London Stansted Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 505 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 4th August 2015

Arrived at Stansted at 11.40 on 3rd August, left the shuttle train to enter passport control. Absolute chaos, was ushered to the right hand side to what looked like smaller queues but was ultimately moved as far from the funnel as possible that led to the zig zag queues which were unbelievably long, took over an hour to get through. Whilst being forced through the dangerous bottle neck our young children aged 8 and 4 were subjected to all sorts of jostling, foul language and complete disregard for their safety. I believe this type of bottle neck queuing is dangerous for children and should be addressed as a matter of urgency We finally got through to baggage area and still had to wait 15 mins extra for the bags to appear. We had similar wait of 90 mins last year for our bags. We won't be using Stansted again Inspite of its localness to us. Never had any issues like this at Gatwick.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit04-08-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 4th August 2015

Chaos at passport control. Shuttle bus packed, doors opened onto mayhem. Stansted staff shouting trying to herd exhausted travellers in entrance hall to passport control. The area was choked with people and signage unclear in the bustle. People moaning, complaining, sighing in disbelief at the lack of organisation. Stansted yet again unprepared for large number of late flights all arriving at same time. Not enough staff to manage the situation. Desks were closed. This area is clearly not big enough for the purpose. Airport totally overwhelmed at one o'clock in the morning.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit04-08-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st August 2015

Arrived at Stansted airport from Spain on 20th July 2015, it was a nightmare, airport staff shouting at passengers as the e-passport control was down, staff stated lots of flights arriving was the reason for the chaos. Were these flights unexpected? Have never been in an airport in any other country where the passengers are shouted at routinely as they are in passport control at Stansted. The thought of arriving back there after a holiday abroad fills us with dread.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit01-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 30th July 2015

Good experience at Stansted for a Germanwings flight to Cologne and return. Check-in very quick, security queue about 5 minutes at 6.20am. Walk though shops pleasant and will be better once building work completed. Had food in departure lounge which was priced ok. Train to satellite which was quiet with plenty of seating. Flight left on time. Return flight arrived at 4pm in the afternoon. Approx 30 minutes wait at Border control and from what we saw most of this queue was caused by travellers either having the wrong documentation or joining the e-passport queue with children under 18 then having to join the ordinary queues at the front. Baggage reclaim quick and then got an aiport taxi within 2 mins. Good overall experience which will I suspect improve when the existing improvements are finished
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit30-07-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
2/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 29th July 2015

An awful experience. Totally overrun and ongoing building work. You have to walk through a shopping centre before getting to your gate (adding 15-20 minutes), regardless of your desire to shop. Only 30 minutes free internet - then you pay. Food prices significantly higher then outside. The experience is a nightmare. The staff I encountered were great.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit29-07-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th July 2015

We arrived at 11.45pm with thousands of other travellers. The customs hall was overcrowded. We waited over an hour to get through the automatic system, with many machines not working, how has this happened? Why are so many flights landing at the same time? There has to be a better system, travellers with non EU passports sail through to the frustration of many. Perhaps our leaders should be made to stand in queues going nowhere for anything to be done. Try and avoid Stansted at night.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit28-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (Switzerland) 27th July 2015

Simply terrible airport. No separation of passenger flows, opposite direction passengers just collide, long queues at each step, long walks to reach any point. All valuable central part is occupied by overpriced shops. I really like their application of zig zag to main passenger arteria when it comes to duty free shop.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit27-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 27th July 2015

What people have to remember is that airports are now less transport hubs and more massive car parks. Would be interesting to know what percentage of MAG's income comes from airline charges and what comes from car parking and retail. I think most people see the "airport experience" as a necessary inconvenience. Most people want to arrive for their departure, clear security, maybe eat and then depart, but are bombarded with poor quality restaurants and over priced shops. Compare the prices of say, Boots and WH Smith's in and out of the airport. MAG probably employ as many people in the "passenger experience department" as they do in the running of the airport. Can't see that anyone has mentioned the lack of toilets in departures, while the airport is an architectural masterpiece courtesy of Sir Norman Foster, he seems to have forgotten to factor in that people have to use the facility. For those that scoff about Immigration Officers commenting on the sun affecting the ability for them to see passports or for the e-readers to work properly, it is true. At certain times of the year and at certain times of the day, the Immigration Officers are blinded by the setting sun! Try Southend if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit26-08-2014
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 27th July 2015

Without doubt the worst airport that I have had the misfortune to use for both departures and arrivals into the UK. We landed last night at 23.30 and the arrivals hall was crammed full of people. It took an hour and ten minutes of chaos to get through passport control, there were 15 E passport machines but only 10 were working. The staff were panicking even though they should be used to this, staff were very rude and shouting to get each others attention. Our baggage ended up on a different conveyer belt to what the screen was showing, it was only by chance we spotted our very distinctive suitcase on the other side of the baggage claim room. When we notified the staff that the screen is misinforming people they did not seem bothered. I will not be using Stansted again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit27-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 23rd July 2015

We landed last night at 23.30 and the arrivals hall was crammed full of people. It took an hour and ten minutes of chaos to get through passport control, there were 15 E passport machines but only 10 were working. The ground staff said that they had a lot flights landing and no airport could cope with that volume of passengers! Where is the problem, didn’t they know the flights were arriving, planes don’t turn up unexpectedly? Surely someone is responsible for incoming flights? Stansted love to grab the landing fees from the airlines and to hell with the passengers. We missed our coach and just managed to catch another with seconds to spare, the next one was at 3am. The poor chap in front of just missed his too, he was told the next one to Milton Keynes was in 5 hours time!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit23-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no