Luanda Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 20 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"have never seen such a horrible airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have travelled all over the world including countries of lower economic standards such as Indonesia, India and parts of China. I have never seen such a horrible airport. Came to airport, can’t tell where to go with nobody to help or any signs. Wait through lines to get boarding pass. Then wait at immigration. Immigration decided to take a 1 hour break for which nobody got through. Afterwards they take all your Angolan currency as part of a government regulatory requirement but don’t warn you until there’s only one thing to do, give it to them. Ticket said plane departs 3.15 and I can board 3.30. Screen says board at 4.40 on time. 4 comes and nobody knows anything. People are rude, food should not be called food. I liked Angola more than I thought I would but for this airport dismal would be a understatement.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"hot with no proper ventilation"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Luanda Airport: This is hell on earth. An abomination. It's hot with no proper ventilation. It's dirty. It stinks. The staff are not just downright rude, they actively show their disrespect for travelers in every possible way. They are wholly incompetent and disorganised. They dont inform anyone of what is happening, they merely bark or shout orders at you as if they are herding slaves onto a ship destined for hell. There is no kindness, grace towards - or understanding of - the weary traveller's plight. They charge exorbitant prices for no choice of food or drink. You can't even buy, at a high price, a bottle of water anywhere. I will be writing to more authorities about this. And the airline TAAG will lose custom because surely anyone who savours their sanity will do everything in their power never to have to spend another minute in Luanda Airport. Shame, shame, shame on you, Angola. Your main port and transit point is so atrocious, one can only wonder at how awful a visit to your country must be. As a gateway, your airport should be the example you want the world to see. How utterly lamentable that you should allow this despicable place to continue operating at all. Absolute hell.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"One of the worst airports in the world"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | One of the worst airports in the world. People cutting the line, no control from the staff. On the way out, there were people just going through the "nationals" line, since there's no control. Lines for immigration on arrival and departure, take over one hour. Also for security check on departure, another hour, in the evening. Toilets are dirty, air-conditioning does not cope with amount of people, staff are rude and often do not understand English.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"credit where it's due"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Although shabby and expensive, I have to give credit where credit where it's due. While waiting to board my flight, I was asked for my boarding pass, then told that my suitcase had broken open and that I was to go with them to verify that my belongings were all there! I followed the man into the bowels of the airport, to find that the suitcase was not mine. It belonged to someone from Sao Tome. Our luggage numbers were similar. Thanks anyway Luanda Airport, Obrigada para a sua atencao!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

" I was met with dirty floors"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | I flew TAAG Airlines from Johannesburg to Lisbon via Luanda. Arriving at Luanda Airport the luggage scanner was out of order therefore all luggage was opened by hand which made people impatient and moody as this was early in the morning. On my visit to the Ladies toilets I was met with dirty floors, no toilet paper, no soap in the soap holders, no paper towels cubicle door was stuck with old, yellow masking tape, only one water basin tap working, cubicle door handle broken off, toilet seat missing. Just the most awful toilets! I went looking for the janitor and I asked a young girl dressed with a cleaner uniform if she knew who was the responsible cleaner which she replied that she was the cleaner for the cafe and didn't know who the responsible janitor for the toilets was. I then went looking for the janitor or a security guard and there was one in sight so I returned to the Ladies toilet to find the cleaning lady spraying toilet spray in the air and making the floor wetter and stickier. I politely asked her to get me some toilet paper and hand soap which she rudely stormed off sighing. On her return she placed the toilet roll on the basin and walked out. I then returned to the corridor seat to wait for our delayed plane, there are very few seats and I noticed a young family sitting on the floor with their child sleeping on their lap (these were overseas tourists). I also happen to notice a Cleaning Service employee with a ladder and a cloth in his hand he put his ladder next to the widow and with a dirty cloth proceeded to wipe the window and after 2 wipes he left without the ladder and was never seen again. The air conditioners filters are so dirty that is the reason why they not functioning properly. When finally we were asked to board go down to Gate 4 (the one and only gate) they then realized that the Botswana flight was to go down first before our flight and they had made a mistake. Now the ill and elderly people had to climb up the staircase as there is only one escalator and its going downwards. To date we still don't know the reason why there was a 3 hours delay. There is definitely a lack of communication and professionalism within the staff. Finally I got to sit on the plane (TAAG) where the seat was soiled with old food and a cockroach walking across it, the lady seated next to me was ready to jump when she saw it. In this day and age I can't see why Luanda Airport needs to be so inferior when they are such a wealthy country? They should invest in training staff and getting supervisors to watch over their outside contractors, if not they might as well not function at all.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"worst airport I've ever seen"

(Argentina)

Trip Verified | The worst airport I've ever seen. Everything is expensive (as is in Luanda). The only place with air conditioner is the duty free shop. Not many things to do. Bathrooms are awful smelly. But the worst thing about the airport is that all of TAAG's flights board through the same gate (number 4). So there you are, crammed in the boarding area with passengers of 2 or 3 other flights, waiting to go to the bus that takes you to the plane. No Wi Fi that worked. In every flight we saw boarding there there was at least one passenger that didn't make it in each flight. So there was this weird constant scene of people shouting that they were not late and that it was the airports personnel fault.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a most uncomfortable experience"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Shockingly expensive, extremely limited facilities and just plain horrid aesthetics make a stop-over at this airport a most uncomfortable experience. One of the two places that pretends to be a restaurant charges €8 to enter. The "food" looks like it was cooked in a hospital kitchen, and is served by surly staff with zero command of English. To be avoided at all cost.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
na

Luanda Airport customer review

(Sweden)

This Airport is horrible the food is the lowest quality you can imagine. The staff are unfriendly and the chairs that you can use while waiting in the cafeteria are really bad. But there is one positive thing: they have Heineken beer!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
3/10

Luanda Airport customer review

Airport was refurbished 2 years ago. Whilst it has improved markedly it retains many problems. A limited number of check-in desks and numbers 1-6 have been broken for months. You still need to arrive early for your flight as all airlines except TAAG have a very limited number of desks available to share for check-in. Both landside and airside the selection of restaurants has improved markedly. Landside an unremarkable pizza is $25 and a pretty poor hamburger is $18. Airside is slightly more expensive. The lavatories frequently still do not have toilet paper or soap but are generally much cleaner than they used to be. Some even have lockable doors these days. It seems the attitude is that by spending on a bit of bling this will make everything ok rather than extending the airport to increase its capacity. This airport only has two gates. One quite nice one for TAAG and another for every other airline. When two airlines are trying to board using the same gate this often means there are not enough seats.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
4/10

Luanda Airport customer review

(Angola)

The airport is generally well managed with efficient immigration both for arrival and departure. The place is well kept and maintained. It took me only 5 minutes to clear immigration. Staff are courteous and speak some English. The luggage carousal is efficient and customs staff polite. There may be some time taken at the customs screening as passengers queue up at the scanners but not for long. Overall a good experience.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 19 Reviews