Airline of the Year  

Leeds Bradford Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 278 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"a victim of its own success"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I have used Leeds and Bradford Airport several times over the last 12 months. Unfortunately it has become a victim of its own success. Whilst I applaud the airlines for putting on extra flights to and from LBA, it is a sad fact the infrastructure cannot cope with the extra people this brings. There is not enough seating in the departure areas. There is an inadequate retail offering. Getting through security's always take far too long as the area isn't big enough and there is never enough staff as most flights seem to depart and arrive around the same time. The area for baggage reclaim is not big enough and you often have a situation where where you get 3 flights on the same carousel and this then results in the exits being blocked as they are located far too close. The signage around the airport also leaves a lot to be desired.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"manipulation and prevention of proper competition"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Leeds Bradford airport publicise the use of Arrow Cars, a service at the airport close to arrivals. In fact they have stifled competition by making this service the only one that is accessible, taxis are no longer allowed to pull in or drop off in front of the terminal. Because there is no competition Arrow cars feel they can charge what they want. The normal cost from my home to the Airport is £22.00. Arrow cars charge £30.50 a massive extra charge of 38%. Do not use this service. There are plenty of others that will pick up at the airport even if Leeds Bradford airport make you walk across the car park to get to them. A disgusting manipulation and prevention of proper competition.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"a disappointment from start to finish"

(United Kingdom)

Just returned from from holiday having used Leeds Bradford as the departing and arriving airport. What a disappointment from start to finish. Arrived at pre booked Meet and Greet car park at appointed time, chosen due to having used similar car parking services several times a Manchester Airport and found it to be a very efficient car parking facility. This is not meet and greet, there's no meet and no greet, just simply a barrier which opens to a car park where you then proceed to roam around trying to find a parking space. Luck alone denotes where you end up, in our case 3 car parks down next to the exit, this is far from 2 mins away from the airport. To add insult to injury when we returned a week later 2am in the morning in what felt like a force 9 gale (having been delayed by over an hour trying exit the airport), we then struggled to find our vehicle due to locality and car parking areas being so similar and yes, you've guessed it - no one available to ask. Having arrived at departure we smoothly moved through check in and security which was impressive and then we hit the Premier Lounge - a treat to starting the holiday. But how wrong was I. The lounge is small with inadequate facilities for the volume of customers it registered. Snacks were scarce with people forging round to see what and when things would appear, when the 3/4 hot potatoes did appears, they disappeared equally as quickly due the volume of people waiting. By communicating with other travellers people moved to the business lounge to try to find something. There was adequate beverages but this is a very poor facility for something that you pay extra for and surely the number of people registering pre-flight should be an indication to management of what resources where required. We experienced the VIP lounge on our return flight at the Gran Canaria there was no comparison with a calm comfortable environment with an array of assorted beverages, snacks and food it was a delight. The only saving grace were the staff where obviously hard working and pleasant. On returning further delays occurred when the efficient Pilot manged to get back 15min early, only to find our allotted parking slot was already in use. It then took 15mins to wait to find another allocated slot, followed by a 15 min delay with the doors open. While a bus to transfer the passengers arrived, this was followed by a further 30min queue to get through the passport control (due to several planes landing together). All in all, the Leeds Bradford Airport experience was poor and hopefully one that I won't endure again in the near future. I will certainly avoid using this airport for future trips. Most of the problems are easily correctable with better organisation and would certainly enhance the customer experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"been waiting for 45 minutes for a bus"

(United Kingdom)

It is midnight and I am writing this because my daughter has been waiting for 45 minutes for a bus to meet the aircraft she has arrived on. Do the management at LBA not know what time planes are arriving so they can arrange buses? Do they think this is acceptable? Well I certainly do not. Someone in authority needs to take a long hard look at the poor reviews that are left about this airport and do something about these complaints. Eventually customers will tire of the poor service at LBA and move their custom elsewhere.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Leeds Bradford is a joke"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Leeds Bradford is a joke! Just got back on holiday from there. You have to pay to be dropped off anywhere near the terminal. We said 10 years ago that we'd never fly from Leeds again and we didn't until this week when we said we'd give it a go because the times meant we'd get an extra half a day on holiday. The airport is a total joke. I'm a reasonably frequent flyer all around the world and this is without doubt the worst airport I've ever been to. It's full of passengers drinking at 6 in the morning. A plane even had to be turned around and a group of drunks escorted off at the gate next to us by police. There is nowhere to sit. Too busy for the size of the terminal. They quoted £65 to park for a week at their long stay. We went to Manchester in March and paid less than £30 for a week’s parking. Flight out was delayed by an hour because of a bus problem. Coming back on Friday evening we had to sit/stand on the aircraft for 90 minutes waiting for busses to come and take us to the terminal. As you know as soon as the engines are turned off the aircon is gone and the temperature sky rocketed it was sweltering on Friday, kids screaming for 90 minutes because it was just so hot and unbearable. They made out that there had been an incident with one of the busses but actually when we were chatting to the crew waiting for the bus to come back it actually turns out that it's very common as the airport only has three busses in total and only one is working most of the time. The airport reviews also back this up, it’s a daily occurrence. It's like they are shocked that the flight came in, like they weren't expecting it. Where's the planning? Really slow at the border too. After waiting for so long we tried to go to the loo when we got our cases only to be told by the cleaner that we could only use the single disabled toilet (there was a massive queue to it as you would expect). I asked him if this single toilet was the only open toilet in the whole airport and he said "Yes, they've all been mopped and locked now". There weren't even any hand towels or a hand dryer in it. No regard for the 300 people just come in on a 5 hour flight and a 2 hour wait to get through. We finally got home at 3.30am, two and a half hours after we landed (we live a 20 minute drive away from the airport). We usually fly from Manchester and are usually home an hour and a half after landing despite the long drive.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security area needs a complete overhaul"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Serious problem in security, total shambles is what comes to mind. Staff in normal clothes, poorly staffed, aggressive staff and the duty manager was rude. Even a customs officer said he was embarrassed by his behaviour. This security area needs a complete overhaul and staff training.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"two members of staff dealing with baggage"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Returned to Leeds Bradford from Tenerife on Saturday around 1.00 am with a family totalling 8 persons including a 2, 5 and an 8 year old children. We could not get off the aircraft for ages as we were waiting for a member of staff to arrive for escorting purposes. We expected to wait a reasonable amount of time for baggage - it started to arrive and then everything stopped. Around 20 minutes later baggage started arriving again and then another stoppage for around 30 minutes. Bearing in mind that the smallest child had to be carried for an extremely long walk to immigration and the fact that there was no lift just stairs to climb with toddlers is extreme to say the least. Now waiting in the hallway baggage area desperately wanting a buggy and well over an hour with tired children was very stressful. I could feel that there was about to be a riot with dozens of very disgruntled passengers expressing their disquiet before leaving the area out of the way. I myself approached the assistant to be told that the wait was due to the fact that there was only two members of staff dealing with baggage. Several passengers had stated that we could have unloaded the baggage as individuals quicker. So beware everyone, Leeds Bradford is a pretend international airport, and does not deserve to have UK status as one.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"just an absolute shambles"

(United Kingdom)

A shambles from departure on 7 May to arrival on 14 May - to Tenerife. After baggage check-in it was just an absolute shambles, organised chaos springs to mind. Do not have a problem with the security checks that have to be carried out these days but for it to take nearly 2 hours to get through security is ludicrous. The staff and facilities are totally inadequate for the number of travellers using this so called International Airport. Parking is a rip off, the £3 charge for drop off and pick up and the non-refundable charge for a trolley is just pure greed. If only it was an International Airport!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport I have ever used"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Probably the worst airport I have ever used. It's congested, bursting at the seams with too many people having to endure an unorganised airport. One particular security staff member at the x-ray was just horrible, rude and on a power trip, he made one of our group throw away some of her toiletries because the plastic bag zipper would not close properly, (not that it was over full) and when he tried to close it this security staff was unsuccessful and then just let her through security anyway. We gave ourselves nearly two hours to pass though and did not even have time for a coffee because it took so long because of massive queues for security. Our return was no better with a 60 min wait for passport control. Unless it's absolutely necessary I will not use this airport again. I am surprised the airlines are not demanding higher standards, as ultimately it will be the airlines that suffer too when the passengers do not want to use this "tin pot" airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"management please get it sorted"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Have travelled from Leeds to Malaga today and experienced shocking service from airport security staff. Management here seriously need to observe their staff (one particular man on X-ray / screening procedure was damn right rude and obnoxious), this put a real downer to the start of our holiday. He literally threw our toiletries back at us, ordering us to use an airport provided bag. Then was hollowing at everyone 'coats off, belts off'. Yes, of course security is key but his manner was shocking, so much so, that I will avoid Leeds Airport unless it's essential in the future. Management please get it sorted!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no