London City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 100 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"one of the best anywhere"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Going to Geneva at 17.45, I was through security in one minute where all staff were helpful and seemed happy. I then had to return back through security to customer services to see if a friends laptop that he had accidentally left the day before at security had been found. It had. They went through stringent checks including speaking to him and an email verification but within five minutes they handed it over, with smiles and utmost helpfulness. Then back through security (this time in four minutes). I know City is tight on space (I’ve flown out of it probably a dozen times over the years) but if they can keep that level of customer service up it ranks as one of the best anywhere.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"appalled at the security staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I travelled through London City Airport on the 6th of June 2018, and was quite appalled at the behaviour of the security staff. Firstly, my bag was moved for special inspection: I was brusquely told that inhalers were considered liquids at LCY. I travel at least 10 times a month across the Asia-Pacific region, Europe, and North America and have never had my inhalers questioned. I pointed this out and immediately another security person came up to me and repeated that it was “this airport’s policy”. I felt quite harassed by this person. But if it is LCY policy, there is nothing to warn passengers to place inhalers separately. This would save a lot of trouble. Then the security woman searched my bag and brought out a container in which I had cheese. This was sent through the scanner again: it was quite unnecessary, as I could have just opened the container and sampled it myself. Then she found my sandwich and put that through the scanner as well. It was very chaotic, as each item was removed and rescanned separately. My belongings were strewn across 5 different trays. Once I had finally managed to retrieve my laptop, iPad, and cheese, I noticed that my sandwich was missing. I asked where that was and the staff became very abusive and shouted that I was accusing them of stealing my sandwich. The man also said “we’ll, we wouldn’t want you to go hungry, would we?” Which was highly sarcastic and done purposely to humiliate me in front of all the other passengers. This was all done in a very derogatory manner and was extremely unpleasant. I waited for at least 10 minutes but the sandwich did not reappear. Finally I had to leave as my flight was boarding. In all the hundreds of airports I have travelled through, I have never experienced such an appalling shambles at security, poor manners and disdainful behaviour from security staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Very mixed experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very mixed experience at London City airport. Despite its location, it has little else going for it. Experience of checking in luggage fine, but found security very disorganised. When asked if I could take my passport through the scanners, security staff members were very rude and condescending. Departure lounge has reasonable amenities for its size, but it's very cramped and overcrowded. Toilets were not particularly clean.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"like watching episodes of the chuckle brothers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Going through security was like watching episodes of the chuckle brothers. How to make a mess out of getting 20 passengers through at a time. The bigger airports have their faults but god help us if the management or employees from London City went on to work at them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"putting themselves before passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Typically they start boarding before the engineers have given the green light so over and over again we are left standing in the stairway while the try and fix an issue. Really annoying to get out of a seat by the gate to wait 20 mins in the stairs. The airport is putting themselves before passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"check-in process so unorganised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I find the check-in process so unorganised! I have been queuing for more than and 1 hour and the queue doesn't even move! Every time is the same story, I like the fact that airport is quite clean but the service is terrible. My back is terribly sore and I can't even immagine all the elderly people in the queue with me. This airport symbolises the word inefficency. I won't reccoment this airport to anyone, anymore.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Incredibly badly organized security control"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Incredibly badly organized security control. Approx. 2/3 of the screened luggage has to undergo a manual control for which only 1 single person is assigned. Long queuing is the result. On top, the staff treats you as a half criminal just because you might have forgotten to take out your liquids from the luggage. Completely absurd situation. In cleverly organised airports, such as e.g. Zurich, the security staff (sufficient in number!) helps you to make the right arrangements before the luggage will be screened with the result that the process is quick and smooth.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"appalling security staff and service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Consistently appalling security staff and service. I travel from City several times per month. On each occasion the security experience is poor, inconsistent in application of TSA rules, preferring to make up what suits them on the day. Staff are rude or bolshy or worse, downright condescending. As a key business gateway for London, this airport operator ought to be doing more for customer service given the airport infrastructure itself is so lacking.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very dissatisfied with the service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Horrible security staff service. Bag was flagged for checking by one colleague and I was told the search would be of the electronic item. Whilst she left to get a tray her colleague came and started a new search on my bag. Taking individual contents out of my bag without explaining the reason or type of check. All individual items were taken out of the bag including under garments and toiletries in front of all those in the airport to see. I was not offered a private room to do this or to pack my belongings until I asked for her manager. Manager was helpful in assisting me with a private room to pack my items. However I wish this happened before I was searched. Overall very dissatisfied with the service received at this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a total lack of Customer Service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Beware of this airport, the airport has gone downhill since Menzies Aviation have got their foot under the door and become the ground handling agents for BA Cityflyer. On arrival there was a total lack of Customer Service and the staff seemed to of been trained at either Luton or Stansted. When it comes to lost bags they can't give a dam and the companies so called Duty Manager was less than useless. However, saying that the airport apart from everything that Menzies does not touch is the same, Security is first class and the staff are happy in their job. The Cafes sell a first class sections of wares and the and a good range of drinks and food. Borders controls are first class with every e gates open and also had 4 manned gates open, But yet again the ground handling agents let the airport down.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 99 Reviews