Airline of the Year  

London Gatwick Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 533 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"security is quick and professional"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Not perfect but Gatwick undoubtedly has the best departure process of all the airports I have experienced. Security is quick and professional (although not as friendly as Belfast) and everyone gets through at a good pace. Arrivals still leave a lot to be desired, the passport control is worse than average. The automatic passport control barriers don't work for many of the passengers who then have to queue up again at the manual desks. The toilets at arrivals in South terminal are by far the best of all airports (including in private lounges).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"in utter chaos"

(United Kingdom)

We have just arrived back home from a Dubrovnik flight and passport control in the south terminal is in utter chaos! The passports scanners are hardly working and very few border staff are on duty. I have never seen the staff work so slow either. It was commented by others queuing that the staff seemed to be in a deliberate 'go slow'. I must agree, it definitely seemed this way to me. Passengers were getting very frustrated due to the queue moving so slowly and complaints being made to supervising officers.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"herded into a single huge queue"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived at Gatwick on Friday night with family and two children, all families with children were herded into a single huge queue at passport control, which took us over a hour to get through. All other passengers without children were allowed to pass through without incident. I would like to know why? It looked quicker to be a foreign national than to be a UK citizen.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"lacks quality of service"

(Ukraine)

Verified Review | London Gatwick is not a pleasant airport. It is clearly saturated, and I can not recommend it for other travelers. First of all, it's very far from London's city center, and it takes up to two hours to reach it by bus or train. Then, the conception of departure hall is disturbing, and not very easy to understand. It becomes even worse once you pass the security check, as you have to walk maybe 15 minutes to find your gate, including a very special apron cross by a 30m high glass bridge. I also got disapointed by the fact you can not find any service at night when you have to check-in at 03:00 AM. There are only few seats in public area, and not more in reserved area, and it's quite impossible to find a socket to plug your mobile phone. Wifi isn't free and is limited on time. I really think this airport lacks quality of service and I will try to avoid it as much as possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"security took all of 5 minutes"

(United Kingdom)

I had not used London Gatwick south terminal for a while so was interested to see how it operates. On departure, check in and security took all of 5 minutes and were so smooth as to 'de-stress' me after an irritating train journey. On arrival, I was through border control and bag collection within 30 minutes of getting off the plane. A good impression. On the down side, it is on 3 levels so there is a lot of going up and down on escalators. The public departure lounge is full of shops and restaurants and not a relaxing place to spend time without access to an airline lounge.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"15 minutes for ground crew to respond"

(United Kingdom)

Terrible experience at London Gatwick Airport. The skill of the cabin crew reiterate the importance of achieving good GCSE's. The main problem however is that it took 15 minutes for the ground crew to respond to our landing which resulted in a lot lf uncomfortable and unhappy passengers stood around on the plane. I will not be using this terrible airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"poor cousin of LHR is getting better"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The poor cousin of LHR is getting better. World class security puts the rest of the world's airports to shame. They are excellent and observant. Shopping and food better too. The management could work more with the railways for an improved experience. Its a bit mad in this area especially public displays for train departure times that can cause a rush. But well done Gatwick in getting better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"the layout is relatively easy"

(United Kingdom)

An early weekday morning flight from South terminal, long term car park was near to the terminal and easy to transfer across to departures level. The walkway from bus drop off to check in was very cold, and was not a great first impression. Having used Gatwick for many years the layout is relatively easy with check in and security working well. Two levels of shopping and restaurants airside with a good selection to choose from. Generally pleasant surroundings with all the facilities one might need. Good flight information screens. Only downside was arriving back, with long crowded queing at passport control in the small immigration hall at 8:30pm Sunday evening, with a long wait for the bus back to the long term car park. Arrival at gate to getting into car took an hour. Overall Gatwick works pretty much like it has for years, albeit with a few updated cosmetic changes, improved signage and shops etc..
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"airport is now an absolute nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This airport is now an absolute nightmare for pick and up drop off, a total mess with long delays. Just trying to get into and out of the pick up and drop off area due to a lack of organisation and bad signs meant that the queue to get out of the pick up area was 20 mins. I was in the pick up parking for 2 mins then 20 mins in queue so £3.50. I will never go near this airport again. Stansted for me from now on.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
6/10

"terminals need modernisation"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Seriously this airport have overgrown its capacity a long time ago. Arrival by train crowded. But security top of the scale and professional - one of the best and a credit to whoever is in charge. But the terminals need modernisation. Taxing times acceptable too. We need LGW so much in London but it could be presented much better and a more generic airport wide theme would help.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes