Mexico City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 77 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Noisy, poor acoustics"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Horrible! Noisy, poor acoustics in this newly renovated airport, past customs in waiting area. The only places to eat are loud with music, sports bar, big screen TV, or 7-11 shops, etc. Announcements are loud, construction going on. I went to one of the lounges as I have a pass and it didn't have food, but did have snacks and drinks. Man at desk wasn't particularly friendly. This lounge did have side rooms for a bit of quiet from noisy passengers, TV and music. Next time I will not go through customs until I have to and will take ear plugs.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"has grown in the most anarchic way"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Mexico City airport has grown in the most anarchic way since its construction in the 50s, adding patches here and there, constrained by its location almost mid-city and urban encroachment and explosive passenger growth. Terminal 1 shows all the additions made over a building that in its original conception can only be called a 'ranch airport': T1 has the domestic departures check-in in the lower level, as well as 80s tiles on the floor. The new check-in areas of the international departures area are better and newer but look added hastily. Arrivals hall in T1 is cramped and poorly designed: rush hour means queue will overfill. Then you go through baggage claim (you can take 40 mins if the baggage goes through narcotic inspection) and the infamous customs semaphore, which is soon to disappear. T2 was built as an emergency add-on after the failure to construct a new airport in the past decade. While it is more ample, better lit, less crowded and modern, it was allowed to free fall almost from the day of its inauguration. Floors are sinking, carpets are tired and torn and overall looks like it seriously lacks maintenance. The most grievous problems in both terminals come from the rudeness of the security and immigration staff, who contradict in each possible way the country's hospitality. The other one is the Union of Porters that prevent you from taking the carts all the way to your car. Overall, the airport has gone to the bottom of a long, improvised road to decrepitude and one can only hope the construction of the New Airport goes and ends all according to planned.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Very confusing signage"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Very confusing signage, horrible facilities, dirty bathrooms and poor air conditioning amongst other issues. Mexico City needs to get its act together and invest in facilities that make transiting to the airport and more pleasant and enjoyable experience. Additionally if you are connecting from one international destination to another, you have to pass through immigration and collect your baggage as well. Take a leaf out of Dubai, Istanbul, Delhi, Bangkok and Singapore and learn how to play the transit game. Will not succeed in making Mexico City a hub if they don't make it more seamless and efficient.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"terminal facilities limited"

(Guatemala)

Verified Review | Mexico City is one of worse airports in world. I was arriving terminal 1 and departing same terminal. Staff are rude and their behaviour sometimes insulting. Terminal facilities limited. Immigration staff, check in counter staff non-professional. They need more training to progress their service. I never want to use this airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff overall were very unhelpful"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Worst airport experience yet. Using for transit only, supposedly checked through to final destination. However in Mexico City it seems this means you need to collect your luggage and transfer it, passing through immigration (took 2 hours) and security again. Half of the immigration desks were unmanned, queuing was like a rugby scrum with no order at all, people at the back of the queue cleared immigration before people at the front. Trolleys only accept Mexican peso or USD, not very helpful if you are transitting and have neither currency, no money exchange either. We were travelling with two large bicycle boxes, which are impossible to transport for long distances without a trolley, there was no leniency from staff or any offer of help. Staff overall were very unhelpful, even though we speak Spanish, we were sent all over the airport unnecessarily. Mexico City airport also has different packaging requirements when flying with boxes, they must be wrapped at a cost of at least 25 usd. Not a pleasant experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"not much time for food"

(United States)

Customs was a remarkable hour wait and once cleared on paperwork I retrieved luggage and passed thru a second check and off to handler to check for next flight. Left there and up escalator to a screening area for carry-ons. Hopefully line will be minimal and after check you are in terminal. Not much time for food, restroom, or even a Starbucks. Onto gate, board in right group #, and onto flight. This can be done in an hour and a half.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"A total lack of regard for property or time"

(United States)

Verified Review | Arriving from Santiago, Chile on route to the US all passengers from domestic and international flights, regardless of intention to stay or transit are herded through the 2 hour immigration cattle line. The line was backed up the stairs in two different hallways as more and more disembarking passengers filled the hallways. Women with crying babies are lined up and squeezed into poorly ventilated internal section of the airport with open bathrooms (no doors, stalls visible from the hall), flight crews and wheelchair passengers are lined up for hours while airport employees are giggling and laughing amongst each other while sliding on the newly polished floor. Requests for help are met with shrugged shoulders faining the "no abla englise" look while you are motioned that it doesn’t matter if you're international connection or not. Apparently the only reason is to show how many passengers are force "visiting" Mexico. By the way even if "Mexico" is not your final destination, they still want you to fill our immigration forms which duplicate exactly what is in your passport. To prove a point I scribbled gibberish on the form and the nice immigration lady took it anyway. Now that you're outside of the international terminal and have to go back reclaim your luggage and re submit it (about 20 minutes) you have to exit that section of the airport and re-enter as a new traveler with a full carry on luggage check. As I had bought a couple of bottles of wine from Duty free shop in Santiago, "Mexican" authorities challenge the bottles and am forced to relinquish them at the security check to my international connection. The whole airport seems to be a government work program with what appears to be family members in positions by patronage. Some very young looking "employees" were simply counting passengers using the old fairground thumb ticker counter. Never will I nor my family ever visit nor transit through this airport again. A total lack of regard for property or time.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"would rank way down the list of airports for me"

(Canada)

I came down on a flight from Vancouver. Unfortunately I had hours in this airport as I had a connecting flight. I have to fly back tomorrow then leave for MGA then go through the process again in March. Landing. Immigration was actually very fast. Speak some Spanish to them, I got a smile. Luggage was actually quite fast. Next step after luggage check, you take it to the collection area. The belt broke down and you had to go upstairs and another line. Finally was out in the terminal. Process was under an hour. Terminal is freezing. 2 levels. Seating on both but more cement blockish downstairs. You do not go to your gate until it flashes on the screen. Not a lot of bathrooms and lineups at times. Not a lot of food options, lots of stores. This would rank way down the list of airports for me. Not sure about Term 1.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one place to avoid"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Mexico City Airport is one place to avoid if you are transiting through. As with most airports, your luggage is tagged from the start of your journey right through to the end of your journey. Not with Aeromexico or Mexico City Airport,. We had to collect our luggage and through a maze of buildings, badly signposted, find our way back to the check-in area. Your bag then needs to be redirected to a different baggage handling area for transit passengers. We went through 2 sets of baggage scanning procedures. They confiscated many small items from our toiletries bag. Tweezers, nail clippers (no file attached) to which we were already aware was not to the international standard of confiscation. Once we cleared these checkpoints, we were not able to visit an array of shops on our way to the boarding area. And to our surprise, we could purchase all the things that they had taken from us in the baggage scanning area. Now you ask me if that makes any sense at all! I will never fly through Mexico City nor fly on any Mexican Airline again. Who needs the unnecessary hassle!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Clean, good signage"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived at Mexico City Airport for the first leg of my journey. Waited 45 minutes to get through passport control and collected my luggage almost immediately. Pressed the button and it went red. 1 cursory search later and I was through. 7 days later I was back for a domestic flight. No queue at security, lots of places to eat. Expensive food for Mexico but cheap compared to the UK. Clean, good signage, helpful staff. So much better than Heathrow. Duty Free closed by order of the Tax Authority. Phone charging stations courtesy of Samsung and plenty of free if slow wifi if you are prepared to wander around.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 58 Reviews