Airline of the Year  

Malaga Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 91 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"passport control an hour long shuffling wait"

(United Kingdom)

Malaga is the cesspit of airports. The queue for passport control on arrival was an hour long shuffling wait and was then followed by utter shambles at the luggage carousel. There was no information as to which belt our luggage was on so passengers were left scrambling between belts, tripping over dozens of cases strewn across the floor because they had been badly loaded on to the belts and were toppling off. Departure was not much better, with queues so long there was no time to get a drink or visit the toilet, and the long, convoluted unavoidable route through Duty Free is shameless. I love visiting Spain, but will seriously consider abandoning trips to Andalucia via Malaga airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"queues from start to finish"

(United Kingdom)

Terrible departure experience at Malaga Airport. Queues from start to finish, disorganised, unhelpful staff, no trays for items. The passport control area is dire, waited an age, staff unconcerned, people stressed in case flights were missed. No organisation in this area at all, some staff glance at passports while others check and scan on computers. No apology at all. Travelled here in August without any issue so hope it's a blip but we shall see. To top it all we were on tarmac nearly 2 hours as baggage handlers had put an extra bag in wrong hold. Understood this had to be sorted though in today's world. Crazy place.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Departure was a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This has to be the worst airport that I have used anywhere in the World. Flew BA Club Europe. On arrival, passengers had difficulty entering the Airport as someone had locked the entrance from the aircraft bridges. Departure was a nightmare. BA Check-in opened very late. Queue was held up by someone who had a ticketing problem. No Fast track Security for BA Business Class. Signposting and Directions not very clear inside the Airport. Business Lounge was okay, but the real nightmare came at Passport Control. Massive queues. Nearly missed the flight thanks to this pathetic lack of organisation. I have noted similar comments from other reviewers. In 21st Century Europe exists an airport from the aviation equivalent of the Stone-Age! I will not be returning.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"found the layout very confusing"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Found the layout very confusing, I'm assuming it was designed in a certain way to maximise revenue from the over priced shops. I found the border staff and security staff extremely rude and the the queue for security was unbelievable (over an hour and a half). Have used various airports throughout Spain and this is the first one I would not return to, the only positive thing I could say is it was spotlessly clean.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1/10

"security check little proper organisation"

(United Kingdom)

What a shambles at Malaga today, Sunday 9th April 2017. People missing flights and people in distress and angry due to poor passport control or more like no passport control. Security check was as bad with little proper organisation. No explanations offered by anyone and no announcements or attempts to get people flying out first brought to the front of the queue. As an airport they are a disgrace and apologies should be made. I will be avoiding this airport in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an absolutely awful experience"

(Argentina)

Verified Review | I have traveled to developing countries in Asia, Africa, and South America, and have never seen a more disorganized security check anywhere in the world. They herd passengers like cattle in a chaotic mob with no rhyme or reason. An absolutely awful experience. Never again will I fly out of Malaga.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"nightmare end to a holiday"

(United Kingdom)

At Malaga Airport the queues at check in, security, passport control were lengthy, staff slow to process people which resulted in people missing flights. We didn't have time to visit the toilet, the duty free shop, the bars or restaurants. It was a nightmare end to a holiday. I will not be travelling via Malaga airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"It could be sorted so easily"

(United Kingdom)

The main problem with this airport is that the queuing system stops before the conveyors for putting hand luggage etc through security. There is no clarity about how or where people are to queue to get through this bit and week after week we see it become a 'free-for-all' with people getting really annoyed with one another due to people pushing in at all kinds of points. Madness. It could be sorted so easily. Eg if those in charge looked at Birmingham UK airport security they'd see how easily they could keep everyone moving in turn through the system without all the sweat and frustrations. A real shame!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not very efficient"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | The latest new terminal 3 is not very efficient. If you check in online you have to stand in the same check in row as the regular check in. Only 2 rows for check in it took me 1.5 hours to pass. The security check was disorganized with very illogical queues. I almost missed my flight and I was 2.5 hrs before depature at the airport. They really should install a dropp off lugagage for online check in. Maybe they should learn from Eindhoven.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Utter shambles of an airport"

(Spain)

Utter shambles of an airport. Queues for now very restricted drop off area. Police/security actually make it worse. Security is a disaster - huge queues badly managed, having to queue to get a tray before joining the queue to go through the X-ray machine. Staff surly and traffic warden like. Have been searched and asked intimate questions on previous occasions. Very unfriendly and woefully slow. Food outlets are awful. Overpriced everywhere. Wifi is rubbish. 3/4G barely works. Queues at passport control are absurd - the guys in the booths appear to work in slow motion. It's a joy to get through all this to join the queue at the gate! Dreadful airport experience from people who seem to loath their jobs and take it out in the customers. Avoid if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 72 Reviews