Muscat Seeb Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 68 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"chaos with long queues"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Terrible design for a new airport! Transfer is chaos with long queues. Everyone is funnelled into a tiny set of turnstiles. It is not well set out. The whole area is cramped and it can take ages to get through transit if you arrive with another flight. There are acres of walking space but very few cafes and places to eat and drink. Those that are around are not particularly eye catching or cosy. Very disappointed with the whole place. The seats in the gate area are wooden slats and not very comfortable. Dubai any day if I had a choice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"I like the architecture"

(Oman)

Trip Verified | I had a very pleasant experience at the new Muscat International Airport, only few weeks after it opened. It is a giant leap up from what they had before in MCT. Check-in was quick (business), immigration reasonably quick and friendly, way in and out. (e-Gates still unbelievably slow. I wonder how this is even possible). Staff were friendly, helpful and, considering that most of them were naturally new on the job, also quite efficient. Not all shops, food outlets, and lounges were open yet. Those that were seemed decent. Nice departure gates and air bridges now. No more bus transfer and climbing stairs to the planes in the heat. Also, I like the architecture and the interior design.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"What a shame!"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | What a shame! Brand new airport open less than 2 months, yet no-one knows how to run it! I witnessed security flaws, toilets that were located down emergency exits with no way-finding, none of the self-service check-in desks were open, only out of 10 check-in counters staffed, 45 immigration counters, only 5 were open, queued for 20 mins to get visa as only 3 out of the 12 desks were open. Dirty floors, bad way-finding and after speaking with staff, they only allowed approx 16 weeks for trials instead of the recommended 52. Spent more time on the ground after flight than the actual flight time, as no stand ready, had to wait 24 mins, then another 10 mins as pax from previous flight were still on the airbridge, number of pax missed connections. Oman Air staff not happy at all. Really poor show from Oman Airports. No doubt they will get it right, but a great opportunity to get it right from the start, yet not a good pax experience. The same all over the Middle East: All show and no substance!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"peaceful and inviting"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | This new airport is peaceful and inviting. Having said that transit security is undersized and a dog eat dog fight - which is a shame. The staff appear a bit confusede. If they iron out how to run it (eg no announcements at gate - like a herd of humans rushing) it will be awesome. Wifi free - but you need a working phone so thats a fail for international transit passengers. Great chairs for sleeping on. Even big rocks to climb like goats.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"long queues for transit passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very long queues for transit passengers to get into our connecting flights. The system could be improved to make the transfer easier. The toilet design could be improved too. Staff are not helpful, why cant Oman Air book a seat from Dubai? Why do we have to go to transfer desk in Muscat to collect our boarding pass which makes our journey slower.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"staff are not cooperative"

(Oman)

Trip Verified | Long term parking is very expensive. The payment machine is not reliable sometimes it does not work. The staff are not cooperative - they are engaged with their phone to check their message or chatting with others. Careless behaviour. They are not aware of SOPs, process, airport information, flights and can not address your query correctly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Lines are endless and chaotic"

(Oman)

Trip Verified | Muscat airport must be among the worst world-wide in this size group. Lines are endless and chaotic everywhere – at the entrance security check, the check-in, emigration, second security screening etc. On the way in, you need Buddhist patience before you get your passport stamped. Bring ample food and drinks if you plan to queue for a visa on arrival! The airport is extremely overcrowded. It is next to impossible to find a place to sit in a public area or even in the departure lounges. The Duty-free shop is half decent, but a Subways crowns the food offering.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Rudeness, lack of interest, inefficiency"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport is probably the worst organised that I have ever visited, and boy I have been through a few. Two hours of queuing first to buy a visa and then to get through the immigration desks, faced with a small number of staff completely inadequate for the number of arrivals and who in any case were not at all interested in providing any sort of service, just taking money and conducting their social life. Rudeness, lack of interest, inefficiency. My advice is to take you business or your holiday somewhere else, where your custom will be valued.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"the worst experience ever on a transit"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Most possibly the worst experience ever on a transit. I was flying from Doha transfer in Muscat to London. The queue to board the plane was painful. It was an early morning flight at 1.30, I had a sleeping 5 year old. We were waiting in the queue for at least 45 min all the while my son was carried by my husband. To make the matters worse, there are security checks again near the gate (bear in mind I already had security check in Doha). We had to wake my son up so he could walk through the security gate barefoot because we all had to remove our shoes. I bought a water bottle from inside the airport and was told to throw it away as it was not allowed, even after my protest that the water was bought from their own duty free they were not having any of it. After all that we go through to a small 10x10 waiting room and everyone is boarding the bus to go to the plane. I then get asked for my boarding card again when it was shown literally a minute before at the security gate. No wonder there was such a long queue. Security is important but that was a bit too much. The lady that asked for the boarding card saw us presenting the card at security. I won’t even mention the cleanliness of the airport because it was so bad. I felt like I was in a third world country.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"poor customer service"

(Bahrain)

So disappointed and so inconvenienced! We get our boarding pass, we go thru customs, we go thru security and then we walk to the end of the airport to our gate - gate 22. We have 90 minutes before our flight departs and our gate is roped off. We are not able to enter to sit at the seats! Neither are gate 20/39/21/23/24. Basically all the gates at this end. People are crowding around, sitting on the floor when all of these seats at all of our gates are empty. Yes, we asked the employees. No, we cannot go and sit in the seats. We will not be allowed to enter our gate until we board, so what is the point of all of these empty seats. I took pictures if anyone is ever the least bit concerned about poor customer service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 54 Reviews