Lyon Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 96 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Departure was a joke"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | No issues on arrival. No queues and unlike Manchester you get your Euro back when you return your baggage trolley. Departure was a joke. The checkin staff for a small aircraft could not have been slower if they had tried. Queue only had about 50 people in front of us and they took 45 minutes to process them. We then had a long walk back to the departure gates which are in the new part of the terminal - check in was in the old part. No big queue at security and as such was a far more pleasant experience than at Manchester. The new airport is soulless. Just one huge shop then directed upstairs to departures from Gates C. Warning if you are going up there to any Gate starting with C there are no shops, cafes or anything and hardly any facilities to buy water etc. We resorted to a vending machine. The whole place just seems disorganised and lacking in facilities, seating and ambience. The old airport Terminal 1 was so much better. The shop was virtually empty of people unlike the departure areas.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"disaster of an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A disaster of an airport, at least the “new” terminal 1 used by BA. It took an hour to get through passport control on arrival, with only 2 desks open for multiple flights. Departure was worse - huge queues for security, then passport control was so bad we weren’t even allowed to join the queue until after our flight was supposed to leave, and then took another hour of queuing to get through the 2 open desks. At departure time only 20 people were at the gate. I would choose to fly an hour’s drive than risk flying through here again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"don't know what the word service means"

(France)

Not Verified | Terminal 1, where Lufthansa takes off, is a newly built airport. During the last 6 months I had to fly from this terminal 14 times and I detected such a lot of problems, never seen in a new airport before. Here are a few: At the passport check they forgot to install an air con which works, the check in agents are very unfriendly and rough. The floor is dirty if you look into the corners, the toilets are dirty. The english of the check in agents is very bad, at some check in terminals the printer doesn't work. If you have a handicap and you want to go upstairs, try to find the elevator. If you have to wait in the entrance hall for somebody who will arrive you can't sit down because there are only a few seats. There are no interesting shops, the queues at the restaurants are long and the restaurants are not very well organized with only one ore two agents in the rush hours. The signs in the entrance hall are only for younger people, if you are older you have to go in front of the signs to read, I think in France they don't know what the word service means and this Terminal is a bad example.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"information hard to come by"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Disorganised! Up to date information hard to come by, arrivals and departures boards several hours behind. Nothing about which terminal or check in counter to go to until everything well underway so had to keep eyes open and work it out for myself. Not enough staff to process passengers at any stage - check in, security and passport control. Departure gates kept changing, again didn’t find out until I got to it. Toilets not checked regularly, done left filthy for hours and supplies running out. Biometric passport scanners not working. Most inefficient airport I have been to.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is a real nightmare"

(France)

Not Verified | This airport is a real nightmare and a shame. Several hundred people queueing with only 2 policeman controling passports. European passports line closed. Une veritable honte. Le probleme est connu et ne change malheureusement pas.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"I was pleasantly surprised"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I wasn’t expecting much after reading the reviews on here but I was pleasantly surprised by my experience both arriving and departing this airport (specifically terminal 1). Didn’t have an issue with long queues at any point. Was impressed by the volume of staff when departing helping you proceed quickly through the security checkpoint. My friend had further checks done to some of her belongings which was handled quickly/professionally. The departure lounge was light/airy with seating absolutely everywhere along with sockets (both power/USB) in abundance. The food options were plentiful, if not slightly over priced (which is expected as far as airports go), was really surprised by the offerings of a place called EXKi as the food really was outstanding. The entire airport architecturally is impressive and helps enforce a feeling of calm. Honestly if you think you’ve been to a bad airport try flying through Luton. The only bad thing I really have to say is it’s a shame the airports operators (who also operate the tram to central Lyon) don’t offer any alternative public transportation service to get into Lyon (not even a bus). As a result they hold a monopoly and the prices are extortionate (€16 one way).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"most poorly organised airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Well here I am again experiencing Europe’s most poorly organised airport. I have now been sitting on the plane over an hour waiting for people to fight their way through departure security to reach the gate. What a bunch of complete useless idiots must run this place. Honestly a child could do a better job. Imagine the stress caused to the people late in the queue. This kind of incompetence is close to criminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"hemmed in like cattle"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We were called to our gate for the Easyjet flight to London. This meant passing through police control. However the police were at lunch. We stood for half an hour between two gates, hemmed in like cattle, while the police finished eating and turned up at 2pm. There were announcements in French so fast that the French couldn't understand and in English spoken by someone who hardly speaks English so that the Brits understood nothing. The police clearly don't care. Oh and they let a woman with a full face veil past control without even looking at her face. In France the full face veil is banned in public spaces and I would have thought that, in an airport, the person should be checked as to who might be under that veil. Once we got through the police control we had to wait in a lounge with almost no seats. I found a table to park but there were many elderly people forced to stand yet again. Terrible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"worst airport I've experienced"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst new airport I've experienced. Statist architecture nightmare. No thought for customer experience. Car rental 20min+ 2km walk from terminal. Or wait for bus with no wait time indicator. Terrible signage. Crazy long queue at security with stupid organisation. 30min + on Tue morning. No priority line. Another 15min queue at immigration. No priority. Avoid they have no clue.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Horrible experience"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Terminal 1 B is a disgrace. Security screening is disorganised. Long queues, stupid tray system that is not efficient, staff that are not well trained. Flying to Belgium means you have to go through passport control. The electronic passport system is not working. Horrible experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 95 Reviews