Newark Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 266 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the worst in the country"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Absolutely the worst in the country. Dirty restrooms, unfriendly TSA and airport personnel, always late due to air traffic control, always problems with airtrain system.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Zero common sense"

(United States)

Not Verified | Needs to invest in an urban designer, outside the airport luggage lines block entire sidewalk forcing people into traffic to enter airport. Security lines are set it up so you have to prep for screening one at a time, and there are no family lines. Zero common sense. Workers are indifferent, our daughter was car sick in the line and the guard would not help us with a garbage can. There are no garbage cans in the long line.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely horrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | Absolutely horrible. I travel all the time and this was worst airport I have ever seen. Rude rude TSA and others. Can't even tell where the queue was for customs - mob scene. I feel so sorry for non Americans arriving here. In the future can travel through Dublin or Shannon and go thru customs there and not have to do it in Newark.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"not adequately staffed"

(United States)

Not Verified | I traveled through this airport going to Spain. I agree with most of these reviews I have read on this site. I experienced long lines because of unprepared TSA officers, not adequately staffed and listened to their bickering between themselves. The TSA officers were rude and seemed not able to exhibit even the smallest of cordial interaction. As we went through customs some of the police officers also exhibited similar behavior. I understand the need for the security checks but there needs to be some component of decency and civility in the process. I intend on never utilizing this airport again and am embarrassed for foreigners visiting the United States and thinking this is how Americans act. It is clear that the TSA and some of the police officers have no checks on their behavior. A simple lesson of manners would serve them well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"longest I have ever had to wait"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | On arrival, we waited in a 1.5 hour queue for passport control - the longest I have ever had to wait. The airport seems to be operating way over capacity as there were under 10 staff checking passports for hundreds if not thousands of passengers. On departure, the security screening areas also seem far too small and you are forced to stand and wait for at least half an hour. The only positive aspect I experienced was the quality of the food in the departure lounge, however it was extremely expensive.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I have experienced"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport I have experienced. Limited seating even when arrived 2 hours early. Rude employees. Couldn't even sit at open tables around restaurant that for some reason they were roped off. Never again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport I have ever been to"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport I have ever been to in my life, staff are unbelievably rude, also lost my luggage a week ago and still have not received it. I have been constantly contacting the airport and have gotten absolutely nowhere. No one seems to want to help and now I am stuck in the UK with no luggage I will never ever go back to the airport or travel with Spirit again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Immigration was beyond a nightmare"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Horrible experience! Avoid at all costs! Immigration was beyond a nightmare as it was poorly staffed for the number of passengers needed to get through. Dozens of families lost their connecting flights. Have read previous reviews that also stated inadequacies yet management does nothing to improve. Why? Is upper management too lackadaisical? Send your people to Disney to learn how to move volumes of people. In retrospect I will forever avoid this poorly functioning airport. Shame on management. You all need leadership training also. It is a noted fact that all successful corporate cultures start at the top. It was disgraceful that today on June 9 2018 you had so few people on hand to work.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Noisy and chaotic"

(United States)

Not Verified | A living dystopia. Noisy and chaotic. Screens everywhere rather than servers, non-stop barrage of ads and news, store selling meancing Trump cutouts and ironic "Keep America Great" sweatshirts, copious alcohol flowing at every turn, presumably to stop people from killing themelves during their connecting flights. People who work in the shops seem pleasant, but general feeling of dread while walking this hellish labyrinth unavoidable except for truly soulless.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"no supervision, no work ethic"

(United States)

Not Verified | I've attached a picture which summarizes the work ethic at this airport. Its a picture of the security people in charge of checking and verifying baggage ownership, they are supposed to ask to see your claim ticket before you leave the terminal with the bag, but these security members played with their phones, oblivious to people around them, like me taking pictures of them. Its a shame, no responsibility, no supervision, no work ethic. This is why Newark Airport is such a mess.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no