Manchester Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 461 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st July 2015

I can't spend any money in the airport if I spend all of my 2 hours queuing at check in desks and the shambles which is called security! Neither Jet2 or Manchester Airport security have enough staff on duty to cope with the passenger volumes. As many of us book months in advance there is no excuse for not manning correctly to cope with demand. Jet2 check in was dreadful with multiple flights checking in. 50 minutes is not acceptable and supervisors were not even directing passengers. Passengers do not want to wait whilst three rescans of electrical items take place taking another 25 minutes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit01-06-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
yes
1/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 13th June 2015

The last three times that I have passed through security in T3, it has been absolute chaos. I pass through T3 frequently en route to Heathrow, and then various US airports, and none of them handle security like they do at T3 since a new system has been put in place. We are shepherded into having 3 people put their belongings on the belt at the same time. This results in one tray with handbag and jacket in it is sent on its way, then someone else’s trays are sent. My second tray with liquids and shoes is then sent, then someone else’s trays. Finally my IPad, which now has to go on a tray on its own , (unlike other airport security). After passing through body screening. I have to locate 3 separate trays at differing intervals on the belt. I am in a scrum with others trying to locate their property at differing intervals. We are huddled en masse two feet from the exit mouth of the screen. Why are we being herded like this? The system can only go at the speed of the operator of the scanner. I t does not make it any faster having 10 people all crowded round the scanner exit mouth because they have been pushed through in this chaotic fashion. It does not operate like this at any other airport I have been to in the UK nor does it operate like this at any US airport. It took 25 minutes from the time of passing through the body scanner, to retrieving my last bag, and I complained to a Supervisor
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit13-06-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
na

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 7th June 2015

Coming back through T2 passport control was a nightmare. My seven yr old son and myself are UK citizens/EU passport holders but my wife is non EU. We wanted to stay together and were told last time that we must all go through the non EU section (which in theory should be no problem). When our plane landed from Doha all the EU passport holders got though in around 15 mins with around 6 desks manned the second they were cleared it suddenly went down to one desk manned. So around 30 of us were left waiting for this one officer to deal with us all. While we were waiting two immigration officers who had been dealing with the EU passengers were just sat at closed desks having a loud conversation and sipping tea and other officers were milling around why couldn't they have just helped out for a few minutes and got us all through quicker? There were kids and old people in the queue it was not very nice strange not very pleasant and made me ashamed to be British. Why were these people (including us) treated like this? It took us an hour and ten minutes to get through passport control after getting off the plane; tired and thirsty. Welcome to Britain eh?
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
na

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 6th June 2015

Very poor experience. Paid £3.50 for a Fast Track security clearance. Firstly the Fast Track entrance in the centre of the terminal was closed off a someone was shouting to go over to a door on the far side of the building. I went over and was told to go down the stairs and it seemed like a fire escape and I arrived at security on the next floor down. It seemed there was building working going on so no problem. Then I queued for 30 minutes on a Fast Track! What a rip off. There wasn't that many passengers just that the staff were incredibly slow and were too busy chatting to each other and what a rude bunch they were. The way I was spoken to in particular was disgusting. I fly every week and have never come across any people like this. I'll do my best to avoid this place in future. All in all quite rough.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
na

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 6th June 2015

Baggage delivery to carousels has deteriorated badly in recent weeks. Today's experience of more than 30 minutes wait is my latest. 45 minute waiting is not usual. They need to get their act together.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
na

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 6th June 2015

Security arrangements are failing those with disabilities. Some staff trying hard but very difficult for them when working in poorly organised environment with broken equipment and with other members of staff who are both incompetent and rude. My husband has MS and I am 6 months pregnant but an officious member of security staff insisted on separating us and sending my husband who is partially sighted and has mobility problems back by another route. When he got back to the scanners his walking stick was then sent to a broken scanner where it was ignored. I'm afraid I made nuisance of myself walking back in to the secure area to try and get someone to help but if I hadn't we'd have missed our plane.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
2/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 6th June 2015

Arrived and departed from T3. Queues ok. Biggest gripe is the walk from the terminal to the rain Stn. Some of it is under cover whilst the rest is outdoors although part of the route is sort of protected from the elements. Worst still are the lifts in T3 which you need to use. Although big there are only 2 and they seem to stop randomly. Why is there not a clearly signed set of stairs people could use instead especially if they do not have large/heavy items of luggage. On leaving T3 was a noisy horrid shambles full of people with insufficient seating. Might be ok for holiday makers but for those on business as I was it was unacceptable. For such a big airport serving a very large catchment area its design is a joke and thankfully I don't have to use this airport often.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
na

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 31st May 2015

Travelled out to Alicante by Ryanair on Tuesday May 19th and back yesterday Friday May 29th. It was pouring down with rain on the 19th. Nobody told us that the airbridges are not used by Ryanair. My wife suffers from Osteo Arthritis in her knees and we had to go down all the stairs from the terminal building down to the tarmac then walk to the plane in the pouring rain and wait at the bottom of the stairs to board the aircraft in the pouring rain. Staff all checking boarding cards (in the dry on board the aircraft) - couldn't care less that everybody was soaked! Same yesterday but luckily the rain had stopped. Security queues very long and slow-especially the e- security queue.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
2/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (Sweden) 27th May 2015

As many others have said officious unhelpful security staff dirty toilets poor eating options post layout didn't find a road sign to car hire return. Far too much money spent on trying to persuade customers to spend more not enough on facilities.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
6/10

Manchester Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 25th May 2015

First transit through T3 in years. Everything went reasonably smoothly on our outward trip. There were no delays in Security and staff were both cheerful and helpful. The whole terminal was busy but we managed to find seats till our gate was listed. As an infrequent user of T3 though I find the geography of the place confusing but to be fair there does appear to be more than adequate signage. The only slight hiccup before departure was having to thread our way through other queues to reach our gate. Minor irritations on our return: our Ryanair flight had to wait several minutes before it could access its designated stand and the e passport readers were being temperamental (my wife had no problems but I had to be re-directed to a manned desk). Overall however a better experience than expected though we still find Liverpool our preferred option simply because Manchester is so much bigger and busier and consequently everything takes much longer e.g. without any major holdups or any luggage to reclaim it still took us an hour from landing till exiting the car park.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes