Vote Now  

Newcastle Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 125 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"this was an experience"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | This was an experience, check in was fine, done very efficiently. As I had large baggage this had to be dropped at the special counter, again efficient. Security screening a bit OTT - belts off and everything in individual trays, but again, fairly efficient. The worst bit was the departure lounge, few seats, the majority of which were in the bar, which was extremely loud to the point of being raucous. I appreciate this airport deals with many leisure travellers heading to stag and hen do's, but at 7 am the number of drunken passengers and the noise is pretty poor. Despite there being an air bridge we had to descend stairs, cross the apron and board via stairs - how old fashioned!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"found some of the same old problems"

(Australia)

My wife and I recently had to travel to Melbourne for medical appointments and flew two return trips from Newcastle Airport. Having not flown from Newcastle for a while we were both surprised at the upgrades to the Terminal. Both arrival and departure lounges are much bigger and user friendly. However on closer inspection I found some of the same old problems. The parking is still a rip off and is slowly running out of room. Why in 2016 they cannot build a multistorey car park is a mystery, to have to walk such long distances (from the Cheapest Park?) on an uncovered walkway is second best for Newcastle. Upon entering the Arrival Lounge my wife proceeded to the toilets, a number of minutes later she appeared shaking her head and saying there are only 6 toilets in the ladies and it was so busy with two flights just landed that women were using the disabled toilet. This is both a joke in the airport planning and very unhygienic. Another big question that no one can answer is when are Newcastle travellers going to be able to fly overseas. The airport keeps spruiking that record passengers have flown in and out of Newcastle Airport, but we can only fly with the larger carriers to Melbourne, Brisbane and limited flights to the Gold Coast. Come on 2016 is nearly ended and we are getting left behind.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"what a difference"

(Portugal)

First time to Newcastle for 30 years and what a difference. It is now a smart modern airport with good access facilities, good range of shops at reasonable (by airport standards) prices and range of food (and noticeably beer) outlets. Everywhere looked clean and there were sufficient check-in desks to avoid long queues. I used the special assistance service and the staff were unfailingly helpful and cheerful. Perhaps a minor criticism would be that there are not enough airbridges for the amount of business the airport is now generating. One word of warning though is the airport taxi service where I was quoted £86 return to the city centre whereas a local company charged £32 - a saving worth having to cross the road.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"efficient security"

(United Kingdom)

As others have pointed out, public seating in the departure lounge has been compromised to accommodate retail outlets to ensure every penny is squeezed out of the passenger before departure. The cynical design of the area ensures that you have to meander through one of the most expensive duty free outlets where very few 'bargains' can be found. Even family and friends who drop off passengers are fleeced for a pound which is scandalous. One of the saving graces of the airport is the efficient security - a jewel in a very retail oriented crown. Perhaps some investment in the dated bag reclaim carousels (that literally throw your bags off) would be welcoming, but that would cost the airport money, not make it. I totally accept that an airport has to generate revenue, but the operators are doing this at the expense of customer comfort. Thankfully I can escape this shopping centre by using my access to the BA lounge while those not so fortunate have to endure paying for food and beverages just to get a seat.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not enough staff to cover"

(United Kingdom)

After previously telephoning about pre-booked special assistance for my two elderly relatives asking whether it was still possible to use our pre paid Aspire lounge passes while using this service, we were told this wouldn't be a problem and we would be taken and picked up in time to board. The lounge visit was essential as it was for the elderly ladies to take medication with a snack. After checking in we were directed to the Special Assistance desk where we were met with an off hand manner of an assistant who had a couldn't care less attitude, he then asked if we could we push the wheelchairs ourselves. We were left there until it was time to go to the boarding gate which meant we couldn't use our passes. On questioning the Airport Manager he said that it wasn't his problem, there was not enough staff to cover.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"experience was pretty good"

(United Kingdom)

I usually dread going through the queues at airports because in the past they have been long, tedious and stressful but queuing is what Newcastle Airport does really well. The departure lounge is a bit sparse of seating except in Caffè Ritazza but the security queue was stress-free, peaceful and had pleasant staff operating the machines. The terminal is a bit boring and you could walk from one end to the other in 5 minutes but apart from that the experience was pretty good and I would consider it over Edinburgh airport in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"waited 30 minutes for baggage"

(United Kingdom)

Waited 30 minutes for baggage, 1 person unloading cases then when they finally came through had to wait another 20 minutes for pushchair for child. People had to wait with baby's in arms for all this time. Ridiculous - when a flight is due in they should be prepared and at least make sure pushchairs off first so at least little ones can be settled.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"alterations made do not suit everyone"

(United Kingdom)

The alterations made to Newcastle airport do not suit everyone, for example, having to walk through duty free when nothing was needed to be purchased at inflated prices. The process of paying for anything purchased at WH Smiths is tedious. Having to use self service kiosks to purchase newspapers, magazines and sweets and having to show boarding cards creates nothing but queues. The airport lounge is not worth the money. Would not pay for this and would not have used it if was not included when travelling in premium class with Thomson. Found it infuriating that planes did not arrive or depart from gates but passengers were bussed to and from parking stands away from terminal. This is not the first time I have encountered this. Why have gates that are not being used? Would consider Manchester / Glasgow / Edinburgh over Newcastle in future
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an airport to avoid if you can"

(United Kingdom)

Newcastle airport used to be a pleasant place to fly out from, and then a year or so ago outright exploitation of a captive audience took hold. Seating where you were able to simply sit and relax was torn out to make way for more shops, bars and restaurants. Now non-commercial seating is virtually non-existent in the departures lounge. There is non-commercial seating in the gate areas but when the airport has a policy to delay showing your gate number until the last minute you get no chance to use these gate areas. So as usual we were forced to buy something we didn't really want, trying to make it last just so we had somewhere to sit. This is now an airport to avoid if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"friendly and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Facilities are very good. Staff in the shops are friendly and helpful. We were processed through the terminal quickly and efficiently. My only complaint about this airport is the food. The breakfast and sausage sandwich which cos £17+ was gastly. I sent it back and obtained a refund it was so awful. My advice, buy a meal deal from one of the shops
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 95 Reviews