Newark Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 274 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Terrible communication and service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | After a 4+ hour delay our flight to London was cancelled due to a ‘20 minute’ storm. However it seems that this a common occurrence in this part of the world, at this airport that they are ill prepared for. Terrible communication and service at all levels (bar one woman who helped rebook our flights) which by the way was 2 days later! Seating areas are uncomfortable and sparse. Tired, dirty concourse, hot food left out for hours in the open and very expensive with limited choices. As for baggage reclaim - a total nightmare! I would not recommend this airport to any traveler coming in or out of New York at any time of the year.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a hot mess"

(United States)

Not Verified | Newark airport has always been a hot mess. My specific complaint is the terminal letters and locations. My husband and I arrived to Newark on Thursday July 19, 2018 all was good. On Friday July 20th my 3 kids were coming in. They called us to let us know that they arrived and would be in baggage claim. Coming into the airport we saw terminals A, B and C. They were in C. To get to them with your upper and lower roads was the most craziest thing I have experienced. We kept missing how to get to terminal C going slow and reading the signs. Then trying to get back into the airport it put us out of the way no wehre close to where we were. After 45 minutes circling the airport and almost getting stuck in the parking garage we got to them. Coming back home we flew out of Philadelphia. A piece of cake! Tell your road people to get two civilians to get in a car, read the signs and see if they can get to their people to pick up in baggage claim.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"quality below expectations"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | Filthy restrooms, poor food options with quality below expectations. Messy corridors. Staircases without help for elderly people. Worst airport experience so far. Clocks out of order showing wrong time.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"does a horrible job at hiring staff"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is not the first time I have had a bad experience with TSA. This is the second time in a row and it will happen again next year I just know it. I don’t know what kind of people you are hiring but Newark does a horrible job at hiring staff. The bathrooms are gross and the toilet seats always have something on them. Food is overpriced for whatever reason. Newark is just money hungry but is bad quality.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Terrible attitude by employees"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Wendy’s always closes early. There is no one to complain to because the manager says we have run out of food, but that is clearly not the case because when I asked for a drink or frosty they said machines have already been cleaned or register is already close. They just simply start closing early regardless the situation. Tonight it was 9.43 and ropes were already barricading the entrance. Terrible attitude by employees.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"extremely poor signage"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | One of the worst airports I have transited through. In the past, travelled through here en route to Florida. It seemed ok at the time although just before I boarded my connection I realised my wallet had been stolen. The security staff I contacted, and lost and found personnel were extremely unhelpful. It left a bad impression. I was reluctant to book a flight passing through Newark again, but it has been several years so I thought it may have improved - it is worse. This time around, the customer service aspect has not improved one bit. The airport has three terminals. If you are arriving from outside the US (even if you're not staying), you'll need to clear customs and go through security etc. all again. Also be aware that because there is no "within airport" transit area, you need appropriate ESTA to clear customs. There is extremely poor signage for transit passengers. To go between terminals, you hop on the AirTrain which only takes a few minutes. I had plenty of time to kill so explored each of the terminals (pre-security). I would suggest getting your food and drink (if you have time) before checking through security. At terminal A, there is very little beyond the security check point. There are few toilets too, and the terminal is very crowded. So if you can put off checking through to this terminal till you absolutely need to, I would. Terminal C is a lot bigger, and more choices for seating, food and drink but it is also a lot more expensive, even the fast food joints. The cheapest burger place charges about $8 for a burger, another 4-5 bucks for fries, and there was one poor soul making the food for everyone so long waits. I overheard a customer saying "sorry, I know you're busy, but I've been waiting 45 minutes for a chocolate milkshake". Both Terminal A and C security check staff were rude, and would not answer people's questions. At terminal C in particular, there are confusing TSA lines ups. Nobody knows where to go, there is no signage. None of the staff will answer a question, just point you towards another area or queue. There is really nowhere to get food/drink at terminal C until you pass security other than a dunkin donuts. If you have time to spare, go along to Terminal B or A, there are a few other choices like Manchu Wok, Subway, Wendy's etc. Given the airport is so busy, there seem to be routine flight delays. Both my flights out of Newark were delayed. If you have a tight schedule, factor in a couple hours just in case. Also pay attention to your gate. The gate for my return flight changed three times within an hour and there was no announcement in the lounge. It just happened that people were looking at their airline App which updated them. If you have a choice, I would not fly through Newark if I could transit through somewhere else. It's a shame as I like flying with the main carrier using Newark (can't name in this post) but the aggro of going through this place again puts me off entirely.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"practically flung my passport at me"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I’ve landed and departed at Newark a few times in the past eight years and although I don’t like it, this time there was over a half hour delay to get a gate for disembarking, but then arriving at the queue at Passport Control was unbelievable. I counted over 30 desks and only SIX were manned. The wait to get checked was over an hour, and finally when I did manage to get seen, the arrogant Inspector, chewing gum and looking over my shoulder, told me he couldn’t get my fingerprints. When I asked him why, he still didn’t look my way, but told me to try again and press harder on the screen. When this appeared to also fail I asked him what I was supposed to do. He asked if I was wearing hand cream, to which I replied no. When further pressed, he suggested my hands were “too dry”. What utter nonsense. All the latest fancy technology and it required wet or sweaty hands to get fingerprints taken. I told him I had no problems before, to which he just glared at me. I asked if he had any wipes, so I could clean the screen - which seemed to irritate him more. Finally, I took out my own wipes (luckily I had some, or I would have licked each finger - most unhygienic!). I dampened each finger with the wipes, placed them on the screen and bingo! He practically flung my passport at me. I’m 79 yrs of age, travelling alone, and usually am quite tolerant, but Newark airport has the most rude, arrogant, unhelpful staff and since there was no good reason for holding me up, and worrying my waiting family, I will happily never fly into there again.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"food is extremely overpriced"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever! Where do I even begin, the food is extremely overpriced and gross, although the restaurants look nice they are deceiving. Every single table has an ipad attached to it and when I say every, I mean every. Everyone is on screens, but there is zero wifi which makes no sense. The staff couldn't care less about helping, is understaffed, and is rude. The customer service line was the longest I've ever seen. The staff doesn't pick up food so there is other peoples old food on the table, no thanks. I would avoid this at all cost and go through JFK.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst in the country"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Absolutely the worst in the country. Dirty restrooms, unfriendly TSA and airport personnel, always late due to air traffic control, always problems with airtrain system.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Zero common sense"

(United States)

Not Verified | Needs to invest in an urban designer, outside the airport luggage lines block entire sidewalk forcing people into traffic to enter airport. Security lines are set it up so you have to prep for screening one at a time, and there are no family lines. Zero common sense. Workers are indifferent, our daughter was car sick in the line and the guard would not help us with a garbage can. There are no garbage cans in the long line.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no