Lyon Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 58 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"dysfunctional for several reasons"

(United States)

Unverified | I spend summers in the area and land and depart from this airport. It is dysfunctional for several reasons: its size and layout incapable of handling nearly 10 millions yearly passengers, but mostly the carelessness and disregard of employees at the baggage control area. I’ll describe the latest incident that says it all. My wife has a metallic hip replacement that beeps whenever she goes through an airport detection device. After going through the device, she advises the security guard of her predicament, which usually prompts the guard to pass a hand-held detection device by her hip to confirm the origin of the beep. This has been our experience at many international airports we’ve gone through over the last 12 months including Orlando, Miami & Daytona Beach, Florida, Berlin, Germany, Barcelona and Seville, Spain, Charlottesville, North Carolina, and Bogotá, Colombia. In its infinite wisdom, the Saint Éxupéry Airport has a different procedure: When my wife’s hip triggered the beep, she had to remove her shoes, put them through the baggage scanning device, and walk through the device again. After the second beep, she had to go through the humiliating experience of being palpated throughout. When I asked why they don’t use a hand-held device instead of hands, their answer was “those are the rules” adding “that’s how it’s done anywhere in the world.” Then we walked towards passport control where there were at least 50 people standing waiting for someone to man the booths. After waiting about 15 minutes, I went back to baggage control to find out what caused the delay and was told, “that’s why you have to arrive 3 hours before your flight”.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Queues are everywhere"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | On arrival to Lyon in Terminal 1B there is nowhere to eat or get cash for the taxis outside. This is basic in comparison to trying to depart from this airport. On departure, don't be fooled by thinking that the new appearance of the airport means its efficient or an enjoyable place to be. By road you can see the airport for the 20 minutes it takes to drive the ring roads around but then you have to walk miles again to get to your terminal. Why aren't there shuttles? Queues are everywhere - five flights leaving our terminal around the same time yet the luggage screening and security sections had one belt open and one person checking the flagged luggage. You have to walk miles to get to anywhere in the airport. After walking 30 mins to our departure area there is one tiny place to eat which had five sandwiches. Not five types of sandwiches, just five actual sandwiches to feed over 300 people. Seating is few and far between and the wait for passport checks before boarding was an hour - bearing in mind our gate information only came up 50 minutes before take off. They had the capacity for six people to be checking passports yet they had two on shift. Again, five flights are leaving the airport and boarding at the same time. This of course, delayed our flight. The whole experience was frustrating and ridiculous.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"experience was a nightmare"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | Flew from Lyon airport yesterday afternoon after a fantastic family holiday in The Alps. The experience was a nightmare starting with spiralling unorganised queues in departure lounge. Skeleton staff available to answer queries. The worst of all was the queue at airport police check. Queueing for one and half hours with 3 young kids, horrendous experience. It made no sense at all. Our flight then delayed for 1 hour due to this madness. Nice to arrive in Dublin airport to calm and order.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Appalling is the only thing I can say"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Worst experience ever, one hour queuing to get to print boarding pass, then another hour and a half to show my passport. I wanted to buy a present in the shop but no time left to go! Honestly was like a third world country and if I ever go to Lyon again I'll go by train. Appalling is the only thing I can say.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"staff have been very friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I'm currently waiting in the departure area of Lyon Airport, having had a very nice cheese and ham baguette and a piece of cake and drink (just under 9 Euros). All staff have been very friendly and there have been no queues at passport or security. It is Tuesday afternoon so maybe it's just a quiet time at the airport. I really don't recognise the criticism of staff in other reviews. Even the woman running the Alto cafe alone, who is working her backside off, is still pleasant and able to smile at customers. If you want a greater choice of food, then eat in one of the consessions before you go through security. We were happier not taking the risk time-wise and were perfectly happy with our sandwich / cake combo airside.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Lyon Airport keeps disappointing"

(France)

Unverified | Sadly, Lyon Airport keeps disappointing with very poor passport control. Morning business flights leaving around 7 and no one mans the passport booths. People have to go through security then wait for border control to show up after their coffee break. I know border control is an independent authority from the airport but a minimum cooperation/service-level is required. What a shame for an already expensive and not very well planned airport, with long walking distances and poor transport connections.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Simply terrible"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Simply terrible. It's all been said before, you walk for a long way between terminals, car rental a bus away, terrible food and I mean really awful and expensive and of course, the crowning disaster is passport control - 5 booths and 1 person working. Your flight gets delayed because of their indifferent incompetence. How many people need to complain for them to change it. Drive, train or find another airport. Never, never, use Lyon airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"2 hours through passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Over 2 hours to go through passport control at Lyon airport. No consideration whatsoever was given to customers. Worst experience and this is the second time this happened to me in July here. There is a strong need to get their things together and redefine their non existing organisation plan.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"really let down by terrible organisation"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Really one of the worst airports in Europe. Yet it could be one of the best. It's small and there are not many flights so it should be great. However it's really let down by terrible organisation. It is so bad that your airline might cancel your flight at the last minutes instead of risking damaging their punctuality statistics because they had the whole of the flight for the passengers or because they missed their landing slots on the way home. Passport control takes hours because there are not enough passport officers and they seem to be working tomorrow. There are not enough security lines. There is no Fastrack in t1. It really is the sort of airport but you expect to see in a soviet country 30 years ago.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"2 hour queue for passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | 2 hour queue for passport control on departure at Lyon Airport with no explanation or apology. Hundreds of people all crammed into small room in the queue which started before even getting into departures. Flight was therefore delayed too. However easy arrival and quick passport control on way in.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 56 Reviews