Manchester Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 869 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"it was carnage"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I got to experience the new “drop off” procedures, it was carnage! Took over an hour. Shocking Airport. They really haven’t thought this through, just a money making scheme.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Security was quite uncoordinated"

(Finland)

Not Verified | Not a good overall experience. The "Security was quite uncoordinated": both staff and passengers were milling around in all directions. No fluency at all. The walk through the duty free section was too obviously geared to "fishing" for custom. The restaurants all seemed to offer about the same (high fat, high calories, low quality) food, and at least two glasses of wine (250 ml) at 9 GBP each were far too expensive for the quality of the ambience. Queues in the restaurants were chaotic; nobody knew what they were supposed to do. You really need a manager who could improve the fluency of the whole airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"pick up at T2 is chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Customer pick up at T2 is chaos. Everyone is forced to park and you cannot get in or out. Everyone goes to level B and it’s completely out of control Unfortunately all the plastic policeman that the airport pay to force people into the car park are downstairs so it’s every man for themselves. I use this airport almost weekly and their incompetence is staggering!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very unpleasant experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | If you are traveling into Manchester terminal 2 with children under 12 years then you are in for a very unpleasant experience. Upon arrival at the immigration hall You will be instructed to follow the Family Queue directions. This will result in you being forced into the Family holding pens as your children under 12 are not allowed to use the new e reader machines. Here you will be made to queue for over an hour whilst a small number of immigration officers check passports. We were there yesterday 11th July and it was horrible. Dozens of tired and restless children forced to stand for an hour. By the time we were halfway to the front all the ‘adults’ had cleared the machines - deserted! The staff on duty do not care and do not offer any help or sympathy. The whole set up is absolutely disgusting - hang your heads in shame Manchester airport. I will never use this airport again
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"used to be a reasonable experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flying from Manchester used to be a reasonable experience until the last five years. Over this time, it has deteriorated to the point where it is hard to believe it could get any worse. You are left with the impression, particularly during the busy morning period, that they have put a distracted 12 year old child in charge of managing departures. Queues snaking around corridors and down stairs, no information and taking up to an hour just to reach the security barriers. It is as if the last thing they expected was for people wanting to travel turning up. Some security staff could easily have gained employment as East German border guards, barking instructions at travellers as they endeavour to navigate the ever-changing rules. The ground staff take the view that this is a money grab. More flights added, more money squeezed out of captive passengers but no investment in staff or resources. A truly disgusting place which travellers now avoid whenever there is an alternative.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"stressful arrival and departure"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airport you can imagine. It pretends to be an international hub whilst managed by incompetent people who can't even organise a Meet and Greet parking flow to ensure cars can exit without many delays. I'm now sat in a taxi for 40 minutes because the barriers are too slow and they can't manage the demand. If you can avoid this airport, do so. If you can't avoid it, make sure you're emotionally prepared for a stressful arrival and departure.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"the worst experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I can safely say that travelling to and from Manchester airport, both in April and today was the worst experience I've ever had the misfortune to experience. I was travelling with my 82 year old mother, and as if that's not stressful enough the airport made the experience vile for us. Being dropped off at T3 now costs, the security is awful and took forever and I'm from Northern Ireland, so I'm used to it. The distances that we had to walk within the terminal, late notification of gates, climbing up and down steps with luggage. I'm used to travelling but whoever is in charge of the work that is being carried out at Manchester airport needs to put themselves in the shoes of the passengers because if you don't you will lose passengers, and you're not very passenger friendly at present. PS Getting a taxi from the airport (T3) is a nightmare and not at all clear for travellers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it is false advertising"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Don’t waste your money purchasing Fast Track security. Have used it twice now, arriving and departing. All they do is have a person at a fast track lane who looks at your piece of paper, then direct you to either the same passport control or security check lanes along with everyone else. They don’t have dedicated fast track lanes, so it is false advertising and a total rip off. Parking charges are also through the roof. Cost us £49 in the short term park for 15 minutes just to pick up friends travelling from Australia. Hate this airport with a passion.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport ever"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airport ever. Unfortunately I have to travel through it on a weekly basis but every time I'm thinking what a horrible experience it is. 1) They now charge you for drop off else you have to take a regular bus from a distant location, which takes a minimum of 10 minutes to get to T1. You have to pay extra to drop off near the terminal. 2) They are always understaffed at the security checks and passport controls. I literally spend a minimum of 2 hours every time I fly through the airport. Last time I was there, there were three queues which were overflowing outside the T1 for security checks. Of course you can pay extra to go through quicker. 3) They've designed the duty free area in such a way that it's like a labyrinth of obstacles before you can get to your actual gate. It's almost a challenge to knock all those stands with perfumes and alcohol. Again you can pay to avoid this. (You can see a pattern emerging with this approach). If you can avoid this airport, do. It's a complete waste of time, money and especially if you're going on a holiday, it is designed to ruin your experience from the start.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Manchester airport don't seem to care"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Travelling this Friday 6th July from Manchester airport, terrible reviews from recently travelled family and friends and also on social media regarding the queues at security and passport control, really not looking forward to it. Considering all the negative responses Manchester airport don't seem to care. Suppose it's all about the money and the passengers come second. Review based on my last flight from Man, wouldn't hav chosen it this time but the only flight I could find at the time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no