Muscat Seeb Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 64 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"long queues for transit passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very long queues for transit passengers to get into our connecting flights. The system could be improved to make the transfer easier. The toilet design could be improved too. Staff are not helpful, why cant Oman Air book a seat from Dubai? Why do we have to go to transfer desk in Muscat to collect our boarding pass which makes our journey slower.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"staff are not cooperative"

(Oman)

Trip Verified | Long term parking is very expensive. The payment machine is not reliable sometimes it does not work. The staff are not cooperative - they are engaged with their phone to check their message or chatting with others. Careless behaviour. They are not aware of SOPs, process, airport information, flights and can not address your query correctly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Lines are endless and chaotic"

(Oman)

Trip Verified | Muscat airport must be among the worst world-wide in this size group. Lines are endless and chaotic everywhere – at the entrance security check, the check-in, emigration, second security screening etc. On the way in, you need Buddhist patience before you get your passport stamped. Bring ample food and drinks if you plan to queue for a visa on arrival! The airport is extremely overcrowded. It is next to impossible to find a place to sit in a public area or even in the departure lounges. The Duty-free shop is half decent, but a Subways crowns the food offering.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Rudeness, lack of interest, inefficiency"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport is probably the worst organised that I have ever visited, and boy I have been through a few. Two hours of queuing first to buy a visa and then to get through the immigration desks, faced with a small number of staff completely inadequate for the number of arrivals and who in any case were not at all interested in providing any sort of service, just taking money and conducting their social life. Rudeness, lack of interest, inefficiency. My advice is to take you business or your holiday somewhere else, where your custom will be valued.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"the worst experience ever on a transit"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Most possibly the worst experience ever on a transit. I was flying from Doha transfer in Muscat to London. The queue to board the plane was painful. It was an early morning flight at 1.30, I had a sleeping 5 year old. We were waiting in the queue for at least 45 min all the while my son was carried by my husband. To make the matters worse, there are security checks again near the gate (bear in mind I already had security check in Doha). We had to wake my son up so he could walk through the security gate barefoot because we all had to remove our shoes. I bought a water bottle from inside the airport and was told to throw it away as it was not allowed, even after my protest that the water was bought from their own duty free they were not having any of it. After all that we go through to a small 10x10 waiting room and everyone is boarding the bus to go to the plane. I then get asked for my boarding card again when it was shown literally a minute before at the security gate. No wonder there was such a long queue. Security is important but that was a bit too much. The lady that asked for the boarding card saw us presenting the card at security. I won’t even mention the cleanliness of the airport because it was so bad. I felt like I was in a third world country.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"poor customer service"

(Bahrain)

So disappointed and so inconvenienced! We get our boarding pass, we go thru customs, we go thru security and then we walk to the end of the airport to our gate - gate 22. We have 90 minutes before our flight departs and our gate is roped off. We are not able to enter to sit at the seats! Neither are gate 20/39/21/23/24. Basically all the gates at this end. People are crowding around, sitting on the floor when all of these seats at all of our gates are empty. Yes, we asked the employees. No, we cannot go and sit in the seats. We will not be allowed to enter our gate until we board, so what is the point of all of these empty seats. I took pictures if anyone is ever the least bit concerned about poor customer service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"seems to be a lack display boards "

(United Kingdom)

Arrived from Bahrain. Very long taxi from runway to the remote parking stand (no piers at this airport). You buy your visa on arrival at the Travelex Bureau De Change. Passport control has got much slower with absolutely no sense of urgency. Suitcases scanned before leaving Baggage Hall. Arrivals Hall has usual selection of car rental, hotels, coffee shops etc. Check-in fairly straightforward then Passport Control (slightly quicker leaving) followed by a quick hand luggage scan. There seems to be a lack display boards announcing flights to there was a steady flow of airport officials calling flights and encouraging people to the correct gate. Duty Free has the usual selection of alcohol, cigarettes, purfumes, watches/gifts. There are a number of different eating opportunities scattered around. Boarding is via buses to the remote stands which seem to take longer than was needed. It will be interesting to see what the new airport is like when it opens.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Immigration on arrival at MCT is painfully slow"

(Malaysia)

We were travelling in a group. Our flight route was JED to KUL via MCT. Arrived at MCT early in the morning and our next flight to KUL was during the night. We had a half day tour around MCT before our next flight. Immigration on arrival at MCT is painfully slow considering only around 50 people (two groups including ours) queuing up with almost all immigration counters open. Immigration officers seems lazy and it takes almost an hour to clear. The same thing happens during departure. In fact an immigration officer at one of the counters seemed to be purposely inspecting the passports slowly, while at the same time looking around aimlessly and chit chit-chatting with her colleague at the next counter. Disappointed with the attitude and service provided by the officers. Would consider not to travel via MCT ever again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"airport is really too small"

(Saudi Arabia)

I arrived at this airport at midnight and stayed there for about 3 hrs as a transit passenger. It was rush hour and many flights were arriving with most of the passengers as connecting. The airport is really too small to accommodate that number of passengers especially during the vacation season. Something that surprised me was that there were no proper announcements made and even if they were made we could not hear them properly. A guy was running around the airport calling them. Things got very bad during the boarding time. There was no place to stand because the boarding gates are located just a few feet apart, the staff were very rude. Hope these things improve when the new airport opens.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"toilets are inadequate"

(United Kingdom)

Terminal at Muscat looks grand but this is misleading. The toilets are inadequate and not maintained or properly equipped. For the men's toilets, there were queues to use the urinals and the cubicles. The hand dryers were not working. The cubicles had water on the floor and on the toilet seats. There was no toilet paper. The attendants merely said dryers not working. They seemed to make no effort to clean the cubicles. The money exchange staff have no customer focus. I used Costa Coffee where the staff were courteous and helpful. Duty free staff ignored customers and chatted to colleagues - security seemed thorough.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 50 Reviews