the wrong flight despite being given the paperwork. My partner was very upset. To actually shout at us like we were naughty children was disgraceful. If you've asked for special assistance watch out for her. The most awful, incompetent person I have come across.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"staff were very nice and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This is the 3rd time we have travelled to Majorca and it's always a good experience, nice and smooth, no waiting at the passport check or bag check. We had a bit of a delay but it didn't matter as they have playgrounds for older kids and a separate one for babies with lounge chairs and microwaves and rooms for breastfeeding. We lay down and watched our daughter play while waiting. The staff were very nice and helpful. I will say that it was better than UK border control, much better.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"archaic and in need of update"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I agree with all reviews Palma is archaic and in real need of update. I refer to the very inefficient special needs department. From arriving to departure the service was the same totally in adequate. Unlike their sister airport Malaga where their service is of great importance. To complain when I need the service is not something I relish - I only wish I didn't need it. Just think they need too address the issue as I and a number of people will not use Palma Airport again, or until this service is at least improving.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"airport is tired and it's age is showing"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Palma airport is tired and it's age is showing. On arrival it took an age to get through passport control and our luggage took an age to arrive. On departing we managed to drop off our luggage fairly quickly and then wander through to passport control, we again took an age. Our gate was changed 3 times, not sure if that was the airport of airline's fault. Generally it is feels dirty and in need of lots of work to bring it up to date.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
7/10

"no instruction on where to go"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Coming through gate 22 on arrival to be greated with people waiting to get on your plane with no instruction on where to go is a little disconcerting. The sign I found out on departure runs along the route you need to take, not across it so cannot be seen. A new sign for the exit is needed at a 45 degree angle so all gates 20 to 22 arrivals get instruction where to go. After walking through the retail section the signs that you do find point you to a barred off area. Which after asking a person on disability help was told was the way to go. From there on to passport control which was regimented. Then on to baggage which once again, better signage would be a help. Once baggage was collected and out in to arrival hall was very confusing trying to find any Thomas Cook agents. On departure I found that larger signage for directions would be better for checking in. But the rest ran quite well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"We were just ignored"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | A member of my family experienced an equipment failure just before passing through security, which was was no fault of his. We quickly summoned help but there were only 3 staff on duty, manning the passport terminals. We were met with a slow response, slight amusement and told that maintenance would arrive in 5 minutes. My family member was not communicated with at all and we were left in this situation for half an hour and wondered if we might actually miss our flight. Several times I asked for quicker assistance but was met with a shrug and a comment that it wasn't their job. By this time my family member was very stressed and my young daughter was very upset. We were just ignored. I will not ever visit this airport again and the staff should be ashamed at the way they treat people. The U.K has many problems but today I have renewed respect and admiration.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"I will be looking elsewhere from now on"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Been travelling to Majorca twice a year for twenty years and it has always been a pleasant experience but the new delays at passport control are inexcusable and entirely man made. I will be looking elsewhere from now on. There is no excuse for using passengers as guinea pigs while they get there systems right the claim to fame of 22 million visitors a year will son be gone. How sad.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 71 Reviews