London Heathrow Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 1468 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"the whole airport organisation collapsed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Wow what a mess. A few flakes of snow in the morning and the whole airport organisation collapsed. Millions of people, no way to tell where to stand in line or how to advance. No announcements, no useful info on boards, airport personel clueless. I am now convinced that all organisational capability from the British Empire has now fully evaporated. Or is this due to Spanish ownership of BAA? 50% of people waiting in the wrong lines. Then a great announcement: "if your flight is canceled, leave the terminal and rebook on ba.com. But my flight is not canceled, I have 100 people mostly with canceled flights blocking access to bag drop. Finally I drop my bags. Hah security sends me back to bag drop to extend deadline to go through security. Back and forth and understaffed and slow, and damaging travelers stuff as it goes through the belts. I make it through only to be blocked of by a closed escalator. No escalator to go down. I overcome this obstacle only to find that all the terminal trains are out of service, marathon run to the gate, gate staff are clueless, no announcements and we just wait. No I'm just waiting to board the gate and expect we will have Snakes on the Plane to finish off this adventure.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"definitely avoiding in future"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Traveling Manchester to Riyadh via Heathrow with BA. Only one person at T5 on screening for delayed flight of transit passengers. I missed flight as did many others, referred to overcrowded ticketing counter which then closed, misdirected by staff to open counters, spent 2.5 hrs in queues as never more than 3 people on ticketing in the whole of T5 at any moment. Warning: while most hubs in Europe can transfer you in under 30 minutes T5's automated system will not allow a transfer under 50 minutes. Can't rely on BA to help in a timely manner when it goes wrong. I have personally tried to avoid Heathrow in the past, and will definitely be avoiding in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Terminal-3 looks dated"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrived at 20.05pm at Terminal 3 on GA86 and had to change to Terminal 5 so as to catch my connecting flight. It is not easy getting the connection between terminals as you need to use a Train. If you have luggage then you have to use the lifts and when the terminal is busy you will have to wait for a lift. Overall the interconnection between terminals is not good. Terminal-3 looks dated and I think it should be ready for an upgrade.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"security officers were very courteous"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Transited through London Heathrow T3 and T4 while flying with Virgin Atlantic (T3) and Jet Airways (T4). Unlike LAX, the security officers at Heathrow were very courteous while screening families with children and baby food. We used the children's play area in both terminals. The staff in play area were very welcoming and oriented us to all the available amenities. The play area in Terminal 4 was one of the best that we have been to.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"T3 experience was mixed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I fly from and to Heathrow dozens of times every year, but this time I used T3 so decided to submit a review. The T3 experience was mixed - departure was reasonably good, short queues at check in and security, very efficient operation. The departure lounge is a disgrace for a terminal primarily operated by long haul airlines. It's literally a big room with shops and eateries around it, full of seating in the middle. Disorganized, overcrowded, with long queues at the coffee shops and less seating than required, when you have a few A380s waiting for departure at any given time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"it was laughable to watch them"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Terminal 5 security. We are all aware of the ever increasing need for security checks at airports but the security checks at Heathrow T5 are a disgrace. I'm a seasoned traveller but I've never seen anything as haphazard and disorganised as I experienced on 8th November 2017. My hand luggage went through the scanner and was selected for further scrutiny, fair enough, that happens from time to time. However the staff at security then seemed to be at a loss as to what to do. It took ages for someone to actually decide who should actually do the physical check of the bag and how to do that that check, it was laughable to watch them. It was more like watching the Keystone cops than airport security staff. Once they finally go someone to step up to the plate and do the check I had to turn my bag out myself and then everything was taken away for checking. On finding nothing it was then given back to me for repacking with no space to do that. Amateurish. I don't have a problem with additional searches, they are to be expected. I do have a problem with security staff who have no idea how to perform them, it gives me little faith that they could actually find something in the event of there being something there to find. When I returned through Rome airport the following week the Italian security were a model of politeness and efficiency. Note: everything else at Heathrow T5 was excellent, only the unprofessional security staff let the place down.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Heathrow is actually pretty good"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Travelled from T3 with Virgin Atlantic London-Atlanta return Miami-London. T3 is not as nice as T5 but, apart from being a rip-off shopping mall, it's not as bad as people seem to write in the reviews. There are always seats to be found and plenty of eateries should you need to before take off. Bit of a queue at Security outbound but that's pretty much the norm nowadays. Of course queueing time could be cut but the passengers who still don't know - despite all the signs and the fact that this has been going on for years - that liquids of 100 ml or less need to be put in a separate sealed bag etc etc. But mostly it's just something we have to get through before boarding. Wi Fi seemed OK once signed on. On return was in Upper Class so first off of the plane. Did not use Virgin's arrival lounge so quickly through Passport Control (no queue at the electronic gates), baggage arrived super quickly, through customs and picked up the car to be on the M25 in 45 minutes. Compared with a lot of International Airports Heathrow is actually pretty good.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
3/10

"truly a nightmare"

(Saudi Arabia)

Unverified | Terminal 5 on a Monday morning is truly a nightmare, traffic was backed down to the M25and took an age to get to the drop of point. Once inside the check in desks nicely spaced out and was easy to check in. Security though is a complete joke, fast track had broken down and was told this is a regular occurrence. Once through you are greeted with an overcrowded terminal with thousands of passengers everywhere. Toilets were completely overwhelmed even in the BA business class lounge you had to queue, top tip is go to the A gates on the lower level as the toilets are hardly used. Everything at the airport is so expensive and even the exchange rates are a rip off if you are changing money. T5 in the morning especially Monday is to be avoided as it's just too overcrowded with hardly any seating to be had and that includes the lounges, a huge need to install more toilets at this terminal is a must! Wifi though was good with a stable connection so it was a plus point. Overall this terminal is in bad need of expanding airside especially.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"check in was quick and easy"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Travelled in and out of terminal 3. Departed late afternoon, check in was quick and easy. Very short line at security. Only downside was Heathrow congestion resulting bus gate 24, resulting in delayed departure. Returned at 9am again only problem was Heathrow congestion, plane had to wait nearly half an hour for an airbridge. No line at passport control, bags in hall within 10 minutes of me getting to baggage belt.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"there is no smoking room available"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Unlike most international airports there is no smoking room available once past security, as a smoker on a 9 hour flight I find this disgusting that a smoking area has not been provided. Will fly from Gatwick in future and boycott Heathrow until it has seen the error of it ways and provided one.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no