Male Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 11 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

Male Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 20th July 2013

Massive renovation and rebuilding effort underway. Nothing to do after security and before passport control. New facility promises more. Let's hope so.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
8/10

Male Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 25th January 2013

The airport is quite small but well signed and the building looks fairly modern. It didn't feel all that crowded here either. On arrival we entered the terminal building where there were toilets (thank goodness) before we went through immigration - which took only a few minutes once we'd filled in the form. Once we'd grabbed our bags then we had to put them on a scanner and then out into the warm Maldivian air and over to our hotel's info desk. On the way our experience was similarly relaxed and quick with check in and immigration taking only 10 minutes.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
5/10

Male Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 30th May 2011

This is a small international airport completely occupying a man made island. Upon arrival on an international flight we were bussed the 50 metres to the terminal building where we had a very simple (once we had filled in the correct form) and quick passage through immigration. Baggage came very quickly on one of the three belts the queues at X ray were short to leave customs (checking for alcohol and other goods) and we were quickly out into the fresh air to walk the 100m to our boat to take us to our live aboard. Checked-in for our return flight was very easy. The airport seemed quiet even though there were a number of flights leaving within the next few hours. There were very short queues at the security check to get into the terminal and no queues at the Sri Lankan desk. Wifi is available but it is of the pay a lot as you go variety. There are no flight announcements so you have to watch the screens. Airside there is a cafe (US$ preferred surcharge for local currency) plus a range of shops selling items you need and do not need and duty free goods at reasonable prices. For me the airport worked well and was reasonable to use. There are cafes etc outside for use after arrival or after you have checked in before you go through to airside - prices reflect the location.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
3/10

Male Airport customer review

Review by 17th December 2009

Long evening wait at Male airport for a flight leaving at 2.30 am. Reasonably pleasant experience although it might have been less pleasant if having to wait during the day when it's much hotter. The area outside Departures has lots of seating plus a few good cafes and restaurants and it was quite nice to sit there for a few hours watching the sunset and the ferries leaving for Male itself. Departures opened 4 hours before the flight was due to depart and queuing wasn't too bad. We were able to use the special first-class lounge which was very good - clean and comfortable with complimentary snacks complimentary Internet access and nice clean toilets. The duty-free shop and other facilities are pretty good and not too expensive. All in all quite a positive experience.
no
2/10

Male Airport customer review

Review by 5th November 2009

My wife & I were held outside in high heat and humidity to enter the air conditioned terminal and pass security. To have only 2 x-ray machines for the sheer volume of people and not have people queuing up inside the air conditioned terminal is disgusting. The terminal building needs to be extended. Then to my outrage as we got to the front of the queue your staff let through a whole late running flight crew and guests of there's even though our flight was due to leave in 45 minutes. To go with the disgusting state of the toilets I hope if I am lucky enough to come to the fabulous Maldives again my experience of male airport will be very much better. It was a totally unacceptable experience.
no
/10

Male Airport customer review

Review by 19th April 2007

Functional clean airport with friendly and efficient immigration officers. Duty free limited; some handicrafts from other regional countries featured along with usual branded items. Renovated business lounge very nice - comfortable seating internet access adequate selection of F&B. On Arrival ferry station right outside the airport with ferries leaving for Male every 10-15 minutes. Ferry trip costs about $1. Or can take the complimentary ferry from Hulhule Island Hotel (HIH)--5-10 minute walk/2 minute shuttle ride from the airport. If waiting for a sea-plane to another island (other than Male) would recommend the coffee shops outside the airport. Basic but decent fare. If want a full meal HIH restaurants provide good selection at reasonable prices. Fixed exchange rate and money changers available at the airport.
no
/10

Male Airport customer review

Review by 27th October 2005

Worked in Male for 6 months and used the Airport on a frequent basis. Very functional and clean and the Immigration staff always friendly and helpful. Great little Airport with some nice coffee shops 10 minute ride on the Ferry to Male Ferries run every 15 minutes. Never any waiting and some nice new duty free shops being built.
no
/10

Male Airport customer review

Review by 16th September 2004

Arrival at the airport is swift and so is the transfer to your the areas you are going to (whether it be a boat ride or seaplane). However we did have a tropical storm about 20 mins after touchdown and had to wait at the cafe tables for about an hour and a half. On departure checked straight in to the Emirates desk after an initial security all luggage check and went to departures on the second level. There are a few shops including a small duty free area. If you are hoping for a full range of perfumes or cosmetics you may be disappointed. On the whole their choice was good and tended to go with the mainstream - same with the cigarettes and alcohol. There is a a decent cafe overlooking the runway for a quick drink or bite to eat if you wish. Boarding was fine but on the downstairs level and a quick walk over the open tarmac. On the whole for a small island style landing strip not a bad airport. I was expecting worse and have had much much worse at Heraklion in Greece and Detroit in the USA.
no
/10

Male Airport customer review

Review by 27th July 2004

The airport is small and clean but there can be quite a wait if you have booked a seaplane as your transport on to your resort. Transporting your luggage varies - sometimes it is taken on the slower boat transfers sometimes you are lucky and it goes on the seaplane with you. Therefore I do advise that you ensure you have a small amount of US dollars with you to buy a few drinks as well as some sunscreen and even a change of clothes in your hand luggage.
no
/10

Male Airport customer review

Review by 22nd March 2004

It's a simple small two-storey facility. Immigration and baggage were swift. Welcome to atoll nation. Outside the arrival there is boat jetty from hotels to take us to the resort. Once you step out of the arrival door on the right side there are booths from the hotels. Just look for your hotel booth if you have booked one; and the hotel representative will take you to the jetty. There is a small shop a cafe and internet place - all in one sight. You can buy prepaid mobile phone card at the internet shop. Departure is on right side of the building (from the boat jetty). After departure check-in passengers are to go to the second floor where you can find a restaurant and several duty free shops. But departure lounge is on the ground floor. When it's time for departure passengers go back to ground level enter the tarmac and walk to the plane. The terminal could use some renovation and better seats at the lounge to provide comfort for passengers are already tired because it's a long boat ride from resort to the airport.
no