Top 100 Airports  

London Gatwick Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 482 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"airport is getting worse and worse"

(United Kingdom)

No water fountains in North terminal. Immigration queues on return to UK are always long and under staffed these days. No McDonalds in south terminal any more, burger king and subway removed a few years ago. All about spending megabucks. This airport is getting worse and worse.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
3/10

"not an efficient or pleasant port"

(United Kingdom)

Unpleasant staff, poor signage and directions, lounges are boxy and lack tranquility for business travel. Toilets in the lounges are dark and like stepping into a nightclub. Poor layout of North Terminal departures. Travel using Gatwick if you have no other option. Definitely not an efficient or pleasant port to depart or arrive into.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"passport control is a joke"

(United Kingdom)

Horrible staff at security at Gatwick. Terrible system for going through security, bags go through before yourself. No care given for children, saw lots separated from parents that where held up for searches. Returning home passport control is a joke, the new machines work when they feel like it, poor English spoken by a women who I assume was there to help but instead rolled her eyes every time someone failed to go through and then barked at everyone in the queues to watch the information video. Gatwick needs to educate their staff to treat people with respect. I felt like I was at JFK airport which is the worst in the world, your catching up Gatwick.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"not at all efficient"

(United Kingdom)

Check in fine, although security was absolutely dreadful. Poor levels of English spoken by the staff and their system for x-ray/screening is not at all efficient. Rather than one by one in a line, you go into side by side bays, meaning your cabin bags can disappear off into the distance if you need to use more than one tray. Also not at all set up for families in that regard. My 4 year old managed to set off the metal detector then was almost manhandled into the body scanner by the 'guard'. Finally persuaded him to get someone to do a simple search of her and we moved on (finally). Departure lounge absolutely heaving but luckily we had pre-booked the no1 lounge so could escape for a while. Signage and screens poor but found our way to the gate. Return leg, baby pushchair delivered to baggage reclaim with promises of 'strollers just after the airbridge'. Of course, none to be found, so carrying an exhausted infant for the best part of a mile it was then. At the car park, there was no clear signs to 'priority' parking where the car was being delivered to, so we wandered about until we finally found something by the lift showing it was actually a floor below. They want to expand this airport, but it would be a laughing stock to business travellers unless they sort themselves out.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a trek to baggage claim"

(United Kingdom)

Arriving back at Gatwick North Terminal on a domestic easyJet flight from the Isle of Man. We parked at one of the stands over the far side of the SkyBridge, and were told we would be bussed to terminal. This was fine except there were 2 flights of steps down to the bus, difficult if you are less than mobile - there did not appear to be a lift. Arrived at the domestic arrivals doorway on the ground floor and found we had to negotiate a trek to baggage claim up and then down stairs to various floors the building to arrive back on the ground floor probably no more than 50 yards from where we started. Fortunately, this time there were lifts although one looked as if it is used to dispose of the rubbish in the building. I appreciate that this area is being refurbished but why couldn't the bus have dropped us next to the baggage claim area?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"never use this airport again"

(Denmark)

My girlfriend and I travelled from Rome to Gatwick to Copenhagen and we had to spend the night in Gatwick. Terrible experience! Unless you are willing to pay an exorbitant fee for a hotel room you need to sleep ind the foyer which is ridiculously cold, there is not enough chairs at all, and there is no carpet to lie on. Would not recommend it and will never use this airport again!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"very few screens"

(United Kingdom)

The announcement speaker system at the North terminal needs to be much louder. We missed our flight by 5 minutes (arrived 25 minutes before flight time) but too late as the gate had just closed. The steward claims she made several announcements for us (my family) but we didn't hear one. There are also very few screens to notify you of the flight status, gate info etc. around the terminal and the ones they do have are very small. The screens at the South terminal seem bigger and/or there are more of them. It's our responsibility for missing our flight, but it may have been prevented if we'd been able to see more screens and hear the announcements. I wonder how many people miss their flights at the North terminal compared to the South terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"waiting for baggage to be unloaded"

(Czech Republic)

We were arriving and departing from Gatwick in July 2016. In case of the arrival, we were waiting for the baggage to be unloaded for 1 hour and 45 minutes. It took more than an hour to even find out the number of carousel the baggage would be unloaded onto.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airbridge not connected for 1h 15m"

(United Kingdom)

Return to London Gatwick from Palma with Easyjet. Flight departure delayed from 16.55 for 2 hours in Palma. Having finally touched down at Gatwick after 2100 hours airbridge not connected for over 1 hour and 15 minutes and pilot appeared not to be able to get any coherent information. Baggage handlers on go-slow? Control tower on go-slow? Passport Control in chaos as hundreds of passengers all appeared to arrive at same time and some had flights cancelled. Is there a system for keeping passengers informed?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"out of arrivals 1h 20m after landing

(United Kingdom)

Gatwick is an awful airport to arrive home through. Automatic (biometric) passport machines and the queue system which feeds them are abysmal. Arriving on Sunday night at midnight we are faced with a saturated system and no clear entry to the queues. 40 minutes to pass through. I am certain this is due to the elongated wait between passage of passport holder 'out of the pen' and opening of the gates to allow new passport holder 'into the pen'. Finally through passport control, single-passageway flight of stairs or lift only to pass onto baggage claim (elevators being worked on, like everything else here). You might think that after the long wait in passport the bags would be on the conveyor belt. No way, "Wait" still showing on screen. A full 1h after the aircraft landed, the bags eventually started to dribble out. Finally got out of arrivals 1h 20m after landing.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no