Newark Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 272 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"very unfriendly TSA officers"

(Netherlands)

Unverified | Nothing wrong with this airport. We found our way quickly, and the skytrain took us fast to the car rental office. The only problem we had was with the very unfriendly TSA officers who were shouting in a hostile way to us, while there was absolutly no reason to do so. We flew from Newark to London Heathrow, and had to pass security again, and the British showed how to approach people in a decent way.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"it has just added another level of hassle"

(United States)

Unverified | In sales for 40 years. Enjoyed relaxing with a beer and sandwich at various airport restaurants. Now, can not simply talk to a person and place your order. Can't buy a stinking bag of pretzels without using a computer. Stuck in lines behind elderly and non English speakers who get frustrated and nobody offers assistance. Fire the person who came up with this idea, it has just added another level of hassle to traveling and sapped the fun outta "having a few pops, before the flight".
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"Food crumbs and debris all around"

(United States)

Unverified | In Terminal A, I am sitting next to actual trash. On the floors, in the seats. Food crumbs and debris all around. The ceilings have large stains and holes. The carpet tiles are ripped up. A young girl tripped on one. Signage to go from our international flight in Term C to here was practically non-existent. There were no staff to assist. A bag belt worker helped us located a map to the airport. There don't seem to be operational water fountains in the area. The terminal is packed with nowhere to sit due to everyone's flight delays. We've had plenty of airport experiences around the world, this is the most disgusting. And who has only 30 minutes of free wifi for an airport notorious for delays?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"shows no interest in providing a quality experience"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I am sitting outside gate C132 at Newark. Newark is very convenient for me but the airport itself shows no interest in providing a quality experience. They seem to have recently added food and beverage in this area and it's a total mess. Uninviting. Tons of potato chips and soda stacked high on the shelves. I bought a straight forward sandwich that was inedible. The main attraction, sitting in the middle of the concourse, is a bar with 100's of bottles of liquor. It's all in very poor taste.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"worst airport in memory"

(United States)

Unverified | The worst airport in the world in my opinion as someone who travels every week. Poor technology, hostile united and TSA staff, inept, told to use my app to figure out where and if my flight would land and depart since all terminals said on time. Hours delayed flight never shown on monitors said either on time or closed, staff told me flight had left, when it hadn't even arrived from Hartford. Once it was boarded, later flight was cancelled and then they over fueled flight, and tried to get people off, lack of information, signage, air bus than shuttle to flight, stairs to plane. Tried to leave and drive to my destination but was informed by baggage claim that to get my checked bag could take up to two hours. This airport and many others in America simply should be shut down. It's government, it's the airlines, it's what we have created. I just returned from Japan and all I can say as an American, we should all be embarrassed. It is such a joke, it seems intentional - culture, service, technology all make it the worst airport in memory and the worst airline experience
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it was the worst airport experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My family have travelled regularly for years via Newark to Ireland and have come to expect a busy and crowded security area: hence we always allow adequate time for moving through the check in and security. On our last trip we had over 3 and half hours to get though security and I have to say it was the worst airport experience any of the family have endured at any airport. The new and improved system that is now in place at Newark consists of TSA staff yelling at travelers from the moment they join the security line. We were consisting yelled at to "keep moving" and "move on" despite the line moving as fast as anyone could. It was extremely stressful and totally unnecessary as there was no where to move on to any faster than we were already moving. It was nothing short of abusive and disrespectful. Getting through security in Newark was never pleasant but now the TSA are treating passengers nothing short of cattle to be herded. After 35 minutes of being screamed at my bag was selected for a search. This was no problem except the many staff that were supervising this section of security were extremely slow and uncommunicative. I stood for 20 minutes while the staff avoided all eye contact with the passengers and spoke only to each other. A passenger beside me who was in a wheel chair was visibly upset by the loss of her documents - which the staff appeared unconcerned with. Eventually someone checked my bag, rudely and without any civil communication with me. I can only assume that TSA training is now to treat passengers with distain as that was our experience from the start to the end of getting through Newark security. Occasionally a staff member would single out a lucky passenger who would be allowed to jump ahead in the line or have his bag prioritized in the inspection area. There may have been good cause for both these things to occur but in a system which already treats the passengers with contempt it seemed a random and arbitrary abuse of power. As it stands right now it is inefficient and there is an obvious disregard for passenger experience or wellbeing. When you finally get through security you will be rewarded by extortionate pricing for food and drinks. We all know that food in airports is expensive but Newark takes it to new heights! And forget it if you have a family and try to use the bazaar - it will takes forever and you will need a minimum of 2 adults and even this is still expensive. My advise is avoid Newark if at all possible - I am going to drive an extra hour next time right past Newark - just to avoid the horror! If I could give zero stars I would!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"TSA is a joke"

(United States)

Verified Review | Newark is by far the worst airport I fly into or out of and I fly every week all across the country. The TSA for gates A, American Airlines is a joke - sometimes open, sometimes closed, sometimes I wait in line with everyone without pre check - total joke. And rude? I know why everyone around the country looks at Jersey in a negative light because Newark airport and its employees are the first expierience and impression of NJ. I could go on and on! If you can avoid Newark airport do it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no one wants to offer help"

(United States)

Verified Review | I have been a frequent flier for the past 17 years. I am from NJ so Newark is my best bet to travel to and from. It is really hard to find something good to write about this airport. Besides the fact that delays are the norm both in and out, the people working there are so miserable its depressing. No one smiles, no one wants to offer help. The TSA there are even rude. I think it all comes down to the leadership. If you look at any organization that gets horrible reviews you must start with the head of the snake. Newark needs to fire the head of the airport (both Port Autority and the Airport). They need to start over. Newark is an embarrassment to our Tri State area. Maybe someone will read this who has the ability to make change.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"The problem is management"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Terminal A is a nightmare compared to other airports of similar size. Not enough seating, services or space - and that's when flights are on time. Delayed flights - the terminal becomes purgatory! Staff are good - very helpful. The problem is management.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Such a disgrace"

(United States)

Verified Review | Not only was security really rude, but everything is confusing and signs lead to the wrong areas. We flew in after a long 5 hour flight, and went searching for some food to eat. If you want to pay 22.00 for a burger or 12.00 for a veggie wrap, 28.00 chicken, what? Do you think everyone who travels has money to just blow on mediocre food? This is appalling! There is one fast food option, Wendys, and it's in gate B, not A, or C, and if you want to get to any other gate, you have to walk out of security, take a bus to gate B and then go back through security just to get a Wendys burger? Also where's the water fountains where you can fill up your water bottles? Such a disgrace.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no