Miami Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 382 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Chaotic and poorly laid out"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Chaotic and poorly laid out airport that is difficult to navigate has poor facilities airside. Check in was chaotic busy and slow moving. Equally security screening was long and slow with some of the most miserable employees I’ve seen in any airport, prepared to be shouted at and treated less than human. Once you have survived the chaos of check in and security prepare to find yourself in a cold sterile airport environment with little facilities for eating drinking and relaxing in. Not sure who they got to design this airport but they need sacking!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the worst airport ever"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This has to be the worst airport ever. Security a joke, very loud and strict rules shouted out by half interested staff and yet a person in front carried a 1ltr bottle of water through unchecked! Departure gates F10 - F23 dirty, smelly and very tired. Duty free is pathetically small and staff pounce as soon as you enter.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"there is a serious motivational problem"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | I was surprised at how disorganized the Airport was. The advertised free wifi was not available, the security crew was extremely rude literally hearding the passenngers thru the checks calling out things like “pay attention”, “stay focused” etc. It reminded me very much of my military drill. I have not experienced such behavior at any other US airport where TSA is usually very efficient but polite enough at the same time to make passengers comfortable. While waithing at the Business line for the security check at least three wide-body aircraft crews (= min 75 to 80 crew) were bypassed and led thru the business checks (on most other airports I have seen dedicated crew security lanes). When it was finally my turn I was redirected to the economy lane and had to wait again. At the x-ray machine there were no bins and when I dared to point this out to the TSA staffI was rebuked with “didn't you hear me!? I already called this out twice! bins are on their way”. The entire process took over 45 minutes. After the security check, the food court service staff was pleasant but the janitors and cleaning crew were very unattentive with litter piling up on many tables. Once they did come around they cleared tables even while patrons were still eating their food. Tables were not wiped and felt very sticky obviously not having been cleaned for some time. It seems to me that there is a serious motivational problem with a large number of employees at MIA that I have not witnessed on the many other US airports that I arrive to or leave from.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"No escalators. No signs"

(United States)

Unverified | One would think that walking from gate D8 to D36 would not be that far. I learned later that it is a mile from one end to the other of concourse D, a long walk for some of us. The problem was that we had no idea that there was a Skytrain we could have ridden. Unfortunately, there were no signs or any indication that there was any option other than walking. I finally asked an employee about an alternate, and was informed that the green columns in the middle of the hallways had elevators to Skytrain. No escalators. No signs. And of course there were very few passengers, since most travelers may not have even known about it. I was shocked that an airport with as much business as Miami was so poorly labeled.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"such amateur operatives"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Have just been through security check for departure. Have never experienced such amateur operatives. Didn’t bother to give clear instructions on what was expected, eg: where to stand, what was going to happen. Spent time chatting to each other. Would nearly all benefit from being reminded on how to be polite and courteous to travellers. Our arrival at MIA 2 weeks ago was completely differently, courteous and efficient staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"better than it used to be"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Miami - London Heathrow, Thursday 19 October: Despite the many bad reviews this airport, in our experience, has improved greatly since the car rental centre was moved virtually on site with a short connecting shuttle train service. No more catching those awful shuttle busses with all your luggage. Also the electronic immigration machines have sped up the previously awful queueing time upon arrival. This time we flew back to the UK with Virgin Atlantic: driving in with the aid of SatNav and the very few road signs we got to the car rental hub without any issues. Put the luggage into a storage facility until we could check in with Virgin - we were a bit early so first in the queue - and got through security after about 1/2 hour. Travelling Upper Class so found the Lounge and did not bother with the many, many fast food outlets, sports bars or coffee places. The big downside of Miami Airport has always been the crowded concourses and very poor signage - only seems marginally better now. The WiFi was also slow. But all things considered the airport is better than it used to be. Tip: If you don't have access to a lounge or have a few hours to kill there is an open air cafe/bar on the top floor of the Hotel that we used to go to. It also connects to an indoor bar with sports screens and air - con. I believe you can pay to use the Health Club and use the pool as well, and the view over the runways is spectacular.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"slow and unorganized airport"

(United States)

Unverified | I have traveled all over the world and Miami airport made my top ten worst airports in the world. Getting your passport stamp takes a long long time, they only have one person working and the guy took ten minutes for each passenger. I almost didn't make my connection to Atlanta due to slow and unorganized airport. After you get your passport stamped you will have to get your lugguage and drop it to your transfers which most airport do. It you have to get out the terminal again and go through security to get to your connection and that took a long time also because they only have one working scanner. An awful experienced after traveling on a long long flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"by far the worst airport on the planet"

(United States)

Verified Review | I travel more or less weekly. This is by far the worst airport on the planet when you travel internationally. From arrival to immigration they're just way behind the curve and never seem to care. At least 50% of the time upon arriving the airplane has to sit on the tarmac waiting for a gate to open. This messes with peoples' connections and plans. The immigration system is run by a bunch of morons. The officers are just fine, but the employees directing you and the way in which it is all arranged is just mind-boggling. If you can avoid this airport do so.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"seats are comfortable"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Miami Airport Area H and J are very good. H and J halls very good. Nice space and light, and all is clean. The seats are comfortable and lots of room to walk and stretch the legs - nice! Shops in the proper place and many choices and deals. Check-in areas working in perfection. Seats are clean.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Miami airport very uncomfortable"

(Italy)

Unverified | We were stranded in Miami airport due to Hurricane Irma. Airlines were of little to no support. Miami airport very uncomfortable as there were no hotels available in the area, airlines were not supporting us and all we were left to do was sitting on the floor for an entire night.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no