Vote Now  

Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 181 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"extremely traveller-hostile experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Great on arrival, very fast passport control and bag delivery. Really bad on departure - poor signage making it hard to find the EasyJet check-in area, and then a huge wait at passport control (20 minutes) followed by shockingly bad ground service - 15 minutes standing on the bus. Extremely traveller-hostile experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"food & drink all very expensive"

(Canada)

Munich is a big efficient airport. Friendly and short security process. Very little choice of food, drink once you pass security. All very expensive beyond usual airport extortion. 4 euro and more for a cup of very weak coffee. Terminal 1 once past security is a pretty small and spartan affair. PAX amenities needed for less $.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"big choice of shops and restaurants"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Munich is a wonderful airport. Very effective and clean. Nice ground staff and big choice of shops and restaurants. My favorite is the T2 satellite. The only problem is the baggage claim, the wait is very long compared to what I experienced in other airport (Hong Kong, Singapore for instance)
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"one of the best airports"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Munich is one of the best airports I know, and the best in Germany. Now terminal 2 (LH, Star Alliance) has also a satellite terminal, which you can easy reach by train (about 3 minutes, departure every 4 or 5 minutes). For business, first, hon circle and frequent travellers of LH (and LH Group) your will find there also a new Lounge. All other travellers will also found restaurant and bars. One of them is also operated by in Germany famous cook “Schuhbeck”. The satellite terminal is like the main terminal separated in “Schengen” and “non Schengen” area. (That means without and with passport control, e.g. within EU – like domestic flights - and some other European Country and the rest of the world).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Terminal 1, the worst I have seen"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Do not depart from Terminal 1 in Munich airport. Terminal 2 is good but Terminal 1 is the worst I have ever seen. Not enough seats (and those that are there have armrests - no sleeping). The staff members are extremely rude. They do not even try to speak English and you have to guess what they want from you in the security check. At 4.45am the line was so long that I waited for 30 min to get checked and getting through I saw 4 staff members sitting down drinking coffee. I also don't like the system here that after security check you have one bistro and one tax free shop and thats it. It is small and will get quite boring when the flight is delayed. I love the Terminal 2 in Munich but will never get a flight from Terminal 1 again
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"excels in cleanliness and facilities"

(Germany)

Verified Review | I travelled to many European and Asian cities in the last year, but Munich airport is still one of the best airports I know. I highly recommend flying with Star Alliance airlines which most fly from Terminal 2. T1 can be a little disorganised and crowded sometimes. T2 meanwhile excels in cleanliness, variety of facilities and well-thought-out structure. It makes Munich airport the only one in Europe, that can keep up with excellent Asian airports like HKG.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"long queues to drop your bag off"

(United Kingdom)

Coming into Munich airport is efficient and quick - the same cannot be said when deprating. I have now used this airport a couple of times this year and it is always the same. Long queues to drop your bag off at easyjet and going through security - don't even get me started. Shops and restuarants are the only up side to this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"has good restaurants and shops"

(Germany)

Transit in Munich from Tehran to Hanover. This time a bit more stressful as I needed to go through security again. Queing in front of security was not long. I love Munich Airport and try to transfer there rather than in Frankfurt because Munich is much better organized and has good restaurants and shops to kill the time there.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"two different worlds"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Munich Airport is indeed two different worlds, but when you experience both, it is the lesser that you remember. Arrived at T2 from Brussels, and yes indeed, shiny and bright, many food courts and high end shops, a great place to be. However, finding one's way to T1 is not only diffcult because of bad signs, but it requires first a train journey, then a (difficult to find) bus, and finally a very long walk to C and B gates with almost no outside views. I felt lucky to be a fit person and not an elderly or tired passenger. I regret to say that T1 is probably the worst I visited in Europe and beyond for the past few years, a disgrace for the rich region that is Bavaria, quite incredible that top-notch airlines such Etihad, Emirates and Qatar Airways (that I flew) accept being relegated to such dirty and run-down terminal. Worst of all at T1 are the signs and directions. I am a very seasoned traveler, visiting 4 continents every year, but Munich's T1 is really abysmal for the latter and WiFi did not work.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"one of the more pleasant of Europe's airports"

(United Kingdom)

One of the more pleasant of Europe's airports. Plenty of space, typically quiet and low-stress. There's a good variety of decent food and drink options and shops that sell things you actually might want to buy, not just the usual tourist trinkets and luxury-brand junk. It's very welcome to have a proper supermarket at the airport. Only intermittent gripe is that queues before security can sometimes get a bit long, and many flights have the bother of a bus from the gate to the flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes