Top 100 Airlines  

London Heathrow Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 1278 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"possibly has some of the best shopping"

(United States)

When flying to Europe I usually pass through LHR. LHR possibly has some of the best shopping. Their customs line is always long once you reach the terminal. Usually if you are passing thru and London is your last stop before heading back to the US. The customs line is long. If you fly straight out of LHR back to US the line is shorter for customs right by the check-in counters. Overall I think LHR after some of their improvements to T5 are really stepping up their game. I wish SFO would take a tip or two from LHR. Security is strict in LHR. You must pass thru security at least 1-hr before departure at least is the case when flying Virgin Atlantic. So if you are connecting be sure that you either purchase your connections on the same ticket or allow a few hours between flights in case of cancellations/delays/changes to departure time. I experienced a change in departure time. My flight was not until December but I purchased my tickets in July. Changes to my flights were made in September. My travel agency never informed me. If I would've used TripIt app back then I would have known and made adjustments. Moral of the story I missed my flight back home to US. I had to pay extra to change my flights for the next day plus hotel. It was my own darn fault but lesson learned. Positive side, extra night in London and excellent evening out. One of the biggest gripes for travelers are the airport fees. It is a shame.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"a very nice experience"

(United Kingdom)

Terminal 5 at Heathrow was a pure pleasure. 9:00am fight to Paris called for arrival at 7:00am. The lifts from the Tube station ran frequently and were uncrowded. Check-in was automated and unbelievably quick. Queues for security were short and fast-running. Terminal building is huge and full of quality shops and restaurants. BA lounge was understandably busy at that time if day, but I found a comfortable seat and enjoyed a bacon roll and coffee. Flight information was clear. Seating area at gate was plentiful. Return journey the same evening was smooth and uncomplicated. Queues at passport control moved swiftly. A very nice experience. Compliments to a well-run airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"queues ridiculously long"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived Heathrow Terminal 3 after a US holiday, long, long walk from the plane to the border control area and when there the queues were ridiculously long and this is the UK/EU passport control to enter your own country. Why is it that at that time of day when they know a lot of international flights will be arriving over half the desks are not manned? It took over an hour to get through. I much preferred my last trip on Delta when I arrived at Terminal 4, off the plane and through passport control to pick up my bags in 20 mins.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queues for passport check were horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Plane landed ten minutes early on the 18th May 2016 - I only had hand baggage thus expected to clear Border Control quickly and get out to my son who was meeting me and had to get to work soon after. I have a Bio-metric passport. Queues for passport check were horrendous and took much more than half-an-hour to clear. There has to be a better system for this aspect. I noticed a sign to 'register for faster exit' (using the Bio-metric gates) and have just accessed this information to find that you have to pay £70.00 per annum for the privilege of going through the Bio-metric gates. What a load of rubbish. Whilst I realise, and agree, that border controls have got to be exercised these queues are not acceptable, neither are the delays, and all it achieves are very disgruntled passengers and the ruination of a wonderful holiday (or business trip) spent out of the UK. I would urge all airports in the UK to rethink their procedures for Border Control and find a way to minimise the queues and waiting time and try ensure that people/passengers feel like valued human being and not a herd of cattle.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"airport staff extremely friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Used Heathrow T5 in May for a trip to New York. Departure experience was per expected. As it's a terminal exclusively for BA the check in area is well laid out and no queue. Security didn't take more than 5 minutes (in my case it's faster than the fast track), and after security there are numerous shops and could get busy. It is airy and spacious. Airport staff, including the security, was extremely friendly. My flight left from T5C which is a short train ride from the main terminal. Flight took off with delay which is normal in Heathrow. Return journey after a long weekend was even better than the departure experience. The airport was not busy, and it didn't take me more than 30 minutes from leaving the plane, traveled from T5C to T5A, clear immigration and collect luggage. Overall a great experience and what a contrast to T3 and T4.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"first impressions count"

(United Kingdom)

Arrival into T3 at 1100 on the 12th May. Queues to pass UK/EEU border control post horrendous - took 45mins. Queues for NON-EU 4 x worse/slower and probably took hours for those people. What a great welcome to London, first impressions count. Hundreds queuing in hap-hazzard lines, purple jacked airport staff doing nothing to assist/direct travellers to appropriate lines. Speaking of which, barriers are used to control lines, yet there were numerous lines operating in the same direction meaning multiple lines were then having to funnel into one line. A blatently obvious error because someone hadn't bothered to adjust the elasticated straps on the poles to form proper directional lines. Additional staff in red uniforms situated just in front of border control posts at the front of the pax queue doing absolutely nothing. What are they there for? Border control posts - clearly not enough open and plenty of UKBF staff looking on chatting. Airports are not shopping centres. It's a shame that LHR is only interesting in profiteering through rent from retailers. Another KPI in which LHR has failed.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security is understaff and unhelpful"

(United States)

London Heathrow security is understaff and unhelpful. It took 1h 20m to check my bag which was in a queue with 4 bags. Staff laughing with each other and checking each bag like they have all the time in the world. They don't care your flight is about to leave. They did not find any thing in the bag other than a toothpaste which had fallen out of my plastic bag and this took 1h 20m - I barely made it to the gate.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"utterly shambolic"

(United Kingdom)

Utterly shambolic is the only way to describe this evening in terminal 5 passport control. Massive queues, no air conditioning, virtually no border force desks manned, electronic gates that have an inbuilt 30 second lag after a passenger has exited before the next is allowed through. All made worse by large volumes of purple jacketed jobsworths treating everyone like small children but doing nothing of any discernible use except make things worse. It's quite clear that passenger comfort and over efficiency has been sacrificed to save money and that whoever is in charge of the whole mess couldn't manage their way out of a paper bag. My suggestion-retrain the pointless purple jackets to operate the passport desks and open more than the 4 that were open this evening. Oh and persuade the half dozen border force personnel who were standing around gossiping on the other side of passport control to get behind a desk and do their job.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"extremely long queues"

(United Kingdom)

It is very disappointing as a British passport holder to get of a long haul flight at Heathrow and have to face extremely long queues to clear passport control. Whilst fully understanding and supporting our need for border control there is only one answer. To see so many empty and unmanned passport border desks it is clear that more staff would be the answer to make coming home a more welcoming process.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"has excellent shopping"

(China)

LHR is the airport that I use up to 15 times a year. Such a large airport should be viewed as three airports, each served by a different tube station, and standard varies. The oldest, Terminal 1, 2 and 3, is old and in real need of renovation, even some redesign. The second, Terminal 4, is actually the most convenient, being not too large, and easy access to tube station is the key. Terminal 5 used mainly by BA is modern, and has excellent shopping and eating facilities. There are good lounges too (if you use BA, then note that the B Gate Lounge is much better than the A Gate North and South lounges). The convenient connection from LHR to every part of London is the key, and there are various means that gets you to your final destination in town. One complaint: they never give the gate number until about one hour before flight, and it can prove difficult to commute in such a large airport entailing a long walk or internal train transport. Wonder why they can't announce the gate number early, as most other airports do. This is its minus point.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes