Top 100 Airlines  

Newcastle Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 122 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"efficient security"

(United Kingdom)

As others have pointed out, public seating in the departure lounge has been compromised to accommodate retail outlets to ensure every penny is squeezed out of the passenger before departure. The cynical design of the area ensures that you have to meander through one of the most expensive duty free outlets where very few 'bargains' can be found. Even family and friends who drop off passengers are fleeced for a pound which is scandalous. One of the saving graces of the airport is the efficient security - a jewel in a very retail oriented crown. Perhaps some investment in the dated bag reclaim carousels (that literally throw your bags off) would be welcoming, but that would cost the airport money, not make it. I totally accept that an airport has to generate revenue, but the operators are doing this at the expense of customer comfort. Thankfully I can escape this shopping centre by using my access to the BA lounge while those not so fortunate have to endure paying for food and beverages just to get a seat.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not enough staff to cover"

(United Kingdom)

After previously telephoning about pre-booked special assistance for my two elderly relatives asking whether it was still possible to use our pre paid Aspire lounge passes while using this service, we were told this wouldn't be a problem and we would be taken and picked up in time to board. The lounge visit was essential as it was for the elderly ladies to take medication with a snack. After checking in we were directed to the Special Assistance desk where we were met with an off hand manner of an assistant who had a couldn't care less attitude, he then asked if we could we push the wheelchairs ourselves. We were left there until it was time to go to the boarding gate which meant we couldn't use our passes. On questioning the Airport Manager he said that it wasn't his problem, there was not enough staff to cover.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"experience was pretty good"

(United Kingdom)

I usually dread going through the queues at airports because in the past they have been long, tedious and stressful but queuing is what Newcastle Airport does really well. The departure lounge is a bit sparse of seating except in Caffè Ritazza but the security queue was stress-free, peaceful and had pleasant staff operating the machines. The terminal is a bit boring and you could walk from one end to the other in 5 minutes but apart from that the experience was pretty good and I would consider it over Edinburgh airport in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"waited 30 minutes for baggage"

(United Kingdom)

Waited 30 minutes for baggage, 1 person unloading cases then when they finally came through had to wait another 20 minutes for pushchair for child. People had to wait with baby's in arms for all this time. Ridiculous - when a flight is due in they should be prepared and at least make sure pushchairs off first so at least little ones can be settled.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"alterations made do not suit everyone"

(United Kingdom)

The alterations made to Newcastle airport do not suit everyone, for example, having to walk through duty free when nothing was needed to be purchased at inflated prices. The process of paying for anything purchased at WH Smiths is tedious. Having to use self service kiosks to purchase newspapers, magazines and sweets and having to show boarding cards creates nothing but queues. The airport lounge is not worth the money. Would not pay for this and would not have used it if was not included when travelling in premium class with Thomson. Found it infuriating that planes did not arrive or depart from gates but passengers were bussed to and from parking stands away from terminal. This is not the first time I have encountered this. Why have gates that are not being used? Would consider Manchester / Glasgow / Edinburgh over Newcastle in future
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an airport to avoid if you can"

(United Kingdom)

Newcastle airport used to be a pleasant place to fly out from, and then a year or so ago outright exploitation of a captive audience took hold. Seating where you were able to simply sit and relax was torn out to make way for more shops, bars and restaurants. Now non-commercial seating is virtually non-existent in the departures lounge. There is non-commercial seating in the gate areas but when the airport has a policy to delay showing your gate number until the last minute you get no chance to use these gate areas. So as usual we were forced to buy something we didn't really want, trying to make it last just so we had somewhere to sit. This is now an airport to avoid if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"friendly and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Facilities are very good. Staff in the shops are friendly and helpful. We were processed through the terminal quickly and efficiently. My only complaint about this airport is the food. The breakfast and sausage sandwich which cos £17+ was gastly. I sent it back and obtained a refund it was so awful. My advice, buy a meal deal from one of the shops
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"quickly got baggage"

(United States)

Very easily traversed, quickly got baggage, and, strange as it is, the warm welcome by even the staff of the stores in the entrance really helped to make the trip less stressful. I went to the M and S to get something to eat, and without realizing there was no microwave anywhere, and having bought a microwaveable meal, the woman behind the counter kindly cooked it for me and put it on a tray so I wouldn't burn my hands so I could eat before leaving the airport. Also, the wifi was easily accessed as well.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"one of the easiest airports"

(United Kingdom)

NCL remains one of the easiest airports in the world to pass thru - compact, walk to parking etc, but I have to agree with the other posters about the 'upgrade' airside in departures. Not everyone appreciates being funneled throughout a rat trap of a duty free shopping area, full of things nobody really wants to buy, especially when it's to the detriment of previously great quiet areas and seating. I have to agree too with one of the previous posters, the WH Smiths bit with automated tills and boarding pass scan insistence is irritating.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"not a relaxed place to be"

(United Kingdom)

Ruined Departures Area. Very unpleasant experience. The person/s who sanctioned this commercial abuse of a previously good departure lounge should be sacked. The departures area has been almost completley turned over into a shopping mall. I object to having the shopping experiece rammed down my throat in this manner. It would be OK if there were somewhere to escape this commercial pressure pot but they have taken away nearly all of the public seats to make space for the new shops, bars and cafes. Bottom line - you have to pay for goods you don't want in order to have a place to sit. Its oppressive, not a relaxed place to be at all and not acceptable. The vast majority of the reviews on this site now show how unpopular and offensive the changes are. I would invite David Laws, CEO of the airport, and mastermind of this disaster to reconcile the reviews on this and other websites to the statements he has been making to the press about how pleased the customers are with the new design. Apparently the passengers themselves requested these changes because when originally asked if they would like more shops, many respondents said yes - well they probably would say that - unless you actually told them that the price would be such a huge reduction in the amount of public seating, in which case I suspect most people would have said no. By providing only half the facts they have manipulated the questionaire to get the answer that suits the profits of the airport above the real needs of the passengers. The whole thing has been a cynical attempt to exploit a captive audience. Would this put me off using this airport? Sadly the answer is yes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 92 Reviews