Vote Now  

Newark Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 252 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"depressing in the extreme"

(United States)

Verified Review | A friend told me not to arrive too early at this airport and I wish I'd heeded his advice. I had no check-in luggage and whilst there was a single line queue for security which stretched someway down a narrow passageway, I still had plenty of time to kill. The terminal for American is like a step back in time to the 1970's. Old and worn. Food options are depressing and I had the most inedible breakfast I can ever remember. Depressing in the extreme.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"very nice airport"

(United States)

Very nice airport. All of the staff were very nice and helpful. One of the staff even offered to help me with my bags. The bathroom's seem very clean. Check-in was quick. Their food coourt yard was nice but a little pricey. Security was a bit of a wait but other than that I would recommend this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"it's noisy and very expensive"

(United States)

Newark is a horrible airport, it's noisy, it's very expensive to eat at. It's all about buying alcoholic beverages. You can't afford to eat here, it will set you back $30. What you get for that is mediocre at best. If they want an example of an amazing airport, look to Minneapolis!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"uncomfortable seating"

(Germany)

Verified Review | A really unpleasant airport for a longer transit. Uncomfortable seating, no quiet areas to relax a little and a lot of construction work going on. But the most unpleasant thing was the restriction to only 30 minutes of free WiFi. That's almost like stone age and kind of frustrating.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Newark Airport customer review

(United States)

Verified Review | Arrived last evening on United Airlines flight 1051 from Cancun, Mexico. Arrived at 7.35 pm. The information on monitors had incorrect information about what carousel your flight's luggage would be on. In fact all the flights coming in were put on one carousel (# 11) and the other carousels were empty. Even the announcement overhead was giving out incorrect information. There were virtually no personnel around to direct people coming in from all over the world and the signage was very poor. After passport check the chaos really began. The line for customs stretched around the entire baggage area with more and more people arriving it was impossible to know where to go. Again, there was no one supervising or directing people. There was no visible sign for global entry. People started to get desperate and cutting into lines, people were threatening each other and fistfights were imminent. There was no one to even ask what lines to get on. I had to use my cell phone to call Homeland Security to alert them to the increasingly dangerous situation. I will avoid this airport at all costs in the future. Worst airport experience I have ever had.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"most humiliating experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | Arriving in Newark airport after a 6 hour flight on November 3rd, 2016 was the most humiliating experience of my life. I arrived on Icelandair flight FI623 at around 7:30. Hundreds of people lined up in long queues for passport check. Only One agent was available for the hordes of passengers. The wait was excruciating. Another agent showed up in his booth, 2nd to last from the right, but took about 30 minutes to get settled in, arranging his fan, walking around, looking up at us and smirking without any sense of urgency. It is obvious the people hired to do this job do not have great work ethics. Another agent came into his booth and left promptly to talk on his phone. By the way, many of the employees were sitting around texting on their phones so maybe you ought to make it a rule that texting or talking on the phone is not permitted during work hours. When departing from Iceland, we encountered a long line upon arrival to airport but we were processed so quickly and efficiently in under 10 minutes. I will discourage people from using Newark airport from now on. It's an embarrassment the way they treat customers. This airport gives our country a very bad first impression to our first time visitors.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"staff were trying their best"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | We landed just before 8 pm. There was very long queue in immigration but the staff were trying their best to ease out things. Unfortunately at such a busy time there were only two counters open for the non USA passport passengers. Overall it took around 45 minutes to clear immigration. Staff were polite and not overly friendly. Luggage came out by the time I reached the carousel. However its really unfair for passengers arriving from international flights to pay 6$ for a luggage trolley which should actually be free. We exited without any issues and took a yellow cab for the trek into busy Manhattan. Overall much better than JFK.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"best avoided if at all possible"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Newark Airport is best avoided if at all possible. The only reason I use it is that United Airlines flies to the destinations that I need. Security lines are long and the security people can get stressed and be can be abrupt. Recently all of the restaurants appear to have transitioned to a system where you order your food through an iPad situated on your table. Throughout your meal you are bombarded with screens trying to entice you to buy something or other. Service and food quality is mediocre and food prices are extremely high. The best advice I could give to travellers would be:- 1) For international travellers arriving at Newark allow plenty of time if you have a connecting flight as you have to reclaim and recheck your baggage and the time it takes to get through immigration, customs and security can be very long. I usually allow three hours. Try to fly direct and avoid connection at Newark if possible. 2) Join the United Airlines club so you will have somewhere to get out of the noisy and busy terminal and you can get a snack so you can avoid using the expensive restaurants.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
7/10

"the staff were friendly"

(United States)

Verified Review | My wife and I flew out of Newark Terminal C Friday and back Sunday. We had no problems. Plenty of seats at the gate with lots of places to plug your phone or laptop in to charge. One thing I noticed, the cheap eat options at EWR are gone and replaced with expensive options. So if your trying to be savvy about spending eat before you go into security. Security was pleasant too and the staff were friendly. One thing terminal C is in bad need of is moving walkways. As when we landed back we arrived at gate C98 which a very long walk with no moving walkways. EWR is still the best airport in the NYC/NJ area.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"absolute pandemonium"

(United States)

Verified Review | Newark Terminal C is mass chaos, complete breakdown of any sort of organization, absolute pandemonium. This morning, the line for the security stretched from one end of the terminal to the other. There were numerous kiosks to check in but the lines were not organized and completely jumbled. And now they have you putting your own bag tag onto your bag - like that is going to save any time whatsoever. If they say be here 3 hours ahead, even for a quick flight to say, Atlanta, be here 3 hours ahead or else you will miss your flight. Guaranteed. Terminal C is absolutely the worst terminal I have ever been in. And I won't even begin to tell you about trying to drive up to the terminal just to be dropped off. I'm sure you can imagine the nightmare. Atlanta may be the busiest in the US but Newark terminal C needs a complete overhaul.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no