Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 200 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"endless queues at security"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Everything exemplary except for the endless queues at security check. I’ve been flying frequently from and to the Munich Airport over the last 18 months; in 80% of the cases the queues at security were at least 20-30 people per check point, some of them even having 40-50 people waiting. For an international airport and a problem that has been known for so long, not having increased the checkpoints yet is entirely unacceptable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"as if from different airports"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Arriving and Departing were as if from different airports, We arrived, presumably to terminal 2, to a large, modern, mostly empty airport. It took ages to get to the train station, between walking, escalators and the shuttle train, but at least I thought it would be nice on the return. It wasn't. There were few amenities before we got through security to gate C. They may have been there, but they were poorly signposted and advertised. This left us at the whims of gate C with little shopping and one food outlet which even by airport standards was overpriced. The food was also probably the worst I've had in a long time. I felt queasy after the potato salad (I'd had excellent potato salad in the city centre). And then there was the boarding, part Ryanair, part airport. What's the point of speedy boarding or being first in the regular queue to be first on the first bus and then last on the actual plane?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Overall, a slow experience"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | OK journey on arrival. Slow. Bus from airplane to terminal with lots of waiting which then meant that all passengers rushed from buses to Passport control at the same time. Got through passport control and then walked for ages to Car Rental. It was well sign posted. Car rental was slow and getting out of car rental was slow. All in all about 1hr45 from landing to car moving. Normal enough experience. Departure was a pain. I wasted over 30mins looking for a petrol station to fill the car. Couldn't find any signs. Had to do a google search to find a petrol station. Car rental return was very well sign posted and very easy return. A common area to leave your car independent of the provider. Very easy. Departure was painful. So much walking from Car rental to Terminal 1 to D gates (my mistake - turns out it was D checkin and C gates), then find the C gates and they are closed. Then someone tells me they are upstairs (a small sign verifies this). Loads more walking and passports - and the whole time no shops. Eventually get to departure gates. Very poor food options at the departure gates - expensive too. Eventually head through departure gate expecting to board plane to find a room - more waiting, this time for a bus. I hate buses at airports. 15 minutes later we get to board the plane. Overall, a slow experience. Reminds me of Paris CDG airport. Don't know what people rave about with this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Lines were long"

(United States)

Verified Review | It is a lovely airport and one of the top airports in the world. Terminal 2 is truly a beautiful terminal with all the amenities and services. Smart thoughtout and comfortable to be in or to shop in. However, terminal 1 is just the opposite. It is outdated, cramped, and has a feel of a a beat up second world airport terminal. As I walked the length of terminal 1 it really looked like it belong to a different airport all together. Lines were long and there is little to none waiting areas before the checkin lines open. Zero shopping areas before security and very little food options. If you plan to fly out of this airport get there early to avoid the long lines at security and check in process.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"one of the best"

(Germany)

Verified Review | The airport of Munich is one of the best. Typically German: clean, clear and cold (in a positive way). Almost everything in this airport is perfect, especially to mention parking opportunities, shopping opportunities, short walking distances. Things that are not so perfect - quite far away from the city center (about 30km) but actually nowadays is not an issue anymore compared to similar international airports (ICN, PVG, KUL, etc). Terminal 1 is more practical then Terminal 2 but darker and security queuing management is complicated and smaller. Satellite terminal 2 is too far from the rest of infrastructure - this airport surely needs a third runway.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Confusing signs"

(France)

Verified Review | Confusing signs, flight departure only for the next 2 hours so not possible to verify the terminal. Food in the only restaurant is expensive and poor. Toilets are closed, so unclear signs to the next toilet, which was not looking its best with lights not working and toilet paper on the floor. Crazy driver of the inhouse trolley going far too fast in a narrow corridor.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
4/10

"one of the slowest airports I've been to"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Consistently one of the slowest airports I've been to. Passport control had only 1 person for international passports so a short line but still had to wait an hour. Airport layout is also not very handy. No overview of departure gates. Not impressed. Would have expected more from German efficiency.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Absolutely no delay whatsoever"

(Germany)

Unverified | Departure from terminal 1 to a non Schengen destination. After receiving an email from airline telling us to arrive at airport early because of delays at passport controls we arrived some three hours before the flight. Absolutely no delay whatsoever. After a convoluted walk up and down stairs and along corridors to departure area we finally spent a few hours of boredom in an area with a poor selection of shops and a very expensive café. I would advise anyone wanting to eat before a flight to purchase something in the central area landside not waiting until they are airside. Terminal 1 is a long stretched out building and can entail some very long walks both land and airside. On return to airport a fairly long walk again up and down stairs before a long wait at passport control.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"one of the best airports in Europe"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Munich Airport is one of the best airports in Europe. Time after time I come to this airport and it all works even for the passengers in economy class. They have electric power, USB connections on the waiting chairs. All is clean, functional modern, it makes you feel well and relax for a few minutes of your life. The shops in any of the terminals are perfectly located, the cash machines, all in the right place. Is not that I don’t try to find imperfections, I fortunately have a critical eye, but there is not that much to find in Munich airport. The train system runs every few minutes, even the passport control officers smile and are happy, to be honest I will be happy also to work in place like this. The public bathroom rooms on the corridors are clean. The train was also very clean, windows, all.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"passport control queue about an hour"

(United Arab Emirates)

Unverified | I haven't been flying out of MUC for quite some time but it seems they tried to improve things for the worse. We arrived 3 hours before the flight. Checked in business. Got recommended by Emirates ground staff to proceed to Area B for the fast track. Went to area B - got denied entry there and were sent back to C. Did the entire baggage screening and then had to realize that the passport control queue was about an hour long. Staff there didn't know how to handle the situation - no priority lane - nothing organized. The queue area was on the upper floor and air condition didn't seem to work in this area. No proper lane and queue. I was trying to approach a passport officer and asked for help - was rudely stopped and told that he doesn't have time. I went out of the airport again back to the check in area. Back to area B, where we were originally refused entry. Got in now, without any objections. I asked the staff there why we were denied entry before - he couldn't answer. People seem to work with double standard. I complained to the supervisor of the shift to take care of this matter also for future passengers. He took notice of that and admitted this shouldn't have happened.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no