Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 194 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Security is quite disorganized"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was supposed to be a transit but Eurowings had a massive flight delay so it was arrival and departure. First, the wifi didn't work on both days I was there. Bags took a long time to come. Security is quite disorganized. All shops were closed. Restrooms and terminal were very clean. Long passport check line. Worst of all - to get to my gate I had to go through a line where a woman checked my boarding pass and passport. This was not boarding nor normal passport check. It was a pretty full flight so this led to an additional 1hr delay. We were the only flight in this area of the terminal so the airplane had to wait for the entire line. After this line I got in another line where they did the same thing, they checked the boarding pass and passport. Once again, this was not boarding nor normal passport check. After that was boarding. We needed to take a bus even though all jetbridges were empty. One of the worst airports ever! Didn't even have a chance to sit down.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"will never come back to this airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever, with very rude staff! Arrived at Terminal 1 3 hours early to catch a regional 2 hour flight and was held up at the check in line with only one worker. But the nightmare really began at passport control. We were in line for over 2 hours with no sympathy from the workers. Only two people checking passports with more than 100 people or more in line. Workers made it worse by allowing others to cut in or opening up other areas that bottlenecked to the same place creating chaos. Many of us missed our flights with no sympathy from anyone there and ended up spending a lot more money on a later flight. And to make matters worse had to leave the gating area to do the whole thing over again 8 hours later. I will never come back to this airport ever again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Slow passport and security checks"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I was on a transfer flight arriving from Hamburg to travel to Doha and then Sydney, Australia. There was absolute chaos at terminal B for passport and security checks. I asked at the information desk and was told to wait in the line and “fingers crossed you’ll make your flight”. I was well past my boarding time and when I got to the gate the staff member said that I needed to go back in the Economy line (non existent as there was one huge crowd). I said that the information desk told me to wait and that I would miss my flight after waiting for 30 min. He said “I am the boss here and you’re not going in”. It was another staff member who let me in after 5 minutes. Slow passport and security checks combined with a random drug test and I just made my flight. This is the worst airport experience of my life and the worst airport I’ve ever been to. Shame on you!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"fantastic, planespotter-friendly airport"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | A great airport. However, when I arrived in Terminal 1 on Aer Lingus, I needed to use the restroom. I searched everywhere, and asked a member of staff, and was told the only toilets were after passport control. Which wouldn't have been a problem, except for the fact there was an extremely long queue at passport control. It was a very uncomfortable 30 minutes, and hopefully nobody else goes through it. However, terminal 2 is extremely neat, well laid out and there is plenty of room. The security only took about two minutes, and there is an observation deck overlooking the ground movements (which I am a fan of). Overall, Munich Airport is a fantastic, planespotter-friendly airport, and I do recommend it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"1.5 hours at passport control"

(Mauritius)

Not Verified | I arrived at Munich airport 5 weeks ago. I had to wait 1.5 hours at passport control because of the queue. So today I arrived again to catch another flight. Same thing. I've never experienced lines that long in an airport before.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"remove the tramps"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is a very large airport and while the airport try and be helpful there is too much signage which can be confusing, passengers trying to locate their check in area and departure gate can easily be misled and end up at the wrong location. More effort should be made to control and remove the tramps in this airport, we saw police officers walk pass some of these people and made no effort to interfere, they could easily called airport security to have these people removed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"constantly change your gate"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | There are always technical issues in this airport. They constantly change your gate and there is very little information. They speak German and barely speak english with anybody. When arriving from Toronto (Canada) we were forced to stay in the airport for many hours waiting for our plane to be ready and all the information was given in German or very poor English. Dirty bathrooms, custom’s electronic machines very badly functioning.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no lines, no order"

(Qatar)

Trip Verified | One of the worst experiences I have had in a while. Upon arrival the line was huge, tight space, no lines, no order. Was like a protest. Poor arival area. Cleanliness below any standards. Not something you expect from a 5* airport. Pure disappointment!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Rude staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Rude staff. I arrived at the airport very early for my flight and wanted to get something to eat. Tried to ask the man at passport control if there were restaurants past this point or should I go back before going any further. He got angry with me and wouldn’t answer! I went back and tried to ask another man, he asked ‘where are you flying to?’ I answered ‘London’ and he rolled his eyes and said ‘yes but how am I supposed to know what gate you’re going to?!’ I’d answered his question and got told off? Went through passport control and there was just one cafe with overpriced good. If I’d actually had a straight answer from one of these people I would have known to eat before going any further.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"rude service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terminal 1 is terrible. Long queues for passport control, especially at departure (why do they care so much if one is leaving the country?!) Poor food options, rude service, no power outlets before the secure area. Quite a disappointing contrast to the lovely city of Munich itself. The airport does the city a disservice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no