Airline of the Year  

Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 184 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"turned out to be a disappointment"

(United States)

Verified Review | After hearing so much about Munich being a 5-star Airport, it turned out to be a disappointment. For transit passengers, there is excessive amount of walking from the aircraft to security. You have to walk quite a distance before you even see a restroom. The security line at Munich was slower than what I experienced at Frankfurt. After clearing security, I proceeded towards the "L" gates (in new Satellite Terminal) for flight to US. This transfer process involved taking a train and going on very long and high escalators. After I arrived at the "L" gates in new Satellite Terminal, I wasn't able to find any fast food restaurants. At the end, I settled for a sandwich at "Sissi & Franz".
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"lucky I was in no rush for my flight"

(United Kingdom)

As always my family flew into T2 with Lufthansa and had a good experience. However, I again used T1 as I was flying with BA. The arrival experience was fine apart from slightly slow baggage. The departure though was the normal chaotic experience, check in with BA was ok. However, I noticed what I thought was a long queue at security. I asked the check in lady how long it would take. She said that's nothing compared with earlier and you will only have to queue for 30-45 minutes. By the time I reached the queue it had lenghtened. An airport assistant told us to walk to C security area. However on reaching this it was closed. I was very lucky I was in no rush for my flight as I would have missed it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"the most time efficient airport"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Munich is my home airport and without a doubt my favourite airport in Europe and one of my favourite airports in the world - talking about Star Alliance terminal T2! The new mid-field terminal has added even more quality to it. On departure I was late and arrived 25 minutes prior to the scheduled departure time at the airport station. From the platform of the station to my actual departure gate, which was K06 in the new midfield terminal, it took exactly 8 minutes - platform-security-train btw terminals-walking to gate. This is probably the most time efficient airport of that size in the world. Plus I like the modern yet elegant design. Free Nespresso machines at gates and magazines are a very nice touch for every traveler. Othe airports should learn and provide similar experiences.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"extremely traveller-hostile experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Great on arrival, very fast passport control and bag delivery. Really bad on departure - poor signage making it hard to find the EasyJet check-in area, and then a huge wait at passport control (20 minutes) followed by shockingly bad ground service - 15 minutes standing on the bus. Extremely traveller-hostile experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"food & drink all very expensive"

(Canada)

Munich is a big efficient airport. Friendly and short security process. Very little choice of food, drink once you pass security. All very expensive beyond usual airport extortion. 4 euro and more for a cup of very weak coffee. Terminal 1 once past security is a pretty small and spartan affair. PAX amenities needed for less $.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"big choice of shops and restaurants"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Munich is a wonderful airport. Very effective and clean. Nice ground staff and big choice of shops and restaurants. My favorite is the T2 satellite. The only problem is the baggage claim, the wait is very long compared to what I experienced in other airport (Hong Kong, Singapore for instance)
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"one of the best airports"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Munich is one of the best airports I know, and the best in Germany. Now terminal 2 (LH, Star Alliance) has also a satellite terminal, which you can easy reach by train (about 3 minutes, departure every 4 or 5 minutes). For business, first, hon circle and frequent travellers of LH (and LH Group) your will find there also a new Lounge. All other travellers will also found restaurant and bars. One of them is also operated by in Germany famous cook “Schuhbeck”. The satellite terminal is like the main terminal separated in “Schengen” and “non Schengen” area. (That means without and with passport control, e.g. within EU – like domestic flights - and some other European Country and the rest of the world).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Terminal 1, the worst I have seen"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Do not depart from Terminal 1 in Munich airport. Terminal 2 is good but Terminal 1 is the worst I have ever seen. Not enough seats (and those that are there have armrests - no sleeping). The staff members are extremely rude. They do not even try to speak English and you have to guess what they want from you in the security check. At 4.45am the line was so long that I waited for 30 min to get checked and getting through I saw 4 staff members sitting down drinking coffee. I also don't like the system here that after security check you have one bistro and one tax free shop and thats it. It is small and will get quite boring when the flight is delayed. I love the Terminal 2 in Munich but will never get a flight from Terminal 1 again
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"excels in cleanliness and facilities"

(Germany)

Verified Review | I travelled to many European and Asian cities in the last year, but Munich airport is still one of the best airports I know. I highly recommend flying with Star Alliance airlines which most fly from Terminal 2. T1 can be a little disorganised and crowded sometimes. T2 meanwhile excels in cleanliness, variety of facilities and well-thought-out structure. It makes Munich airport the only one in Europe, that can keep up with excellent Asian airports like HKG.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"long queues to drop your bag off"

(United Kingdom)

Coming into Munich airport is efficient and quick - the same cannot be said when deprating. I have now used this airport a couple of times this year and it is always the same. Long queues to drop your bag off at easyjet and going through security - don't even get me started. Shops and restuarants are the only up side to this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no