Top 100 Airlines  

London Heathrow Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 1269 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"extremely long queues"

(United Kingdom)

It is very disappointing as a British passport holder to get of a long haul flight at Heathrow and have to face extremely long queues to clear passport control. Whilst fully understanding and supporting our need for border control there is only one answer. To see so many empty and unmanned passport border desks it is clear that more staff would be the answer to make coming home a more welcoming process.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"has excellent shopping"

(China)

LHR is the airport that I use up to 15 times a year. Such a large airport should be viewed as three airports, each served by a different tube station, and standard varies. The oldest, Terminal 1, 2 and 3, is old and in real need of renovation, even some redesign. The second, Terminal 4, is actually the most convenient, being not too large, and easy access to tube station is the key. Terminal 5 used mainly by BA is modern, and has excellent shopping and eating facilities. There are good lounges too (if you use BA, then note that the B Gate Lounge is much better than the A Gate North and South lounges). The convenient connection from LHR to every part of London is the key, and there are various means that gets you to your final destination in town. One complaint: they never give the gate number until about one hour before flight, and it can prove difficult to commute in such a large airport entailing a long walk or internal train transport. Wonder why they can't announce the gate number early, as most other airports do. This is its minus point.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"first impression is not pleasant"

(United Kingdom)

After travelling from Seattle to Manchester this morning I was struck at the aggressive rudeness and arrogant attitude of all the security staff at Heathrow Terminal 5. While I realise that security must be absolutely paramount - the general attitude of staff was not good. Heathrow is supposed to be the gateway to Britain and the first impression of our country at Heathrow is not a pleasant one. I was quite ashamed. I can only say that the way the staff spoke to an elderly gentleman in front of me was bordering on bullying and unpleasant. People pay an awful lot of money for the privilege of flying through Heathrow and while they definitely need security they are also due respect.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"had no staff"

(Netherlands)

More than an hour to get through UK/EU passport control. I wouldn't really mind if it looked like the staff were working flat out to ameliorate the wait, but at least half of the counters had no staff, whereas some had two people sitting together having a laugh. Last time I'll fly into London through Heathrow.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
3/10

"more staff intervention than ever"

(United Kingdom)

We had checked in online for our flight from Heathrow, and just needed our bag tags from the self-check-in machine at Terminal 2. We introduced our passports to the machine and zilch. An assistant told us we were doing it wrongly - she put our passports in and zilch. To cut a long story short, the reason it wouldn't work was because there was more than one Singapore flight and machine couldn't ascertain which one we were on. Now, I may be missing something here, but if putting your passport in the means the system has verified that you are legitimately on a flight that day, then how can it not know which one? It's supposed to be DIY, but needs more staff intervention than ever. It's pathetic given they had all that experience from Terminal 5 to go on.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"more seating needs to be offered"

(United Kingdom)

Travelled on British Airways through Terminal 5 to Athens. On departure we arrived early and surprised to see it only took 1 hour to get there from Essex. We parked at the short stay car park which was a 5 min walk through the terminal. Security was busy (at 9am) but quick and we got through within 10 mins. There are a lot of shops and restaurants but more seating needs to be offered as the only seats are really at the gates and you don't know when a flight will leave from there. The gate was called about 1 hour before our flight and was only a couple of minutes away. Boarding was done quick and we were airborne quickly even though it was busy. On Arrival we arrived at Terminal 5b. It took roughly 15 mins to get through to Terminal 5A and passport control after touching down. We were at the car park within 45 mins of touching down. (That said out flight arrived at 22.10). No bags to pick up. Overall we would not hesitate to use Heathrow again as even though it is big and busy, it doesn't mean it is any less convenient. It is certainly better than Stansted (apart from distance) and on par with Gatwick.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"terrible border control process"

(United Kingdom)

Terrible border control process. Huge queues for UK/EU passports but empty queue for others. Lots of staff hanging about but not actually doing anything useful to help to reduce queuing chaos. Disabled vehicles barging through queues posing a safety hazard to small children. Thought the US immigration was bad but this was far worse.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"car park is dysfunctional"

(United Kingdom)

Heathrow Terminal 4 short stay car park is a dysfunctional place. After queuing for 20 minutes just to pull the ticket and enter, the day-glow brigade directs you in the wrong direction down one-way aisles and ramps. People are grimacing at you from their vehicles, honking their horns. The arrivals section is a veritable "ant-hill" of relatives, friends and card-wielding valets. When you want to leave (by vehicle) after paying almost £5 for a 15 minute stay, you can join the stationary queue to the exit. It took close enough to 45 minutes just to exit - is anyone responsible for this I ask?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"lack of staff in passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Appalling lack of border staff in passport control on arrival at Heathrow. Only 6 staff for UK/EU arrivals. 2 doing nothing, 2 chatting, 2 dealing with arrivals. They also let non-EU passport holders go through EU positions. As a result very long queue - it took 40 minutes to get back into the country after a long flight.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
9/10

"enough options for eating"

(India)

We flew in and out of Heathrow Terminal 4. It was well-marked and accessible. It did not seem crowded but perhaps during the peak season it is. There were more than enough options for eating and shopping at the airport. Complimentary WiFi available for which you will have to create an account. Be prepared for a lot of walking.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes