Top 100 Airlines  

London Stansted Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 624 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"queues were reasonable"

(United Kingdom)

I had a surprisingly positive and smooth experience through STN this weekend (departure Friday evening, 22 April and arrival Sunday evening, 24 April). Amazingly, at all points of my journey the queues were reasonable. I don't think I had to wait more than ten minutes to get through security when departing, and passport control on arrival was similar. Admittedly, I did not take the e-passport gates, as I noticed these were taking considerably longer. I suspect this relatively positive experience was due to fewer travelers (London marathon keeping everyone here/bringing travelers in the other direction than myself?), as I sadly have experienced all the bad stuff on a Friday/Sunday with masses of people too, and ultimately agree that this airport is operating beyond capacity.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"nothing but queues"

(United Kingdom)

If I never have to travel from this wretched place, it'll be too soon. Everything about the airport is unpleasant, whereas 15 years ago it was quite pleasant. But it's nothing but queues and hideous white melamine boarding herding travellers into line for check-in and then the same again for security. Once through that, it's a long, meandering trudge past shops until the food area is reached - and if you don't want to eat, then there's hardly anywhere to sit. Once the flight is announced it's on to the shuttle train to yet another set of queues at the satellite boarding area. Then a walk in the open to the aircraft. Returning is even worse. Walk across the tarmac, up the steps and down 2 escalators to a dangerously inadequate single car shuttle. If this isn't a health and safety hazard, then I don't know what is. Arriving at the terminal, it's a race to the zig-zag maze at the woefully slow 'e-passport' gates. Then a further wait for hold baggage - and it's really great to find that the gents' lavatory is closed. Happiness is Stansted in the rear view mirror. I hope I never have to travel from this wretched place again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"hour long queues"

(United Kingdom)

Without doubt the worst airport in the world. Huge queues for departure security, hour long queues for passport control. No free drop off or collection without wasting 40 minutes in busses. Car rental now off airport wasting 40 minutes in shuttle busses. Extremely irritating and inaccurate posters saying how well they are doing, Stansted seems to go out of its way to make travel difficult and unpleasant.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"arrival at a horrible airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | What's happened to UK border control? E-passport readers just make the queues longer and mean there aren't enough people. The zig zag roping just means a horrible arrival at a horrible airport. Things here are definitely worse and it looks like they really don't care! The planes don't even land near the terminal these days.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a dreadful experience"

(Italy)

What a dreadful experience! Long queues with rude and impatient staff. The compulsory path through the overpriced shopping centre, the far too few seats available and late information on the flight gate are sneaky and underhand ways to force passengers to part with as much money as possible. Together with keeping so many different people together in a small area (families with children apt to tantrums and tears, youngsters with high noise level thresholds, business travellers) makes for a frustrated and irate passenger as opposed to a happy and satisfied customer.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"easy passage through Stansted today"

(France)

Unbelievably easy passage through Stansted today, starting at 9.30 am with security control. Minimal wait, and the 'walk of shame' through the shopping centre was really 'muggers' alley' because the shop assistants outnumbered the passing travellers by 10 to 1. More seating space has now become available since the 'revamp' of the shops seems to have been completed, but in high season or at peak periods of the day, this may well be inadequate. The toilets close to the Aspire lounge were poorly maintained. 45 mins notification of the gate before a flight departure is really cutting it too fine, even if the suggested timings from the 'departure lounge' are posted, especially for Ryanair flights at the end of the former domestic pier (gates 87-88) or the Ryanair pier (gates 54 to 50) and can lead to a dense mass of passengers heading hell for leather in one direction. Even 5 more minutes advance notice would help.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"staff were moderately polite"

(Ireland)

Passport control at Stansted, especially for the so called 'fast track' e-gate electronic EU passports was disastrous and queue times were 30 minutes +. This adds to passenger stress and frustration and does not enhance security. The security to departures was similarly awful. The queues weren't as long but the scan equipment 'faulty'. Our bag was diagnosed as containing liquids which caused a 20 minute delay for us while waiting for same to be searched and cleared - no liquids. This actually endangers security when they select the wrong bags and passengers to check. However I will admit staff were moderately polite, apologised for the 'error', empathised with the e-gate fiasco and probably realised Stansted had serious problems. But the experience at Stansted was wholly exasperating and added to the stress of travel. We will endeavour to avoid this airport as much as possible in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"usual chaos at passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Recently arrived at Stansted airport and once again greeted with the usual chaos at passport control. It seems that Stansted is happy to take the huge volume and no doubt profit from it , but not supply adequate resource to deal with this. A taxi came to collect us and unfortunately waited 15 minutes and was fined 50GBP and was not allowed to exit until the amount was paid. The whole place is like a cattle market that doesn't like customers. Building fancy overpriced shops doesn't signify customer care. I have flown in some of the busiest airports in the world and many put Stansted to shame. I encourage everyone to look at alternatives such as Southend.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"long queues and overcrowded"

(United Kingdom)

Is Stansted a shopping centre or an airport? Long queues and overcrowded. Just poor. I am not sure what kind of customer experience they are looking for travellers to enjoy but it completely fails as far as I am concerned. You have to walk from one end of the airport to the other nearly twice through dozens of shops to get the the gates. A ridiculous charge for customer drop off.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a torturous experience"

(United Kingdom)

I've been to Stansted several times this year and each time there has been massive queues at security and a lack of customer service from staff present there. I dread it every time. Security is one endless snaking queue with incompetent and rude staff who do not care - ordering poor passengers here and there. Once past security, you are faced with another snaking corridor of duty free shops, winding itself around the main terminal. It feels like walking through an Ikea store where you want to find the exit as soon as possible but you can't. This is exacerbated by the fact that due to backlog in security, passengers are dashing for their gate to make their flight in time. I can understand the reason for the snaking shopping corridors, to fit more shops in the limited terminal areas, but after the poor experience of security having to meander through endless shops to get to a gate is a double whammy to a stressed and annoyed passenger. I can still remember the times when Stansted was relatively stress free but since MAG, the service has gone downhill. Compared to other London airports (Heathrow, Gatwick, City and Luton) Stansted represents the worst of the British airport experience. If Luton can do it better with budget airlines and Gatwick (although admittedly with a mixture of budget and national carriers), it begs the question why can't Stansted? A torturous experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no