Mexico City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 38 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

Mexico City Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 24th July 2015

Terminal 1 shows its age and cannot handle large groups of people. Spaces in some areas are really tight and dark. Checking in can be challenging during peak times as people queue in very reduced spaces. Furthermore, the arrivals area and some places in the departures area smellues. On the plus side, the terminal is clean and people tend to be friendly. Going through security is not a hassle either. Terminal 2 is far better in terms of space, but it is smaller. Bad smells are less of a problem here, but be careful as Aeromexico ground staff are not the best service oriented people. Also eating options are reduced to a few really tacky venues, and connecting to wifi on both terminals is a challenge that might require you to have an IT degree.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit24-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
na

Mexico City Airport customer review

Review by (Mexico) 4th June 2015

After having traveled for many hours from Europe arriving in Mexico City becomes a nightmare. I am Mexican so I went through migration relatively quickly. However I felt so sorry for the foreigners arriving in the country so many people looking tired waiting in a line that seems endless and then having to deal with migration officers who are rude beyond belief. Surely Mexico should be welcoming tourists particularly now when our reputation - world-wide - is so dire.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Mexico City Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 5th May 2015

Just returned from a trip from San Francisco to Costa Rica connecting through Mexico City. One of the worst experiences and I have travelled a lot. Even though you are a transit passenger you have to pass thru immigration collect luggage clear customs and then go to your connecting flight. A long frustrating experience. A totally poorly designed system that creates unnecessary work all around (filling forms for passengers and process work for agents - maybe this is a state employment opportunity) frustration and tiredness for the transit passenger and ultimately loss of control (if this is what they think they are doing). Avoid Mexico City as a transit point if you can. Of course if traveling to Mexico it is fine.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
9/10

Mexico City Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th March 2015

Coming through Mexico City Terminal 2 - from LHR connecting to PVR and back in opposite direction was a very pleasant experience. So much better than making the transfer from Terminal 1. Immigration on way in quick baggage transfer to next flight fine. On way back to Europe baggage tagged straight through from PVR and no additional security checks at MEX. All very efficient and hassle-free. Plenty of places to have a drink or snack. I find the design of the terminal a bit strange. Almost impossible to look out at any aircraft - something I like to do.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
3/10

Mexico City Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 17th November 2014

I arrived to Terminal 1 at night when flights were arriving form Europe. The lines at passport control and customs were long. Departing to the city it took me longer to get a taxi than it did to fly from Houston to MEX. On departure I found the hall unremarkable. The building is old and in need of updating.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

Mexico City Airport customer review

Review by (Mexico) 5th December 2012

Terminal 1 of Benito Juarez International Airport (MEX) in Mexico City remains among the worst in the Latin American region. Bureaucracy and bad organisation are the standard. For frequent travelers like me who uses the airport between 2 and 4 times every month arriving is a real nightmare. If you arrive from Europe (normally in late afternoon or evening) you will always systematically spend at least one hour if not more to go through migration because they only have very few officers at that time of the day - one per flight which means you may find yourself among other 500 or 600 people waiting to be taken care of. Even if you are in international transit you have to go through migration pick up your luggage go through customs and then check-in again for your next flight. This makes this airport a real nightmare.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

Mexico City Airport customer review

Review by (Mexico) 6th December 2011

Arriving to México is a real nightmare very long distances walking to get to immigration and then hundreds of people waiting because there are only 5 or 6 agents. And you have to go through this even if you are in transit since they do not have a system by which transit passengers go straight to the international area. And then after 40 or 60 mins of immigration procedures you still have to wait for the luggage and another long line to get out. A horrible experience that I have to endure two or three times every month.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
4/10

Mexico City Airport customer review

Review by (Ireland) 25th June 2011

Recently travelled through both terminals on my way from Paris-Puerto Vallarta. Mex is really a story of two different airports. As others have said T2 is great; ultra modern with plenty of space shops natural light and aircon that's at the right temperature. T1 on the other hand is dark showing its age and the air con barely works. It took nearly 40 min to clear immigration on arrival but with the amount of flights arriving from Europe most evenings this is to be expected. Security at both terminals was very fast. The most frustrating thing is having to clear customs in Mexico City and then haul my luggage over to T2. Signage for the Sky train is useless in T1 in fact signage overall is poor in T1. I kind of knew where I was going but still a few more signs for the sky train would be helpful. Staff in both terminals are friendly although it helps when you speak some Spanish.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
5/10

Mexico City Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 23rd June 2011

Have used both terminal 1 and terminal 2 and both are great with very efficient operations. Terminal 2 which is the newest terminal is bright clean and ultramodern. The airport manages to operate efficiently despite the very large number of passengers and operations which seem to have the airport operating at full capacity. The signage in terminal 2 is very clear however terminal 1 has some issues with the signage. The selection of eating establishments is great ranging from traditional Mexican food to Japanese food. Arrived in the morning at peak hours when the flights from the united states were arriving and moved through immigration and customs in no more than 10 minutes. Overall a great airport and perhaps the best in the Americas.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

Mexico City Airport customer review

Review by (Mexico) 4th May 2011

I wouldn't normally write a review like this but after waiting almost two hours (standing up) for my in-laws a few days ago I wanted to share my renewed unhappiness with this airport. We would have been able to escape to the American Express lounge but unfortunately my hubby had forgotten his card. I am British but I live in Mexico City thus I have no choice but to grit my teeth and face this horrendous airport several times per year. I therefore also mainly travel through Terminal One. Terminal Two is a bit more pleasant in that it is newer but my review refers to T1. Departing from Mexico City is much better than arriving however it still leaves much to be desired. Taxis are good and inexpensive (make sure you pre-book to get a secure white/red taxi and never hail the green/white taxis or the red/gold taxis. The special sirport taxis are white and yellow and are also safe) and the airport is located in fairly close proximity to the city centre so in theory it should be fairly quck to arrive there. However with traffic in Mexico City it can take much much longer than expected so be aware of this to avoid missing flights. If you make your own way there by car strangely for a major airport it is not signposted until you are practically there so you need to be fairly sure of where you are going before you attempt this. It is also located in a fairly off putting and run down part of town so it is not the kind of place you want to get lost in. This also goes for leaving the airport. Parking can be difficult at peak times. Inside the airport - during the summer months the heat can be awful I am not sure if there is air conditioning or if it just doesn't function when needed. It can be tricky to get to where you want to go as Departures and Arrivals are very poorly signposted and the lay out is confusing. So far when I have checked in here I haven't had to wait too long as I always make a point of checking in online and getting there early and using the bag drop when I fly British Airways however we did face a bit of a queue flying with Iberia. I have not experienced too many going through security either so they have obviously organised outgoing flights a bit better than the incoming flights. Passing security facilities are fairly average. As other reviewers have said the terminal is fairly shabby and could do with a renovation but at the end of the day that would probably cause utter chaos. Some of the gates have absolutely no seating areas whatsoever so you basically just have to stand until you are able to board which can take a long time. Arriving in Mexico City - a completely different story and the main reason for the very low scores. Do not expect anything to happen quickly as several large European flights all arrive at almost exactly the same time every day (approx 7pm). Strangely after disembarking the plane arriving passengers are ushered through the arrivals lounge and all is a bit confusing. The queues at passport control are generally frightful and can take over an hour both in the line for nationals and non-nationals (after receiving conflicting information about which I should use as a holder of a Mexican Resident's Visa I have used both). Baggage claim is equally horrendous with several flights worth of baggage arriving on one carrousel whilst many others remain empty. Again there is limited airconditioning so it can be especially unpleasant in the warm summer months. After finally picking up your bags you then have to queue again to have all your luggage scanned (don't expect any help with this - I was travelling alone literally moving my life from London to Mexico City and had a significant amount of luggage as a result three members of staff simply watched while I struggled to load the cases onto the belt - same story when I took them out and put them back on the trolley) and they never open up all the scanners so again this can take a long time. After scanning your bags you then have to hit a button - green means go but if it comes up red you have to have your luggage inspected by an officer. This is also worth remembering when picking someone up do not rush to get there when the flight lands as it is a waste of time as they can take another two hours on top of that. Queues for taxis can be long especially if you need a larger vehicle and once in your car/taxi there is still Mexican rush hour traffic to contend with through a not-so-nice part of town.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 27 Reviews