Newark Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 204 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Newark Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 1st August 2015

Never seen the airport clean. The restrooms are filthy. Unflushed toilets, toilet paper all over. If the airport authorities are going to promote this airport, better start with the restrooms. The seating areas are equally nasty - torn seats, litter and so on.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit31-07-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Newark Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 28th July 2015

We had two-hour layover between flights from Frankfurt, Germany to St Louis. Immigration took 1.5 hours and security check 30 mins and we missed the departure time. On the passport control, 30% of kiosks worked and the process was extremely slow. Why does Homeland Security do nothing to improve airport passport control and security.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit28-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

Newark Airport customer review

Review by (Belgium) 27th July 2015

The ground staff are rude, there is no difference between business check-in and economy one, both with the minimum staff. There are almost no shops and it is impossible to buy international newspapers. The business lounges of United are well below standards.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit27-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

Newark Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 5th July 2015

Having passed through Newark twice in 2 weeks, it must be the worst airport in the USA or possibly the western hemisphere. My family and I had 3 hours after landing from Belfast NI on a United flight, to connect to a flight to Orlando, we missed it. 2.5 hours in immigration. The staff were disinterested in the fact you have a connecting flight, most of then can hardly speak English, so why are they there in the first place? The immigration officers are slow and there is not enough of them. We had to collect our baggage and then get through security even though we had a connecting flight. On the way back from Orlando we had a 2 hr 11 min flight and then a 3 hour wait to the flight back to Belfast, all with United Airlines. When we touched down (on time), there was no gate for our plane to go to, and then when we got a gate there was a plane at it, then when it left the pilot could not taxi to the gate, but had to be towed, but there was no one to tow the plane, then when we got to the get there was no one to attach the ramp to the plane. One hour later we finally got off the plane, Hang your head in shame Newark. You are not part of the American dream, in fact you are a nightmare to all that cross your threshold.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit05-07-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

Newark Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 11th June 2015

What a bad airport. Horrible at best. It looks as if the last time it was renovated was in the 60s: small crowded waiting areas at the gates, broken chairs, torn padding, not enough outlets (people were huddled up over the few outlets that were available to charge their phones), small decrepit washrooms, very few food/shopping options, and no free wifi. Getting stuck in that airport for 5 hours while waiting for delayed flights is true torture. I was initially in Terminal A at gates A11-18, then A22-28. At least the lines at security weren't that long in the evening, but it is very hard to find anything real positive to say about this airport. I am now dreading the fact that I already have an international connection through it in the summer.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
3/10

Newark Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 6th June 2015

Just come back via Newark to the UK and I was bitterly disappointed with everything after Security ie on the air- side. We'd taken a fair amount of cash with us for a significant anniversary and had quite an amount we wanted to spend rather than change back to £'s at a pretty poor rate. Imagine my dismay to find you don't appear to be able to pay cash for the anything vaguely expensive so trying to pay for an expensive meal to get rid of your dollars was a total failure. The meal we had was expensive and 2 x major issues: We ordered some sides but they delivered one with the starters! Why? A starter was badly burnt - why would any decent chef even think about sending it out? It tasted so bad I had to send it back. The Duty Free is also really poor. We flew from Birmingham UK which probably has a fraction to the Newark passenger numbers but hugely bigger duty free areas. Perhaps its because Newark has 3 x sites? Also the Internet - why not free as Birmingham Uk or a really easy way to pay for a "one off event" rather than limit it to hours. You have no control over wether your flight will be delayed after all. If I go the the USA on business I'll ask our travel organisers if I can go another way.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

Newark Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 6th June 2015

Other than its great location of being close to New York - Jersey City there are no real redeeming qualities. Customs - Queues are between 0 to infinitely long depending on how many CBP officers feel like working. I soon figured out which officers to ignore as they were prone to having lengthy "And I think...." talks versus the stamp "Welcome back Sir". Facilities - they are never clean enough terminal B mens room always has a broken stall (every week). Food options in departure are horrible. A Dunkin Donuts stall would actually elevate it to 3 star rating. The pre clearance area however has vastly improved. No one spends time in the pre-clearance area as the Clearance area can have line ups as long as 45mins - reason TSA. Usually commute via YTZ-EWR on Porter.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Newark Airport customer review

Review by (Germany) 22nd May 2015

Recently I experienced this airport for the first time - coming in from Germany to connect to a domestic flight. Why Lufthansa thinks 2 hours is sufficient to connect here do not ask me. Just changing buildings is a strike against you from the beginning. Immigration officer was among the rudest I have experienced. The customs officer knew I was in a hurry to try to make my connection and I think he intentionally sent me over to the customs desk for extra inspection. The customs officer at the inspection desk made some unbelievable comments about how "frantic passengers" tend to make the officer want to search them. I have never in my life been almost threatened by customs coming into the US and I have come into many other airports. In general coming into the USA is an awful experience for citizens and non-citizens but Newark tops anything I have experienced so far. I missed my connection of course and spent the night in a shabby hotel. Between the airlines Lufthansa and United and Newark airport this was a really terrible trip. I will avoid connecting in Newark in future.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

Newark Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 22nd May 2015

Don't eat here. $40 for 2 beers and 2 hamburgers and they added a tip for my using the touch screen order pad. So called craft beer tasted like yesterdays slopping from a Munich beer hall. Going from the commuter terminal to United Airline's terminal is confusing. I gave one star for a very clean and bright terminal and 1/2 star for the lack of the old Continental club.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
8/10

Newark Airport customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 12th April 2015

Arrived late Friday from the CX flight waited about 40 minutes standard in USA but far better than Miami and JFK. Parking right outside airport so off pretty fast. Check in for the very late CX return took about ten seconds you are the last flight leaving so all very fast in airport lounge really good and the staff did a good job of managing an unruly mainland Chinese crowd who jostle and shove all the time a good experience as far as US entry goes. CX need To have a Chinese speaker at check in though.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes