Top 100 Airlines  

Manchester Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 582 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"truly terrible experience"

(United Kingdom)

Drop-off is a shambles at Manchester airport - compulsory "cattle" elevator to departure area with incredible queues at check-in (Thomas Cook). Rude, pompous, officious check-in staff (Thomas Cook). Security check - slow, staffed by jobsworths. Forced route from security through obstacle stroon "duty free" shop to reach the departure lounge. Herded to gate with "gate closing" or "last call" when in fact gate is not even open. Terrible shops everywhere. No decent bars or food outlets. A truly terrible experience on every level.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"customer service does not exist"

(United Kingdom)

This has to be the worst airport in the UK. The staff in security are so rude - customer service and even basic civility just don't seem to exist at all. In fact I would go as far as saying if you make any comment you just get your bag stopped for a second time - they seem to think that is a fun thing to do. And the car park booking - don't even bother trying to phone to amend a booking. The phone seems to be permanently busy during working hours of 9 until 6 - but then they don't seem to work all those hours anyway and you get the answerphone saying that the office is closed just 6 pm - even if the time is only 5.30 pm. You could try the customer contact centre if you can afford the 1 hour await to get through to an operator who then puts you through to an non existent number that just rings out for hours. Avoid this airport like the plague. Customer service does not exist.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"signage is very poor"

(United Kingdom)

This is the worst airport I have ever had the misfortune to end up at. The layout is chaotic and the signage is very poor. My experience at security was dreadful, the staff were unbelievably rude to all the customers. One member of staff in particular seemed to switch between shouting at people and then gossiping with his colleague about how stupid customers are (very loudly). There was total chaos in the whole security area. Once you are in the departure 'lounge' it is completely packed with people, there is very little seating so most people are standing. It feels more like being on a packed commuter train than in an airport. This airport is a total disgrace and an utter embarrassment to the UK. Would I fly from Manchester again? Absolutely not.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a most terrible experience"

(United Kingdom)

Security at Manchester airport was absolute chaos - 80% of people had a secondary bag search. I was stopped for an electric toothbrush and got through at 9.20. My flight was departing at 9.20. Staff were rude and officious. One guy was stopped because he had a bag of tea and a phone charger and hair straighteners are apparently in that category too. Manchester is seriously behind other European airports and they would do well to train staff in customer service. Most whom I have come across think they're the first line of defence and are rude with it. It was a most terrible experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"ludicrously long queues"

(Australia)

Inconvenient hire car drop off, allow at least half an hour from arriving at drop off to getting into terminal. No problem at airline check in counter but then ludicrously long queues at security with surly staff. 'Failed' x-ray of carry on bag twice so had to have manual checks. One reason was 'too many cables', the second was 'unbagged liquid' - a 5ml bottle of ear drops. No problem with these items in Dubai or when coming from Australia. So it took 40 min to get through security. Dreadful when compared with Asian or Middle Eastern and even Gatwick or Heathrow airports
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"deliberate chaos"

(Belgium)

What can you say about Manchester airport except deliberate chaos. Arrival: no unexpected problems other than no staff. I should have chosen the "Outside of EU" passport queue, it was shorter and moved faster. The real fun started at departure: 1) Carry luggage only walking arrows very confusing. 2) Security Theatre at its finest and most spiteful (10 years of liquid checks and they have made absolutely no difference to security): - Only 3 or 4 X-ray machines open. - Deliberate policy of extending the wait for those who have not placed all possible liquids or containers ("You will have to wait up to 55 minutes for a personal bag search if anything is found" as they said). 3) Gates only showed on the board at the time boarding was due to start, so everyone had to run across the airport together. Basically there was no element of the experience that should not be changed. They have managed to make the idiotic security theatre even more unpleasant.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no sense of urgency"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester Airport Terminal 3 must be ranked one of the worst terminals in the UK. Drop off point is a shambles, limited space. Security queues in this day and age are unacceptably long with ground staff shouting out flight numbers, repeated message that if you don't remove your liquids you bag will take longer. I think we all know that by now, remove your liquids and your bag is removed for a further search, rude security staff happy to chat to each other with no sense of urgency. When you finally get through this you walk down a narrow corridor into an appalling excuse for a departure lounge, dirty seating and floors. Is no where in the same league as Liverpool Heathrow and many other UK airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
2/10

"scruffy, shambles of an airport"

(United Kingdom)

I landed in Manchester after a long journey from Asia. I joined the long queue for the bio-metric passport machine which for the second successive time at Manchester, did not work with my passport even though I was doing everything correctly (it's not difficult). The member of staff at the gate was barking instructions at customers, telling them how to use the machine as if people were stupid. Then when the machines did not work, as they didn't for many, they were quite aggressively ordered to get out of the queue and join the other long queue for the normal desks. The lady did not even give people another chance to try the machine, stating 'people are waiting'. My passport works at every other biometric machine that I've used in various places all over the world - why does it not work in Manchester? The issue was further aggravated by the unpleasant staff member. I cringe when I think of the overseas visitors arriving into this scruffy, shambles of an airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"disgraceful for a modern airport"

(United Kingdom)

Terrible will never fly from there again. Long queues, inexperienced staff, no customer service. Arrived 3 hours before flight at 5.40am expecting to drop bags off as had already checked in online then relax and have breakfast. No such luck, hearded like cattle in a never ending queue and supervisors response was new season new staff, should new staff not be trained in the quieter winter months? We finally made it through security to departures as the flight was boarding. No relaxing start to ours and other peoples holiday. Disgraceful for a modern airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"cattle are treated better"

(United Kingdom)

I am a frequent flyer, Manchester is my "local" airport. My problem with this airport is the security process. Over the past decade, management of this function has been consistently poor. Long queues, sometimes snaking outside the departure building! The term "cattle are treated better" is not an exaggeration. Like any other business, treat your staff with respect and they will treat your customers with respect. The company that is contracted to carry out the security process, clearly are in the other camp. Staff turnover is an issue, I never see the same faces. Poor training leads to inconsistencies. I was last pulled over, along with a lot of others for my collapsed umbrella, this same umbrella that has travelled round the globe with me and my wife!!!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no