Top 100 Airlines  

London City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 124 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"departing is hell"

(Netherlands)

London City is a terrible airport. Arriving is fine, but departing is hell. Far too many people, so sitting is not an option. The boarding gates are shown only 5 minutes before departing - delays are not communicated properly. Boarding is interrupted because of arriving planes. Once everybody was seated onboard there was an extra delay for 30 minutes because of heavy air traffic.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"shouting and rude staff"

(United Kingdom)

Shouting and rude staff. Reminds me of Miami airport. Security is quick but one can do without the bossing around or rudeness of staff. Once you pass that you go into a shopping centre and not an airport. Huge amount of people so you will literally bump into one or two. I prefer LHR.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"convenience counts"

(China)

Very small airport, where there is practically nothing, no VIP lounge even if you fly Business class, but still I prefer it because of the swift check in (I think you can arrive less than one hour if without checked bags), and of course because of the shorter distance to town (but arguably access is more difficut than Heathrow served by the regular tube, not DLR here, and various transport options). There is not much to enjoy before flight here, but the convenience counts, particularly if you travel to the eastern part of London.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"worst airport I have been to"

(United Kingdom)

What can I say - horrible. With two small kids (one 7 months old) we had to queue up for a long time for the passport control. Nobody bothered to let us through quicker, like at other airports. The control officer was very rude. The page with my husbands visa was already opened when I handed her our passports, she even didn't bother to have a look at it before she took the passports into her hands, threw it back on the table and informed me with a raised voice "open the visa page". When I did it again, again she didn't bother to look at it and later she looked for it by herself - no smile, just rude. Only one lady checking the passports, very long waiting time. Baby changing facilities are another thing that need urgent attention. I had to change my baby in the cold public toilet with open doors next to the long queue of ladies queuing up to use the toilet. The worst airport I have been to.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"they should be ashamed"

(Switzerland)

I have no problem with the semi-chaos at security at this airport as it moves reasonably quickly but was shocked to see security staff seemingly routinely pressing the 'Very Satisfied' review buttons as you leave security - presumably to increase 'customer satisfaction' levels. They should be ashamed and the supervisor / manager heavily criticised for making the results worthless.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"woefully cramped"

(United Kingdom)

Arrival at 8.30am on a Tuesday morning was very good. From plane to DLR in about 4 minutes. The DLR station needs more obvious Oyster/contactless scan points. Return the following day at 5pm was quite a different story. Obviously thats rush hour and people will be leaving London but the airport terminal is currently woefully cramped during this time. Thankfully they appear to be installing new waiting areas along the corrider where the departure gates are which should take some of the crowding away from the terminal area. The security area was slow though appreciative that the security staff appeared to be scanning hand luggage closely as passed through the scanner. The staff were friendly though they give the impression of not being spoken to by customers very often as appeared slightly suprised when I started a short conversation with them. Few comments here saying the staff need to smile, but some customers need to recognise these people are humans and appreciate some friendly interaction.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"need to learn to smile"

(United Kingdom)

Check-in painless, baggage reclaim and border controls also painless (Gatwick, Luton and Stansted should take note, all e-passport gates were open and working). Security quick but they need to learn to smile and use the word please. Overall a good little airport even though there is building work going on in the arrivals area to make the gates better. Maybe both Gatwick and Luton could employ the same contractors.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"had a mixed experience"

(United Kingdom)

On our last visit to London, chose this airport for convenience. I had a mixed experience. Security queues were well managed and unlike many other airports, you can by-pass the duty free shop. The downside was the departures area, which I found far too cramped and definitely too small for the number of passengers waiting. I would use the airport again, but it's definitely one you don't want to be hanging around in for too long.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"too small to be comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

I love the idea behind this airport. It's near to London, small and the lines are indeed very short, I got off the DLR train at 08.15 and was through and sitting in the departure lounge by 08.25. Well signposted and despite there being a lot of people at the airport the toilets were very clean. The only negative for me was that the airport is now too small to be comfortable for the large numbers of people who wish to use it. I felt very crowded and hot and bothered. There was a bit of struggle to get a seat in the departure lounge and this kind of ruined the fast, slick professional appearance that you get of LCY when you first go through all the lines etc. It was easy to find my gate and not too much of a walk despite it being right at the end (gate 9). Boarding was quick, though this might have been because there were only 12 passengers on my flight. I'm sure the other flights were a lot fuller judging from the number of people in the lounge and the congestion when the plane was trying to leave the gate to take off.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
9/10

"everything was fast"

(United Kingdom)

It was my first time arriving at London City Airport. I flew from Tokyo with a connection at Amsterdam Schipol. The connecting flight was with Cityjet on one of their Avros. I was amazed at how straightforward it was from exiting the aircraft to getting a train out of the airport. It only took 15 minutes. Everything was fast - immigration and baggage claim. I was well impressed. This was far different from how it would have been if I arrived at Heathrow.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 71 Reviews