Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 182 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Awful service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Awful service, long lines at Delta check in, no respect for kids. I was flying to Atlanta with an 8 month old baby. No family assistance or priority for babies. Very rude staff (Delta Air Lines staff). I flew from London Gatwick the day before with my baby, the trolley was not even delivered on arrival outside the plane, I had to wait for the trolley to be delivered at baggage claim. I had to wait 40 min. Awful service. Munich airport is one of the worst in Europe.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"food in satellite poor"

(France)

Trip Verified | Food in satellite terminal gates K are all food stalls with the same assortment on offer except one seafood stand. The bread roll sandwiches don’t taste fresh, bland, no organic food at all, nothing healthy except the very same fruit salad and bottled juice at every stand, no low-fat or nonfat milk. Very poor picture for Germany. I am German and travel worldwide. Priority Pass lounge pass holder, but at Munich airport lounges are outside security and a long way to travel to even with a 3 hour layover to kill. WiFi - as soon cellphone goes into sleep mode airport WiFi is gone and need to reinstate.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"security staff are unfriendly"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | The airport’s design is bland, security staff are unfriendly and signage is pretty confusing or non-existent. Restaurants after security check only serve the simplest cold fare, toilets are far apart or closed and in our case of a snow storm the control tower did not answer the pilot’s repeated calls of our Norwegian flight captain for about twenty minutes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"should ask the staff for alternative lines"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Mostly I travel within terminal 1, which isn’t as nice as terminal two. The arrangements of check in and gate as well as the arrivals are pretty confusing if you are there for the first time. The gates usually are connected no matter if you’re at A/B/C or D in terminal 1, you should ask the staff for alternative immigration lines if at one immigration is a long queue. Also I don’t really understand why they don’t use the automatic passport control more.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"very long queues at passport control"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | Absolutely awful airport, very long queues at passport control. You can easily spend more than hour awaiting with only one window open for all citizens and 1 for EU citizens. Many people are close to missing their flights despite arriving to the airport early. It is one of the worst airports in the world based on my experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"endless queues at security"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Everything exemplary except for the endless queues at security check. I’ve been flying frequently from and to the Munich Airport over the last 18 months; in 80% of the cases the queues at security were at least 20-30 people per check point, some of them even having 40-50 people waiting. For an international airport and a problem that has been known for so long, not having increased the checkpoints yet is entirely unacceptable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"as if from different airports"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Arriving and Departing were as if from different airports, We arrived, presumably to terminal 2, to a large, modern, mostly empty airport. It took ages to get to the train station, between walking, escalators and the shuttle train, but at least I thought it would be nice on the return. It wasn't. There were few amenities before we got through security to gate C. They may have been there, but they were poorly signposted and advertised. This left us at the whims of gate C with little shopping and one food outlet which even by airport standards was overpriced. The food was also probably the worst I've had in a long time. I felt queasy after the potato salad (I'd had excellent potato salad in the city centre). And then there was the boarding, part Ryanair, part airport. What's the point of speedy boarding or being first in the regular queue to be first on the first bus and then last on the actual plane?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Overall, a slow experience"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | OK journey on arrival. Slow. Bus from airplane to terminal with lots of waiting which then meant that all passengers rushed from buses to Passport control at the same time. Got through passport control and then walked for ages to Car Rental. It was well sign posted. Car rental was slow and getting out of car rental was slow. All in all about 1hr45 from landing to car moving. Normal enough experience. Departure was a pain. I wasted over 30mins looking for a petrol station to fill the car. Couldn't find any signs. Had to do a google search to find a petrol station. Car rental return was very well sign posted and very easy return. A common area to leave your car independent of the provider. Very easy. Departure was painful. So much walking from Car rental to Terminal 1 to D gates (my mistake - turns out it was D checkin and C gates), then find the C gates and they are closed. Then someone tells me they are upstairs (a small sign verifies this). Loads more walking and passports - and the whole time no shops. Eventually get to departure gates. Very poor food options at the departure gates - expensive too. Eventually head through departure gate expecting to board plane to find a room - more waiting, this time for a bus. I hate buses at airports. 15 minutes later we get to board the plane. Overall, a slow experience. Reminds me of Paris CDG airport. Don't know what people rave about with this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Lines were long"

(United States)

Verified Review | It is a lovely airport and one of the top airports in the world. Terminal 2 is truly a beautiful terminal with all the amenities and services. Smart thoughtout and comfortable to be in or to shop in. However, terminal 1 is just the opposite. It is outdated, cramped, and has a feel of a a beat up second world airport terminal. As I walked the length of terminal 1 it really looked like it belong to a different airport all together. Lines were long and there is little to none waiting areas before the checkin lines open. Zero shopping areas before security and very little food options. If you plan to fly out of this airport get there early to avoid the long lines at security and check in process.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"one of the best"

(Germany)

Verified Review | The airport of Munich is one of the best. Typically German: clean, clear and cold (in a positive way). Almost everything in this airport is perfect, especially to mention parking opportunities, shopping opportunities, short walking distances. Things that are not so perfect - quite far away from the city center (about 30km) but actually nowadays is not an issue anymore compared to similar international airports (ICN, PVG, KUL, etc). Terminal 1 is more practical then Terminal 2 but darker and security queuing management is complicated and smaller. Satellite terminal 2 is too far from the rest of infrastructure - this airport surely needs a third runway.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes