Vote Now  

New York JFK Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 461 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Giving this airport a 1 is being kind"

(United States)

Verified Review | Is 0 an option? Giving this airport a 1 is being kind. Every time I go through it is delayed getting to the gate or taking off. This is not due to the airlines but the airport not managing traffic. Getting from one terminal to another is a joke and I have missed flights waiting on the Busses to move. Avoid this airport at all cost.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"immigration is a shambles"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York JFK is probably the worst airport I have ever been to and I have been to many. Staff are horrible. There is no real method to lining up to go through security it just seems like a mess. They keep telling you not to block the areas but there is nowhere for people to go. Immigration is a shambles, the machines are good but again there is no real methodology to lining up. It says go to a machine when the lights are green but there are about 100 machines, half of which you can't see from the line. I was at gate C68 and assumed I had plenty of time when I followed the signs but no, without warning it told me I had to take a shuttle bus to another terminal. Why not say that like other airports e.g. time from here to gate -- then people know where they are and how much time they have - simple. Luckily though I did have enough time due to the airports sheer incompetence. As I write this I am still sitting on the plane after 2.5 hours waiting to be de-iced. I mean who would ever think that it snows in New York in January? If only we could forecast these things and maybe get more than one hairdryer to de-ice 125 planes! I am just passing through from a civilized airport, Heathrow, I am going to avoid this airport in future even if it costs more.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport we've ever been to"

(United Kingdom)

Probably the worst airport we've ever been to, security is shocking, no trays used when going through security so items get mixed up and once through, staff are rude and most unhelpful. Don't try to buy duty free because we tried to buy one bottle of whiskey 1 hour before take off and were rudely refused at one duty free and told to go to the one close to our gate. We got there and were told "it's too late we can't sell", absolutely no reasoning and can only think it was because we only wanted one bottle. If we return to New York it will definitely not be via this airport, luckily the city is so good they named it twice and gave them two airports, one with nice helpful staff and the other with rude staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid at all costs"

(United Kingdom)

Terminal 7 - the worst experience I've had in an airport including in third world countries. It is built for one quarter of the amount of people, security takes forever, you cannot sit anywhere as there are about 5 seats and you are really made to feel like cattle. Horrible experience, avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"arrival was dreadful"

(United Kingdom)

Arrival was dreadful. Long queues and only a small fraction of the desks staffed. Anticipated wait times displayed on screens changed erratically and were wildly optimistic. There were several people apparently organising queues when they would have been better deployed staffing some of the unoccupied desks. In contrast, departure was fine.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"there is no smoking lounge"

(United States)

There is no smoking lounge. I don't know maybe the people who decided to close the smoking lounges weren't smokers and don't understand the amount of stress a smoker goes through. I just landed here after a three hour flight and now I'm getting my connection which is 9 hours, I want a smoke. And the fact that JFK is smoke free annoys me. I hate going through this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very bad service"

(Romania)

Until now I had not used an airport like New York JFK. It's s like movie from 60s. Very bad service, no air, small. The best advice don't use the dirty toilets in terminal 7. Please avoid British Airways and terminal 7 from JFK. Dirty everywhere - even in the childrens' playroom.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"arrivals is a totally disorganised shambles"

(United Kingdom)

After going through Heathrow the experience at JFK couldn't have been more worse. I stupidly assumed JFK (given it is the gateway to NYC) would be at least as good as Heathrow, how wrong this was. The arrivals is a totally disorganised shambles staffed by people with zero customer service skills, the arrivals area itself needs knocking down and rebuilding to make it fit for purpose. The airport doesn't have any proper (train) links into NYC so you are at the least an hour in a taxi or bus. The departures is just as bad as the security check is again disorganised and the staff again seem to have been employed for their lack of ability to deliver any sort of courtesy. The assumption was the departures area would be somewhere to relax etc, however again this was mis founded as the departures area must have been last refurbished when Concorde was still flying, it is tiny, miserable and a relief to get out from. The prices for the food are extortionate and there are very few toilets for the volume of people. In summary JFK is extremely disappointing and stands as an embarrassment to the city of New York, the Management should take a trip to Heathrow T5 and try and replicate some best practice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"a very difficult airport to get around"

(United States)

JFK is a very difficult airport to get around when flying international. First of all, we had to get on a bus that took us to terminal 2, then exit the terminal to go to terminal 1. There were no signs that told you where to exit to go to terminal 1. This was very frustrating as we had to ask a number of people where to go. Then once you got to terminal 1, you need to go upstairs to the departures. When you have a layover of 1.5 hours, that is a very short time considering that you still have to go through security again. Once we finally got through security in terminal 1, our flight was already boarding. Because of this inconvenience, I will do everything possible to never fly through JFK again. However, on one of my previous international flights, JFK did offer a red ticket to assist me with getting through security faster because my layover was very short. While that is an improvement, having to leave the airport and then go through security again, especially when I have purchased water for my flight and then have to drink it or throw it away was very inconvenient.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

"continues to be awful"

(United Kingdom)

New York JFK terminal 7 arrivals. What a shambles. I've been to this airport a dozen times over a few years and the experience just gets worse. The huge arrival queue in the low ceiling corridor is the most grim way anyone could enter a country and after an hour or more you reach the new custom controls. New feature is you scan your own passport and prints and this is I suppose to speed things up and save money. Problem is there are maybe 15 booths and hundreds of arrivals. It takes ages and it is not simple to complete all the steps. Surely a famous airport like JFK can just do far better? Awful and continues to be awful.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no