New York JFK Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 500 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"They make their own rules"

(United States)

Verified Review | The airport security was absolutely horrible. There is nobody giving directions on getting through security check. Most airports have you take off your shoes, place coats on belt, etc. Not JFK. They make their own rules. They don’t tell people what to do, they scream. I understand NY has tight security, but there’s no reason to scream violently at passengers trying to catch their flights. Absolutely worst experience ever. From now on I’ll be avoiding JFK at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the terminal is a nightmare"

(United States)

Unverified | When booking my travel, I go out of my way to avoid JFK airport. Besides the expected hour long wait on the runway before take off, that every flight experiences, the terminal is a nightmare. TSA employees are always very unprofessional. The person who takes your ticket at a movie theater behaves better than these people. The employees at the resturausnts would rather you "go over there" for food, instead of you sitting at their restaurant. Food is terrible, atmosphere is terrible, people are miserable, WiFi never works right. Next time I fly to DC, I am absolutely going to fly through either ATL or DET. The longer flights from Boston is much much better than dealing with the the headaches that come with JFK.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Noisy, small, crowded"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Awful, awful terminal. Noisy, small, crowded. Nowhere decent to eat, very little choice. Small convenience stores, long queues. Totally inadequate charging facilities for devices - 10 to each gate in a block, not at seats. Poor WiFi, only 30 minutes free. None of the escalators were working. Lift slow and small, could barely cope with one trolley. Poor shopping. No computer or camera outlets. Just awful, expected JDK to world class but I will go a long way to avoid flying there again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an embarrassment for such a major city"

(United States)

Unverified | JFK is the absolute worst airport in the world and I have been in most of them as I travel globally often. It is dirty, and very third world - it is an embarrassment for such a major city. All the airport staff are horrible and incredibly rude. I usually fly out of JFK for the convenience but it’s not worth it, better not by much, to go to Newark. As an American and a New Yorker it is a disgrace. you get what you pay for JFK.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"A complete lack of seating"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Terminal 7 is shocking to say the least. A complete lack of seating is available which is not helpful at all when travelling with elderly relatives. There were no customer assistants or staff to direct or help. The air con was broken or does not exist but the temperature was far too hot and unacceptable. The wandering tiki was over run with people due to lack of seating in the terminal or at the gates. Just trying to get a drink was an ordeal in itself. The staff however were friendly but evidently unable to keep up with demand. The long island brew house was put of action however even with this I do not feel this would have helped the seating situation. People were literally laying all over the floor. I can guarantee I will be paying extra to fly in and out of Newark.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Worst airport ever"

(United Arab Emirates)

Unverified | Worst airport ever. As an American, I feel ashamed that there are people from other nationalities coming and going from this airport daily and experiencing the downright dehumanizing rudeness from its employees. Despite just getting off an 11 hour flight and a three hour one before that, I was in a good mood, until I arrived here. The immigration line was long and horrible when arriving. The place is filthy and the food selections are downright terrible. When I checked my luggage in, the clerk was extremely rude straight away and acted bothered by nothing. TSA both coming and going were unprofessional with horrible attitudes whose only real profession seemed to be making snide comments for extremely petty reasons. Everywhere I went there were long lines of people being herded along like cattle by some rude staff member. I have to wonder, is it in these people's job descriptions to be blatantly rude? I will do what I need to never use this airport again, even if that means paying more for a ticket elsewhere.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely disgusting behaviour"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | This has to be the worst airport ever. The staff were vile and aggressive. Myself and my daughter were shouted at for walking to the wrong line, a line that another employee had told us to join. This is what she shouted verbatim - 'Hello maam, Hello am I not here? Are you blind? Are you just going to ignore my instruction?' To which I replied of course not, it was obvious that she wasn't interested in what her colleague has said. This was a bully who was on a power trip. We stood in line and watched as she continued to belittle others, absolutely disgusting behaviour.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is unorganised"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Unnecessarily rude, airport is unorganised, shops are overpriced and nowhere to sit. I hope I never have to fly to this airport again. The only good thing about the airport was the air train which was pretty efficient but, apart from that my experience was terrible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"ok, but nothing outstanding"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Quite double experience with JFK airport. T4 is ok, but nothing outstanding. The CBP clearance during arrival was very chaotic. Officers/personnel pointing you in the wrong direction. The baggage was taken from the belt and put together on the ground due to a lack of sufficient amounts of reclaim belts. Departure was smooth. No long waiting times in the DL Priority area, curbside very crowded. TSA not that bad, only 10 mins or so. But the waiting areas around the gates were very crowded. I was happy that I was able to acces the DL Skyclub to avoid all those people and crying children. Duty-free very overpriced and limited shopping.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

New York JFK Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | TSA staff at Terminal 7 were extremely rude, perhaps the worst I've ever encountered. They literally bark at you, offering no assistance if you look like you're struggling. My husband forgot his wedding ring after leaving security, when he went back to get it the TSA officer was disgustingly rude. My husband is not one to back down so he gave him a piece of his mind. Nevertheless, it was a horrible experience. You can be firm and polite, there is absolutely no excuse for such rudeness.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no