New York JFK Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 355 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

New York JFK Airport customer review

Review by (Italy)

We are a family of 5 with a 6 year old child and we arrived at 4pm after a 9 hour flight on a normal working day Monday. We had to wait for 3 hours and 15 minutes for passport security check. I understand the need for security but what has really upset me and all the rest of the folks in the queue is the fact that most of the counters for non US citizens were closed and number of incoming flights and passegers is obviously something that can be planned in advance. If all the counters had been open the wating time would have been something reasonable. Honestly I see this as a total lack of respect for tourists, since I do understand that it requires more personnel to have all counters open but this should be compared with the hours lost by thousands of passengers. Ironically during these 3 hours we had screens showing passport control images with no queues and smiling people all around. Once security checks were completed we had to search for our luggage that was scattered around the belts since clearly we couldn't collect it in time. Disorganization at JFK was amazing and an incredibly poor image was given by US upon entering the country and this is even stranger considering that in all the rest of the trip in the US (for example in the National Parks) I found an excellent organization and very helpful people. Security officers were kind and surely it is not them to blame for this.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

New York JFK Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Flew with KLM from terminal 4 at JFK. Glad that KLM codeshares with Delta, as it meant being able to use Delta's newly refurbished terminal 4, which is very good. JFK gets a lot of bad press but it is easily accessible via the subway from Manhattan (Brooklyn in my case), then by Airtrain to the terminal itself, even if the entry fee for the latter is a bit steep at $5. Newark's is better as it tells you which airlines serve which terminal, although for JFK it's advisable to just look out the window. The interior of terminal 4 itself is spacious, light and pristine. The signs are largely clear to follow, although check-in desks aren't shown on screens in the check-in hall. Again, just use your eyes and look for the corporate livery above the desks. Check-in was smooth and quick, as is security. A relaxed and hassle-free experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

New York JFK Airport customer review

Review by (France)

My wife and I arrived from Europe in JFK at 11pm (a Saturday in August 2015). We left France 13 hours earlier. For us, with the jet lag, it was 5 am. Everything was fine till we arrived at the "passport check point". We queued for more than 2 hours (while the notice board indicated 15 minutes). It was not even a quiet 2 hours. You have to listen to staff members shouting and "giving orders" to travellers, to tell them to which counter to go in order to get their passport "stamped". It was as if we were illegal travellers. You have to know that, in order to get an authorization to enter the USA, we have to fill in an application where we give information about ourselves and to pay for that. The USA does not look very welcoming from there. Security is crucial but respect of the people is also something to keep in mind, isn't it? The return flight was also an interesting experience. We had a problem with our tickets. We had to deal with airline employees who were lazy and rude. When we landed in London, it was as if we came back to civilization, with polite, helpful and efficient staff members.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

New York JFK Airport customer review

Review by (United States)

It was only when I experienced the beautiful execution of Heathrow airport where they only announce last calls so that noise is kept down, where the security process is done efficiently with helpful staff without being shouted at by American TSA personnel as if they are in the army and we the people are there to be abused. But the most horrific experience is coming back into JFK (Terminal 7). They typically have 2 people on booth duty for citizens and about the same for non Citizens. This may be their first experience of the United States after a 8+ hour flight to be subjected to a dismal, disgraceful and for American citizens is an embarrassing experience. It took me 40 minutes to be processed but for some non citizens it must have been more than a couple of hours. I was on a British Airways flight coming into JFK on August 23rd 2015 arriving just before 9pm. What a disgrace.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

New York JFK Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Great airport, staff were friendly but firm. Felt very safe, everything was done very efficiently. The food and drink was good, the tables were clean and enough places to sit. I would recommend this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

New York JFK Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Took my two teenage daughters for a special treat. Haven't seen immigration as poor as this since Sheremetyevo in Moscow back in the 80's and even that was better. Have to say it can't be a good advert for USA and New York in particular. It's not that it's slow because of the process. Once you eventually get in front of an immigration officer it's quick and painless. It's just slow because it's a shambles of disorganisation. It's a shame because New York itself was brilliant - just a terrible first impression. Will look for another access option for New York next time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

New York JFK Airport customer review

Review by (Singapore)

I flew via JFK Airport frequently. Last year, my in built TSA lock on the luggage was spoilt during inspection. I only realised upon reaching my hotel. End up I had to buy a TSA padlock for my future trips to the USA. This time, my entire padlock was missing upon arrival outside USA. As much as we visitors respect the need of security check, JFK Airport should respect passengers' belongings as well. Utterly dissapointed and upset at how passenger items were treated.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

New York JFK Airport customer review

Review by (United States)

Terminal 5 : I stopped here on my way from Boston to Nassau at T5. A lot of food selections, stores, and a nice state of the art new terminal. I look forward to flying through T5 again in the future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

New York JFK Airport customer review

Review by (France)

Arriving from Paris with XL Airways after 8 hours flight and 45 minutes of waiting time on the plane to get off, we had to queue on the 1st time ESTA and overseas visitors lane. The queue was stretched with 18 zigzag lanes. The screen indicating one hour of waiting time was unreliable, showing different times ranging from 18 minutes to 1 hour. Going from one end to the other end of one lane was taking 20 minutes-ish. There were over a thousand people in the loop while at the other side US citizens, returning ESTA and American residents were given priority. 4 counters for a thousand people and the double number of counters for a few people from US. Once all US citizens and residents were gone, more counters opened and all counters were dedicated to our lane. It was fast indeed to get to the officer. 3hrs of wait in the lane, we went through the passport checking at 1.45am. Luggage belt on screen of our flight was unavailable of course after 3hrs, we had to look for our luggage at each luggage belt. Officers were nice and trying to do their best. It is on the airport management account of this nightmare. Hell in JFK. Never arrive at JFK, and avoid any Connecting flight through it, you will encounter stress to get your flight if not to miss it. Will use another airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

New York JFK Airport customer review

Review by (United States)

My son was traveling internationally with a group of kids and leaders. He arrived at JFK for his transfer flight back to Minneapolis. The experience going thru customs was horrible. The lines were extremely long, it took forever to get their bags. My underage son (15) was separated from the group with two other underage teens. All three had to get thru customs as fast as possible to make their connecting flights. Leaders were not allowed because they didn't have connecting flights. My son tried to explain the situation "underage minors, connecting flights, needed to get thru security quickly, traveling alone, etc". The security officer says "There's no way you'll make your flight" and turned and walked away! They finally got thru customs and my son was stopped and searched. Again, security didn't listen to what he had to say, just brushed him off and walked away. All of their flights were delayed by 35-40 minutes. If security would have taken the time to help these young, underage minors, they would have all made their flights. My son got to his gate and he could see the plane at the gate. Nobody would do anything to help him. The airline told me I should have purchased the unattended minor program for over $400 both ways, but they told me that the unattended minor program only starts when the child gets to the gate. He didn't need assistance to get on the plane at the gate, he needed help getting to the gate.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no