Top 100 Airlines  

London City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 129 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"small and cozy airport"

(Netherlands)

This small and cozy airport is the closest airport to London's city centre. Their free WiFi was very fast (500kbps) and had great range. I used it to video-chat in the airplane up until we went into the air. Extra points for LCY for having very wide tables with USB and power outlets. Lots of people at one of these tables to use and charge their phones and laptops until it was time to board. And Bloomberg had a permanent stand with computers that were running Bloomberg Terminal, and a big table with iPads that were free to use. After my arrival, I was at the taxi stand within literally 90 seconds. I still had to wait 4 minutes for my Uber to arrive. Room for improvement: renovate some parts, and add a couple of shops.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a disgrace to London"

(United States)

This is one of the worst airports I've experienced, and I am a global traveler. Terribly over crowded and too small, plus security takes longer than anywhere else. Food at restaurant was overpriced, and theres no business class lounge. The London City airport is a disgrace to London, which is a great city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"nice staff, very clean"

(United Kingdom)

No business class lounge at London City Airport but still very good. Close to the city. Fast check in. Fast security check. Nice staff. Very clean. Wifi with high speed. Beverage with many choices. The gates are very easy to reach. Highly recommend airport for business and family travelers
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"very overpriced food"

(United Kingdom)

Airside: Overcrowded to unsafe levels. No seats available. Very overpriced food. Poor quality - my porridge tasted overwhelmingly like paper. Check-in: Limited space. Chaotic. Not a good experience. I'm not using this airport again unless I have to.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"facilities are inadequate"

(United Kingdom)

This used to be such a nice airport. It is now terrible. Totally overcrowded to the point of being unsafe airsidea. I have only experienced one airport worse for overcrowding and that is Lagos. Facilities are inadequate. It is a wholly miserable experience. They have over the last few years increased the number of flights without thinking about the infrastructure. However to their credit the security process is slick and check in is ok. But airside facilities are poor. No executive lounge and not enough seating. The bar area seating is so scattered it is virtually impossible to find a path through the seats. If they had to do an emergency evacuation it would be bedlam. I have been waiting for three years for things to improve but they just get worse. They need to either improve infrastructure or reduce flights and do it now
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"good selection of shops and restaurants"

(United Kingdom)

Departure check-in at London City Airport was fast, excellent customer service, pleasant staff and use of your name. A 5 star experience which should reflect the whole airport. At security the 5 star experience goes down hill fast, as soon as you get off the escalator which carries you upstairs to the security check. This resembles the arrival point at a prison camp. The staff are barking orders at the people, with no politeness. I understand the staff have a thankless task but please and thank you goes a long way. I passed though at around 0630, in morning and the airport was not busy. Rudeness is not an excuse, and security staff are part of the public face of the airport. Smiles cost nothing. In the retail area there is a good selection of shops and restaurants. Departure gate and boarding is smooth. Arrival border control was friendly and fast. For baggage reclaim 2 flights arrived within minutes for the same belt and bags were arriving within 5 minutes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"departing is hell"

(Netherlands)

London City is a terrible airport. Arriving is fine, but departing is hell. Far too many people, so sitting is not an option. The boarding gates are shown only 5 minutes before departing - delays are not communicated properly. Boarding is interrupted because of arriving planes. Once everybody was seated onboard there was an extra delay for 30 minutes because of heavy air traffic.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"shouting and rude staff"

(United Kingdom)

Shouting and rude staff. Reminds me of Miami airport. Security is quick but one can do without the bossing around or rudeness of staff. Once you pass that you go into a shopping centre and not an airport. Huge amount of people so you will literally bump into one or two. I prefer LHR.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"convenience counts"

(China)

Very small airport, where there is practically nothing, no VIP lounge even if you fly Business class, but still I prefer it because of the swift check in (I think you can arrive less than one hour if without checked bags), and of course because of the shorter distance to town (but arguably access is more difficut than Heathrow served by the regular tube, not DLR here, and various transport options). There is not much to enjoy before flight here, but the convenience counts, particularly if you travel to the eastern part of London.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"worst airport I have been to"

(United Kingdom)

What can I say - horrible. With two small kids (one 7 months old) we had to queue up for a long time for the passport control. Nobody bothered to let us through quicker, like at other airports. The control officer was very rude. The page with my husbands visa was already opened when I handed her our passports, she even didn't bother to have a look at it before she took the passports into her hands, threw it back on the table and informed me with a raised voice "open the visa page". When I did it again, again she didn't bother to look at it and later she looked for it by herself - no smile, just rude. Only one lady checking the passports, very long waiting time. Baby changing facilities are another thing that need urgent attention. I had to change my baby in the cold public toilet with open doors next to the long queue of ladies queuing up to use the toilet. The worst airport I have been to.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 77 Reviews