Top 100 Airlines  

Los Angeles LAX Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 455 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"airport is so miserable"

(United States)

This airport is so miserable that if it were not for some of the employees it would be a loser. Need to change from domestic to international? Good luck on how to know where to go and how to get there. Coming back is worse. No signage to direct you. Ask an employee for help and you get a blank stare. You have to walk several terminals away. After traveling 12+ hours and tired that's just what you feel up to. Glad my wife wasn't with me as her knees couldn't handle it. Once you get to the terminal you still are not sure where to go. No, or few, signs to guide you. You are inside the terminal and can't find the way upstairs until you go outside. Filthy. In fairness the international terminal is newer and cleaner. But management appears to be missing in action. I know it's a very old airport, but some paint and general upkeep, coupled with some good old fashion housecleaning can't be that hard. Is this what they let their homes look like? However there were a couple of good marks for LAX. Most, but not all, of the people were helpful. Lady at baggage claim was exceptional in finding a suitcase that hadn't been put on the belt (why wasn't it put on the belt? Four other normal look bags weren't either). She stayed on it and got the people in the dark chambers that move the baggage around to go back and "look". " Here they are someone says.. Guess we didn't off load them from the wagon." Thank goodness for her and making sure we were taken care of. Three other people were also relived Lots more to find wrong, but in one of the largest cities in the nation it's pretty sad when this is the best they can do. No evidence of any planning. No evidence of any coordination. Certainly no evidence of any management.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff are very unhelpful"

(United Kingdom)

What a disgrace. Trying to depart from Tom Bradley airport was not a pleasant experience, the staff are very unhelpful which is a complete contradiction to the rest of the experience we had in America. Thankfully an Air New Zealand representative helped pull us and all its other passengers to try and get us through security in time to catch our flight. I had already asked 2 LAX staff for assistance, they both just shrugged, one of them went on texting. We thought our arrival was bad, nearly 3 hours from landing to picking up rental car, but departures took the stress to a whole new level. I would recommend anyone flying to USA to use any other airport, LAX is not good for your health or wellbeing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"unpleasant and dysfunctional"

(Australia)

Los Angeles LAX is a disgrace. It is filthy with old stained carpets. Appalling toilets which smelled like they had not been cleaned for a long time. The "disabled facilities" are a joke. Two cubicles a couple of feet longer and wider than their smelly neighbours. There is a nursing room which has a small chair in an otherwise empty room with no facility to change diapers or wash hands. The airport is very badly organised with a long trek from the International Terminal to the domestic. Good luck finding a shuttle bus. The process for transfer of luggage from International to a domestic flight is physically demanding and time consuming. There seem to be queues to join queues. There is some crazy system whereby the arriving plane has to wait for a loading bay to become vacant. This took 20 minutes. Perhaps the airport has just had too many demands put on it. As the Pacific Ocean departure and arrival point as well as being an important domestic hub it is unpleasant and dysfunctional.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"my advice is to avoid LAX"

(Dominican Republic)

More than 10 years ago, I wrote about this dreadful airport, not dreaming it could get worse for international passengers. Yesterday, my NZ flight was off loaded at what they call a remote gate and passengers were herded and jammed into buses for processing in the terminal. On arrival, there was barely enough room to enter the hall and there were crews from at least 7 planes waiting their turn. This was about 2 pm and simply nothing was happening. Two hours later and very little was happening and I felt so sorry for mothers with young children and for the informed. What a welcome to the USA. My strong advice is to go extreme lengths to avoid LAX. It will ruin your journey
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"avoid at all costs"

(United States)

Avoid international departures in Los Angeles from the Tom Bradley terminal at all costs - unless you enjoy waiting in line for 1 to 1.5 hours. Absolutely pathetic. Lines are so bad, people are held at check-in prior to escalator to the security level. TSA will tell you it's to ensure your security, but anyone who travels internationally knows better - other international hubs are far more efficient, and professional. Of course, if security was better staffed (more staff) it would go a long way in reducing the problem. LAX fixed the arrival problems over the last year or so - now focus on fixing the departure problems.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"line for security was so long"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I have traveled throughout the world, through many airports, so in saying that, I want this feedback to be as objective as possible. On April 27th I flew home to Australia from LAX. The line for security was so long, I had to queue through watching many people frustrated as they were held up for flights that were about to board or were boarding. May I make one very useful recommendation? Have a priority queue at security, for all the passengers whose flights are currently boarding. Other airports around the world do this, and have airport staff pointing those quests that are on a flight that is currently boarding, to the priority queue. It works well and efficiently and will eliminate the sudden rush of passengers who are trying to get through the long security line to their flights – which in turn will reduce the amount of delayed flights that are moving out of your airport. As mentioned, this method works in other airports around the world, and I believe can be successfully administered at LAX. Other passengers who have ample time for the security queue will not mind those passengers who are about to miss a flight, to move to a priority queue which is solely for guests who are on a flight that is currently boarding. I understand the budget cuts have affected the airport but this is a simple method that does not require extra staff but is better management of the current staff allocations. I, along with many other quests, were very disappointed at the nonchalant nature of the staff at LAX who showed no sense of urgency, empathy or even concern for those passengers whose flights were about to leave.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport for making connections"

(United States)

This is the worst airport for making connections to and from Canada and the US. Even though we cleared US Customs in Vancouver, we landed at an international terminal at LAX. This terminal was not connected to the domestic US terminals and we had to travel across the entire airport and re-enter another terminal to meet our flight. We had to go through TSA screening again and barely made our flight even though we had a 2 hour layover. If this airport wants to be a major international hub, then it must do something about the poor way transit passengers are handled. This airport is old and this situation has been the same forever. I will avoid making connections in the airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"crowded and dirty"

(Canada)

This has to be one of the most disappointing airports I fly to. It is invariably crowded and dirty with inadequate seating. The baggae, check-in and security areas are out of the 1960's. The real problem is that the airport has not had any significant upgrades in far too long. This airport and most of the terminals [Terminal 2 in this case] are woefully inadequate for what is expected of them and are a disgrace to the wonderful city of Los Angeles.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it was completely filthy"

(United States)

It was completely filthy, I didn't go into one area where the tile floors were clean. Dried up spills dominated every eating facility to the point I could barely stomach my food. The escalator to the baggage claim was filthy and the baggage claim area was filthy, especially the floors. I understand it's a busy airport, but you obviously need more people cleaning.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"one hodgepodge mess"

(United States)

I have traveled extensively both domestically and internationally out of LAX for the last 25 years, and I find that this airport is probably one of the most outdated of all the airports that I go through. The airport seems to be out of the 1960s with an external appearance that defies description. Though it looks like they're working on the facilities it still falls far behind other airports in the area, particularly as it has no public transportation like a people mover or link to subways. Other problems are dirty facilities, poor lighting, luggage retrieval that sometimes takes up to a half an hour to 45 minutes. The driving in and out of the airport is just a nightmare. There's no central facility for car rental or hotels and buses practically crowd out all other vehicles. At most other major airports there are separate lanes for pick up by cars and livery services as well as buses; but at LAX they all crowd into one lane - it's crazy! They have done something good recently by creating areas to pick up Uber cars - that's a big improvement! But in general nothing is consistent here at this airport which - architecture, parking and facilities in general - it's all one hodgepodge mess.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no