Orlando Sanford Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating N/A
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 43 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
na

Orlando Sanford Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 10th May 2015

Just flew back from Sanford International Airport on TOM123 on the 5th May 2015. I was also ripped off for excess baggage of 1 Kg ie 27 USD. I had weighed both bags on my scales which read 19kg before leaving for the airport. Are these scales not certified by weights and measures. What was even more annoying was some of the bags being checked in at the other check in were weighing sometimes 22kg and they were not being charged anything. I had plenty of time to watch as it took at least 10 mins to get my change. I certainly agree that Orlando International airport is a much better run airport which in future I will use.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Orlando Sanford Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 22nd September 2014

Flew in on the 3rd September first time here in years having used MCO - long wait in a slow queue for passport control then ages at desk checking our passports by the time I got to the car rental desk there was only two cars left. Coming back I checked my bag weight before leaving for the airport under the 20kg limit checked it on the scales at the airport - under 20kg when at the check-in desk was told to put it on scales at next desk 22kg on that one. Removed stuff from bag re-weighed it on a 3rd set of scales spot on 20kg back to check-in desk which says 21.8kg. Ripped off for $54 excess baggage charge. The airport is tatty and staff are slow MCO is miles better now that they have automated passport machines twice this year it has been off plane passport machine get bags shuttle to terminal car and out with no holdups. The only downside is the security check coming back once which can take a while. I would need an exceedingly cheep ticket to suffer going back to this dump of an airport again.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
10/10

Orlando Sanford Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 10th September 2014

This is our airport of choice when flying into Orlando. Its much smaller than Orlando International (MC0) and therefore much quicker to pass through. On our last visit on 17th August 2014 there was a 15 minute wait for immigration friendly staff and once through our luggage was already on the carousel. Straight into the car hire office and out in 5 minutes driving down Lake Mary Boulevard within 30 minutes of landing. fantastic. Compare this to MCO where you would still be queuing in immigration. There's not many shops in the departure lounge but after 2 weeks and many shopping malls later does anybody still want to shop?
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
10/10

Orlando Sanford Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 8th June 2014

Having flown to Orlando airport 5 years ago I compared it to a cattle market I decided to try Sanford and for the last 4 years it has been superb. From getting off the aircraft passport control are very quick the luggage is waiting immediately which I can only conclude they have some pretty efficient staff (shame Manchester airport can't be as quick). Luggage is scanned and away we go 20 minutes from start to finish same time comparison on departure back to Manchester very efficient. I always fly with Thomson for the simple reason they use Sanford. OK Orlando international may be nearer your destination but who wants to be stuck in an airport for over 2 hours and fight through the crowds plus the staff at Sanford are politer.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
2/10

Orlando Sanford Airport customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 8th January 2014

If you are not a tourist please beware of this airport when arriving from a foreign destination. I did so as a student and it was pretty clear that immigration was unfamiliar with anyone other than a tourist. This caused quite a bit of delay not exactly something you would want as a connecting passenger. For the rest the airport is small but has the necessities you'd need as a traveler.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
10/10

Orlando Sanford Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 18th January 2013

We chose to fly into Sanford for its close proximity to Daytona Beach and flew with Icelandair . Arrival in the evening was stress free luggage arrived quickly cleared customs and rented a car and cleared the airport all within half hour. Departing the airport we parked the rental in the car park 10 metres away from the departure terminal handed the keys over to the renter checked in cleared customs all in 15 minutes. I have to agree with the previous poster in how friendly everybody was. Icelandair was the only international flight out so the lounge was not crowded. Royal palms lounge was a huge disappointment as it does not meet international standards for the business traveller. One coffee pot kettle for hot water chips (crisps) pre- wrapped biscuits and cookies. No hot or cold food. If you want food they can order it for you from the outside caterers for which you have to pay.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
10/10

Orlando Sanford Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st May 2012

Arrived from Manchester on Friday 20th April and was one of 5 arriving flights so there was a lengthy queue for immigration but once through baggage was waiting on arriving at the airport for return flight checked in within minutes and the only wait was for the security check point prior to going to departures. Once through there is a food court duty free bar/restaurant and also the Royal Palms Lounge which is a haven from the main departure lounge. The thing that strikes me about this airport is that everybody is so friendly and the whole airport is clean and tidy - what a difference compared to Orlando International.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
5/10

Orlando Sanford Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 10th September 2011

Sanford is a joy to fly in and out of. Generally flights are spaced out parking is easy rental cars are easy. As others have said it's clean and friendly. I use this airport 4-6 times per year and have never had any negative experiences. I've travelled alone and with the family - kids were treated nicely by security.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
5/10

Orlando Sanford Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 14th May 2011

So much quicker and easier than MCO - this should be the airport of choice for anyone visiting Florida from the UK. Great service and really quick. Generally driving down within an hour of landing. Plenty of car hire desks. Signage on leaving the airport could be a little clearer though - fine when you get used to it but not clear first time.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
5/10

Orlando Sanford Airport customer review

Review by 26th March 2009

Try the Sanford Airport early check in service on your day of departure. You can get the best seats since they open before the airport does. You will get your boarding passes and have you luggage tagged and collected and it will be waiting for you when you arrive home at the airport. The "Virtual Airport" is located at the Lake Buena Vista Factory Stores on Hwy. 535 near Disney. You won't have to arrive at the airport but one hour before your flight and you can go straight to your departure gate.
no
1 to 10 of 30 Reviews