Vote Now  

London Gatwick Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 524 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"poor cousin of LHR is getting better"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The poor cousin of LHR is getting better. World class security puts the rest of the world's airports to shame. They are excellent and observant. Shopping and food better too. The management could work more with the railways for an improved experience. Its a bit mad in this area especially public displays for train departure times that can cause a rush. But well done Gatwick in getting better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"the layout is relatively easy"

(United Kingdom)

An early weekday morning flight from South terminal, long term car park was near to the terminal and easy to transfer across to departures level. The walkway from bus drop off to check in was very cold, and was not a great first impression. Having used Gatwick for many years the layout is relatively easy with check in and security working well. Two levels of shopping and restaurants airside with a good selection to choose from. Generally pleasant surroundings with all the facilities one might need. Good flight information screens. Only downside was arriving back, with long crowded queing at passport control in the small immigration hall at 8:30pm Sunday evening, with a long wait for the bus back to the long term car park. Arrival at gate to getting into car took an hour. Overall Gatwick works pretty much like it has for years, albeit with a few updated cosmetic changes, improved signage and shops etc..
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"airport is now an absolute nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This airport is now an absolute nightmare for pick and up drop off, a total mess with long delays. Just trying to get into and out of the pick up and drop off area due to a lack of organisation and bad signs meant that the queue to get out of the pick up area was 20 mins. I was in the pick up parking for 2 mins then 20 mins in queue so £3.50. I will never go near this airport again. Stansted for me from now on.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
6/10

"terminals need modernisation"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Seriously this airport have overgrown its capacity a long time ago. Arrival by train crowded. But security top of the scale and professional - one of the best and a credit to whoever is in charge. But the terminals need modernisation. Taxing times acceptable too. We need LGW so much in London but it could be presented much better and a more generic airport wide theme would help.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a waste of time and total neglect"

(Russian Federation)

2 border control officers for non EU. The queue is horrendous, and is getting longer. No one seems to care. I'm in the second line for 40 min already. Will not recommend to anyone, just a waste of time and total neglect. Use city airport instead, closer to the city and smaller, shorter queues.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a pleasure to breeze through"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | After an, utterly horrendous, 3 hour, experience at Orlando International, two weeks prior, it was a pleasure to breeze through the automated passport and immigration control area in less than 10 minutes! Thank you Gatwick North Terminal, we will be back!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"penny pinching at customers expense"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The staffing and organizational problems at Gatwick become very exposed when the added challenge of the skiing season arrives. I experienced this for the 3rd year in a row yesterday when I arrived back after a horrible experience at Verona. I thought that after all the hype from the Management at Gatwick about how ready they are to expand that they might have got their current ability sorted out - sadly not. My heart sank when I got to North Terminal baggage claim to find the hall rammed with fellow skiers from other destinations who had already been waiting an hour for their luggage and the only reason offered over the PA was a shortage of baggage handlers - same as last year! This is inexcusable given the airport know exactly how many skiers and equipment is arriving, it is just penny pinching at the customers expense. I waited an hour for all my luggage to turn up but the most farcical situation was the oversized baggage collection. This consisted of a single baggage handler coming in and out of a door with one set of skis/ pushchair etc at a time and dumping it in a marked square on the floor and then disappearing back through the door. Eventually he had the bright idea of propping the door open with an old cable drum, hi etc indeed!! When asked by another passenger when their skis could be expected he replied "you need to be more patient" and went back behind the doors. My skis eventually turned up over an hour and a half after my suitcase. Unbelievable lack of customer service and no staff on the passenger side to get any information from. They don't seem to have learned anything from their previous poor customer service incidents and their performance was far below that expected from a large International airport. If you're skiing/ golfing/ surfing etc and take your own equipment leave lots and lots of extra time for baggage collection and warn your taxi!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"not enough seating"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I found the entrance hall was good but the waiting area was too small, not enough seating for non busy time being January, I assume it would be horrendous during the summer. Only 2 places to buy food, Pret A Manger and the other in the opposite corner. Totally ridiculous for a pleasant journey. Signage to say how far the gate is for anyone who has problems walking. Not enough space to walk around without bumping into someone.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
3/10

"finishes are cheap and cheerful"

(United Kingdom)

Little improvement at baggage reclaim. Menzies have unloaded only half the plane! We were through customs in 10mins (not bad for Sunday) and have been waiting an hour for the bags to arrive. They must be taking a lunch break! The interior finishes are generally cheap and cheerful (melamine and lino) and not the quality you expect at an international airport, especially one handling so many passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"tired and pretty gross experience"

(Japan)

Verified Review | First time using London Gatwick airport and I'm afraid the experience was a bit of a poor one. Security screening staff were totally uninterested in actually helping passengers and instead were visibly annoyed when I asked for a tray to put my jacket and bag into. When I found my way to the departure lounge it seemed more like a grimy holding pen than any kind of waiting area with very few seats available and large numbers of people just milling around the multitude of shops with nowhere to go. The signage for the gates from the departure lounge area is incredibly unclear and I only noticed where I was supposed to be going almost by mistake. In keeping with the general grime and grubbiness of the waiting space I was struck by the fact that the floor of my departure gate was a mosaic of gum on the carpet and I don't think I've ever noticed cobwebs on windows at an airport anywhere else in the world before. All in all a very tired and pretty gross experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no