Lisbon Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 140 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"airport has not managed to catch up"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | With the increase of tourism in Lisbon, the airport has not managed to catch up. It takes an average of 45-50 minutes between landing and the first suitcase coming out in the luggage area, and it took 30 minutes in a long and ever growing queue to get a taxi.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"Overall a fairly unpleasant experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Terminal 2 - unpleasant experience. A totally overcrowded bus from terminal 1 to 2 - tolerable as only a few minutes, but very on top of each other. Check in - No worse than normal, manned desks only. Security - Area in basement with queues, not very efficient and lots of zig zagging whilst waiting, not helped by a lack of signage/prep area to avoid incorrect items in bags by people in front of you! Airside area - Over capacity with lack of seating. Once out of the World Duty free shop (forced to walk through) you are confronted with a wall of queues - all people having to stand due to lack of seating. No area to move around as gate waiting areas all grouped together in a narrow portion of the building. A few over-priced eating establishments with a lack of tables, you will want to stay at your table due to lack of other seating areas, which just hinders others being able to eat what they've paid for. Only around 3 options for food. If flying to non-Schengen areas - Mostly UK flights you need to clear passport control at the end of the terminal - queues again. Hearded into a confined area with lack of seating and more queues. Unpleasant overcrowded area with two flights waiting - 6 available gates with seating for 50 at best! Only amenities are toilets. Be warned - water vending machine out of order - when asking a staff member told it can not be fixed. Chocolate vending machine also out of order. Due to the inadequate options pre-passport checks and the threat of being in this area for 1.5hrs or so, a lack of water didn't seem acceptable. Once called for flight queued to the join queue to leave terminal and walk to plane. Overall a fairly unpleasant experience and based on horror stories of the queues at passport control this summer, everyone rushed to get to the non-Schengen gate area enclosure to find themselves stuck there. Other reviewers calling it a 'cattle shed' are not far wrong.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"frankly it never gets any better"

(Portugal)

Unverified | I have used this airport numerous times now, and frankly it never gets any better. Terminal 1 is passable but the first impression of the toilets on entering it is pretty bad. The signage for cars entering the parking area is dreadful and most folk who don't know it well end up in a taxi queue! Terminal 2 is beyond dreadful. It doesn't have a single redeeming feature. The duty free is over priced and pitiful. The seats rarely accommodate the number of folk passing through it and the food on offer is dire. WiFi is a joke. Fast track security is hardly ever manned even when folk have paid a premium to use it. All in all, the place is a pit. It is common practice for staff to commence boarding through the gates before your plane has even landed, so long periods of delay and standing around in dank corridors is the norm. Hideous place.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"long walk to get to immigration"

(United States)

Unverified | Arrived on TAP from Miami at 5am. Long walk to get to immigration. When we got there, there were only about 75 people in the non-EU line ahead of us. Three non-EU immigration officers on duty, two for EU. When there was no one in the EU line, they took people from the non-EU line, which is what happened to us. While we were waiting, a number of flights arrived, and the non-EU line probably had a thousand people in it. Give yourself a lot of time, like 3 hours, if you are making a connection here. Going through security was the same. Not too bad when we got there, but backed up behind us to a huge degree. There was a employee at the exit to security, who told us our connecting gate. That was nice, as it didn't come up on the boards for a while. Again, a very long walk to our departure gate. Restrooms were very clean, but then, again, it was 6:30am, so they probably hadn't gotten much use since they were last cleaned. The airport has many places to eat and drink, but very few airside by the international departure gates. Huge duty free store if that's your thing. Lots of places to sit by the gates. This was all terminal 1. Can't speak for terminal 2.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"hardly any facilities"

(Netherlands)

Unverified | We are departing from terminal 2 at Lisbon Airport. Too many passengers. No seats. Made us feel like cattle. People become agressive. Long queues and hardly any facilities. We paid more than 300 euro for a KLM ticket Amsterdam to Lisbon. We expect a bit of service. Never use this teminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"kept in a small space, with hardly any seats"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Lisbon Airport must be one of the most difficult and horrendous airports to be, flying out to Edinburgh from Terminal 2 took over 60 minutes to pass Passport Control. I understand security but this is somewhat difficult to understand, even more difficult to understand is people trying to move towards the Duty-Free shops, or the other facilities of the airport have to cross the queue. Finally reach the queues for the few, 3 booths in service, almost in reach of a booth when I was told that I was in the wrong queue as it was for priority only, of course not only myself but other people behind me complained as no signage was visible, finally made it. I am now in what I can describe an animal pen, all passengers are kept in a small space, with hardly any seats, waiting to board the plane, so another 20/30 minutes wait. Lisbon is becoming a must for visitors, so I urge to Humberto Delgado Airport management to review the process within Terminal 2, otherwise will be Lisbon to lose, as passengers will be looking to other places with an easier and more relaxing in and out, remember that the first and last impressions are the ones that count the most.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"most inefficient airport"

(Belgium)

Unverified | Probably the worst organised, most inefficient airport in Western Europe. Unhelpful, rude staff, inefficient procedures that seem to be designed to solely employ a vast number of individuals to process basic tasks that are unnecessary and do not increase security or improve user experience. The mismanagement starts at check in with Groundforce staff (rude, confused and very slow), and goes all the way throughout security staff and TAP airlines staff in the airport. An absolute shambles.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no effort by staff to help sort passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My worst airport experience to date. Everything was fine (the airport is quite basic but I don't care much about shopping or anything like that), until the hour before the scheduled departure of my flight. There are 6 gates that share a joint boarding pass/passport control booth. They had two booths open, with a line of several hundred people. I was about halfway through the line, when the final call for my flight was announced. Several others were in the same position. There was no effort by staff to help sort passengers out in order of urgency. I and the other relevant people were forced to make our way to the front, which is something I find rude and embarrassing. After getting through this travesty of a system and three final call announcements, we were waiting another half an hour to board the plane. Furthermore, Ryanair decided to put my hand luggage in the hold, with no reason given, no apology, and essentially no manners. I hope that others have had a better experience in this airport, but my experience was really unacceptable and I would hesitate to either visit Lisbon or fly with Ryanair in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"slowest of any airport I have been to"

(Australia)

Unverified | On the 25th of June 2017, my friend and I flew into Lisbon Aiport on Ryanair from Glasgow. Only 2 customs officers were on duty for the non EU travellers, even though a plane load from Angola were in front of us and more came in behind. A third officer came but then one of the others left. It took us 1.5 hrs to be processed. It was the slowest of any airport I have been to. Even Madagascar was quicker.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"way behind other European Airports"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | If you have to travel from Lisbon Airport using the area where gates 40 to 47 are located be aware. I have been travelling through this section of Lisbon Airport for the past number of years on my way back and forth from London to Brazil transitting through Lisbon. The main issues you will experience are (1) A shortage of good food outlets the couple that are there are totally inefficient with long queues. (2) A lack of working power outlets to power your phone / laptop. Most that are there are broken / not working. (3) Issues connecting to the internet. (4) If you have access to a Business Class Lounge, there is none in this area. It is hard to believe that this is a European Airport in 2017 and is way behind other European Airports in terms of facilities, cleanliness and efficiency.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no