Madrid Barajas Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 201 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

Madrid Barajas Airport customer review

Review by (Costa Rica) 13th May 2015

A very easy airport to navigate staff helpful signage good and security efficient and pleasant. You do a good bit of walking to get to your gate area but there is seating available throughout. I don't appreciate the lack of refreshment facilities early in the morning the only food outlet open offered some very unsavoury looking offerings indeed. The only other place to get a coffee was Starbucks. It seemed to me that the catering offerings had deteriorated dramatically since my last visit.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1/10

Madrid Barajas Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 11th May 2015

The designers of terminal 4/4S should be condemed to fly in and out of Terminal 4S twice a day for five years! Marathon journey from check-in in T4 to gate in T4S via numerous escalators and a rubbish train. Gate numbering on boarding card very confusing. S gates split across two wings of terminal 4S - so when you finally get to point where wings go off one is forced to wait in a crowded area till gate number comes up then another long hike to gate. Crazy system for paying for trolley. Wheelchair access (if needed) to and from flights a nightmare journey. Sometime long delays for luggage to arrive and confusing displays on luggage belts.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
6/10

Madrid Barajas Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 5th November 2014

We used T4 both for arrival and departure. T4 and T4S (its satellite terminal) are very large in size comfortable walking shoes are a must here because you will walk a long way in a long time. Goodness knows how much it all cost. Signage is confusing but once you realise that the downward pointing arrows seen mean walk straight ahead it becomes slightly easier to navigate. There is not much in the way of restaurants either landside or airside. The Iberia lounge is located in the middle of the Duty Free area off to the left hand side and is very nicely appointed.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
7/10

Madrid Barajas Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 31st October 2014

Very modern and spacious facilities. Not impressed with lack of open eating establishments early in the morning. No problems with signage or directions. Biggest gripe is no gate assignment until about one hour prior to flight time so you are left second guessing until it's time to board the aircraft. I've never experienced this with any other airport except Madrid even when you are issued your boarding pass no gate assignment you must check the monitors until you see the actual gate assignment very inconvenient if you are on the other side of the building from your gate.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
7/10

Madrid Barajas Airport customer review

Review by (Spain) 28th October 2014

Madrid Barajas is a complicated airport. For a start it would be more adequate to describe it as a tale of two airports. Terminals 1-2-3 are within walking distance to one another. Terminal 1 is mostly used by low cost airlines and has the ambience and charm of a bus station. It is also used by non-Schengen flights except those operated by Iberia and other Oneworld airlines. The non-Schengen section of the Terminal 1 is a bit quieter and modern. There is only one overpriced eaterie queues for check in and security are long but overall it does its job. Terminal 2 is pretty similar but is used by Lufthansa Swiss and Star Alliance airlines. Occasionally however I have caught the odd Easyjet/Ryanair flight from there. Terminal 3 is more modern and airy definitely the best of the bunch with Skyteam airlines mostly using it. Terminal 4 is located about 4 kms from the main three terminals and it is connected by a frequent and free shuttle bus (I don't understand some passengers' complaints about connection from Terminal 1 to Terminal 4). It is used by Iberia and Oneworld airlines as well as those airlines that have a code-share agreement with Iberia. It is architecturally impressive and compared to the other terminals feels relatively uncrowded however there are three things that really bother me about it 1) long walks from one gate to another 2) the fact that now you find it impossible to transit from one area to another without having to pass through some Duty Free and 3) any eating place is almost twice as expensive than in the city. Despite its shortcomings one thing that sets Barajas apart from other airports in Europe and the US is the public transport which is excellent from all Terminals. I live in Madrid and moan about Barajas but when I travel via CDG or FRA (not to mention US airports) then I realise that it's not bad after all.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
na

Madrid Barajas Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 5th October 2014

T4 for a BA departure to LHR. Never in my life have I experienced such a dogs breakfast of an airport terminal!. I felt completely lost and totally disorientated. Despite its massive size trying to find an airport employee to assist with navigation was impossible. Signage confusing. Catering facilities the most inappropriate that I've ever seen. God help you if they change your departure gate at the last minute.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
4/10

Madrid Barajas Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 6th September 2014

We arrived at 6.30 am 3 hours before flight time so queue was short. Low rating is because of inconvenient boarding area with lack of places to eat nearby. The walk toward the A gates and blocked until 8 pm. No stores nearby only food in money machines. Though there were only about 15 passengers waiting to get down to Gate A4 the personnel admitted the 1st class passengers to go on to the passenger lounge several minutes before those in economy. We had a 1 hour wait before boarding but there was no food for sale near the gates. The rows of passenger seats in the lounge are arranged in rows school auditorium style 40 or 50 feet from the counter on either side. Uncomfortable seats no tables and inconvenient for noting signage above counter.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
9/10

Madrid Barajas Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 20th May 2014

Arrival and departure into Terminal 4S with British Airways. Arrival efficient - no queues at automated passport control. The waiting time for baggage was similar to other airports of this type. Taxis into the centre of Madrid now operate a flat fee system of €30. At least you know what you are going to pay in advance. The journey was quick as traffic was light on Saturday evening. Departure - This time I took the Metro at €5. Once at the airport the directional arrows take a little bit of getting used to at first. Check in at BA counter quick with no queues. The fast track security also had no queues. Just missed one of the satellite shuttles but the next one came within 3 minutes. I cannot comment on the eating and drinking facilities as I didn't use any. The passage to the gates was through the duty free section - an unavoidable nuisance at a lot of airports now it seems. On time departure and no queuing on the taxiway. Overall an excellent experience.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
5/10

Madrid Barajas Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 13th January 2014

I have been to Madrid-Barajas countless time in my life and it deeply hurts me to say that this once great airport is going down the tubes at an ever-accelerating rate. Back in the mid-2000s (when Spain was a booming economy) Barajas was obviously growing at a staggering rate yet it's three well laid-out terminals were very convenient the staff was friendly it was clean security was a breeze and the airport in general had this unmistakable Spanish charm somehow present throughout it. Then one fateful day T4 opened and for me this marked the beginning of the downfall of Barajas. Since the opening of the nonetheless good-looking terminal Madrid's airport has become nothing more than your typical big airport with astonishingly rude staff members (except those at the check-in desks) dirty facilities (T2 is the only terminal that is somehow clean) laughable shopping experience strict security lines increasingly confusing signalling. But one thing in particular makes Barajas actually a desperate case: the fact that it is increasingly resembling London-Heathrow in every single way possible. Maybe its because Iberia is now BA's pet but everything from the shopping experience to the staff members to even the general atmosphere has become a carbon copy of Heathrow. Such a shame. I hope the management of Barajas takes action as soon as possible.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
10/10

Madrid Barajas Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 4th January 2014

I use Barajas a lot. Your experience of the airport really depends on which terminal you use. Lately I have used Terminal 2 which I think is the best of all of them. Lots of choices of places to eat good views of planes etc and normally very clean. I can speak Spanish so no language issues. Very easy access to Metro also.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 86 Reviews