Best Cabin Crew  

London Stansted Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 590 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"I considered myself lucky"

(United Kingdom)

I was dreading my trip from Stansted and back again but it wasn't as bad as I had been expecting. I did plan ahead by buying the Fast Track security pass which I think was well worth it as the normal queues looked horrendous. However the much criticised plethora of shops were pleasant to browse around and the overall experience of departure was quite positive. The arrival experience was maybe not quite as good as the well known queues at passport control were in evidence. However they moved reasonably quickly and I was through in about half an hour. The whole experience was not as bad as others have experienced so I considered myself lucky.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"had a very good experience"

(Ireland)

I had a very good experience passing through security yesterday enroute to Dublin from London Stansted Airport. One of my trays went for inspection and I must say that the staff on duty yesterday afternoon were extremely courteous, friendly and efficient. I never had any feeling of discomfort despite the slight delay the check of my items caused.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"welcome to the airport with no trolleys"

(United Kingdom)

Welcome to the airport with no trolleys. No, not just a few trolleys, I mean no trolleys. Drag your own luggage. Then try to find a machine which accepts card payment for parking. Only at the barrier you discover, and then try to insert the card in the dark. But try to walk out of the terminal when the pedestrian exit is blocked. This airport is like a huge, unfriendly, cluttered warehouse which sees its passengers as an inconvenience. This is an awful place.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"it was comically inefficient"

(United Kingdom)

The shops flight side looked nice but we had to jog past them. All because it took an inordinate amount of time to clear security. It was comically inefficient (would have been funnier if we hadn't had to jog to make our plane). Both Gatwick and Heathrow focus on getting their security queues under a time threshold and have screens highlighting inefficiency with targets for their staff. Stansted has a shouty man with a stick and surly staff (not a surprise given they are dealing with people agitated at waiting ~20 minutes). I cannot imagine the retail companies who've paid to be flight side can be too happy: lots of people just rushing through the meandering route that's designed to make you want to dwell and shop. Stansted has always been a horrid airport to get to. Now they've made it a horrid airport to be in to boot. Top tip for other travellers, fork out for the priority screening. So you don't have to jog for your flight. Their screening times are probably closer to those of the standard at LGW or LHR. Though the priority lanes had queue too, just shorter ones.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"given no explanation"

(Ireland)

Going through security my tray was stopped which contained my clear bag with liquids my makeup bag a jacket and my handbag. The girl working at the security point asked who owned the bag, when I answered I do her next question was - Is there any sharp objects in the bag to which the answer was no. She then proceeded to root through my bag and empty its contents into the tray "throwing" my mobile in the tray also. After 10 minutes of rooting my liquids were put in a different bag which leaked everywhere and I was given no explanation. It's not my first encounter with ignorant staff and I was very dissatisfied, I often travel to and from London using Stansted airport. When she had finished I was asked to move quickly so the next person could be checked. No thank you for your patience and needless to say all my items were left thrown in the tray where I had to repackage them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"too small with not enough seats"

(United Kingdom)

Getting through security was no worse than you might expect but once inside the airport you wind your way through the Duty Free hall, trying to sidestep people milling around wondering whether to buy anything. It gets even worse further up this track, fighting through people going in and out of shops and turning the wrong way out of the shop, past people slumped in the middle of the path, already exhausted. The thought of diverting into one of the shops with your luggage to buy something? No. And when you finally get to the waiting area - high, soulless cavern which is, nevertheless, too small with not enough seats. If you are lucky enough to find a seat in the old days you would leave your family with the bags and have a wander round the various shops and almost certainly buy something but now, the thought of fighting your way back through the bewildered crowds coming in means that you decide that you didn't need anything after all. So you lose out, the shops lose out and your holiday starts on a grim note. The greed of Stansted in squeezing passengers through the shops has made the airport a deeply depressing place and one to avoid if at all possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"overcrowding at every stage"

(United Kingdom)

Awful place, avoid at all costs. The whole experience is diabolical, huge queues at check in even if you arrive over 2 hours before the flight. Huge queues at security next, overcrowding at every stage. First available toilets after 2 hours checking in and passing security are overcrowded and dirty even first thing in the morning. The layout has changed to force you to wind your way past every single shop in the terminal and to do this they have reduced the seating available. Once you reach the seating area you will find it is full and you have to stand. The toilet facilities in this area are the same overcrowded, dirty and more queues. Due to the length of time taken to check in and pass security there was no time to look at any shops or get a drink or some food. On return there was an hour wait for UK/EU passengers at border control with once again inadequate toilet facilities before and even with that wait the bags still weren't available to collect for another 1/2 hour. Overall terrible leaving and terrible coming back too.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"continue to avoid STN "

(United Kingdom)

The least capable airport in the UK but I'm stuck this time due to the flight going where I need to be. Usually I get away with LTN as the cheap and cheerful and use Birmingham in preference to this place. STN is stuck in the late eighties for service and experience. It starts with queuing to pay to be dropped off by car despite an unearthly early flight out, obviously we would have stayed in one of the two (for a whole airport) higher than London city priced hotels if possible but they were booked out. Enter the terminal (converted warehouse design) and the signage is pretty clear - join an interminable queue straight away for 30-5 0minutes as there are no seats available anyway, thereafter things start to go downhill somewhat. Will continue to avoid STN wherever possible, just a thought why on earth did they get that M11 connection if no cars are welcome? (actually I know, it's to provide the highest priced no-alternative parking at an airport in the UK)
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queues are extremely long"

(United Kingdom)

The airport operates way over its capacity. It's so apparent at every step of the process. Bag drop-off takes forever. At least one hour at security every time. Similarly, when landing at Stansted, immigration queues are extremely long and I also had to wait more than 1 hour to collect my checked in bag. There are often delays also during taxi, both when taking off and landing, with passengers sitting on planes for a long time whilst waiting for take off or a parking spot. Overall, a terrible experience every single time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this isn't service"

(United Kingdom)

Meeting my family, took 2 and a half hours for luggage to be taken off the plane. No explanation except that Ryanair contract baggage handling out. Fraught family members who had the wait all that time to get their cases after a long delayed flight. A shambles Ryanair, who had all packed up and gone home. This isn't service.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no