London Stansted Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 467 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 3rd July 2015

After a tiring journey from Italy we were faced with the queues for passport control! There were 19 rows packed with travellers which moved very slowly. When we finally reached the booth the machine checking our passport failed several times. We are both in our mid seventies and will not be returning to Stansted Airport! Not a pleasant experience. Unable to comment on airport facilities as we didn't have time to use them either on the outward or returning journey.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit03-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 2nd July 2015

Arrived around 00.30 hrs on a Tuesday morning. Very few flight arrivals so expecting a quick entry to meet waiting friend. Initially a scrum to get into either the "chipped passport" or the "unchipped passport" queue. Impossible to judge as so crowded. No difference in number of people queuing at both. I opted for the "chipped passport" queue - Bad Move. So suffered at the long queue for around 1.5 hours, yes, 90 minutes at 1 am. Many of the automatic gates appeared to reject most passports and only limited help available, mainly overworked staff telling people with rejected passports to queue for the manned booths. What has happened to the Stansted that was a success story only a few years back. This problem has been getting worse for some time now. This is an airport fixated on making money from departing travellers, forcing them to run the gauntlet of "duty free" concessions before reaching the area where there is a shortage of seats.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit02-06-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (France) 2nd July 2015

The security gates were a disaster. Only three x-ray machines working making lots of people late. When people who were pushed for time (after queuing for nearly an hour) asked for help, they were told to go back out and pay for express security. Stansted used to be such a good airport, now it is a nightmare. All they want to do is rip you off. After getting through I went to the new James Martin restaurant and had the worst bacon roll I have had.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit02-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
no
3/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 2nd July 2015

Not a pleasant experience either from or to this airport now, they seem to have lost control. Much money spent, but upgraded shopping experience is misplaced, you need to look after your customers better. Over crowded, poor staff training, delays and very expensive. The perfect mix for forcing customers away, but you now already know this. Where does the buck stop?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit02-03-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st July 2015

I travelled in transit through Stansted - it was hell and I have never experienced anything like it before. Arrived a good few hours before our flight and when Ryanair eventually put up our check in desk details it was 110 mins before our flight. It then took us 90 mins to get through check in and passport control, a mad dash to get our plane and just about missed our flight - and it was the same on our return with chaos being stuck in a corridor for ages to get through passport control. Never again through this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date Visit01-04-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st July 2015

I last travelled from this airport some years ago and I remember I was quite satisfied with the facilities and the throughput. Fast forward to this June and the difference is quite marked. Long, long queue at our pre-booked short stay parking, valuable time wasted driving round and round until a space miraculously appeared. Airport itself packed, queues everywhere. And then a delay of an hour on our flight which incurred a late arrival charge at our destination. On our return we were met with massive queues at passport control. Clearly Stansted fails miserably to cope with the demands made upon it. As another commentator has indicated, arrive at least a good 3 hours before your flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit01-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 30th June 2015

A total disaster of an airport that cannot handle the amount of business they have. Far too much has been spent on the new Duty Free passage and not enough on Restaurants and Bars. Border control going out is better than it once was, but still poor compared to all the others around London. The worst thing though is Border Control on arrivals, total and utter chaos and considering that people are paying to use the facilities its a national disgrace. 90 mins is now the norm according to our cab driver. They should be ashamed at themselves.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit30-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 30th June 2015

Total farce - arrived 2hrs before departure. Had to dash to catch plane. You ask about airport shopping - it would have been nice to get the chance! Allow 3 hours to board. Allow same to arrive.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit30-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th June 2015

Arrived just after midnight 28 June from Mallorca and faced a huge crowd, not even a queue, for passport control. People overflowed from the long, long taped queueing lines into a vast scrum. It appeared there were two options, e-passport control or standard but no information as to which was quicker. There was no public address to offer apologies, provide information, nothing. Eventually, having chosen e-passport control, we got through in 55 minutes. To add a little icing to the cake, the Jetparks / Long Stay car park transit bus did not pull up where the signs indicated. Standard Airport management and UK Border Agency should be shot. Their job is managing capacity and surely know how many passengers / flights are landing. Lack of information. Absolutely no excuse.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit28-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th June 2015

This was my first time at Stansted since their refurbishment. I can now say that what used to be a very good small airport, is now the worse airport I have ever been to. Security takes for ever and once you are through security, you are then forced to shuffle through a tiny aisle with hundreds of other people because there are now duty free shops on every side. Once into the main part of the airport you are faced with hundreds of people looking for somewhere to sit. I was travelling at 6am on a Friday morning and it was wall to wall with stressed out passengers. I will avoid this airport at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit27-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no