Vote Now  

London Heathrow Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 1395 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"long winding queues"

(United Kingdom)

Modern look but badly planned with long walks up and down escalators to arrivals. UK Border a most unpleasant and unwelcoming vision. Long winding queues of shuffling tired passengers to a line of machines half of which were not operating. Being herded all the time. Machines slow and lady in front entered passport three times before finally rejected. Luggage delivery seemed ok but allowing for time lost getting there not fast.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queues were long and disorganised"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | Queues were long and disorganised. Had to wait over half an hour to use the E gates (EU passports with chip) as some gates kept on stopping to function. When one was available I found it it could not read my passport. Would have been quicker in the Standard queue or even better in the Non EU line. Complete and utter joke of an airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"was out of the airport within 25 minutes"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived on a flight from USA at about 8.30am and there was no queue at all in the EU Immigration area. My bag arrived promptly too and I was out of the airport within 25 minutes of leaving the plane. Could not have been better. I suspect I was lucky but can only say what I found.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"staff were polite and efficient"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I travelled from Heathrow Terminal 3 at the end of February. Terminal was very clean. No check in queue. Hardly any queue at security and staff were polite and efficient. Terminal 3 departures is not great as the selection of shops is average and numerous high end shops. More high street shops would be great. Overall a pleasant experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"clean, efficient and has plenty of good choices"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I still find it strange this airport wins an award for shopping. For the normal commuter or traveller it only has high brand companies in T2 and T5 which are the most up to date terminals. Otherwise it is clean, efficient and has plenty of good choices. Can't complain only really airports in the Middle East can rival.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"I have waited over an hour and a half at passport control"

(United Kingdom)

How many people does it take to stamp a passport? Apparently no one. Because we waited so long we thought we would never get back into the country. I am here on a visa and I understand that you take passport control very seriously and I tried to be patient. However. As an airport you know when the flights come in therefore should be staffed enough to make it a nice quick experience for the people. If people don't think the British are grumpy they do now. This has happened twice in the last month I have waited over an hour and a half at passport control with 1-2 lanes open. For everyone's sanity please manage your staff better because they are just doing there job and don't deserve to be yelled at by the many people in the line!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"What a bad impression it must give visitors to the UK"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Obviously in this day and age we expect to have to remove laptops, have liquids checked etc. but I don't understand why Heathrow staff are always so rude about it. They have an arrogant sneer about them if you have not been able to read their minds. It seems because they now have to be more careful about security, politeness no longer matters. I have experienced this numerous times at Heathrow. You don't get this at other airports. Today it was at Terminal 4. What a bad impression it must give visitors to the UK.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"on the whole a good experience"

(United Kingdom)

My first time from terminal 5. I have heard so many mixed reviews. Outward everything went really well and very quickly. From being dropped off by hotel bus until through into departure took about 20 to 25 minuted. This included not knowing the airport security and bag drop. Had nice breackfast and boarded plane hassle free. Return journey exactly the same hassle free until it came to collecting luggage and that took about 40 minutes. It would have been better if there had been seats to sit on. But on the whole a good experience and I would use again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"Easy check-in and quick security"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have been critical of Heathrow airport in the past but the last half a dozen experiences (Terminals 2 / 3 / 4 over the last 2-months) have been excellent. Easy check-in and quick security, excellent shopping and dining options and the main improvement has been arrivals. Even with immigration, luggage to collect and using off-site car parks, I have been in my car ready to leave 30 to 40-minutes after landing - excellent considering the size of the airport. I know there is a degree of luck with this, but the fact this has been so consistent recently, is what impresses me.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"nice shops and facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Flew Air New Zealand from London Heathrow Terminal 2 to Los Angeles. Check in really good, fast track security good, security staff were even forgiving when I forgot to empty my pockets. Nice shops and facilities. Only disappointment was the Singapore Airlines lounge used by Air New Zealand which was tired, worn out fittings and poor choice of indifferent food - very disappointing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes