Mexico City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 80 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"airport causing us so much grief"

(Canada)

Unverified | Furious! This airport has been causing us so much grief. We lost our connection because we had to wait in line for 1:15 before going through immigration. When I asked the first agent he said "no problem you'll make it" and the second refuse to hear me and shut me down. Keep in mind I wasn't being obnoxious just needed help. Aeromexico rebooked us, but refused to give us a voucher for at least one meal. We had to wait from 7:30 am to 5:pm. Breakfast on the house would have gone a long way! Once in the terminal, there are no confortable seats or an area that's a little more quiet where you could get some rest. The wifi is a joke, hard to get in and then you get kick out after a few minutes. Thank goodness for Starbucks's wifi. And there's the 7eleven that rejected our visa for some unknown reason while Starbucks and a restaurant did. In the future I will do everything in my power to avoid this place. What a shame because I truly love Mexico!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not for travellers who do not speak Spanish"

(Canada)

Unverified | This airport is not recommended for travellers who do not speak Spanish. You will not find a single member of airport staff who speaks English. The staff at Aeromexico at Mexico City are so rude. We traveled from Cancun to Vancouver via MEX. The weather situation at MEX was very bad, so they were forced the close the airport. This I understand, if it is not safe to take off, close the airport, it's fine. The thing I was not fine with was how the airport handled the influx of confused passengers trying to get rebooked and fine their way to where they have to go. Wherever you look, you will see a line. For what you may ask? Well airport staff won't be able to answer that question. They are as good as a wall. It took us almost 2.5 hours just to reclaim our bags. If you are flying to Mexico or South America, I would highly recommend you book your travels elsewhere, if you encounter any bad weather, you may not leave the city for close to 5 days. Also, if you come in expecting to pay in US dollars for anything, you can, but you will get pesos back as change. Just a heads up. The internet situation is a disaster too.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very disappointed with my experience"

(Brazil)

Verified Review | I had a very bad experience twice at Mexico City Airport, both times in transit. Few employees for customs in comparison with the number of travelers arriving. Very poor air conditioning system and people were getting sick due to such a hot temperature inside the building. After passing through the customs, you have to wait for long time in order to take back your bags. Luggage carts are available, however under payment only. If you don't pay, you can not use it. Poor service provided by stores (you could not even smell the fragrancies in the duty free shop, for ex.). Wifi is available (after some troublesome for connecting) for 5 min only. Although there is not any clear information about it. You just figure it out while using it. For recharging the battery of your phone, you have to stand up in front of some booths and hold in line all the pessengers that might be waiting before you for using it. Very uncomfortable and unusual style of recharging phones. The signs sometimes showed wrong gates and wrong flight information. I found the MEX airport a truly mess. Very poor customer service. We have to consider they represent the most important airport in Mexico. Since every day they have to deal with a large flow of people coming from all over the world, I could not expect such amateurism handling it all. I am very disappointed with my experience in there.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Noisy, poor acoustics"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Horrible! Noisy, poor acoustics in this newly renovated airport, past customs in waiting area. The only places to eat are loud with music, sports bar, big screen TV, or 7-11 shops, etc. Announcements are loud, construction going on. I went to one of the lounges as I have a pass and it didn't have food, but did have snacks and drinks. Man at desk wasn't particularly friendly. This lounge did have side rooms for a bit of quiet from noisy passengers, TV and music. Next time I will not go through customs until I have to and will take ear plugs.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"has grown in the most anarchic way"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Mexico City airport has grown in the most anarchic way since its construction in the 50s, adding patches here and there, constrained by its location almost mid-city and urban encroachment and explosive passenger growth. Terminal 1 shows all the additions made over a building that in its original conception can only be called a 'ranch airport': T1 has the domestic departures check-in in the lower level, as well as 80s tiles on the floor. The new check-in areas of the international departures area are better and newer but look added hastily. Arrivals hall in T1 is cramped and poorly designed: rush hour means queue will overfill. Then you go through baggage claim (you can take 40 mins if the baggage goes through narcotic inspection) and the infamous customs semaphore, which is soon to disappear. T2 was built as an emergency add-on after the failure to construct a new airport in the past decade. While it is more ample, better lit, less crowded and modern, it was allowed to free fall almost from the day of its inauguration. Floors are sinking, carpets are tired and torn and overall looks like it seriously lacks maintenance. The most grievous problems in both terminals come from the rudeness of the security and immigration staff, who contradict in each possible way the country's hospitality. The other one is the Union of Porters that prevent you from taking the carts all the way to your car. Overall, the airport has gone to the bottom of a long, improvised road to decrepitude and one can only hope the construction of the New Airport goes and ends all according to planned.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Very confusing signage"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Very confusing signage, horrible facilities, dirty bathrooms and poor air conditioning amongst other issues. Mexico City needs to get its act together and invest in facilities that make transiting to the airport and more pleasant and enjoyable experience. Additionally if you are connecting from one international destination to another, you have to pass through immigration and collect your baggage as well. Take a leaf out of Dubai, Istanbul, Delhi, Bangkok and Singapore and learn how to play the transit game. Will not succeed in making Mexico City a hub if they don't make it more seamless and efficient.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"terminal facilities limited"

(Guatemala)

Verified Review | Mexico City is one of worse airports in world. I was arriving terminal 1 and departing same terminal. Staff are rude and their behaviour sometimes insulting. Terminal facilities limited. Immigration staff, check in counter staff non-professional. They need more training to progress their service. I never want to use this airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff overall were very unhelpful"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Worst airport experience yet. Using for transit only, supposedly checked through to final destination. However in Mexico City it seems this means you need to collect your luggage and transfer it, passing through immigration (took 2 hours) and security again. Half of the immigration desks were unmanned, queuing was like a rugby scrum with no order at all, people at the back of the queue cleared immigration before people at the front. Trolleys only accept Mexican peso or USD, not very helpful if you are transitting and have neither currency, no money exchange either. We were travelling with two large bicycle boxes, which are impossible to transport for long distances without a trolley, there was no leniency from staff or any offer of help. Staff overall were very unhelpful, even though we speak Spanish, we were sent all over the airport unnecessarily. Mexico City airport also has different packaging requirements when flying with boxes, they must be wrapped at a cost of at least 25 usd. Not a pleasant experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"not much time for food"

(United States)

Customs was a remarkable hour wait and once cleared on paperwork I retrieved luggage and passed thru a second check and off to handler to check for next flight. Left there and up escalator to a screening area for carry-ons. Hopefully line will be minimal and after check you are in terminal. Not much time for food, restroom, or even a Starbucks. Onto gate, board in right group #, and onto flight. This can be done in an hour and a half.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"A total lack of regard for property or time"

(United States)

Verified Review | Arriving from Santiago, Chile on route to the US all passengers from domestic and international flights, regardless of intention to stay or transit are herded through the 2 hour immigration cattle line. The line was backed up the stairs in two different hallways as more and more disembarking passengers filled the hallways. Women with crying babies are lined up and squeezed into poorly ventilated internal section of the airport with open bathrooms (no doors, stalls visible from the hall), flight crews and wheelchair passengers are lined up for hours while airport employees are giggling and laughing amongst each other while sliding on the newly polished floor. Requests for help are met with shrugged shoulders faining the "no abla englise" look while you are motioned that it doesn’t matter if you're international connection or not. Apparently the only reason is to show how many passengers are force "visiting" Mexico. By the way even if "Mexico" is not your final destination, they still want you to fill our immigration forms which duplicate exactly what is in your passport. To prove a point I scribbled gibberish on the form and the nice immigration lady took it anyway. Now that you're outside of the international terminal and have to go back reclaim your luggage and re submit it (about 20 minutes) you have to exit that section of the airport and re-enter as a new traveler with a full carry on luggage check. As I had bought a couple of bottles of wine from Duty free shop in Santiago, "Mexican" authorities challenge the bottles and am forced to relinquish them at the security check to my international connection. The whole airport seems to be a government work program with what appears to be family members in positions by patronage. Some very young looking "employees" were simply counting passengers using the old fairground thumb ticker counter. Never will I nor my family ever visit nor transit through this airport again. A total lack of regard for property or time.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 61 Reviews