New York JFK Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 481 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Horrible staff"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Horrible staff, who are not willing to help anyone and speak very rudely. My flight was delayed 3 hours, and not once was anyone in the slightest bit apologetic, and when I asked how much longer it would be and politely mentioned I had been traveling for 22 hours and was deeply tired they said to me 'oh well that's not our fault is it'. Only nice person I spoke to at JFK was the man at customs when I arrived.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"there was no help at all"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I've never experienced an airport with ruder staff, from the staff scanning to the customs staff to the McDonalds staff. Not a smile, not a conversation. It was my partner and I's first time in America and there was no help at all to make the situation any easier.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"good collection of shops and restaurants"

(United States)

Unverified | I used Terminal 1 for our recent trip. On the outbound journey, the security check lines were long but moved rapidly. The terminal is used by a large number of airlines. It has a good collection of shops and restaurants. The Alitalia lounge was spacious and airy with a good selection of self servings of finger food and drinks including beer from Italy. It also offered free wifi and an announcement was made when our flight was ready to board. On return, we used the automatic kiosks for our passports. The exit was a breeze. The officers were pleasant and we were out of the terminal in no time. In sum, it was a hitch free experience considering the number of passengers and flights that as handled by this terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"the rudest agents I have ever encountered"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The TSA agents at JFK are the rudest agents I have ever encountered. Several of them were shamelessly shouting at passengers undergoing security screening. Others simply didn't deign to speak to passengers. My partner was retrieving his things after they had been scanned, and he was apparently in one officer's way. Instead of saying "excuse me" like a decent person, she stood directly behind him until he noticed her, and then she made the "shoo" hand gesture at him. From one adult to another! It's honestly appalling. Additionally, Terminal 7 doesn't have enough seating, and I have located exactly six outlets (that work - I found two others that did not work) in the Gates 1-6 section. And I don't mean six pairs, I mean three pairs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queue times are ridiculous"

(United Kingdom)

Organisation AT New York JFK is unbelievably poor. Queue times are ridiculous for people coming over on holiday. 1 hour 15 minites in a queue before being seen by customs and yet there are 60 customs booths but no movement. Customer service is poor. It will be the last time I ever use this airport. Highly recommend Newark. Worst Airport ever. Frustration is at maximum when I'm supposed to be on holiday.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
6/10

"incredibly stressful process"

(Argentina)

Verified Review | It took two hours from arrival at the gate at New York JFK Airport to pick up my luggage. Incredibly slow immigration process once again. It rivals the arrivals process at MIA. Passengers with connecting flights should be warned to allow at least three hours between flights, not the two hours or even less posted by the airlines. An incredibly stressful process.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
1/10

"not a great start to our stay"

(United States)

After being on the go for over 12 hours travelling from Iceland on a 5.5 hour flight and being very tired and hungry we finally arrived at JFK to be met with massive queues to get through passport control. Security is fine with me as safety in a top priority but JFK was ridiculous. We had to wait inline for over 1.5 hours! My legs were killing me, out of 28 or 29 desks only 3 were open which is a total joke. I was so dehydrated and was not offered water until we were next in line to be seen, the heat was unbearable and it took ages for them to offer to take anyone with small children to the front which I feel should of been done straight away. It was around 9PM, when we were finally seen and our paper work was barley checked. It took a matter of minutes for us to be on out way, not a great start to our stay in the USA
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queued for 90 minutes"

(United Kingdom)

Terrible immigration queues. Electronic passport readers largely rejected all passengers. Of 40 available desks, only one was manned and he dissapeared after 10 minutes. Excuse: change of shift and new shift hasn't arrived yet. Queued for 90 minutes (yes nine zero) by which time there was a total of three manned desks. Queue now weaved in and out of all the electronic readers accross the hall and back up the ramp from the planes.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"we couldn't take the cart in"

(United States)

Verified Review | Got to international entry from France and picked up our luggage to go through customs, the carts were there and the cost was $6. Less than 50 feet later, we were told we couldn't take the cart in. That is absolutely wrong! There was no sign saying that you couldn't take it. The airport was so hot, the hike to the gate was ridiculously long without the cart. After an overseas flight, it is ridiculous to not provide some kind of cart to go to the gate.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"shocking customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Shocking customer service. The terminal transfer train comes every 15 to 20 minutes! I sat and watched as the cleaner moved 3 customers who were in the middle of their meals so he could rearrange the tables. I then tried to get a coffee in the only coffee shop open in the entire terminal (it's 9.47 pm) only to be told they wouldn't serve me because they are closing, in 15 minutes. So far, that attitude of every staff member has been that they simply couldn't care less. The management needs some serious addressing to have allowed the staff to get away with such poor performance.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no