Airline of the Year  

Lyon Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 47 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"bins overflowing on to the floor"

(United Kingdom)

The filthiest airport I have ever been in in the western world and dirtier than some in the third world I have visited. To savour the full extent of dirt I suggest you visit the eating area in terminal 1b, home of easyJet and other budget airlines. The seating, the tables and the floor look as if the last time they saw a cloth or mop was when the place opened. The plastic baguette and two drinks cost 16 euro. Staff show no interest in cleaning, bins overflowing on to the floor. Absolutely disgusting.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Terrible facilities. Needs upgrade"

(United Kingdom)

Took the Rhône Express from Lyon Part Dieu train station. That was great. Easy. But in the airport the first problem was whether I and several other passengers needed Hall A or Hall B. No indication on the ticket and the Departures screen didn't list all flights. So I took a chance and headed for Hall A which turned out to be correct for BA to London. Then a queue for a woman to look at our ticket. After that security queue which was long, squashed and uncomfortable with parents struggling with children, took about 25 minutes although the screen said it would be 10. Either the staff were not well trained or the passengers were all stupid that day because they kept sending people back to take more clothes off. Some sent away altogether, God knows where. Oh we had to again scan our tickets why? Then another queue for a desk to check passports, then we were spat out into the usual disgusting perfumery hell and nothing else to buy. One duty free shop extremely expensive. Nothing to eat! One tiny bakery cafe. I was early and regretted it. Terrible facilities. Needs upgrade.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely appalling experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Absolutely appalling experience. Huge queues at security yet 6 of the 10 scanners were not open. Took about an hour to get through. Gate not announced until 40 minutes before boarding which meant huge queues at passport control, taking another 50 minutes. This took us past our departure time. Luckily Easyjet kept the gate open and we did not miss our flight - but it was delayed as a result. No communication or apology from the airport. Appalling - avoid.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"all staff were miserable"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Just the worst airport ever I have ever travelled through. Rude condescending security staff, miles to walk in Terminal 3 through a building site and no facilities in departure area - limited seating with yet another queue through security. All staff were miserable. I travelled on a Wednesday morning off peak goodness knows what it would've like at peak time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport ever"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Worst airport ever - and I travel a lot! Taxi had to queue to even arrive at T3 due to airport roadworks (mid morning Thursday in March so not peak time). Then a 10 min queue for boarding pass scan, then 30 min queue for hopeless security (half the passengers seemed to have their liquids in toiletry bags which the staff then had to decant into plastic bags meanwhile holding whole queue up). Next into cramped 'pig pen' queue for passports - counted about 80 people in front of me, 2 booths open, very slow. Would have missed my flight had they not eventually called forward anyone on the BA flight - then had to battle back past everyone in tight queue to get through. Thoroughly hideous and absolutely not what you'd expect of a modern European airport especially flying with BA rather than a budget airline (prepared to suffer more if saving money!). Would recommend avoiding and hope to never go there again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"needlessly badly run"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Needlessly badly run. Can't handle peak passenger flows on Saturdays in good time. Over an hour to get through security, not all scanners open. Boarding cards must be scanned exactly at the x-ray machines, so if someone forgets which pocket the card is in the machine is effectively out of action. As an example of how badly run - the toilet paper doesn't even fit the dispenser. You have to go out of your way to be that bad. Use another airport of you can.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"obviously run by amateurs all over"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | If you want to fly from an efficient airport just cross this one off your list as it is useless in this regard. First of all the car rental company Avis charge extra for everything so you could end up paying over £300 for 4 days only. Check in is so slow, it's like the escargots have taken over, 10 people in our line took 30 minutest to check in. Then I asked for seats at the front and was given seats near the back, friend given 2A/2B so were available, had to go back and swap from row 21 to row 3. Only 1 person on passport control for 6 flights in half an hour, ridiculous as there are 4 windows. To top it off the coffee bar had one person serving so the queue was over 30 minutes wait. Obviously run by amateurs all over so if you want good airport experience fly through Geneva or Milan or Turin for trips to the Alps. Oh now they say flight delay for one hour but no reason given over tannoy, better explanations please for flyers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no resources for an international airport"

(United Kingdom)

45 minute security queue for first flight of the day at Lyon Airport - flight left late and missed landing slot at LHR. One desk open at security - this airport has been a continued joke for twenty years - our arrival was the same with one immigration desk open at 11pm and a long wait. This has no resources for an international airport. Most of the staff don't really care as well. I will choose not to fly through LYS.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Terminal 3 departures a farce"

(United Kingdom)

Terminal 3 departures a farce. Building works never ending, which means a 50 minute queue in security at a peak time (peak - 3 flights leaving!). Most annoyingly, they have 6 security lanes but only staff 2 due to understaffing. Feel more like cattle than a customer.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"can't handle peak times"

(France)

What a shame, good choice of flights but terribly pricey connections to Lyon. I fly every week from Lyon throughout Europe for my work and I am horrified by the "performance" of the security and border control who are visibly understaffed and can't handle peak times. Two simultaneous flights is enough for you to spend 20 minutes at border control so you can exit the airport, ridiculous! The problem with the shops is not quality but quantity as there are barely any and you often need to queue (again) for coffee and a sandwich. Come on Lyon - get your act together.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1 to 10 of 45 Reviews