Vote Now  

Manchester Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 718 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"I am disappointed every single time"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I frequently fly from Manchester airport and I am disappointed every single time. In the beginning I thought it might improve since there has been construction work going on for a while now, but it definitely does not improve, it gets worse. I don't know how a person who has trouble walking would ever be able to fly from this airport since there is always at least one flight of steep stairs involved where ever you go. I always struggle with just my little hand luggage suitcase to get up and down those stairs. Security mostly takes at least 45 minutes, because there will only be 2 or 3 security lanes open for all flights leaving the terminal. People are always very helpful to be fair to the staff at the airport, but the layout of the airport is an absolute disaster and not handled well are all.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"really not impressed"

(United Kingdom)

Not a particularly good experience! Lots of queing and waiting around outside and delays. I know these sometimes can't be helped but staff seemed stressed and stressed out passengers aswell. Really not impressed. Wouldn't fly with again unless last option.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Just a shameful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Awful at terminal 3. Security checks took an age, even with a fast pass. It seems as if the people running the security lines haven't a clue what they're doing. Just a shameful experience, the folks on the continent or in the USA do it all so much more efficiently and dare I say pleasantly. The entry back into the UK (our own country) was shambolic, with long, long lines at passport control. Only 3 desks being manned by bored, listless border control officers who looked like they were dead from the neck up. Eventually more desks were open, but it took far too long to get through this mind numbing process. They simply have to do better! I know public sector workers aren't renowned for their speed and efficiency, but these uniformed idiots need a rocket up their respective you know what. Lucky we had a 15 year old with us, as the queues for the electronic barriers were far worse than the manned desks.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"on every occasion we have been treated as farm animals"

(United Kingdom)

Going out to Innsbruck there was supposedly extra security which at 6.00am took 1.5 hours of queuing. It took so long because they failed to man it and were using the time of thousands of passengers instead. On the return, we entered the customs hall and were directed by an airport employee to use only the biometric re entry procedure. When I said no, he lied and said no customs officer was available at the manned desks. After saying I would wait, he immediately opened a lane and I walked to the desk were a customs officer had been waiting all the time. I have used the airport 5 times over the last 12 months and on every occasion we have been treated as farm animals and not the customer who pays their wages.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Grim as usual"

(United Kingdom)

Grim as usual. Rude staff both at checking in (Flybe) and security. Shouting at people, treating us like sheep. Such a bad impression for our foreign visitors. Signs only in English - it's an international airport! Terminal three does not have enough seats.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"service and reputation continues to go downhill"

(United Kingdom)

Unpleasant experience through security - there is no other airport like it! E passports - when will somebody wake up - see the queues and admit that it cannot be self service if several staff need to help. Airport service and reputation continues to go downhill.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not a great start to a holiday"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived at Manchester airport Terminal 1 at 5 pm on a Friday afternoon to catch the 6.45 pm flight to Malaga. With only a small carry on rucksack, this should have been plenty of time to enjoy a pre-flight drink and some relaxed airport shopping. Not a chance. The queue seemed to meander endlessly around the security area. We finally passed through the x-ray machines 55 minutes after joining. Not a pleasant experience and made worse by the fact that the staff are constantly shouting instructions as if addressing children in a playground. This does not happen at other UK airports or any other European ones. Very strange. Then there is the issue of staffing levels. I don't claim to know how to run an airport but I would guess that a Friday afternoon is one of the busiest times with worker returning home and weekenders flying off for a break. It is therefore difficult for a lay person to comprehend why, when there are 12 security stations with x-ray machines, only 4 are open and staffed. If it is lack of trained staff then employ more. Or is it that passenger comfort is unimportant. It is not a pleasant experience and not a great start to a holiday. I am sure other travellers, like myself, will start to abandon Manchester in favour of other regional airports if tis congestion does not improve.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Manchester Airport, sort yourselves out"

(United Kingdom)

Appalling. Arriving from Germany with Flybe to transfer to an Edinburgh flight, also Flybe. Bussed from one terminal to another, fair enough. Before being enter the second terminal we have to go through security again. Why? We are already airside and have been screened in Germany. I don't have to do security again returning via Birmingham, so why at Manchester? My Flybe mobile Boarding Pass is rejected because it doesn't have a date on it. So what? This is direct from the Flybe app. It got me into Dusseldorf airport and again onto the plane at Dusseldorf. It isn't at issue at Edinburgh or Birmingham. Why is this an issue in Manchester? Then I wait, with other passengers, for 15 minutes for Border Force to show up (their passport desk was empty) and look at our passports. Utterly disgraceful. Manchester Airport, sort yourselves out.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"takes 40 mins to wait for bags"

(United Kingdom)

Consistently the slowest baggage reclaim of any airport in Northern Europe Airport. Slmost closed for the evening and it takes 40 mins to wait for bags, on top of the smalll, overcrowded terminals and poor cleanliness I really think Manchester should look at some other airports on the continent to see how to operate - poor service!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"airport isn't very clean"

(Sweden)

Usual farce on 7th Jan at Manchester Airport. 1hr 30 to clear security, queue for bag drop, queue for security. My kids meccano spanner was taken as a security risk in case he tried to take the plane apart. Is security poor staff, management, or equipment or all 3? Kids play area is appalling, airport isn't very clean, trolleys are free, WiFi is limited in time and barely works, fair to many steps and stairs, shops overpriced, limited seating, car hire off-site. There are no positive redeeming featured to the place. I gave 1/10 thinking somewhere must be worse, I've just never been there.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no