Lyon Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 55 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Appalling is the only thing I can say"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Worst experience ever, one hour queuing to get to print boarding pass, then another hour and a half to show my passport. I wanted to buy a present in the shop but no time left to go! Honestly was like a third world country and if I ever go to Lyon again I'll go by train. Appalling is the only thing I can say.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"staff have been very friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I'm currently waiting in the departure area of Lyon Airport, having had a very nice cheese and ham baguette and a piece of cake and drink (just under 9 Euros). All staff have been very friendly and there have been no queues at passport or security. It is Tuesday afternoon so maybe it's just a quiet time at the airport. I really don't recognise the criticism of staff in other reviews. Even the woman running the Alto cafe alone, who is working her backside off, is still pleasant and able to smile at customers. If you want a greater choice of food, then eat in one of the consessions before you go through security. We were happier not taking the risk time-wise and were perfectly happy with our sandwich / cake combo airside.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Lyon Airport keeps disappointing"

(France)

Unverified | Sadly, Lyon Airport keeps disappointing with very poor passport control. Morning business flights leaving around 7 and no one mans the passport booths. People have to go through security then wait for border control to show up after their coffee break. I know border control is an independent authority from the airport but a minimum cooperation/service-level is required. What a shame for an already expensive and not very well planned airport, with long walking distances and poor transport connections.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Simply terrible"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Simply terrible. It's all been said before, you walk for a long way between terminals, car rental a bus away, terrible food and I mean really awful and expensive and of course, the crowning disaster is passport control - 5 booths and 1 person working. Your flight gets delayed because of their indifferent incompetence. How many people need to complain for them to change it. Drive, train or find another airport. Never, never, use Lyon airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"2 hours through passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Over 2 hours to go through passport control at Lyon airport. No consideration whatsoever was given to customers. Worst experience and this is the second time this happened to me in July here. There is a strong need to get their things together and redefine their non existing organisation plan.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"really let down by terrible organisation"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Really one of the worst airports in Europe. Yet it could be one of the best. It's small and there are not many flights so it should be great. However it's really let down by terrible organisation. It is so bad that your airline might cancel your flight at the last minutes instead of risking damaging their punctuality statistics because they had the whole of the flight for the passengers or because they missed their landing slots on the way home. Passport control takes hours because there are not enough passport officers and they seem to be working tomorrow. There are not enough security lines. There is no Fastrack in t1. It really is the sort of airport but you expect to see in a soviet country 30 years ago.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"2 hour queue for passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | 2 hour queue for passport control on departure at Lyon Airport with no explanation or apology. Hundreds of people all crammed into small room in the queue which started before even getting into departures. Flight was therefore delayed too. However easy arrival and quick passport control on way in.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is really badly organized"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Lyon airport is really badly organized. Need to walk great lengths to get to gates. Car rentals reachable only by bus which comes every 10 mins. Arriving at new terminal you have to walk 20m before getting to the bus stop. You walk through long corridors which are extremely hot because of roof which traps the heat inside. On departing there were 6 flights leaving around the same time. Only two people working at passport control out six available desks. Probably 300 people waiting to get their passport checked. Took them 20 minute to call another guy, 3 out of 6. Overall a really bad experience. Avoid flying to Lyon airport unless necessary.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"bins overflowing on to the floor"

(United Kingdom)

The filthiest airport I have ever been in in the western world and dirtier than some in the third world I have visited. To savour the full extent of dirt I suggest you visit the eating area in terminal 1b, home of easyJet and other budget airlines. The seating, the tables and the floor look as if the last time they saw a cloth or mop was when the place opened. The plastic baguette and two drinks cost 16 euro. Staff show no interest in cleaning, bins overflowing on to the floor. Absolutely disgusting.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Terrible facilities. Needs upgrade"

(United Kingdom)

Took the Rhône Express from Lyon Part Dieu train station. That was great. Easy. But in the airport the first problem was whether I and several other passengers needed Hall A or Hall B. No indication on the ticket and the Departures screen didn't list all flights. So I took a chance and headed for Hall A which turned out to be correct for BA to London. Then a queue for a woman to look at our ticket. After that security queue which was long, squashed and uncomfortable with parents struggling with children, took about 25 minutes although the screen said it would be 10. Either the staff were not well trained or the passengers were all stupid that day because they kept sending people back to take more clothes off. Some sent away altogether, God knows where. Oh we had to again scan our tickets why? Then another queue for a desk to check passports, then we were spat out into the usual disgusting perfumery hell and nothing else to buy. One duty free shop extremely expensive. Nothing to eat! One tiny bakery cafe. I was early and regretted it. Terrible facilities. Needs upgrade.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 53 Reviews