Top 100 Airports  

Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 158 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"waiting at immigration for an hour"

(United Kingdom)

Long queues and very inefficient at Munich Airport. Used to be known for its efficiency and was a pleasure to fly to / from. Just arrived from London and have been stood waiting at immigration for an hour. Not a great welcome to Germany.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"did not go well from the beginning"

(Indonesia)

I was hoping initially that in Germany airports, things will be efficient. My hope was dashed at Munich airport. Arriving at the airport 3 hours before scheduled departure and things did not go well from the beginning. Took 1.5 hours to get boarding pass, 1 hour to clear immigration, leaving pretty much as one of the last groups to enter the plane. Let me describe the immigration queue at the B terminal. 2 counters for EU citizens, at the time only about 10 people queuing. 1 counter for first class / priority, which is not me. 2 counters for the rest of the folks, where about 100-120 people are waiting. There are I think 3 more counters available at the time, but unmanned. There is no initiative to shift counters, or open up more counters. It does not take a genius to figure out that it will be a long queue time. We were not the only one complaining, even the locals were complaining. Ended up running all the way to the gates and no time to enjoy this top 10 airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"great airport"

(India)

Great Airport. Had a 11 hour transit while traveling to San Francisco. So took the liberty of roaming around both the terminals looking for Lounges and various shopping centers. Terminal to Terminal travel by both airport buses and trains were both fast and easy. It has a number of shopping centers especially in Terminal 2 to look into though the prices as expected from a International airport were quite high.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"not a great experience"

(United Kingdom)

We flew from Munich Airport from one of the C gates. I was really surprised by the chaotic system to go through the passport control into security. There were 3 desks and about 5 queues. A staff member kept changing the dividers around so that parts of one queue were joined and separated repeatedly from other queues. So some people were through in a few minutes but others (like us) took 45 mins to reach security. I spoke to a staff member about this and he said it was "Not his problem". Beyond security in departures there were more queues for food etc and no seats. Staff seemed unhappy (perhaps too many complaints). Not a great experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"easy to navigate"

(United States)

Transited through Munich from San Francisco to Cologne, having elected to avoid FRA. Nice airport. New, spacious, clean, and easy to navigate on foot without needing shuttles or complicated transitions between terminals, easy to get through security/passport control. Very nice food options, interesting shops, spacious gates. Flew Lufthansa and had excellent on-time and connections. Really liked the end of the H terminal with large area for passengers to gather before the long haul flight. Get there early and you can grab one of about 8 "gravity" chairs where you can lean back with legs up. Nice touch. My only complaint is that in some areas of the airport, the shopping mall feel is so predominant that it overwhelms the airport signage and to reach boarding areas it feels a bit like taking a side hall out of the mall. Once in the boarding area, though, signage is very clear. Also spent one night at the airport Hilton on the inbound flight. Super easy to just walk over and check in.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"painfully slow processes"

(United Kingdom)

What a thoroughly unpleasant airport Munich is. Flew to London Heathrow from Terminal 1 C gates. Initially impressed with the cleanliness and modern look and feel, that all counted for naught once we hit passport control and security. It took over 45 minutes to get through. In the end our flight was delayed simply because of the number of passengers still trying to negotiate the painfully slow process. Maybe it was a bad night but then judging by other reviews, perhaps not. If you have to use T1 at Munich, allow at least 90 minutes before your departure time if you'd prefer not to be stood it the queue at security while you hear your name being called as your gate closes. 65 minutes was barely enough for me, and I was hand baggage only with no shopping or drinking. Woeful. Oh and the staff were rude, too. Police were pleasant enough though.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"queue for security was awful"

(United Kingdom)

In the past year I have travelled through T2 flying with Lufthansa and have had no problems. However, I have just returned to London through T1 and the experience was completely different. Baggage drop was ok but the queue for security for C gates was awful. After standing in the queue an airport worker came along and told us to follow him to the security for D gates. In total it took 45 minutes to pass through security/passport control. I then had to queue 10 minutes for a coffee from the one outlet available. Does Munich airport assist Lufthansa by giving poor facilities for non-Lufthansa customers?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"better signage would be useful"

(United Kingdom)

Mixed bag on arrival, one of the fastest through airport times I've ever had. Short walk from passport control, through in 2 minutes, luggage 5 minutes later and skis came through in a different area maybe 5 minutes after that. Then the return - hadn't realised there's a reasonable shopping centre and café under the check-in area but came across it by accident as very early at the airport for check in - quite nice but better signage would be useful. Then security - oh dear, we were mixed up with a middle east carrier in the same departure point - every single one of their passengers on a wide body plane had to get a visa check and stamp on way out - the queue was absolutely horrendous - I was in fast track and it took over half an hour. The airport cant handle peaks and troughs in passenger numbers. Not much on the departure side once through security. Needs to be managed better. Overall its about average for an airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"disorganised airport"

(United Kingdom)

It is my great misfortune to have to travel through Munich airport about twice per year. The signage landside is a joke. The wait to get through passport control when departing is a joke. A little bit of care and organisation would get it sorted but no one cares. The opportunities for eating airside (terminal 1B) are very poor, and the gate organisation is almost humorous if it wasn't so frustrating. I always hate having to travel through Munich, the most disorganised airport in the world!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"prices into Munich city are ridiculous"

(Germany)

One of the airports I don't like at all. It's big and you have to walk kilometers from your gate to the baggage claim and then the exit. Making it out it won't do any better as you will have to struggle with another marathon to the S-Bahn. The prices for one way into Munich city are ridiculous (10€ something) and to prove that I can tell you that you can book a ticket for the outer ring of Munich + a one way ticket inside the city and will pay about 7,5€ for the same service. Coming to the airport takes planning in advance as it is a 40 minutes ride and then of course you never know how much you will have to wait at security, plus the time to the gate so traveling inside Germany here or from here can be time consuming and the train could be an alternative and you end up in the city center with that. The services are good like in any other German airport and they do their best to make you feel comfortable - I guess it is just the distance to the city that doesn't help.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no