Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 166 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"couldn't find seat"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | When I have arrived to Moscow Sheremetyevo to the transfer zone in the terminal E was everything nice. Then I went to the terminal F for my flight to China. It's amazing that there is so many duty free stores and not so many seats for waiting passengers. I couldn't find seat even in the bar there. The rest of services-security and boarding were done fine and fast so this is ok. Though Moscow should increase the speed of new build terminal. Terminal D I saw on my trip back. Spacious and nice but limited restaurants unfortunately.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"A very chaotic airport"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | A very chaotic airport. If you have to transfer from Terminal F to Terminal D you have to be ready for a long walk with your carry-on baggage for 2o minutes or so. If you are just transiting you have to go through passport control where you have to que in a verly long line. I only have 1 hour and 45 minutes to connect to my next flight but since my flight was delayed, it was already boarding by the time I arrived at the gate. Good thing my luggage was not left behind. In Terminal F, no ample seats are provided to passengers waiting for their flight as the terminal is full of duty-free shops and stores. Very inconvenient to stand while waitring for your flight. If you have to connect to this airport, make sure the connecting time is 2 hours or less otherwise you will have to bear the onconvenience of standing while waiting for your flight.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"hardly any space to sit"

(India)

Verified Review | Never choose Moscow Sheremetyevo for transit. One of the worst ever experiences. This is a very busy airport and hardly any space to sit near the boarding gate or anywhere. The airport is overcrowded. The toilets smell. Very dirty. Especially for the transit time of more than an hour, this airport is not recommended. I wish the airport remove some of the shops near boarding gates and give some space to passengers to sit waiting for flights.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"not up to standard"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Low efficiency. Bad experience already on my arrival into Moscow Sheremetyevo. Signage wasn't clear enough to direct you to the passport control. Huge crowd stuck at transit area entrance and you actually had to go round the transit entrance to the immigration. The immigration officer was rude. Kept chatting to his colleague and then asked me to step aside for no reason. a few other travelers went through (holding the same passport as mine). I was in a rush so I asked again after 10-minutes, and he let me through. On my way back home, I transited at SVO from St Petersburg. The transit time was short and we had to do passport control and rush to another terminal in 1 hours time. Again, passport control was ridiculous and took nearly 40-minutes. Then we had to sprint towards our gate. It's full of shops selling identical stuff and very narrow pathways. Once we arrived at our gate there was a long queue of people waiting to board - there was no seats at all so people had to stand. Spent some time at the shops near our gates and found the same vodka are selling at different prices at different shops (10EUR vs 18EUR!). Please check out the prices before you buy anything at the shops. As one of the main hubs in Europe, the service and facilities are definitely not up to standard.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"one of the most wretched airports"

(Israel)

Verified Review | One of the most wretched airports you can see today. In transit - when you have to go from one terminal to another it takes 35-45 minutes by foot, no trolley available, no shuttle. You have to go this long way climbing stairs, no cars about. Along that way, the airport is full of shops which sell the same goods, narrow crossings, the passengers are not important. When you arrive to your needed area, there are no seats, just coffee shops. Passengers 200-300 people of one flight stand in long queues, but shops get in the way of this, so people end up pressed against easch other. The announcements is barely audible and in this airport gates are often changing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"a big issue is the waiting time at the gates to board"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | It takes a while for the passport control (but I think that is normal in Russia). It is a big airport, but the signs are good. There are a lot of shops and restaurants. Enough toilets and the Wifi is really good. At some gates (like ours) there wasn't much space and maybe only 15 seats. A big issue is the waiting time at the gates to board.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"avoid at all costs"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | We were unfortunate enough to be trapped at Moscow Sheremetyevo airport for an interminable 7 hrs on the return leg of our trip back from New York to Dubai. Although modern looking, the airport clearly does not enough space for passenger waiting to board, especially in terminal E. This means that passengers are teaming and queuing in the walk ways between the restaurants making it difficult for other travellers to walk to their gates. Boarding is completely haphazard. The staff/announcer make no attempt to practice reverse board as an efficient means of loading the aircraft. Often the announcements in English are completely incomprehensible, leaving the likes of myself guessing. The restaurants, however, are the worst I've experienced. To start with, most of the staff are surly, unfriendly and do not even attempt to acknowledge your order let alone offer some pleasantries. We had dinner at one supposedly Italian restaurant - the Il Patio Khimki. Avoid at all costs. One of the worst pizzas I've ever seen. Great big clunks of broccoli, some string peeper and the thinnest coating of tomato sauce. We left it. Same with the sea food risotto. Boiled rice in tomato sauce with 3 prawns. We had also ordered some starters. Had to remind the waitress twice - who then promptly deferred it to another member of staff who had could not tear herself away from her phone. Starters eventually arrived - need not have bothered - absolute waste of time. For reasons unknown, the airport was full of air mattresses. Since we did have a long stop over, we made use of these for a while - the only positive point in favour of this airport and it's management. Overall, we will in future avoid any travel that includes this airport as a transit stopover - even for 30 mins. It's totally poor. Avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"staff stoney faced but do their job"

(Czech Republic)

Used on transit from / to PRG-HKG flights on SU at Moscow Sheremetyevo. Their website gives clear indication on transfer process between terminals. Actually, if no peak time you may get in 20 mins between E/F (instead of 1h 10 mins indicated). The F terminal is refurbished old Sheremetyevo 2 hall. It lacks general waiting and seatings area (despite long haul / wide-body planes departures) instead of shops (but the choice on goods is very the same: spirits / sweets / matryoshkas, few gold and watches, but prices not very duty free comparable). Tried "Liner" restaurant upstairs - wide selection on russian dishes, opted for solyanka and pelmenye - okay, tasty. On the way back they managed to maintain air traffic even in heavy snowfall. Wi-fi worked all the time for free (well, I had to reconnect once). Staff stoney faced but do their job. But if you have longer layover than 3-4 hours, try some lounges or transit hotel within airside. Also 3-4 pigeons spotted inside F.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"service of airport was horrible"

(Italy)

Verified Review | The service of the airport was horrible. The air conditioning was not working even though it was not hot outside. WiFi did not work, but the lady's voice of the announcement in the airport said "it is free and is working". Some of the staff were rude and the person who was checking in my luggage (I had to check it in again, while I had a layover there, which is ridiculous) was careless and pretended that I had some excess luggage, but it was just the one I had when departing from Milan, for which I paid and was assured that I will not have to pay anymore later as it travels to the point of destination. That guy didn't want to believe that the stickers and the cheque-proof of the payment covered that weight of luggage at that moment, but the weight there was specified. He made me take out some stuff out of my bags to "fit in" the luggage limit. And all that while many other passengers were waiting behind me. The toilets and the whole condition of the airport were of the soviet era. It takes forever to get from one terminal to the other, they could have managed some transfer services or at least inform how much it is to get to the other terminal as you start to panic when the terminal signs don't change and you keep on walking towards that terminal for ages.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"airport was clean"

(Norway)

It was not that bad at all. We transited from terminal E to D. There was no one queueing up at the passport control. The passport control and the security check after that were fast. The airport was clean. The food selection was decent but pricey. The airport staff don't smile (as is the agreement with all the reviewers here). It was as if every employee in the airport were ensuring that they don't smile even a bit, because if they did smile, the world would end. Perhaps their inability to communicate in English one of the contributing factors.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 86 Reviews