Mexico City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 83 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Organization very catastrophic"

(France)

Not Verified | Organization very catastrophic with the transit. We had to pass the border police for a transit. The airport staff was not helpful in letting us get there faster even though our next flight was near. On the first trip, we had to carry our luggage ourselves. On the return trip we were told that the luggage will be transferred by airport services, but this was not the case, and now our luggage is missing. And the public notices in the airport that inform that the delays is not the fault of the airport and 60% the fault of the airline companies is just a joke. I will never use this airport again and I will not even visit this country.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"advised the flight had departed"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | I checked it with plenty time and went through departures/security with plenty of time. The boarding gate number was not known at check-in, so I was advised to keep an eye on the departure screens for my flight to be assigned a gate. My flight was on the departure screens and continued to display on time. It then changed to delayed, (still no mention of a gate) at which point I went to look for a departure gate with Interjet personnel. I found one, and was advised that the flight had departed and my checked baggage had been offloaded. At no time did I hear an announcement made on the PA system with information about my flight nor calling me by name. I reclaimed my baggage and went to the Interjet check-in area and was advised that it would be impossible for me to make my connection with my next flight from Cancun to Madrid, and Interjet accepted no responsibility. I was treated in an unhelpful offhand manner. I booked the next possible suitable flight and the proceeded to try to reclaim the money for the lost flight. At no time in my discussions with airport personnel was I able to find anyone prepared to put her/his name to any written statement concerning this affair. I enjoyed my time in Mexico and found the people generally open and friendly, but the organisational culture in the airport would shame a poor Third World country and the main airport of the country with the largest economy in Spanish America deserves better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"I was pleasantly surprised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Looking at these reviews I dreaded transit through terminal 2 here. I was pleasantly suprised. Both journeys went without a hitch. I don't speak a word of Spanish but most of the key staff had a working knowledge of English and were helpful. Airport clean, toilets faultless and everywhere totally safe. Only criticism is that the connection arrangements were not totally clear. All I can say is that things must have changed. I have been in many European airports far worse.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"Nice arrival experience"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Nice arrival experience. Immigration was polite and fast and best of all, the staff had removed all the suitcases from the luggage belt. Never experienced that before. Lots of shops, taxis and ATMs in the arrivals hall with lots of space to move around.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"one of the most disorganized"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is supposed to be the capital city's and Latin America's biggest airport. It is one of the most disorganized, dirty, and worst airports I have even been at. The Wi-Fi does not work. How can an international airport not have Wi-Fi? The bathrooms are so dirty it is disgusting. Many are closed, and those that are open sometimes have a line to be used. The Aeromexico side of the terminal is always running behind, in 6 flights in the last year through here, ALL 6 were delayed. We had to ask at the counter when the flight was boarding, and where, the information board had been updated incorrectly. The bus, yes bus, that took us to our plane had us packed in like sardines, and then would not turn on the a/c until people started yelling at the driver. Finally, he pushed the button and gave us some air. Just to be fair, the same company the provides the WI-Fi that does not work is the same one that just got the 1 billion dollar government contract to remodel this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport causing us so much grief"

(Canada)

Unverified | Furious! This airport has been causing us so much grief. We lost our connection because we had to wait in line for 1:15 before going through immigration. When I asked the first agent he said "no problem you'll make it" and the second refuse to hear me and shut me down. Keep in mind I wasn't being obnoxious just needed help. Aeromexico rebooked us, but refused to give us a voucher for at least one meal. We had to wait from 7:30 am to 5:pm. Breakfast on the house would have gone a long way! Once in the terminal, there are no confortable seats or an area that's a little more quiet where you could get some rest. The wifi is a joke, hard to get in and then you get kick out after a few minutes. Thank goodness for Starbucks's wifi. And there's the 7eleven that rejected our visa for some unknown reason while Starbucks and a restaurant did. In the future I will do everything in my power to avoid this place. What a shame because I truly love Mexico!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not for travellers who do not speak Spanish"

(Canada)

Unverified | This airport is not recommended for travellers who do not speak Spanish. You will not find a single member of airport staff who speaks English. The staff at Aeromexico at Mexico City are so rude. We traveled from Cancun to Vancouver via MEX. The weather situation at MEX was very bad, so they were forced the close the airport. This I understand, if it is not safe to take off, close the airport, it's fine. The thing I was not fine with was how the airport handled the influx of confused passengers trying to get rebooked and fine their way to where they have to go. Wherever you look, you will see a line. For what you may ask? Well airport staff won't be able to answer that question. They are as good as a wall. It took us almost 2.5 hours just to reclaim our bags. If you are flying to Mexico or South America, I would highly recommend you book your travels elsewhere, if you encounter any bad weather, you may not leave the city for close to 5 days. Also, if you come in expecting to pay in US dollars for anything, you can, but you will get pesos back as change. Just a heads up. The internet situation is a disaster too.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very disappointed with my experience"

(Brazil)

Verified Review | I had a very bad experience twice at Mexico City Airport, both times in transit. Few employees for customs in comparison with the number of travelers arriving. Very poor air conditioning system and people were getting sick due to such a hot temperature inside the building. After passing through the customs, you have to wait for long time in order to take back your bags. Luggage carts are available, however under payment only. If you don't pay, you can not use it. Poor service provided by stores (you could not even smell the fragrancies in the duty free shop, for ex.). Wifi is available (after some troublesome for connecting) for 5 min only. Although there is not any clear information about it. You just figure it out while using it. For recharging the battery of your phone, you have to stand up in front of some booths and hold in line all the pessengers that might be waiting before you for using it. Very uncomfortable and unusual style of recharging phones. The signs sometimes showed wrong gates and wrong flight information. I found the MEX airport a truly mess. Very poor customer service. We have to consider they represent the most important airport in Mexico. Since every day they have to deal with a large flow of people coming from all over the world, I could not expect such amateurism handling it all. I am very disappointed with my experience in there.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Noisy, poor acoustics"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Horrible! Noisy, poor acoustics in this newly renovated airport, past customs in waiting area. The only places to eat are loud with music, sports bar, big screen TV, or 7-11 shops, etc. Announcements are loud, construction going on. I went to one of the lounges as I have a pass and it didn't have food, but did have snacks and drinks. Man at desk wasn't particularly friendly. This lounge did have side rooms for a bit of quiet from noisy passengers, TV and music. Next time I will not go through customs until I have to and will take ear plugs.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"has grown in the most anarchic way"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Mexico City airport has grown in the most anarchic way since its construction in the 50s, adding patches here and there, constrained by its location almost mid-city and urban encroachment and explosive passenger growth. Terminal 1 shows all the additions made over a building that in its original conception can only be called a 'ranch airport': T1 has the domestic departures check-in in the lower level, as well as 80s tiles on the floor. The new check-in areas of the international departures area are better and newer but look added hastily. Arrivals hall in T1 is cramped and poorly designed: rush hour means queue will overfill. Then you go through baggage claim (you can take 40 mins if the baggage goes through narcotic inspection) and the infamous customs semaphore, which is soon to disappear. T2 was built as an emergency add-on after the failure to construct a new airport in the past decade. While it is more ample, better lit, less crowded and modern, it was allowed to free fall almost from the day of its inauguration. Floors are sinking, carpets are tired and torn and overall looks like it seriously lacks maintenance. The most grievous problems in both terminals come from the rudeness of the security and immigration staff, who contradict in each possible way the country's hospitality. The other one is the Union of Porters that prevent you from taking the carts all the way to your car. Overall, the airport has gone to the bottom of a long, improvised road to decrepitude and one can only hope the construction of the New Airport goes and ends all according to planned.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 66 Reviews