London Heathrow Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 1443 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"surprised how painless the experience was"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We used Terminal 5 for both departure and arrival. This was the first time in about 10 years we have used Heathrow and having read reports about the airport we were surprised how painless the experience was. We always allow plenty of time to get to the airport and passed though security controls etc. There were plenty of self checks and we were able to print off our boarding passes and go though the security controls and both been regular travellers are aware of the controls and how to avoid delays. Once through there is a good range of shops, cafes and coffee shops. The gates are displayed and also the time it takes to get to the gates from where you are in the terminal. Boarding is quick and painless and there are plenty of seats at the gates. Arrival the aircraft was parked on a B gate which meant a shuttle ride to the baggage reclaim and border controls. The shuttle seemed to take a few minutes to arrive but the trip was only about 2 minutes to the other terminal. The was no real queue and there were only half the desks and epassport machine in use. There was a slight queue but no more than a few minutes. We were out of the terminal within 25 minutes if landing at 2230. Compared to other London airports they seem to have their operation fine tuned.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"can't really fault either process"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Used Terminal 3 for both departure and arrival and can't really fault either process. Despite being quite busy the security on departure was swift and really the only delays were caused by passengers not removing liquids or other items from their bags despite many instructions to do so. Departure lounge had plenty of seating. Arriving back through the automated passport gates and to the luggage belts was quick and I was out in around 45 minutes from landing which for a full A380 flight is pretty impressive.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"rummaged through my meds"

(United States)

Unverified | Arrived 8/9/2017 on the BA red eye from BOS to Heathrow for layover en route to Greece. Had meticulously sorted and packed 8 prescriptions (some topical, some oral, some nasal) into regulation plastic bags with pharmacy labels clearly visible. One was a box containing a large tube of analgesic muscle gel that couldn’t fit into regulation bags, requiring a larger one. Here I was, a mobile and alert, cooperative 65-year-old Anglophile woman with somewhat complex medication needs, carrying legal and medically necessary drugs in her handbag en route to a vacation. Thus I presented a serious risk in the minds of 2 security agents, who in turn rummaged through my meds, taking the topical ones out of pharmacy boxes to inspect and run electronic wands over for 20 minutes, seeking bomb-making materials, while advising me that all 8 meds must fit into one regulation plastic bag—that I could throw away pharmacy boxes so they’d all fit. This seemed an episode out of Monty Python’s “You Can’t Win” game. I refused as their suggestion would defy the laws of physics, damage some containers, be confusing as some meds had to be used in certain combinations, and eliminate prescription labels containing dosage directions attached to boxes. How, I asked, would I explain to other agents, upon my return from Greece via Heathrow, such medications with no labels to prove their contents? The agents agreed with this argument but managed to lose one prescription bottle entirely and jumble everything in their zeal to protect the UK against American grandmothers and music teachers. My husband, who’d not been to England before, swore never to go there again after the incident.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"The staff really don't care"

(Cyprus)

Verified Review | The staff clearly don't care that people are actually in a hurry to get to their planes. The automatic systems at Heathrow work like a charm, you go through the process in no second. However every time there are human beings involved everything gets 100 times slower. The staff really don't care, they take so much time to do trivial actions without even having the remote EQ to understand that they should at least pretend that they are fast. Unacceptable!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"a good departure"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Travelled out of Terminal 3. Check in at Virgin desk was very good and I was quickly through security within about 5 minutes. We were called to the aircraft on time and boarded without and hassle. It was a good departure. Only negative comment is the distance to the gate from the main terminal building.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"worst security screening ever"

(France)

Verified Review | Worst security screening ever, slow and lazy staff, not enough lanes open. Took 30 minutes to go through, almost missed my plane. They better hire people and hire more motivated people because for me it was the last time I go thru this London airport. Better Gatwick and Luton by far
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Customer service is non-existent"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | By far one of the worst airports to depart from and arrive at in the world. The airport security staff are most definitely the rudest, the most arrogant and without doubt the most incompetent set of individuals one could possibly encounter in any customer services business anywhere in the world. I truly feel sorry for tourists entering England for the first time and having to encounter the human zoo otherwise known as Heathrow airport. The electronic passport gates were not all working but this was not mentioned by the one member of staff whose grasp of the English language was sub-standard, people were queuing up in lanes where the machines were out of order leading to a build up of irate travel weary passengers. Customer service is non-existent in Heathrow airport, the security is undoubtedly the worst ever and that goes for all the UK airports!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a really easy experience overall"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | T5. Dropped the car at meet and greet. Down one floor, across bridge, straight up to bag drop off, quick service there. Through security in quick time, staff all ok. Shopped in three different places and still in lounge in 50 mins from drawing up in car. Can't be bad. Departure from gate practically at bottom of stairs so all really easy. All boarded on time but then the dreaded Heathrow over crowding of slots. Still a really easy experience overall. When T5 works, it really works well we have found. Coming back from Zante shows how good it is.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"All in all a bad experience"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Security staff at Terminal 5 were condescending and rude, likewise the staff at the restaurant. For transit passengers this may be the first or only contact they have with a British person, gives a bad impression of the airport and of Britain. Restaurant had water dripping from the ceiling from an unrepaired air con unit and their only card reader was not working. Gate announcement was late resulting in a rush to building 'C' where the escalator was not working and we had to queue for the lift. All in all a bad experience, I probably won't use this terminal again which is a pity for British Airways who were otherwise good.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"he received no help at all"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | My brother who has terminal cancer recently flew to and from Canada, via Heathrow airport, to visit his grandchildren. Due to his illness he is unable to carry luggage so had requested assistance on both journeys. Unbelievably he received no help at all. On his return he had to descend 3 flights of stairs. Thankfully a very kind passenger gave him assistance. Your services absolutely stink Heathrow.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no