Top 100 Airlines  

Malaga Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 73 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"disability assistance abysmal"

(United Kingdom)

Malaga Airport disability assistance provided abysmal service for my family. On both the outward and return journey my wife and I were subjected to inordinate delays. The staff seemed utterly disorganised and stood milling around filling in forms while passengers were left unattended and completely uninformed. On the outward journey my wife and a group of about 10 other disabled passengers were quickly taken off the plane in wheelchairs but were just as quickly left in a remote location and ignored for the next hour. Helpers were passing backward and forward but seemed clueless. On the return journey we approached the assistance desk with hope, and were soon attended to. However, once the form was filled in we were left unattended and uninformed for over an hour. When I asked for information an employee told me they were too busy to move us. Now remember that you have to book assistance, so it should not come as a surprise that they have customers. If we know that there's an hour-long queue we will be content to wait our turn. But if you leave us uninformed and puzzled, we will be upset and anxious. After another long wait I abandoned hope and took my wife through security and boarding with whatever assistance I could scrounge. The arrival at Manchester was a blessed relief with staff only to willing and able to handle our needs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"a joy to use"

(Spain)

Malaga airport is, in comparative terms, a joy to use. As with all airports the bars etc are a bit pricey but in all other respects it is difficult to fault. Drop off and pick up are not only free but are under cover and as close to the entrance doors as humanly possible. "Blue badge" disabled users are allowed even closer. Security is swift and the staff pleasant and professional. There is a good range of shops, ranging from tourist tat to high end shops. Everything is clean and well maintained. Signage is good, but if you are leaving from "B" it is quite a trek, so leave time to get there. If you are travelling within the EU cigarettes are cheaper at the Estanco next to express parking, departure level, than they are in the airport duty free shop. Departure gates are not listed in the airport until about an hour before departure, but are listed on the AENA website several hours before. Yes, there might be a last minute change, but I have yet to have found it wrong.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"spoilt the end of our holiday"

(United Kingdom)

We were delayed for 1 hour at Malaga Airport due to delay of incoming flight from Leeds due to weather. The check in and security procedures were OK. We flew with Jet2. We had just ended our fabulous holiday and had been travelling for 3 hours to get to the airport. We decided rather than be unhappy about the delay just to end it and use the extra hour to treat ourselves. We chose the Seafood and Champagne Bar as a special treat for my Birthday as we would now be late home and miss our family awaiting us. We sat down on two of eight vacant stools, there were two staff operating the bar which was not in our opinion over busy. Neither of the staff acknowledged our presence, we waited 15 mins to be served. The staff member who served us was very aloof. He served both glasses of wine and spilt some of mine out of the glass, he just moved away and disregarded it. After 5 mins we asked the lady to serve us and she did so with a smile, very pleasant. We did want another drink but felt very let down with the service and atmosphere so we paid our bill. We moved to The Sports Bar and they were very busy but the service was brilliant. Such a shame as in our opinion The Champagne Bar should be the best experience in The Airport. I don't usually fill in these forms but felt it had spoilt the end of our holiday.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most disorganised place"

(United Kingdom)

I don't normally write reviews. However, after finding myself in the fourth ridiculously long line I have somehow found the time. This airport is possibly the most disorganised place I have been. I have never seen so many ridiculous queues in my life. Make sure you turn up early or you may miss your flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"long queues at security"

(United Kingdom)

When will they sort out Malaga airport? Long queues at security, signage is garbage. In the gate area there is 1 cafe for multiple departures. Queues for toilets, no toilet paper. Been twice from this airport both times had bad experiences and that's out of season.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"did not mind our time at AGP"

(Canada)

I'm surprised at the more recent negative comments about Malaga and hope that it is not growing trend. (we will be there again this coming Sept.) We arrived from YYZ via MUC and the only hiccup was being told that we go to Belt 35 when as "international arrivals from within Europe" we really had to go to 39 inside the Customs zone. Once we found the luggage, we had a pleasant exchange with an officer of some sort and headed out to meet the relatives awaiting us. Right into the train station and off to Fuengirola in jig-time. Our return was a tad bothersome as we did arrive too early for check-in (about 9:30am) Found seats in the T-3 concourse no problem. (lots more in the T-2 zone) Check-in for Brussels Airlines was perfunctory but not unpleasant (maybe as we were Biz-Class?) The only disappointment was at Security as AGP does not offer an "express queue" for those travelling better than Economy. Cannot comment on the food offerings, service, seating, etc as we spent our time in the Sala VIP which we found to be very good as airport lounges go. We did use the small amount of free w-fi awaiting check-in with no problem (multiple devices means more free access). Overall, we did not mind our time at AGP but were thankful that we used the new T-3 and not the old T-1 section.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"wifi is impossible to access"

(Ireland)

Malaga airport is bright and clean. My main concern is that wifi is nearly impossible to access. I have travelled through Malaga several times and have never been able to get wifi. Even the information desk does not appear to be able to help. The other issue is one in many airports - after going through security, one must go through duty free to access the departure gates.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"staff were a joke"

(Indonesia)

Arrival into Malaga mid week very quiet. I was one of the first off and arrived at the luggage belt in quick time. It took too long for the luggage to arrive, they clearly unloaded the aircraft then loaded the departing cargo before delivering our luggage to the arrival conveyors. I met a family friend at the airport a week later. The problem started as we tried to access the rental car area. As we had met outside the terminal we couldn't get back in which you had to do. The staff were a joke and either had no idea or couldn't care less. Wouldn't like to see it during the peak times.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"long, confusing queues"

(United Kingdom)

Malaga Airport is an efficient, quick and busy airport, like the majority of the airports in Spain that I have been to. Unfortunately, Malaga Airport is surrounded with rude staff who have absolutely no idea what they're doing. We arrived at the airport just over 2 and a half hours before our flight. We found an information screen that told us our check in desk and stated that it would open in 40 minutes. The lack of seating in the departures area meant that we had to stand in the queue for the 40 minutes, until an airline representative approached us. They told us that this check in desk would not be opening (when it clearly stated on the information screen that it would) and that we had to join another queue, the same length as ours, to be checked in. The airline representative was understanding and was quite kind to us. Because of some sort of 'operational issue', we then had to wait another 20 minutes for the miserable check in staff to turn up. When we were demanded to the check in desk, we were faced with a miserable woman who was very rude and abrupt. She had absolutely no manners and snapped at my partner when asking questions about our luggage. The only positive thing I can say about the check in staff was that they were quite fast and efficient. We then took a long walk from the check in area to security, where we were faced with long, confusing queues and a lack of signage. We were stood in the security queue for about 20 minutes which was completely unacceptable, considering our delay at check in. A lot of fellow passengers were clearly showing anger however the airport staff weren't bothered and didn't care. When we got to the front of the security queue, we were shouted at and almost pushed to a security desk. The security staff were too busy talking that they didn't realise that there was a box blocking the way in the scanners, and completely ignored us when we tried to tell them. A rude man then told us that our hand luggage had to be investigated further. He took us to the side and spent another 20 minutes looking through our hand luggage. We explained to the man that our boarding would start in about 30 minutes, and we wanted to get something to eat. He was extremely rude and showed a lack of understanding which infuriated us. He then said 'They're fine. Bye.' which was quite rude in itself. He showed no manners whatsoever. Then we quickly went for something to eat, and made our way to our boarding gate. There was only 4 benches at our gate, meaning that there were only 16 seats for a flight with nearly 200 passengers. The airport clearly shows no logic whatsoever and show a lack of consideration in passenger satisfaction. However, the boarding staff were very polite and very efficient. Despite the earlier delays in check-in and security, we thought that our flight would be on time. But, then we saw stairs taking us down to a coach. We were about half-way down the queue and the coach was already crammed and completely full. The coach went to the plane (which was about 5 minutes away) and we had to wait about 10 minutes for another coach. By now, fellow passengers and ourselves were completely fed up. It is safe to say that the end of our holiday was a ridiculous experience. An international airport such as Malaga should know better on how to make sure passenger satisfaction is good and needs to ensure that it's flights are running on time. In the end, our flight left Malaga with a 20 minute delay.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security staff have no idea"

(Canada)

Security staff have no idea. Had issues with a bag that's been through security at dozens of other airports because it has an anti-slashing protective mesh. Also, they don't like mini-tools (without a knife), even though, again, no problem at any other airport (although sometimes they want to take a look at it). The bag has gone through US security multiple times, Canadian, Chinese, German, English, Czech, Thai, Vietnamese, even Spain itself - in Barcelona - just fine. Suggest you get there earlier than usual.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 54 Reviews