Vote Now  

Malta Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 29 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"highly stressful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Having previously travelled through Malta Airport many times with no problems and, indeed no worries that there would ever be any issues, I was very distressed to have an unpleasant and highly stressful experience on this occasion. It did not show Malta Airport in a good light. There was a one hour queue to get through security. This was well managed by the airport staff. However the one and a half hour queue to get through passport control was total chaos with no staff even attempting to manage it nor to control allowing those with earlier flights to get through quickly. There were no apologies and many passengers were very distressed. Whilst staff came round with drinks, these were plastic mugs of sticky squash which the many children in the queue split on the floor rendering it a squelchy mess. Then there were not enough buses to get us to our planes and all the planes left late. We gather that this was all because Malta has agreed to allow P&O Cruises to embark and disembark from Malta. The airport simply cannot cope with a sudden influx of 2000 passengers and the whole thing is unacceptable. The airport needs significantly more infrastructure before Malta can allow this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a rather pleasant development at Malta"

(Norway)

Verified Review | There were enough buses for the passengers to be shuttled from the aircraft to the terminal in comfort (not squeezed in like sardines or cattle). This is a rather pleasant development at Malta. Well-done Aviaserve! At the end of the very short walk (3 minutes at most) to the baggage carousel, my suitcase was already on the belt. This must have been my shortest wait ever to reclaim my checked-in bag and the quickest aircraft seat to airport exit ever!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"highly customer-focused staff"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Wonderful staff throughout Malta Airport. On the other hand, the whole airport is literally bursting at its seams, very crowded, chaotic and very long queues, with some people skipping people the queues in areas where the queues are unattended. The airport lacks an adequate amount of seating, both landside and airside. The airport seems to be aware of the problems as water and soft drinks are being distributed for free (landside) at peak times (there are a few water fountains airside). As long as you check-in very early, you'll be fine. It's a very pleasant airport on the whole with highly customer-focused staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"could not physically get to the gate"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The worst airport I have ever encountered. Hundreds of passengers stuck in a bottle neck at passport control, children crying, people having panic attacks and flights delayed, ours by an hour simply because we could not physically get to the gate. No one took charge, flight times came and went but we were stuck. I have never felt so stressed and can honestly say will never return to Malta as the experience was so horrific. A disgrace.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"staff were very nice and friendly"

(United States)

Arriving in to Malta airport from an international flight was good, the staff were very nice and friendly they speak both English and Maltese, baggage came in on time, there are also signs posted throughout the terminal building so you have no chance of getting lost.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"executive lounge - don't waste your money"

(United Kingdom)

If anyone is considering a visit to the executive lounge at Malta airport, La Vallette then don't waste your money. Tit bits for food and awful ones at that. Coffee and tea good along with wine and spirits, soft drinks but restrictive choice on beer. Better off visiting the Hard Rock Cafe in the departure lounge or one of the other 2 cafes for better value.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"no hot food available"

(United Kingdom)

Malta airport, 7.30am and there is no hot food available anywhere! Hard Rock Cafe has no food. McDonalds is for some bizarre reason available in arrivals but nothing in departures but a very limited selection of unappetizing cold sandwiches and cakes. Very annoyed and hungry.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"very friendly staff"

(Malta)

Although I myself am Maltese, I have been to quite a few airports now and I have learned to appreciate Malta Airport. The toilets are well-maintained with cleaners going in to clean every couple of hours. Queues are never long (I have waited ten minutes maximum), very friendly staff, a few cafes and shops where one can kill time and free unlimited wifi. I used to take these things for granted but after going to 3 different airports this year alone, I have learned to appreciate what we have.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

Malta Airport customer review

(France)

One of my favorite airports. It's not too big, so the waiting lines aren't too long, there are lot's of shops, plenty of seats and even massage chairs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"this airport does it right"

(Russian Federation)

This airport does it right: it's a small airport so check-in, customs in and out, and departures are extremely fast unlike some other small airports that are a disaster. The best part is, wifi is accessible at the check-in terminal and after customs in the waiting area. The wifi is super fast and no diddling around with some ridiculous registration or time limit. I've been in all sorts of airports in North America, Europe, and throughout Asia: nobody else even the lounges match this speed. The car rental counter is in the airport, and you just walk out about 100m to pick up your car, none of this shuttle bus nonsense like other places.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 27 Reviews