London Stansted Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 467 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st July 2015

I travelled in transit through Stansted - it was hell and I have never experienced anything like it before. Arrived a good few hours before our flight and when Ryanair eventually put up our check in desk details it was 110 mins before our flight. It then took us 90 mins to get through check in and passport control, a mad dash to get our plane and just about missed our flight - and it was the same on our return with chaos being stuck in a corridor for ages to get through passport control. Never again through this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date Visit01-04-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st July 2015

I last travelled from this airport some years ago and I remember I was quite satisfied with the facilities and the throughput. Fast forward to this June and the difference is quite marked. Long, long queue at our pre-booked short stay parking, valuable time wasted driving round and round until a space miraculously appeared. Airport itself packed, queues everywhere. And then a delay of an hour on our flight which incurred a late arrival charge at our destination. On our return we were met with massive queues at passport control. Clearly Stansted fails miserably to cope with the demands made upon it. As another commentator has indicated, arrive at least a good 3 hours before your flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit01-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 30th June 2015

A total disaster of an airport that cannot handle the amount of business they have. Far too much has been spent on the new Duty Free passage and not enough on Restaurants and Bars. Border control going out is better than it once was, but still poor compared to all the others around London. The worst thing though is Border Control on arrivals, total and utter chaos and considering that people are paying to use the facilities its a national disgrace. 90 mins is now the norm according to our cab driver. They should be ashamed at themselves.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit30-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 30th June 2015

Total farce - arrived 2hrs before departure. Had to dash to catch plane. You ask about airport shopping - it would have been nice to get the chance! Allow 3 hours to board. Allow same to arrive.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit30-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th June 2015

Arrived just after midnight 28 June from Mallorca and faced a huge crowd, not even a queue, for passport control. People overflowed from the long, long taped queueing lines into a vast scrum. It appeared there were two options, e-passport control or standard but no information as to which was quicker. There was no public address to offer apologies, provide information, nothing. Eventually, having chosen e-passport control, we got through in 55 minutes. To add a little icing to the cake, the Jetparks / Long Stay car park transit bus did not pull up where the signs indicated. Standard Airport management and UK Border Agency should be shot. Their job is managing capacity and surely know how many passengers / flights are landing. Lack of information. Absolutely no excuse.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit28-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th June 2015

This was my first time at Stansted since their refurbishment. I can now say that what used to be a very good small airport, is now the worse airport I have ever been to. Security takes for ever and once you are through security, you are then forced to shuffle through a tiny aisle with hundreds of other people because there are now duty free shops on every side. Once into the main part of the airport you are faced with hundreds of people looking for somewhere to sit. I was travelling at 6am on a Friday morning and it was wall to wall with stressed out passengers. I will avoid this airport at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit27-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th June 2015

Hideous experience. Checked in online and opted for baggage drop. Arrived two hours before our flight was due and very poorly and misinformed despite having shown our boarding passes that we had to queue for check in. Horrendous queues there and then again in security. As a result we missed our flight - the first time ever in our lives! No last calls for our names, no advice or cooperation when we informed security that our flight was leaving in 20 minutes. Rebooked flights at great expense to leave 10 hours later in the day - stayed within the airport. Tried to rebook car hire on computers in airport hall at great expense and huge frustration computers keys missing and system ridiculously slow! Internet connection on our phones (different providers) was poor and wholly inadequate. On our return we queued for 1hr 45mins in passport control. We cannot believe how shabby a system of queuing can make anything other than a very bad impression on arriving to England for visitors. Unacceptable and unnecessary attitude observed from staff and a lack of information regarding why there was such a back log and how long the average time of queuing would be didn't help either. We now know never to travel to and or from Stansted again - absolutely the first and last time ever.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit28-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
3/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 27th June 2015

I have used Stansted for 15 years and how it has deteriorated. Trying to book car park when an offer was on and could not book - funny how I could book when full rate was applied. Border control on the way home really is upsetting, after sitting on a plane for hours, the last thing anyone wants is a queue for over an hour getting through border control. How come this doesn't happen in Spain? Seriously considering never to use Stansted again - Norwich or Southend may be getting my custom.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit27-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 27th June 2015

I thought we were lucky to be able to use this airport as it is so much closer than where we normally fly from - how wrong I was. It is running at far over its capacity. Immigration took us an hour during which there was no explanation or apology. Small children mixed with carry-on cases, average height people like me, slow people, fast people all thrown together in a claustrophobic space. Terrible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit27-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

London Stansted Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 26th June 2015

Passport control is an embarrassment. Upon arriving from Egypt in May 2015 we queued for over 90 minutes from midnight. I had my 4 year old and a 3 month old, without pushchairs. We were told that the delay was because we got a cheap flight! A girl had flown alone from Hungary and had a ticket for the train which, by the time she got through, had ended for the day. She won't be flying to Stansted again. June 2015 we waited over an hour and a half to collect someone flying in from France. They won't be returning to Stansted again.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit26-06-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no