Manchester Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 471 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 27th July 2015

Departed from terminal 1 on Sat 4 July. Security no better or worse than any other international airport these days at 15 minutes from start of queue. I am however astounded at just how many people still have liquids etc in hand luggage at security and have to have their bags searched causing hold ups for others! The big problem with Manchester is lack of seating due to the shopping areas. Good choice of food and drink outlets however and toilets clean! On arrival back on the 25 July usual queues at Border control but at least that meant the luggage was already on the carousel.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit27-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
2/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 24th July 2015

Yes, of all the reviews here, I was probably one of the few who has actually missed the flight due to its long queue during security check. I arrived pretty early for the security check, but the so called "newly-implemented high accuracy security check system" has not actually increase the efficiency of the security check and yet has annoyed so many passengers who are in rush for the last seconds to board into their flights. Unfortunately this has been my worse airport security check ever. As a frequent traveller I do not expect this at all especially missed a flight due to the security check! Initially my baggage was deported and was checked by the security officer, then it got into the security chain again. The next round of automated check has again deported my baggage again! I have to wait for every baggage to be checked before getting into mine. Well, another 15 mins spent for that! The third time of automated security check has again deported my baggage. Of course the waiting queue for the next available officer to check my baggage. The time was about 20 people in front of me. Guess what? 24 minutes spent and I officially missed my flight. For that I had to buy a new tickets for the destination, which costs me £258.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit24-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 23rd July 2015

How can an airport have people queuing for over 1.5 hours to get through Security at 6 am on a Tuesday morning? When some 'Security personnel' were asked about it they just replied that 'Its always like this' Is that the way that Manchester airport thinks it should treat its customers? Why, if its 'always like this' don't they deal with the problem and allow their customers to enjoy the experience of traveling through Manchester instead of the stress of nearly missed flights. Also this problem cant be doing much for the Duty Free/Retail side as most passengers didn't even have time for a coffee.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit23-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 21st July 2015

The queue to check-in with Thompson airways was inexcusably long (every flight checks in at same desk meaning if you are delayed, not physically fit or anxious you have to endure, in our case, an hour long snaking queue). This is repeated again going through passport and security - whilst security is essential why are we never faced with the same situation when coming back into the UK? We were at Terminal 2 - facilities are poor other than the duty free that you are forced to walk through - there are not enough seats, toilets were grim, food is over-priced and poor quality, every where takes some walking to and without wanting to generalise, staff are unfriendly to the point of hostility. This is the problem when there is a captive audience and alternative airports are so few and far between.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit21-07-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
10/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 19th July 2015

I have been quite critical of European airports recently so it makes a change to write a positive review. Arriving from Rome on 17th July I was impressed by the cleanliness, general appearance and the efficiency at the Manchester Airport. Staff looked like they actually cared! At Border Control there was virtually no queue and the officer was polite and friendly. Baggage collection was one of the fastest I have experienced in recent times, maybe 15-20 minutes after landing. The Arrivals Hall was busy enough but not crowded. Well signposted. Quick and free shuttle bus to the Car Rental Village. Very impressed and would recommend Manchester as one of the better gateways into Europe.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit19-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
1/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 18th July 2015

Terminal one must rank as one of the world's airports in urgent need of modernisation. The facilities are there but access is poor, clear signs are lacking, overcrowding is claustrophobic and not helped by low ceilings in many areas. Airports in other European cities are streets ahead in design, comfort and accessibility. Not a good place to visit for business or pleasure.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit18-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
no
2/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 18th July 2015

Yet again another trying time when flying to and from Manchester airport. Security outbound quicker this time, only 40 minutes as opposed to 90 minutes last time. You can of course pay a supplement for fast track, what a nerve having to pay extra to get what should be a normal service. T2 still insufficient and dirty toilets airside. Inbound on a very quiet mid afternoon, for once Passport was quick and the guy even smiled. The first bags appeared approximately 40 minutes after we got to the carousel, WHY! Unless I have no choice I will travel further to avoid this 3rd rate airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit18-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
1/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 18th July 2015

In all my years of travelling, I have never experienced the utter shambles that is Terminal 3 at Manchester Airport. The staff are incredibly rude, which I find totally unacceptable. At other airports, at the very least security staff are polite and professional. At this place, it's like they get a kick out of being mean and rude. These staff must remember that the airport is often the start of a holiday!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit18-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 13th July 2015

Airport was not clean - toilet facilities were filthy and management are obviously aware of this because a big sign tells you 'we are investing x million in upgrading the cleanliness of our toilets' or something similar. No healthy food options in departure lounge and poor sinage. Long disorganised security queue. Global baggage solutions were staff were unaware of their own website for tracking lost luggage.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit13-06-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st July 2015

I can't spend any money in the airport if I spend all of my 2 hours queuing at check in desks and the shambles which is called security! Neither Jet2 or Manchester Airport security have enough staff on duty to cope with the passenger volumes. As many of us book months in advance there is no excuse for not manning correctly to cope with demand. Jet2 check in was dreadful with multiple flights checking in. 50 minutes is not acceptable and supervisors were not even directing passengers. Passengers do not want to wait whilst three rescans of electrical items take place taking another 25 minutes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit01-06-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
yes