Top 100 Airports  

Manchester Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 633 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"understaffing was an on going problem"

(United Kingdom)

The whole experience was dreadful. Firstly there was one check in agent on our Monarch flight for non priority. However it was security when things became abysmal. It was July and one of the peak months but took over an hour to get through. To make matters worse they tried to blame passengers for having non allowed items. The explanation was rubbish as it was the fact that they had 2 units only open for mainstream passengers with 2 lanes on each with lanes 1-6 all shut and unmanned. Talking to staff on the side they admitted understaffing was an on going problem. We had to go straight from security to our gate. If I was one of the retail outlets paying high rents I would be objecting to passengers being denied time to visit due to their understaffing. Compare and contrast with Alicante which was very busy on our return. They had about 8 rows with 2 lines each and we were processed efficiently in under 10 minutes. Manchester are putting people through stress and discomfort so they can keep wage bills down and profits up.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"mile long queue"

(United Kingdom)

If it's possible for a facility to provide all that is annoying, petty and joyless about air travel, then Manchester airport exceeds expectations. From the fast track that takes your money but provides a new definition for the word fast, others may describe it as painful. Uncontrolled drunken louts are your reward for surviving the tedium of security. But they leave the best for your return. They must be constantly surprised that these metal tubes that appear actually contain people. How else would you account for the mile (and yes I measured it) long queue for passport control. If asked for one word to describe Manchester airports management only incompetence.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"hot, stuffy rooms"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived in Manchester Terminal 1 at 3.30pm on 22nd July and we were treated like animals: herded into hot, stuffy rooms, snaking inch by inch for 2 long, uncomfortable hours before reaching Passport Control. No seating for the elderly, young families stressed, no escape. This is a disgusting way to treat fare-paying passengers. Avoid this airport. This is not service. Why not use some of the shop space for more passport scanners?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"has no interest in service"

(Germany)

The management just wants the maximum passenger throughput and has no interest in service - convenience or quality. I'm writing this in an immigration line stretching out of arrivals in terminal 1 for the second time in 2 weeks. Check in is as bad. Food is poor. Business lounge are a joke. Avoid it if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"customer service was shocking"

(United Kingdom)

We decided to use Manchester Airport from the Emirates Dubai Hub having returned from a business trip to India. Normally we use Newcastle International Airport but we would save a long wait in Dubai if we travelled to Manchester and used their Business Limousine Service for the last leg of our journey. The service at this airport was dire. Five of their trolley coin-op machines did not accept any £5/10/20 notes and there were no staff available to over-ride the machines. All the Manchester Staff could say was "use the telephone number on the machines - it has nothing to do with the airport". Eventually a representative from Emirates assisted us and we could leave this inefficient airport. I will be avoiding Manchester Airport in future. The customer service was shocking. Emirates should take note, invest in Newcastle Airport, you can get a free trolley here.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"sort it out Manchester"

(United Kingdom)

I don't mind queuing to go through airport security checks, I want them to be thorough, but I thought automatic passport checking would speed things up not slow it down as it does at Manchester. There are obviously too few of them as we were held up for about an hour. Sort it out Manchester.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"no staff to answer people's queries"

(United Kingdom)

On arrival at Manchester, we were "forced" by a female employee to join the queue for electronic passports, when it was clear the other queues were shorter. There were hundreds of people waiting to pass through the electronic gates, and after 45 minutes we arrived to find there were only 5 gates for the hundreds of people to pass through. Where is the investment at Manchester - there should have been at least 15 gates to cope with the number of people wishing to enter? We want security, but the investment should be there to prevent such inconvenience, and as a taxpayer and passenger I feel let down. To make matters worse, when we arrived at the baggage collection, the system had broken down. There were no staff to answer people's queries, just a couple of announcements to say baggage was delayed. We eventually collected our bags one and a half hours after landing! Come on, Manchester, the service has got to be better than this.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"count me out as as customer"

(United Kingdom)

At Manchester Airport passport control I waited for over an hour in a non air conditioned area as unfortunately I have an EU passport. E-gate system seemed to have its own set of problems. A complete shambles, the worst experience I've ever had at airport. One gets the impression it's some sort of perverse plan to have as few staff working as possible when most people needing to be checked - cost cutting no doubt in the face of recent celebrations of record numbers and profits for the airport. An embarrassment in 2016. Count me out as as customer if I can in future .
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"kept waiting in line by security for 1h 20m"

(Ireland)

Arrived at Manchester Airport security 2 hours before our Aer Lingus flight time from Manchester to Cork. We were kept waiting in line by security for 1h 20m before finally getting to the security check point. There were 4 lanes open when we arrived but during the time we were patiently standing waiting, 3 of these were then closed as the crowd grew and the delay grew, leaving only 1 security check point open. There were facilities for 14 check points which were all closed to the passengers. This is the worst experience we have had at airport security. Families, mothers with babies left standing with no access to water or toilet facilities. We are in good health, but anyone who was old or infirm this was a disgrace for both passengers and staff on the front line. Why would you put your staff and passengers under such stress and duress? I pride myself on my patience and understanding, but never again will I use Manchester as a way of travel into the UK. Its 2016 and this is an International airport. I will be telling Aer Lingus why we are not using that route.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"poorly signed with no available help"

(Denmark)

The shops at Manchester obviously pay rent to the airport to be there so they keep their areas ok. But the main part of the airport, away from the franchises, is poorly signed with no available help and is shabby. The lifts are often out of service and then there is the option to check in at A or B with no explanation as to where you have to be. The eating facilities are on the ground floor and the departures mostly on floor 5 so there is very often a long queue to get the lift up to that floor with many people trying to get out of the lift and crossing the queue waiting. Generally there doesn't seem to be any planning with regard to anything and people are left to their own devices in where to go and how to queue properly, which, as most psychologists will tell you, is a 100% way in which to infuriate people. The seats are uncomfortable and not enough. In conclusion: it's a poorly run, badly organised and dirty airport with indifferent staff which creates a selfish and uncaring attitude. And wi-fi non-existent to boot.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no