Vote Now  

Malaga Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 83 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"not very efficient"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | The latest new terminal 3 is not very efficient. If you check in online you have to stand in the same check in row as the regular check in. Only 2 rows for check in it took me 1.5 hours to pass. The security check was disorganized with very illogical queues. I almost missed my flight and I was 2.5 hrs before depature at the airport. They really should install a dropp off lugagage for online check in. Maybe they should learn from Eindhoven.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Utter shambles of an airport"

(Spain)

Utter shambles of an airport. Queues for now very restricted drop off area. Police/security actually make it worse. Security is a disaster - huge queues badly managed, having to queue to get a tray before joining the queue to go through the X-ray machine. Staff surly and traffic warden like. Have been searched and asked intimate questions on previous occasions. Very unfriendly and woefully slow. Food outlets are awful. Overpriced everywhere. Wifi is rubbish. 3/4G barely works. Queues at passport control are absurd - the guys in the booths appear to work in slow motion. It's a joy to get through all this to join the queue at the gate! Dreadful airport experience from people who seem to loath their jobs and take it out in the customers. Avoid if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"what a mess from start to finish"

(United Kingdom)

We flew out of this airport on the 26/02/2017 and what a mess from start to finish. We arrived early and were met with queues every were. It took over half an hour to check in. And then met with the security queues, there must have been over a thousand people in the queue. It took an other hour and half to get through this and our flight had to be delayed. I have traveled to Spain for over 40 years and have never experienced anything like this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
7/10

"signage is good"

(Germany)

Verified Review | We flew in and out of Malaga for our vacation and have not much bad to say about the airport. The signage is good, we always found anything except for the rental car stations. We saw the signs at the baggage claim area, but unfortunately they seem to be not accesible from outside of the security area as we rented a car 2 days after our arrival. We asked a lot of people, consulted the help desk, walked around all of the airport and the car parks, nobody was able to help us, in the end we picked up our car at the rental car return as the staff there actually knew that problem. That actually made the return a lot easier as we knew where to go than. The rest of the airport was ok. There are a few shops, restaurants and cafés, the airport is connected to the city center by train and it is quite clean.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"security easy and fast"

(Spain)

Normally I am flying out of this airport 2 or 3 times a year. The airport is easy to access by bus, train and car. Check-in is quick and easy, airport staff friendly. Security easy and fast. After security there are several shops and places for sitting or having a coffee.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"massive queues at every point"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have to agree with many of the recent reviewers that Malaga airport is a total nightmare to travel from. From start to finish there were massive queues at every point, especially going through security. We did an on-line check in and printed out our boarding passes, which pointed us to desks 312->314 at the airport. These were not correct and we then were redirected to desks 340->341 (BA) where we joined the single queue for all passengers, regardless of whether they were just wanting bag drop off or check in assistance. Whether this is down to the airport or the airline, I don't know but it still has a negative impact on the overall experience. After the check in queue we joined the enormous security queue, which was a total shambles with people pushing in and generally creating mayhem. After that we headed to gate C (via the loo and another queue!). There we joined, yes, you've guessed it, another queue to get through to the individual gates. We were at the airport for some two hours plus and I would estimate that of that time only about 15 minutes was spent doing anything other than queuing. Malaga airport has obviously had a complete makeover. So, why on earth didn't the redesign take into account the sheer number of customers they need to cater for and make the process of check in, security checks, customs, etc., more efficient.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"only 2 security staff on duty"

(United Kingdom)

We travelled from Malaga Airport on Sunday 18th September around midday. The queues at the initial security check (hand luggage etc) were very long but did keep moving albeit at a slow pace. However, the final security check (passports and boarding cards) was diabolical for C departure gates. I have never seen such long queues which were entirely due to there only being 2 security staff on duty. I estimated that there were approximately 1500 people waiting to go through to their departure gates, people were beginning to panic about missing their flights and subsequently tempers flared amongst travellers and staff. Eventually the security staff began to panic and called the police. Thankfully the police were able to act as additional security and check the passports and boarding cards of travellers. There appears to be a significant lack of airport staff to carry out the duties befitting a major airport. Tourists bring in a huge amount of money in to the Costa del Sol and this should continue to be encouraged by providing a much better experience of their main airport. I will think twice about visiting the Costa del Sol in the future. I will also attempt to submit a complaint directly to the airport authority, but they do not make it easy to contact them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"whole experience being poor overall"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The airport and in particular the queue (or complete lack thereof) at security was awful. I can honestly say I felt unsafe due to the chaos, normally tolerating all the inconvenience of air travel security without much thought. Not only were the start of the conveyor belts for loading your personal items set back from the area, meaning queuing against the flow of people waiting to join the queue, but there were bottles of water lying around and I kicked a polythene bag under my feet which I assume was a bag with water bottles in it. There were no security staff overseeing this area, so no-one checking if these left items were in any way dangerous! It was so bad, I am likely to avoid travelling through this airport again - I value my life and security and this place is not safe. The noise, heat and general chaos of the place added to the whole experience being poor overall.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"lack of aircon is disgraceful"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Currently sitting in airport. The temperature inside is over 30 Celsius. The queues are chaos. The lack of aircon is disgraceful and potentially dangerous. The security queue is totally disorganised and it is poor memory to leave Malaga with after a great holiday
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"let down by poor facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Poor services at Malaga Airport. Only one Bureau de change is available and charges high fees. Vending machines happily took money but dispensed no products. Toilets didn't seem to get cleaned or bins emptied all night (arrivals and departures). General service / queueing was fine but let down by other poor facilities. WiFi didn't work once.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 64 Reviews