London Heathrow Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 1464 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"T3 experience was mixed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I fly from and to Heathrow dozens of times every year, but this time I used T3 so decided to submit a review. The T3 experience was mixed - departure was reasonably good, short queues at check in and security, very efficient operation. The departure lounge is a disgrace for a terminal primarily operated by long haul airlines. It's literally a big room with shops and eateries around it, full of seating in the middle. Disorganized, overcrowded, with long queues at the coffee shops and less seating than required, when you have a few A380s waiting for departure at any given time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"it was laughable to watch them"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Terminal 5 security. We are all aware of the ever increasing need for security checks at airports but the security checks at Heathrow T5 are a disgrace. I'm a seasoned traveller but I've never seen anything as haphazard and disorganised as I experienced on 8th November 2017. My hand luggage went through the scanner and was selected for further scrutiny, fair enough, that happens from time to time. However the staff at security then seemed to be at a loss as to what to do. It took ages for someone to actually decide who should actually do the physical check of the bag and how to do that that check, it was laughable to watch them. It was more like watching the Keystone cops than airport security staff. Once they finally go someone to step up to the plate and do the check I had to turn my bag out myself and then everything was taken away for checking. On finding nothing it was then given back to me for repacking with no space to do that. Amateurish. I don't have a problem with additional searches, they are to be expected. I do have a problem with security staff who have no idea how to perform them, it gives me little faith that they could actually find something in the event of there being something there to find. When I returned through Rome airport the following week the Italian security were a model of politeness and efficiency. Note: everything else at Heathrow T5 was excellent, only the unprofessional security staff let the place down.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Heathrow is actually pretty good"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Travelled from T3 with Virgin Atlantic London-Atlanta return Miami-London. T3 is not as nice as T5 but, apart from being a rip-off shopping mall, it's not as bad as people seem to write in the reviews. There are always seats to be found and plenty of eateries should you need to before take off. Bit of a queue at Security outbound but that's pretty much the norm nowadays. Of course queueing time could be cut but the passengers who still don't know - despite all the signs and the fact that this has been going on for years - that liquids of 100 ml or less need to be put in a separate sealed bag etc etc. But mostly it's just something we have to get through before boarding. Wi Fi seemed OK once signed on. On return was in Upper Class so first off of the plane. Did not use Virgin's arrival lounge so quickly through Passport Control (no queue at the electronic gates), baggage arrived super quickly, through customs and picked up the car to be on the M25 in 45 minutes. Compared with a lot of International Airports Heathrow is actually pretty good.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
3/10

"truly a nightmare"

(Saudi Arabia)

Unverified | Terminal 5 on a Monday morning is truly a nightmare, traffic was backed down to the M25and took an age to get to the drop of point. Once inside the check in desks nicely spaced out and was easy to check in. Security though is a complete joke, fast track had broken down and was told this is a regular occurrence. Once through you are greeted with an overcrowded terminal with thousands of passengers everywhere. Toilets were completely overwhelmed even in the BA business class lounge you had to queue, top tip is go to the A gates on the lower level as the toilets are hardly used. Everything at the airport is so expensive and even the exchange rates are a rip off if you are changing money. T5 in the morning especially Monday is to be avoided as it's just too overcrowded with hardly any seating to be had and that includes the lounges, a huge need to install more toilets at this terminal is a must! Wifi though was good with a stable connection so it was a plus point. Overall this terminal is in bad need of expanding airside especially.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"check in was quick and easy"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Travelled in and out of terminal 3. Departed late afternoon, check in was quick and easy. Very short line at security. Only downside was Heathrow congestion resulting bus gate 24, resulting in delayed departure. Returned at 9am again only problem was Heathrow congestion, plane had to wait nearly half an hour for an airbridge. No line at passport control, bags in hall within 10 minutes of me getting to baggage belt.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"there is no smoking room available"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Unlike most international airports there is no smoking room available once past security, as a smoker on a 9 hour flight I find this disgusting that a smoking area has not been provided. Will fly from Gatwick in future and boycott Heathrow until it has seen the error of it ways and provided one.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Expensive over priced food"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Cafe Apostrophe should be called Cafe Catastrophe! Long delays at security who were simply so bloomin rude. A smile and a good morning costs nothing. Expensive over priced food. Really bad music blaring out. Poor wifi. And above all toilets were disgusting.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this airport is shocking"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Apart from the Lufthansa and Singapore Airline Lounges, when it comes to the security check, this airport is shocking. Especially considering how much of the airport taxes actually goes to security, you’d expect people be trained in common courtesy. However most of the security team I encountered over many years travelling in and out of Heathrow are the "I'm better than thou because the one wearing the uniform" type, meaning mostly curt and borderline rude, if not obnoxious. I suspect they're even worse when you go through Fast Track - making departing from there a real unpleasant start to the journey 8 or 9 out of 10 times. The worst we've had was a tattoo covered 'gentleman' who just used his body to boss us around without saying a word, even when it was unclear what he wanted and when he finally spoke, he made a snide remark about my companions dreadlocks, who complained directly to Heathrow to no avail, until he twice prompting a non-committals answer but still no apology, making one of Britains' worst airports in terms of customer relations and treatment (worse than London City, Gatwick, Luton, Stansted and Birmingham for sure).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Security, rude and obnoxious"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | LHR terminal 3, just another body to be processed not a guest to be taken care of. Check in no problem. Security, rude and obnoxious. I was treated like dirt, the alarm set off as I walked through the detector, shoes and belt already removed. Staff spoke to me rudely and treated me as a potential threat, searched me in a unpolite manner without comment, please or thank you. The terminal is huge with plenty of shops for all tastes, luckily we were able to take shelter in the lounge until the flight was called.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Avoid T5 if at all possible"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Outgoing service was okay for early morning departure to New York JFK. Used BA first class security and Concorde Room so cannot really comment on terminal. Returning was absolutely awful and an embarrassment to be British and have this as our No 1 airport. Arrived into B Satellite, and we had to wait for 4 different trains to pass before we could make our way to main Terminal, to be greeted there by chaos and awful queues for immigration. I like T2 at Heathrow, but do recommend avoiding T5 if possible - it is now very badly managed and run.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no