Top 100 Airports  

London Heathrow Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 1323 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"was expecting so much more"

(Australia)

First time in Heathrow Terminal five. Thought as the newest terminal this would be something special but while it is clean and tidy I was surprised at confusing signage, long distances to travel, limited toilets on arrival and generally a poor cousin architecturally of many newer airports. Rather disappointed as was expecting so much more than other messy, aging parts of the airport. Recommend compared to other Heathrow arrivals though.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"horrible airport to transit through"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Arrived on a transatlantic flight to Heathrow terminal 3 transiting to a BA flight. Passport control was a substantial wait and appeared understaffed. Though BA has a presence in T3, the airport (unlike most every airport in the world) cannot manage to get a bag from T3 to T5, my departure terminal. T5 fast track security was abysmal, understaffed, with outdated equipment that contributed to the wait. On top of all this the fees are significantly higher than other European airports. Bottom line, Heathrow is a horrible airport to transit through.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"really unpleasant experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Security staff London Heathrow Terminal 2 are the rudest, unhelpful and slowest airport staff you will ever come across. Most of the staff just stand around doing nothing while passengers try to get through security as quickly and easy as possible. A really unpleasant experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"plenty of seats at gates"

(Russian Federation)

It was school holidays but barely any traffic to London Heathrow. We parked in the long stay car park. It's very cheap and easy to book online. When we got there was lots of spaces. We parked and took a the personal rapid transport which leaves every 3 seconds carrying 4-6 people taking you to the terminal in less than 5 minutes. When you arrive in Terminal 5 it's only BA so there are basically 200 bag drops so there are never queues. Then you have 2 security's to get through quickly. Then you find yourself in front of Harrods, Gordon Ramsey plane food or WHsmith etc. Also there are 5 lounges for frequent flyers, buisness class passengers and first. If you can't go into the lounge there are coffee shops and a lot more. The airport is very child friendly as it has lots of kids magazines to buy and a mini playground. Then if your gate is A it's close if it's B or C it's further away. But it's only 2 minutes to each part. Staff speak lots of languages and there are lots of signs and plenty of seats at gates. The wifi is free.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"queuing was absolutely and utterly appalling"

(United Kingdom)

Everything at this airport was fine, but, honestly, the exception was Border Control where the queuing was absolutely and utterly appalling. One occupied desk, a very large queue. Mind you, the staff were reasonably polite. One would find a better arrangement in some 3rd world airports. What on earth has gone wrong here. This is the nation's flagship airport. This serious flaw needs addressing, urgently. Actual security and customs were a breeze. That said our dining experience was utterly superb, especially at Wagamama in terminal 5, professional staff here. Shopping was good, service could be a little warmer in some of the posher establishments. Apart from Border Control, everything was good. I would still recommend this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"it was a piece of cake"

(Finland)

Travel from Helsinki terminal 2 to London Heathrow terminal 3. Finnair flight AY831 arrived on time at 9.10 am. Then very long walk from gate to UK border control (10-15 minutes). Had EU and biometric passport, so it was easy to use E-gate for passport control. There were queues but it went quickly using this automated control, less than 5 minutes waiting time. There were customer service onsite to instruct you in case you needed. Then waiting for luggage was less than 10 minutes. Before arriving to Heathrow, I had read reviews and most of them complain about 45 minutes waiting time in passport control. This might be true with live person checking but with automated passport control it was a piece of cake. Went back on Sunday 14th, 2016 with AY996 at 7.35 pm. Checked 36 hours beforehand with Finnair mobile application to get great seats. At Heathrow in baggage drop, the customer service asked to weight all person cabin bags since we had only 1 pc of checked baggage. That was quite weird since this did not happen in Helsinki when we departured. Anyhow, I had prepare already at home by weighing all cabin bags to be less than 8 kg. So I didn't have any trouble with this incident. After that went to security control and everything went smoothly. Waiting time around 5 minutes. Flight arrived to Helsinki 20 minutes earlier.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"abysmal staff planning"

(Switzerland)

1 agent and 5 empty desks at Border Control in mid-August. Unfathomnable planning on behalf of Customs. I've been consistently shocked by the abysmal staff planning in Terminal 5 but this degree of lack of foresight is incomprehensible. I will admit the people are friendly when you finally reach them. Unfortunately the wait yields less than friendly customers.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"good experiences all around"

(United Kingdom)

I feel like sometimes I'm the only person on the planet who likes Heathrow airport. I transfer through Terminal 5 at least 6 times a year for the last 5 years, usually during the height of holiday seasons, and I have had good experiences all around. Even this last Christmas going through with a broken foot in a wheelchair by myself, the assistants were great and one even went to coffee with me because we got to the gate so early. The longest I've ever had to wait through immigration was an hour (I came in the same time as a plane full of people with difficult visas) and my fastest from plane door to terminal shopping (that's with immigration and security) was 20 minutes. There's loads of seating, wonderful clean bathrooms, free wifi and a bright atmosphere even when the sky is gloomy.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"unimpressed"

(Australia)

Currently sitting in terminal 2, 2.5 hours early for a flight and there is no smokers area (LHR is a non smoking airport). I apologise in advance to the crew who are going to have to deal with me on the 13 hour flight to Singapore. Other than that Heston's restaurant is nice.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"no help available when needed"

(Canada)

I did not heed advice and chose to route my travel through there, mistakenly thought it would be easier as it is English-speaking. Frankfurt airport proved far easier to navigate in spite of the language. Airport is understaffed for a main travel hub, no help available when needed.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no