Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 185 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Rude staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Rude staff. I arrived at the airport very early for my flight and wanted to get something to eat. Tried to ask the man at passport control if there were restaurants past this point or should I go back before going any further. He got angry with me and wouldn’t answer! I went back and tried to ask another man, he asked ‘where are you flying to?’ I answered ‘London’ and he rolled his eyes and said ‘yes but how am I supposed to know what gate you’re going to?!’ I’d answered his question and got told off? Went through passport control and there was just one cafe with overpriced good. If I’d actually had a straight answer from one of these people I would have known to eat before going any further.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"rude service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terminal 1 is terrible. Long queues for passport control, especially at departure (why do they care so much if one is leaving the country?!) Poor food options, rude service, no power outlets before the secure area. Quite a disappointing contrast to the lovely city of Munich itself. The airport does the city a disservice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Terminal 1 very poor"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Terminal 1 very poor. Last time I used this airport was from terminal 2 which was wonderful. What a contrast termina1 is. Flight with Qatar from the B lounge. Only toilets 4 flights of stairs down. Only shops - 1 duty free, 1 news agent and 1 fairly poor food option. Only positive is fairly good free wifi, otherwise will avoid this terminal in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Awful service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Awful service, long lines at Delta check in, no respect for kids. I was flying to Atlanta with an 8 month old baby. No family assistance or priority for babies. Very rude staff (Delta Air Lines staff). I flew from London Gatwick the day before with my baby, the trolley was not even delivered on arrival outside the plane, I had to wait for the trolley to be delivered at baggage claim. I had to wait 40 min. Awful service. Munich airport is one of the worst in Europe.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"food in satellite poor"

(France)

Trip Verified | Food in satellite terminal gates K are all food stalls with the same assortment on offer except one seafood stand. The bread roll sandwiches don’t taste fresh, bland, no organic food at all, nothing healthy except the very same fruit salad and bottled juice at every stand, no low-fat or nonfat milk. Very poor picture for Germany. I am German and travel worldwide. Priority Pass lounge pass holder, but at Munich airport lounges are outside security and a long way to travel to even with a 3 hour layover to kill. WiFi - as soon cellphone goes into sleep mode airport WiFi is gone and need to reinstate.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"security staff are unfriendly"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | The airport’s design is bland, security staff are unfriendly and signage is pretty confusing or non-existent. Restaurants after security check only serve the simplest cold fare, toilets are far apart or closed and in our case of a snow storm the control tower did not answer the pilot’s repeated calls of our Norwegian flight captain for about twenty minutes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"should ask the staff for alternative lines"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Mostly I travel within terminal 1, which isn’t as nice as terminal two. The arrangements of check in and gate as well as the arrivals are pretty confusing if you are there for the first time. The gates usually are connected no matter if you’re at A/B/C or D in terminal 1, you should ask the staff for alternative immigration lines if at one immigration is a long queue. Also I don’t really understand why they don’t use the automatic passport control more.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"very long queues at passport control"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | Absolutely awful airport, very long queues at passport control. You can easily spend more than hour awaiting with only one window open for all citizens and 1 for EU citizens. Many people are close to missing their flights despite arriving to the airport early. It is one of the worst airports in the world based on my experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"endless queues at security"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Everything exemplary except for the endless queues at security check. I’ve been flying frequently from and to the Munich Airport over the last 18 months; in 80% of the cases the queues at security were at least 20-30 people per check point, some of them even having 40-50 people waiting. For an international airport and a problem that has been known for so long, not having increased the checkpoints yet is entirely unacceptable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"as if from different airports"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Arriving and Departing were as if from different airports, We arrived, presumably to terminal 2, to a large, modern, mostly empty airport. It took ages to get to the train station, between walking, escalators and the shuttle train, but at least I thought it would be nice on the return. It wasn't. There were few amenities before we got through security to gate C. They may have been there, but they were poorly signposted and advertised. This left us at the whims of gate C with little shopping and one food outlet which even by airport standards was overpriced. The food was also probably the worst I've had in a long time. I felt queasy after the potato salad (I'd had excellent potato salad in the city centre). And then there was the boarding, part Ryanair, part airport. What's the point of speedy boarding or being first in the regular queue to be first on the first bus and then last on the actual plane?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no