Top 100 Airlines  

Manchester Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 666 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the whole airport needs urgent attention"

(United Kingdom)

Have recently traveled via airports in Africa and the Middle East which were far superior in every respect to this appalling airport. Agree with all the adverse comments that are made about Manchester airport. Do the people in charge ever read these comments? Security staff are arrogant and rude and treated me with total disrespect. Toilet facilities are hopelessly inadequate and the whole airport needs urgent attention. Avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it is getting progressively worse"

(United Kingdom)

Have been using Manchester airport for over 20 years and I have to say it is getting progessively worse as the years go on. Most people these days check in online so only have to drop off the bags but the queues are so bad. Often waiting over 30 minutes. However once you've dropped off your bags worse is yet to come at security. There are usually hundreds of people and not enough airport staff to deal with them and the queues seem to go on forever. We all appreciate that in this day and age security is paramount but why not open all the desks when you are busy. We arrived at the airport over 2 hours before our flight was due to go out but because of all the queues we ending up getting to our gate just as it was closing. We had no time for a drink something to eat or a look around duty free. The airport must be losing a fortune on lost revenue due to all the time it takes to get through check in and security. Coming back into the country isn't much better with huge queues trying to get through passport control and even if you have an up to date passport the alternative queues to scan your passport yourself are just as busy and don't always work. Manchester Airport really do need to look at staffing levels and stop trying to cut corners.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"needs improving"

(United Kingdom)

First time I have been to terminal 2 at Manchester airport - what a joke. Thomson queues for check-in were bad enough 1.5 hours to get through - only 3 desks open out of 10 plus. Worse was to come - at security there must have been nearly 1000 people trying to get through. Out of 10 lanes only 2 were open - it was an absolute joke. Worse I have ever seen at any airport - it needs improving or they should move flights to other airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"there desperately needs to be some investment"

(Switzerland)

The worst airport in the UK and possibly in Europe. It is a profit making machine that puts nothing back into the infrastructure and facilities. Amongst many of things that I have witnessed in 7 years of commuting through this dreadful airport is: 1) Rubbish left lying around 2) Inadequate baggage belt system in T1, it cannot cope with the volume 3) Majority of staff in security haven't got a clue 4) Toilets are disgusting 5) A lot of infrastructure is rusting and past its life span, there desperately needs to be some investment 6) Rude staff 7) Escalators that haven't worked for years 8) Insufficient seating for the volume of passengers, I could go on but needless to say that if my route (Zurich) was served by another regional airport then I would not use MAN. I dread to think what opinion foreign visitors must have of our region when they arrive at MAN. It's about time that someone did something about this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"whole experience was a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Like most of the other travellers,we had pre-booked our seats and had our boarding passes. The queues were intolerable, first to check in our own luggage and then to drop the baggage on to the conveyor belt. Then we queued again through passport control and security. I appreciate security is important these days, but we had no time to look around duty free, before we were told to go to gate. But we queued again along a corridor and down a flight of stairs for half a hour before boarding. It was dangerous and tiring. Some people were so tired they sat on the stairs and had to keep getting up and then down again to progress. The whole experience was a nightmare.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"major delays with baggage delivery"

(United Kingdom)

Traveled from Manchester with Jet2holidays. Departure from T1 B departures was excellent. Had previously checked in online so got to use the automated bag drop for the first time. Wonderful development to get you through to duty free. Returned to find the usual chaos. Minimum staff at border control and major queues with UK/EU passengers herded into half of the available snail lines. Then major delays with the baggage delivery and the children's buggies having to wait until last - 1 hour 30 mins after landing. All this from an airport that makes millions of profit every year but will not employ enough staff or invest in passenger comfort, just in infrastructure that generates more and more profit.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"unprofessional performance on offer"

(United Kingdom)

At Manchester to catch a flight to Skiathos nearly 3 hours the flight. Met with a queue at the car meet and greet, 30 minutes wait, luckily had priority boarding and security. Check-in went fine, then onto security, again despite having fast track another long wait, not enough staff and the ones they have in no hurry. We had booked a Lounge there was no time to use it by this stage, that's the second time out of the last three visits this has happened and it's a waste of time and money. Talking to others on the plane we are not alone. The shops airside must be losing a fortune due to lack of time to shop and eat as everybody rushes through. For arrival, surprised to find they had extra machines in passport control, and they worked rather well and a definite improvement on previous visits but we were the only plane in at the time. For baggage delivery, again, a surprise, nearly right away was one of our suitcases. Then nothing. Surely as the only flight it wouldn't be long but nothing else came for 45 minutes. Nobody to get any info from or complain to. This was a bit better than our last visit which was an hour and a half wait. Manchester has gone from being a very good and professional place to a shambles. I have used various airports in Spain, Greece, Portugal the last few years and all including Liverpool are miles better as a passenger experience. Only using Manchester as a last resort from now on, next year it's Liverpool for me. I don't care if it's even more expensive, I can't put up with the stress and unprofessional performance on offer these days, park and greet, priority check-in, security, lounge, it still didn't mean I got a good beginning and end to a holiday.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"ill-equipped to deal with the volume of passengers"

(United Kingdom)

What an awful airport. It is ill-equipped to deal with the volume of passengers from start to finish. I have never before had to queue on a car parking bus just to get dropped off at departures, the drop off zone is small and narrow which resulted in a queue back to the roundabout. The entrance to the airport is dark, depressing and claustrophobic. Security was very slow with long queues - this is the fourth time I have had to fly from Manchester and on all four occasions security was slow with long queues. My bag was pulled and inspected (fine, not a problem) and when I asked the reason I was advised 'we have newly trained staff who are pulling everything and anything which is slowing things down. An experienced member of staff wouldn't pull half of these'. The departures lounge (T3) is small with limited facilities. It was very overcrowded. On our return to Manchester we were greeted off the plane and in to the airport by a really happy and friendly member of staff - he was the only highlight! We then went through passport control where some of the staff were extremely rude. My passport could not be read by the biometric reader so I was separated from my partner and guided to a desk. My partner waited for me and was literally barked at by the Scottish lady 'you can't wait here, if you wanted to come through together you should have stayed together'. Her whole manner was aggressive and unfriendly. A simple 'I'm afraid you can't wait here. Please go through the doors' in a friendly tone would have sufficed. I do anything I can to avoid flying from Manchester airport and think it is a poor first impression for visitors to the area. Someone please sort it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"this is a dreadful airport"

(United Kingdom)

This is a dreadful airport. The check out and ticket check were good. There were not too many queues for the security screening. But the facilities ag Terminal 1 are dire. You have to walk through the duty free is there are only limited seating available, done of which has no back., more for sprawling, Not really what you want with a two hour wait. 2 of he three Hand dryers in the men's were not working. This is a Termibal that is built around consumerism than the comfort and needs of its passengers it wouldn't have taken much to have had fewer luxury good stores and more some and comfort for passengers. Another example of this is that there is just one hour free WiFi. Other airports recognise the value of this to customers and either give longer free or make no charge - Manchester Airport is just after your money
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"queues were extremely long"

(New Zealand)

I thought my experience was a one off bad day for the airport but seems not. Both the departure and arrival was a nightmare. Queues were extremely long and probably the worst I've ever experienced. This was my first time at Manchester Airport and hopefully my last. Clearly this was no isolated experience and from an overall customer satisfaction perspective they score a big fat 0. Given all we had time to do at the airport was queue then those other services lost customers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no