Top 100 Airlines  

Los Angeles LAX Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 478 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"doesn't have a wow factor"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew round-trip on Virgin Atlantic from LAX Terminal 2. If you are the kind of traveler who likes to walk around and explore, you will find Terminal 2 to be very small. This is a newly refurbished terminal that is well equipped, but doesn't have a "wow factor". While returning back from England, I used Automated Passport Control kiosks at Terminal 2. I was done with immigration, baggage claim, and customs in one hour.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"a very disorganised approach"

(United States)

Missed connection despite 3 hrs between international flight and domestic connection. Arrived 9.30am Wednesday and despite having A2 Visa which staff do not understand directed to long queues. All electronic machines were not working and ground staff were not co-coordinating, it was a very disorganised approach. After an hour and 3 people from the front of queue, they closed our queue and made us go back to the end of long lines so that we were behind newly arrived flights so back further than where we started an hour previous. There is no strategic organised approach and very few customs staff processing. All in it took 3 hrs but only because the staff do not take a coordinated approach. The level of incompetence was highly evident. The staff do not understand A2 visas, the signage is poor, the area was hot, stuffy and there was not a single announcement as to what was causing the delay and no apology for delay. I now understand why I have been told so many times to avoid LAX. I would plan travel not to use this subpar facility again.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"refurbished terminal makes a good impression"

(United Kingdom)

I tried to avoid Los Angeles LAX for immigration due to long lines. Could not get another flight than arriving at LAX from Europe. I was surprised how fast and efficient the new immigration process at the Tom Bradley terminal is. Unlike 2 hours waiting as in the past, the self-service kiosks for ESTA travellers speed the process up a lot. I was thru all in about 40 minutes, though it was very busy. Leaving from Tom Bradley was alright. The lines for security were rather long and they do not provide any bins for small items - kind of strange as all items likes watches, phones, wallets etc had to be put in the carry-on. Still it went on fairly fast and the refurbished terminal makes a good impression.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"this situation was ridiculous"

(United States)

Verified Review | I missed my connecting flight due to air traffic control and we needed to ground at a different airport to refuel, customer service told me it was due to weather and no vouchers will be offered. The next available flight after waiting in two different lines for hours is 11 hours after I arrived. For such a big international airport the way the staff dealth with this situation was ridiculous.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"a very pleasant experience"

(Hong Kong)

Had a very pleasant experience at LAX. I was expecting the worst with memories from a few years ago. It has improved tremendously with a very smooth and fast arrival at TBIT. Electronic passport check was fast. I still had to fill in a blue form that no-one ever took? Had a brief and friendly conversation with an immigration officer and then quickly got bags off of carousel. Transferred to Terminal 2 which was pretty ordinary at check-in but once through security, which was very fast and security personnel were efficient and at least, civil. There were good food and drink options and adequate shopping. Toilets were clean and plentiful. WiFi was good. All in all, a very pleasant experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"overall experience was positive"

(Australia)

I notice a lot of negative reviews but overall mine was positive, shops were a bit limited in international area but hey its a airport not a mall I guess. Best part was staff - from the porters to the staff to the super serious immigration guys, everyone doing their jobs. One guy in particular was super helpful when it came to organising elderly and disabled travel for passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"quick moving lines"

(United Kingdom)

I found Los Angeles LAX nice and clean with quick moving lines and polite customs staff. The e-machines used to enter the country for US citizens were efficient and easy to use and I only disliked the hectic arrival area once I was landside.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"one big waiting game"

(Netherlands)

Los Angeles LAX is completely congested with far too much waiting - not a convenience for travelers as it's one big waiting game. This is not how one wishes to remember a visit to the US or to California. The experience is so much better at many other airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"wouldn't recommend it"

(United States)

Traveled from LAX Terminal 4 during round-trip on American Airlines to Anchorage, Alaska. The check-in and baggage drop-off situation at T4 is quite messy during evening hours as there are a few international flights (to England, Japan and Brazil) that operate from T4 during that time. Many international passengers have trouble with the self-serve kiosk check-in and there aren't enough agents to help them. The baggage drop-off line was also long. Seating in T4 is cramped. While returning back from Anchorage (flight arrived early at 5:30am), baggage claim at LAX took longer than usual. Based on my experience with Terminal 4 at LAX, I wouldn't recommend it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"improved customs and immigration"

(United States)

The one area where LAX Terminal 7 has improved the most is in customs and immigration. While returning from London, I was able to go through immigration, customs and baggage claim in less than 30 minutes. Although the United B777 parked at Terminal 7, by the time you exit the building after completing all the formalities, you are in Terminal 6. So, if you have family or friends coming to receive you from an international United flight, you want them to wait for you in Terminal 6 (used by Alaska Airlines). I hope in future, United and LAX can fix this issue to make it less confusing for passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes