Newark Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 256 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the worst airport in every way"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I have travelled through this airport many times. It is the worst airport in every way. It is always loud, overcrowded with very limited service. There is nothing pleasing about the environment. There is limited charging locations. The PA system is always hard to hear. Acoustics are terrible. The facilities are not clean. It seems that all flights are late leaving Newark.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a complete lack of respect"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Travelled from Glasgow to Newark with my wife on a city break to NY on arrival and reaching immigration we were faced with very lengthy queue which I can accept however the nature the passengers were processed with was quite an eye opener and disappointing that staff can speak to people with a complete lack of respect. I don't accept that the jobs these people do gives them the autonomy to sit and chew gum and roll there eyes at you is if you are thick. On arriving at Newark for departure home it was more of the same, the staff I believe were having competitions to see who could be the least helpful, I have travelled many destinations and airports but this was on another level for complete lack of customer care which had really taken me by surprise. Overall an unpleasant experience which spoilt an excellent trip to NY.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"This airport is so confusing"

(Canada)

Not Verified | By far the worst airport I have ever experienced. My sister and I had a connecting flight to Montreal. We almost missed the flight despite arriving an hour and thirty minutes before. We did not stop for food, just five minutes each in the bathroom. We made our flight by the grace of God and the kind people ahead of us in line, allowed us to past them. The TSA agents were so rude, it was actually like a game of let’s see who can be the rudest. They were unhelpful, unorganized and extremely unpleasant. This airport is so confusing. I mean no one knows what they’re doing or how to get to their gates and that is because nobody wants to do their job. Please avoid this airport at all costs. If you have to fly in, be prepared to possibly miss your flight. The other reviews are 100% accurate.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the absolute worst experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | This was the absolute worst experience I have ever had. Truly embarrassing as a major American airport. Complete mayhem, the rudest people I have ever encountered - zero care that you make the flight you have paid for and arrived on-time. Disaster.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Stay away at all costs!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I’ve flown at least 50 times. Hands down worst experience of my life. I renewed my drivers license before I left for Florida. Had zero issues there. Zero issues till return trip through Newark NJ. They held me up at front counter tsa for 30 min plus. Then made me do public pat down and ripped through my luggage which took another 30 min. Almost missed my flight...because I renewed my driver lic. In last 7 days! It had not expired. And I had additional documents proving who I am. Stay away at all costs!!! You’ve been warned
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security check 1 hour and 45 minutes"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Me and my husband we're going on an outbound flight heading for Copenhagen, but sadly, we had to experience Newark airport first. This was by far the worst experience either one of us had of an airport. Both being in our 30s, we have travelled a fair share and seen different kind of airports in different countries, but this was shocking! Our carrier (SAS) informed us to be at Newark airport approx. 1,5-2 hours before departure. But since the weather was a bit off in N.Y.C, we decided to go out to the airport almost 3 hours before departure at 11.30 pm in the evening. As luck would have it! The airport is extremely disorganized, with few signs pointing you in the right direction and not even informative calling in the loudspeakers. Instead, airport staff were going around yelling and shouting seemingly important info, such as that some passengers had to go ahead in line or were missing. Absolutely shocking. The security process itself was also a joke, and very, very time consuming. We stood in line for our security check 1 hour and 45 minutes. The procedure was very shattered and whimsical, and the staff was borderlining on being rude, screaming in peoples faces to remove their shoes. Why not put up a bunch of signs in different languages that explains the security process instead, so people can read and understand while standing in line? That would save both time and frustration. Not all security checks are the same either. All in all, being spoiled by the efficent security and customs in Copenhagen and Amsterdam, it was a nightmare going through Newark airport. There's certainly room for some massive improvements, and hopefully, improvements and effiency are on the top of the list of what to do next at Newark airport. The best advice we can give you, is to be at the airport with very wide time margins. It takes longer than you think (almost forever) and it's not an uncomplicated system. At least for departures, in this regard.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport in the world"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Worst airport in the world. We have been traveling for the past 3 months have been through 10 different airports and Newark is the worst. Badly made gates and terminals. Have to go through multiple security checks because of the stupid gates. Next time I see a flight transiting in Newark I will chose another flight.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"overall atmosphere was unpleasant"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I had a connecting flight in Newark on my way to Japan, and I thought it was alright. The staff were okay and decently nice. After check-in, I was amazed at all of the shops and food options and had a great time waiting for my next flight. When I came home from Japan though, it was a completely different experience. The staff were incredibly rude and obnoxious. I was a little confused where I was going and asked an employee for help, she was annoyed that I was confused and yelled directions at me. The other employees were just as rude and the overall atmosphere was unpleasant. Employees wouldn't look people in the eyes, they were on their phones, and leaning on walls/objects lazily. The staff at TSA were horrible, screaming directions at people and were just rude in general. I never experienced such rudeness from TSA/other staff at any other airport I've been to. If you have an option to go/connect to another airport, please do! Also, the WIFI was really bad and I had a hard time connecting to it on 2 different phones.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"they are no longer serving food"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I am used to UK airports standard, with plenty of choices to eat, and mall-style shopping. However, when you are at a Newark Airport restaurant early evening with 2 hours to spare and told that at 8.30pm they are no longer serving food, and that the only other restaurant in the airport serves food in plastic plates (at $15 for a burger and kettle crisps), you will be let down, no matter what your standards are. I was travelling from Newark terminal B. The queue for security was also appalling, the staff came across as disorganised and did not direct passengers properly so there was a long delay. To add to the bad experience, taxis to Newark from Manhattan do not have a fixed fee so if you are stuck in traffic for 1 hour you could end up paying easily double the usual fare, I would recommend the train to and from Penn Station to Newark airport if you are travelling light, guaranteed price and more reliable than getting stuck in the Holland tunnel during rush hour in a taxi. America, you need to sort out your airports and keep your restaurants open until the last flights of the day and start adding shops, you have a captive audience there, so it's no brainer! Also start adding signs for directions, i.e. signs for departure. I will fly from JFK next time hoping it is better!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I have been in"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Absolutely the worst airport I have been in! No way finding signage to identify where you need to go, incredibly rude staff, slowest screening line I’ve ever seen, filthy bathroom that had a line around the corner. I will go out of my way to never fly in or out of this airport
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no