Top 100 Airlines  

Newcastle Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 115 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"quickly got baggage"

(United States)

Very easily traversed, quickly got baggage, and, strange as it is, the warm welcome by even the staff of the stores in the entrance really helped to make the trip less stressful. I went to the M and S to get something to eat, and without realizing there was no microwave anywhere, and having bought a microwaveable meal, the woman behind the counter kindly cooked it for me and put it on a tray so I wouldn't burn my hands so I could eat before leaving the airport. Also, the wifi was easily accessed as well.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"one of the easiest airports"

(United Kingdom)

NCL remains one of the easiest airports in the world to pass thru - compact, walk to parking etc, but I have to agree with the other posters about the 'upgrade' airside in departures. Not everyone appreciates being funneled throughout a rat trap of a duty free shopping area, full of things nobody really wants to buy, especially when it's to the detriment of previously great quiet areas and seating. I have to agree too with one of the previous posters, the WH Smiths bit with automated tills and boarding pass scan insistence is irritating.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"not a relaxed place to be"

(United Kingdom)

Ruined Departures Area. Very unpleasant experience. The person/s who sanctioned this commercial abuse of a previously good departure lounge should be sacked. The departures area has been almost completley turned over into a shopping mall. I object to having the shopping experiece rammed down my throat in this manner. It would be OK if there were somewhere to escape this commercial pressure pot but they have taken away nearly all of the public seats to make space for the new shops, bars and cafes. Bottom line - you have to pay for goods you don't want in order to have a place to sit. Its oppressive, not a relaxed place to be at all and not acceptable. The vast majority of the reviews on this site now show how unpopular and offensive the changes are. I would invite David Laws, CEO of the airport, and mastermind of this disaster to reconcile the reviews on this and other websites to the statements he has been making to the press about how pleased the customers are with the new design. Apparently the passengers themselves requested these changes because when originally asked if they would like more shops, many respondents said yes - well they probably would say that - unless you actually told them that the price would be such a huge reduction in the amount of public seating, in which case I suspect most people would have said no. By providing only half the facts they have manipulated the questionaire to get the answer that suits the profits of the airport above the real needs of the passengers. The whole thing has been a cynical attempt to exploit a captive audience. Would this put me off using this airport? Sadly the answer is yes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"good experience and stress free"

(United Kingdom)

Great airport. Swift bag drop with Easyjet. Queues not too bad at security. Plenty of bars, restaurants and shops and lots of seating. Good experience and stress free.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"Newcastle Airport is very manageable"

(Slovenia)

Newcastle Airport is very manageable. If you are a business traveller, it is perfect. It is small, check in area is good, and the lines for security are plenty. After the security you have the main area where you can have a drink, a meal or shop. You have the big screen and they tell you when you have to go to the gates. Everybody is waiting in the main building and is appointed to the gates through this big screens. If you are travelling with children, there could be a little challenges. There is no playground for children, there are many stairs. As a family (with small children) I would not recommend this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2014
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

Newcastle Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Newcastle Airport check in and passport control are fine - the staff are pleasant and the queues move fairly quickly - but the rest of the experience is grim. The 'airside' is cramped and claustrophobic and is devoted entirely to selling you stuff. It used to be light and airy with lots of spaces to sit and relax but now they make walk around the duty free area in ever decreasing circles (a bit like Ikea) until you suddenly pop out into an area full of people drinking alcohol no matter what time of night or day (is it really necessary?). Or you can go and stand in a queue in WHSmith where they have replaced the human assistants with machines which won't work unless you scan your boarding card. The whole experience is just too awful for words. Whoever is responsible should seek alternative employment.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

Newcastle Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Newcastle airport needs cheaper eating facilities and more seating. They have polite staff, lines not too long at check in and a good range of coffee shops.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

Newcastle Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Newcastle has always been a pretty straightforward experience for me. Everything works OK and is reasonably well organized. The oddest thing is the meandering, starry walk through the perfume shops, which would not be great if you were in a hurry. Plenty of seating in departures, if you don't mind being ripped off for a coffee. On my last two trips, Newcastle has managed to find my luggage (lost both times by Heathrow) and get it to me on the next day.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

Newcastle Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Newcastle is one of my favourite British cities, so it really adds to the experience if the travel process in and out is good too and the airport is one of the best in the UK that I've experienced. Very well laid out with an excellent range of facilities, all in close proximity, quick security, friendly and helpful staff and great views of the airfield from the bars. Perhaps the only drawback was the understaffed car hire desk - make sure you leave plenty of time before your flight if returning a vehicle.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

Newcastle Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Newcastle airport (UK) has to be one of the nastiest over commercialised and ugly airports in Europe. Too few seats for non diners while the eating spaces are dark and depressing despite the recent 'makeover'. Avoid if you can!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1 to 10 of 85 Reviews