Melbourne Avalon Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 11 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Melbourne Avalon Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 18th June 2015

I have never experienced such strictness in regards to carry on luggage. I had not only my partners laptop bag but also my hand bag. Has anyone ever had such ridiculous money grabbing methods used on them? Not only will I never fly to Avalon, I will never fly jetstar. Very disappointed!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit18-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
9/10

Melbourne Avalon Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 13th October 2012

Living in Geelong this airport is great! 20 mins from my parents place and traffic is rarely a problem. Check in is quick (quicker with no bags - check in online the night before) stroll through security and a short walk onto the plane. Only criticism is that the airport is small (3 gates) and only 1 bar 1 cafe and 1 newsagents. Hopefully with the new International terminal they're cleared to build they'll upgrade the domestic terminal too!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1/10

Melbourne Avalon Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 1st September 2011

In my experience ground facilities showed little improvement. There is nothing to do unless you want gaming machines the food shows little imagination and is very expensive and you have to check-in long before departure. Then you have to climb up steps to the aircraft - difficult for someone with disabilities.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
5/10

Melbourne Avalon Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 4th July 2011

It's small and it's clean and it's easy to use. On arrival from the stairs hitting the plane door to my driving off in a hire car took me 12 mins - and that was with checked luggage. You can deal with the hire car people while waiting for your luggage and the car-hire parking spots are 30 seconds' walk from the terminal. Driving into Southern Melbourne took maybe 10 mins longer than it does from Tullamarine: it's further but the traffic's better. and you don't have to deal with the toll roads. On departure there were no queues and no delays. Food choices are limited and you have to pay for Wi-Fi access: those would be my only criticisms.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
2/10

Melbourne Avalon Airport customer review

Review by 30th April 2009

A very basic terminal. More like a tin shed with temporary stands for business counters. While it serves its purposes I hope that they improve terminal facilities and appearance given the increased levels of traffic. It can't be that hard to install proper car hire counters and have some coffee shop facilities in the arrivals section. When Albury airport has a better terminal facilities than Avalon you know it's time to improve!
no
5/10

Melbourne Avalon Airport customer review

Review by 26th February 2008

This is a great little airport especially if you want to go straight to the Great Ocean Road. We sorted out our rental car while waiting for our luggage and were on our way within 15 minutes of landing. We stayed in Melbourne before flying out and the airport was an easy drive down the West Gate Freeway and no tolls unlike the Citylink road to Tullamarine. After security there are a couple of shops a bar/cafe and internet access terminals. Staff are very relaxed and friendly.
no
3/10

Melbourne Avalon Airport customer review

Review by 9th January 2008

While this airport is justified in trading under the name of 'Melbourne Avalon' because of Melbourne's 3.6 million population versus under 300000 for Geelong strictly speaking it is not in Melbourne and should have a note similar to airports like Bologna (Forli) have next to them on the Skytrax airport review pages.
no
/10

Melbourne Avalon Airport customer review

Review by 18th March 2006

The Sunbus shuttle from Melbourne's Spencer Street to Avalon is a rich and edifying experience. I have used it on several occasions. As the bus slowly makes its way down the 55km freeway stretch and over the West Gate Bridge I have enjoyed some really amusing patter with the drivers and passengers. I call it the Sunbus Funbus. Hopefully the Melbourne terminal will improve as Melbourne gets its promised new bus station in Spencer Street. Advise get there early to locate the bus! As I drive the Melbourne Geelong Freeway almost daily I can understand the Sunbus tedious margin of of arriving early in case of congestion. The freeway does have occasional delays due to weather or accidents or very bad congestion on the Bridge in peak periods. Unlike Skybus from Tullamarine Sunbus does not run loud and boring video commercials. Not a bad ride for the money.
no
/10

Melbourne Avalon Airport customer review

Review by 8th June 2005

Avalon airport's facilities consist of a coffee shop/snackbar (muffins and slices) newsagent/mixed goods and a bar that serves hot food (which just looked like expensive but ordinary meat pies to me). There are three internet terminals ($2 for 15 minutes) and a plasma TV in the eating area. That's more than was available at some Australian regional airports but much less than your average capital city terminal. Access to planes is via the tarmac. The main problem was hanging around for 45 minutes due to Sunbus' far too early connecting coach from Melbourne. As a transit stop it's okay. If your time is valuable Tullamarine is probably a better option unless you are driving yourself from the Geelong area.
no
/10

Melbourne Avalon Airport customer review

Review by 21st March 2005

No easy marked Shuttle pick-up points for Jetstar passengers to depart from Avalon. My Queensland friend was let down badly on returning to Brisbane back in January. The booking was phoned in for a Geelong pickup but not recorded on the drivers time sheet. We then had to take her out to Avalon just in time for her flight. Not good enough or a reliable service
no
1 to 10 of 12 Reviews