Vote Now  

Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 158 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"a big issue is the waiting time at the gates to board"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | It takes a while for the passport control (but I think that is normal in Russia). It is a big airport, but the signs are good. There are a lot of shops and restaurants. Enough toilets and the Wifi is really good. At some gates (like ours) there wasn't much space and maybe only 15 seats. A big issue is the waiting time at the gates to board.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"avoid at all costs"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | We were unfortunate enough to be trapped at Moscow Sheremetyevo airport for an interminable 7 hrs on the return leg of our trip back from New York to Dubai. Although modern looking, the airport clearly does not enough space for passenger waiting to board, especially in terminal E. This means that passengers are teaming and queuing in the walk ways between the restaurants making it difficult for other travellers to walk to their gates. Boarding is completely haphazard. The staff/announcer make no attempt to practice reverse board as an efficient means of loading the aircraft. Often the announcements in English are completely incomprehensible, leaving the likes of myself guessing. The restaurants, however, are the worst I've experienced. To start with, most of the staff are surly, unfriendly and do not even attempt to acknowledge your order let alone offer some pleasantries. We had dinner at one supposedly Italian restaurant - the Il Patio Khimki. Avoid at all costs. One of the worst pizzas I've ever seen. Great big clunks of broccoli, some string peeper and the thinnest coating of tomato sauce. We left it. Same with the sea food risotto. Boiled rice in tomato sauce with 3 prawns. We had also ordered some starters. Had to remind the waitress twice - who then promptly deferred it to another member of staff who had could not tear herself away from her phone. Starters eventually arrived - need not have bothered - absolute waste of time. For reasons unknown, the airport was full of air mattresses. Since we did have a long stop over, we made use of these for a while - the only positive point in favour of this airport and it's management. Overall, we will in future avoid any travel that includes this airport as a transit stopover - even for 30 mins. It's totally poor. Avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"staff stoney faced but do their job"

(Czech Republic)

Used on transit from / to PRG-HKG flights on SU at Moscow Sheremetyevo. Their website gives clear indication on transfer process between terminals. Actually, if no peak time you may get in 20 mins between E/F (instead of 1h 10 mins indicated). The F terminal is refurbished old Sheremetyevo 2 hall. It lacks general waiting and seatings area (despite long haul / wide-body planes departures) instead of shops (but the choice on goods is very the same: spirits / sweets / matryoshkas, few gold and watches, but prices not very duty free comparable). Tried "Liner" restaurant upstairs - wide selection on russian dishes, opted for solyanka and pelmenye - okay, tasty. On the way back they managed to maintain air traffic even in heavy snowfall. Wi-fi worked all the time for free (well, I had to reconnect once). Staff stoney faced but do their job. But if you have longer layover than 3-4 hours, try some lounges or transit hotel within airside. Also 3-4 pigeons spotted inside F.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"service of airport was horrible"

(Italy)

Verified Review | The service of the airport was horrible. The air conditioning was not working even though it was not hot outside. WiFi did not work, but the lady's voice of the announcement in the airport said "it is free and is working". Some of the staff were rude and the person who was checking in my luggage (I had to check it in again, while I had a layover there, which is ridiculous) was careless and pretended that I had some excess luggage, but it was just the one I had when departing from Milan, for which I paid and was assured that I will not have to pay anymore later as it travels to the point of destination. That guy didn't want to believe that the stickers and the cheque-proof of the payment covered that weight of luggage at that moment, but the weight there was specified. He made me take out some stuff out of my bags to "fit in" the luggage limit. And all that while many other passengers were waiting behind me. The toilets and the whole condition of the airport were of the soviet era. It takes forever to get from one terminal to the other, they could have managed some transfer services or at least inform how much it is to get to the other terminal as you start to panic when the terminal signs don't change and you keep on walking towards that terminal for ages.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"airport was clean"

(Norway)

It was not that bad at all. We transited from terminal E to D. There was no one queueing up at the passport control. The passport control and the security check after that were fast. The airport was clean. The food selection was decent but pricey. The airport staff don't smile (as is the agreement with all the reviewers here). It was as if every employee in the airport were ensuring that they don't smile even a bit, because if they did smile, the world would end. Perhaps their inability to communicate in English one of the contributing factors.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"not a single smile from airport staff"

(United Kingdom)

Moscow Sheremetyevo is the worst international airport I've ever been to. On arrival, we queued for about 2 hours at passport control, it was +30C, no aircon, and a big crowd standing there with no separating barriers or any order whatsoever. Half of the checking points were not open with staff not caring a bit. Not a single smile from airport staff - it looks like nobody cares. There are 3 benches outside of terminal D, and not much seating inside either. So called Duty Free shops are expensive. My best experience of the whole trip was the coffee machine. It was cheap, very tasty and didn't struggle to give me a smile. On departure, it seemed much easier, the terminal was not too busy, staff were friendly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"area was completely chaotic"

(India)

We passed through SVO on our way to/from MRV. While going it was just about okay, with a long line at the passport control. While returning, the passport control area was completely chaotic. The counters were under-staffed, and it took us more than an hour passing through it, and we just managed to board our flight. In the future I would avoid this airport, although the alternate option (DME) was no better during an earlier trip.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"plenty of places to eat"

(United States)

I had a 21 hour layover at Moscow Sheremetyevo. I was traveling from LAX to BCN (Barcelona). Getting through transfer was a breeze - I didn't have to take off my belt or remove my shoes. Getting from the plane back to the main terminal only took about 35 minutes. There are 60 gates in the airport all in a straight line. Getting from one gate to the other is pretty simple. The terminal has a hotel in it between gates 21 and 22. I rented a room for 9 hours for about $75.00. The airport was great, plenty of places to eat and relax but I think the next time I would avoid such a long layover.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Terminal F is crowded"

(Israel)

Arrived at Moscow Sheremetyevo Terminal D. Arrival procedures okay and exit is quick. Connection flight from Terminal F the same day and not as good. After clearing security you come into the terminal, which is crowded. Almost no free space, every sq.m is occupied by duty free shops with no end. The outcome is that there is no place to sit and wait for next flight. Many passengers are forced to stand and wait or sit in the coffee shops / restaurants. Gates are changing frequently in this terminal, and you have to run long distance to find the new gate. Terminal D is a little more "humane", more seats but WiFi does not work properly. Not recommended.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"huge lines at immigration"

(United Kingdom)

We quickly disembarked from the plane but after walking through the airport, we met huge lines at immigration (we were transiting to a domestic flight) and had only 10 minutes until our flight would be boarding. We got to the front of the queue but the woman became frustrated in having to deal with a group of Chinese tourists and decided to close her lane. We then asked for an Aeroflot representative to lead us to the front of another line. The woman was a bit slow but eventually we got through. Sheremetyevo airport is large and dysfunctional, with very few signs and none to ask. Finally, we got to our gate, but it was delayed by 15-20 minutes anyway.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 81 Reviews