Vote Now  

London Stansted Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 747 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"customer service is non existent"

(United Kingdom)

London Stansted airport is shocking. Customer service is non existent. The short stay charges you a fortune and the barriers do not work. Every night I have to come through and each time 24/7 have to buzz to leave. Tonight was 9 minutes. Absolute madness. And they think they can be a true international airport matching Heathrow.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"always massively overcrowded"

(United Kingdom)

A late change of gate resulted in dangerous overcrowding at the bottom of an escalator - I was unable to step off it and was pitched forward into the crowd of people at the lower level. In the past I have encountered rude staff in the security area and at the gate, and the terminal is always massively overcrowded, which makes for a very unpleasant experience. Parking is very expensive compared to Gatwick and Luton. I only use this airport as a last resort!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport needs a real shake-up"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This airport needs a real shake-up. This my 3rd visit in 2 months and I'd hoped that the first 2 visits were just unfortunate but today on my 3rd visit I have realised that it really is bad. The experience starts in security where poorly motivated staff shout rudely at innocent passengers who are just trying to go about their business. The equipment they use is unreliable and causes queuing which gives the staff more excuse to be rude and objectionable. When you pass through security you realise that every square inch of Departures has been given to retail outlets and as the throngs struggle to get through the endless retail maze without falling over each other they finally arrive at an overcrowded plaza area with inadequate seating. If you can find a seat you deserve a reward. If you find a seat where you can see a departure board you deserve a mention in the new year's honours list. I would hate to be running late through this place because they throw every kind of stress at you on your way and if ever you need to back track through the maze you'll be in for a very rough ride. Unfortunately this is the nearest airport to me that offers direct flights to my regular destination. From now on I will choose a connecting flight from Birmingham to avoid going through Stansted Airport again. To end on an up note the woman serving at the Bureau de Change was nice, I don't know how she can work here.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"hate the place with a passion"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Less than half the security lanes open, one person doing second check - then shift change and everyone filling in time sheet in front of the bomb detector - so slowing things even more. Winding, confusing route to the gates. (No, I don't want a designer bag, booze or perfume before I fly). What a mess! Coming back, car park still doesn't autorecognise prepaid parking so try to scam you to pay again. Nightmare, hate the place with a passion.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"lousiest services of any major UK airport"

(United Kingdom)

Fast Track has now gone up to £7.00 and Passenger Drop Off/Pick up at the main terminal has now gone up to £3.50. This airport takes the biscuit in providing one of the lousiest services of any major UK airport and upping its prices wherever possible to squeeze as much as possible out of the unsuspecting (and suspecting) traveller. As a frequent user of this airport I am beginning to dread using it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"hardly any kind of service"

(Switzerland)

Couldn't believe the walk through the shopping mall. Why is this necessary? After enduring the walk I discover that my gate is still 10 minutes away, the same direction I just came from. For people with trouble walking this is a disaster and hardly any kind of service. A real shame. The airport is not that exciting but they don't have to make it more difficult.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"would prefer to avoid it"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Travelling at a busy time (start of Easter holidays). Departure: bag drop was slow (but it always is), as was security. The zig-zag maze through all the duty free perfumes etc was the longest I have ever experienced. The departure lounge was heaving, and there seem to be no quiet areas at all. The usual food outlets were represented, but few places to sit and eat apart from the over-crowded general seating area. It looks like the passenger numbers have outgrown the airport's ability to cope. If you are travelling with EasyJet (as we were) don't forget to allow time for the inter-terminal train. Arrival: only one third of the e-passport scanners were open so there were long queues. Delivery of baggage was efficient. Suggestion: reduce the duty free area to a couple of shops (I saw very few people actually buying anything) and increase the seating area for passengers. This isn't the worst airport I have used, but I would prefer to avoid it if possible in future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"rude and unhelpful staff"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I am a regular traveller and like to think I've learnt to be tolerant of the inevitable airport queue, but Stansted is appalling. For short haul most people now manage to pack lite, so on the rare occasion of needing to check hold luggage to arrive for a flight and having to queue for the best part of 50 min to check in a bag (having checked in online to avoid Ryanair's excessive airport fees) was a joke. Chaos. Rude and unhelpful staff. Almost as bad as Luton Airport. And a similar wait for a Visa check. Then having paid for a priority security pass the scannner was broken and the queue longer than if we'd not bothered and saved the money. The sign on the wall claims a 4/5 satisfaction but given no feedback machine available I assume it is only brought out when everything is running to the plane so they massage the results. Having taken almost 90 minutes from front door to getting through security it only got worse with disgusting men's toilets and an excessively priced cold breakfast at Cabin, do not eat there! We will go out of our way to fly from elsewhere in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Stansted airport is a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Stansted airport is a disgrace. In years gone by it was a pleasure to fly from Stansted but with a change in ownership this is no longer the case. We purchased Fast Track costing £5 per person assuring us that we could "bypass the queues with minimum of fuss". This was not the case and a mile from the truth. Firstly we had to queue for 20 minutes to show our boarding pass to the host, in contrast non fast track passengers filed through the electronic gate at a much faster pace. The security guard directing passengers was rude, loud and intimidating when people complained about the size of the queues- completely failing to understand we were customers paying for a promised service which was far from being delivered. Having passed through the host desk, we were confronted by just 1 fast track security checkpoint with a queue of about 200 people!!! 200 x £5= £1,000 per 30 minutes, nice profit Stansted airport-absolutely appalling and would never bother with this service ever again. We ended up joining the queue of the non-fast track checkpoints in order to get through the pain quicker. Toilet areas were smelly, dirty and unpleasant. The delay in displaying the gate number resulted in a complete fight to the trains and not getting to the gate with enough time- this was very stressful. The return to Stansted airport was equally unacceptable. First of all there are not enough trains servicing the arrivals back to the terminal-these were crammed packed. Extremely rude members of staff awaited us at Passport Control with not an ounce of respect and condescending. As expected the inevitable queues at Passport Control awaited us, where only 10 e-passport kiosks were open, aiming to service 1000's of people. No wonder people are stressed and bad-mannered. This review echoes hundreds of previous reviews written in the last 12 months, but nothing has been done. The owners of Stansted airport should ashamed of themselves and do not deserve our custom-we will use Luton from now on.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poor facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The worst airport I have visited. Rude and aggressive staff. Horrible location. Poor facilities. Dirty toilets. Very very long walk and lots of stairs to their gates. Rip off prices. When you drop off a passenger or pick up a passenger, the minimum charge is £3.50. If you are one second more than 10 minutes, you will be charged £25 just for using their drop off area. Surely that cannot be legal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no