Malaga Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 99 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"ended up rushing through security"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | The easyJet check in process was far from easy. There were several hundred people trying to check in with only 3 people on the check-in desks. This resulted in a huge delay - 1 hour 15 mins to check in suitcases and despite arriving at the airport 2hours 10 mins before the flight departure time, we ended up rushing through security and straight to the gate then straight on the flight. This was a terrible end to our holiday - and all easyJets fault. My 2 young children sat patiently waiting for the 75mins check in time and had nothing to eat for several hours because there were not enough staff on.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Passport control was an absolute shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Passport control was an absolute shambles. 40 minutes wait with young family. Thought I was going to miss the flight. Had to kindly ask to skip queue. Flight delayed 1 hour only due to very very slow working passport control staff who only wanted to give my husband evil looks as if to provoke him. Never ever again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"only two officials on duty"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | On arrival there were massive queues and when we finally got to the front we saw that there were two lines, one where you had to use a machine and one where you didn't. After using the machine you still had to go past the official and the other queue had to go past one. So there are only two officials on duty and randomly half of the people had to use the machine. This caused almost one hour delay.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a real nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | When travelling back to Cardiff from Malaga, the information board showed a 15 min delay then went to 45 min delay then immediately went to last call. We were to proceed to gate B but when we got there the queue was 80 yards long. Several different flights to various destinations, all in the same queue. We had to go under the marker tapes to the front, others shouting that we were pushing in, but if we had joined at the back we would have missed our flight. Complete chaos, no staff wanted or were able to help. People panicking that they would lose their flight. It was a real nightmare.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"long catalogue of delays and queues"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I have always found Malaga Airport relatively congenial in the past. Exactly a year ago we had no problems either on arrival or departure. This year, however, my experience was completely different. Perhaps this was because our arrival and departure were in the middle of the day rather than mid-morning as in the past, but it was one long catalogue of delays and queues. We practically had to fight our way out of the airport on arrival because the whole of the arrivals area and even the exit doors were congested with passengers and drivers trying to find each other. Is there really only one main exit to such a large and relatively modern airport? Departure was even worse, apart from security which, though very busy, seemed to be working fairly efficiently. Our flight gate was announced almost 90 minutes before departure time, but when we saw the queue for passport control we understood why. There were only two officers checking passports at the entrance to Area C: we queued for 20 minutes to get through and by the time our passports were checked the queue had at least doubled in length since we had joined it and was snaking back out of sight into the main restaurant / shopping area. Our gate was changed twice after the gate staff had arrived and they were the ones who had to announce the move on each occasion. (Our flight had mysteriously disappeared from the screens during this time.) Consequently when boarding finally did begin, after departure time had actually passed, there was a loud cheer from the melee which had originally been an orderly queue. Then there was another long wait beyond the gate as we looked at our plane where nothing seemed to be happening. After about 20 minutes or so, we witnessed 2 ground staff physically and very gingerly carrying a wheelchair passenger down the front steps of the plane. Presumably the airport's normal arrangements for assisting such a passenger had failed to materialise. Only after that was it possible for us to board our delayed flight. The captain apologised for the delay saying somewhat laconically that the organisers of Malaga Airport had been taken somewhat by surprise by the arrival of the busy season. If this is typical of the airport in mid-June, I dread to think what it must be like in July or August.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"won't travel here again in a hurry"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived into Malaga along with other arrivals, which obviously the airport was aware of. Waited 1h 30mins to get through security and I was at the front of the line. Children screaming for the toilet along with adults. 25 degree heat. Absolutely diabolical and I have seen some poor airports round the world. They only had 2 staff on. Spare staff and e-passport control not active. Spain should be ashamed of themselves knowing the distress they are putting young children through. Won't travel here again in a hurry.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
8/10

"well suited for purpose"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Malaga airport was a pleasant experience and I would be happy to return. When we arrived we had to return a car so we were at terminal 1, however our flight left from terminal 3. The transition between terminals was easy using moving walkways, which were efficient. On arrival at terminal 3 the atmosphere was calm and relaxed. There was a lovely café situated beside the entrance which looked inviting. The space then naturalistically opened into a large check-in area which felt spacious. Beyond check-in there was a small section of shops leading to security. There were several security channels and they were all very busy with queues of around 10 minutes. After going through security we arrived into an area flooded with natural light, as a result of the windows on either side of the building. There was a good sized duty free area as well as many: restaurants, bars, small boutiques and well known designer stores. There was a series of conveniently placed moving walkways around the area. The majority of the post-security area was on one level. The large glass window panes offered partial views of the airfield. The terminal building on the whole looked as though it was in a good condition. There were seating areas placed around the gates which came after duty free. However, the further you got away from the shopping area the less seats there seemed to be, especially around gate D66, which was easily identified as there were many people standing due to a shortage of seats. There was free wifi but I did not connect as there was not much time after I had walked around the terminal. The airport had a few sockets and plugs dotted around the seating area. The signage was clear throughout the terminal and easy to follow. The airport was also clean. All of the staff that we encountered were kind and helpful. Despite the few negatives such as the mid size queue at security and the shortage of seats, I felt the airport had a positive atmosphere and it was well maintained. In my opinion, the airport's target market was for holiday makers and I thought it was well suited for this purpose.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"received absolutely no help at all"

(United Kingdom)

When we went through the security checks we were struggling, yet received absolutely no help at all. My sister is disabled and we were treated poorly by a young woman who glared at us with complete distain. We felt as if we had done something wrong. I tried to interact with this staff member but to no avail. I'm sorry to say that she completely ruined our holiday.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"passport control an hour long shuffling wait"

(United Kingdom)

Malaga is the cesspit of airports. The queue for passport control on arrival was an hour long shuffling wait and was then followed by utter shambles at the luggage carousel. There was no information as to which belt our luggage was on so passengers were left scrambling between belts, tripping over dozens of cases strewn across the floor because they had been badly loaded on to the belts and were toppling off. Departure was not much better, with queues so long there was no time to get a drink or visit the toilet, and the long, convoluted unavoidable route through Duty Free is shameless. I love visiting Spain, but will seriously consider abandoning trips to Andalucia via Malaga airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"queues from start to finish"

(United Kingdom)

Terrible departure experience at Malaga Airport. Queues from start to finish, disorganised, unhelpful staff, no trays for items. The passport control area is dire, waited an age, staff unconcerned, people stressed in case flights were missed. No organisation in this area at all, some staff glance at passports while others check and scan on computers. No apology at all. Travelled here in August without any issue so hope it's a blip but we shall see. To top it all we were on tarmac nearly 2 hours as baggage handlers had put an extra bag in wrong hold. Understood this had to be sorted though in today's world. Crazy place.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 80 Reviews