Nassau Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 23 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"20 minutes to screen each passenger"

(United States)

Not Verified | Last week (January 25, 2018), my wife and I flew out of Nassau, Bahamas. We arrived at the airport two and a half hours early for our Delta flight to Atlanta, Georgia. I along with about 20 other passengers was randomly selected by the U.S. Transportation Security Administration (TSA) for extra security screening. My wife went through the regular security screening. The security screeners took an unbelievable 15 to 20 minutes to screen each passenger in the extra security line. There were eight passengers in the extra screening line ahead of me. More than two hours passed before I was screened. As a result, I missed my flight and had to re-book another flight to Atlanta, and also re-book my connecting flight to Baltimore-Washington Airport. My wife, waiting over two hours for me to be screened, chose to not get on our scheduled flight but to wait for me. Almost all the 20 passengers in the extra security screening line missed their flights.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"no bus going directly to the airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Probably the most difficult thing is to get to this airport. If you are not staying in the hotel but in private accommodation as we did and you are far from Nassau downtown you will hardly see any taxis around. There is no bus going directly to the airport. You might ask the driver of bus route 12 to drop you off at the nearby roundabout and then walk around half a mile to the airport. The airport itself is divided into three different section. You must have in mind that you cannot just ask from which terminal your airline departs as that also depend on your destination. The US departures have a separate terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"very clean and modern"

(United States)

Verified Review | This is a very nice airport. Very clean and modern. Airport staff are courteous and helpful. It is definitely the best airport I have been to in the Caribbean and definitely better than some airports in the US, especially Miami where you are not even offered free WiFi. Nassau airport has complimentary WiFi everywhere. Selection of popular restaurants inside the US departure lounge. There are some shops, but mostly expensive souvenirs. A great experience, hats off to everyone at NAS.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"over priced shops and restaurants"

(United States)

Nassau Airport has extremely over priced shops and restaurants. A pasta dish for over $35 in one of the restaurants I tried. Funny thing is that the airport speakers don't stop telling you to enjoy the 'excellent customer service and affordable prices'. Customer service is average to bad to be honest. Staff is moody, they know they get tourists any way so they don't care much. All shops closed down at 6pm without a place to buy a bottle of water. Not good when your flight is at 7pm and gets delayed for 3 hours. Overall, it was a bad experience and I don't recommend anyone to fly to the also overly price island. There are other Caribbean islands with more reasonable prices for sure.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"clean and efficient"

(Bahamas)

This place is clean and efficient. Lots of room and well staffed airport. Both the international/domestic terminal and the USA pre clearance terminals are modern and the lines are usually moving very quickly. US Customs is exceptionally efficient and considering the volume of persons traveling the process is smooth and the staff is excellent and friendly. US citizens get to experience an even smoother passage with the automated terminals. Just make sure you follow all the rules because some of them might seem unnecessary but if you have had a big win at the casino declare it or loose it after a night in a terrible local lock up and a visit to a magistrate back in town the next day if it is not a Friday.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"long waiting times"

(Guatemala)

This airport has 2 terminals, one for USA flights and one for non USA flights. Not big airport. Inside is very clean and staff are very helpful. However, there are long waiting times at immigration and customs. Customs has no scanner machines so they have to open all bags for checks. Needed almost 2 hours to finish immigration and customs. When departing it is very quick. Inside the airport there are only a few shops.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

Nassau Airport customer review

(United States)

Arriving: Lines for immigration lasted 45 minutes; US$18 charge for 4 minute (no exaggeration) cab ride that the hotel had said would cost no more than $10. Departing: airport merchants ready willing and able to rip you off if your guard is down for a minute.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
8/10

Nassau Airport customer review

(United States)

This review is for International arrivals and US Departures. I've used this airport in December 2009 and then again in March 2013. In general a much better experience this time around. On arrival sufficient immigration desks were staffed and customs was quick enough so that I was in my hotel within 25 minutes of touching down. On departure the new US Departures terminal is much improved from the older version. Check in and security is quick and efficient. The only place where there are lines is the US immigration pre- clearance. Airside the terminal is quite pleasant with lots of shops restaurants etc. While the main restaurant (Kafe Kalik I think is pleasant with outdoor seating I would not recommend ordering food there unless you want to risk missing your flight - they took 45 minutes to bring our food.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
4/10

Nassau Airport customer review

My children ages 16 and 11 and I went to the Bahamas in June 2010. The airport was not bad at all. Yes the airport is smaller but it got me to where I was going! I did not run into one rude airport employee. Some were quite nice actually. 3 hours doesn't seem to be necessary but why chance it? There are a few places where you can get something to eat. One small restaurant dunkin doughnuts and subway. Also there are some local wares you can purchase and a convenience store. The bathroom is large enough and clean.The screening process went easily and quickly. Just be prepared. You know they want all of your documents out and ready so do just that. You know that you have to put everything through the xray machine so make it simple. Wear flip flops and keep your bags to a minimum. We didn't even check in any bags and had no problems. No different then any other airport.
no
5/10

Nassau Airport customer review

We arrived at the airport on June 5 at 11:30 am. There was no line for Delta so we checked in with the agent in less than 5 minutes. The next stop was security a security agent checking IDs. There was no line and we were through in another 5 minutes. You drop your checked luggage off on a conveyer belt and go through screening. They emptied our carry on as we had our scuba regulators in the bag but we were still through in 10 minutes. The last stop was US customs which was another 5 minutes. Bottom line was we went from the cab to the gate in 25 minutes on a Saturday at noon. The airport is suggesting a 3 hour check in and the motel suggested 2.5hrs. Not sure why.
no
1 to 10 of 23 Reviews