Leeds Bradford Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 291 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"has been steadily heading downhill"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | This Airport is not fit for purpose I am afraid. Apart from being located on the top of a hill with little hope for expansion and extremely poor transport links it has been steadily heading downhill for the last few years. I have used LBA frequently over many years and quite frankly it is just getting a more and more dreaded experience. The parking situation at the airport for anyone wanting to pick up/drop off relatives has been set up to milk money out of those people, with surrounding areas being made prohibitive to do so with the use of parking restrictions and cameras in order to force people down the paying route. That is a minor issue however in comparison with the facilities and the absolutely awful attitude towards and treatment of travellers by the airport security staff. It is much more akin to being corralled into a prison camp than the start of a happy holiday. It is just an ordeal to be endured I am afraid. On my latest trip to Gerona one or two of the security staff grossly overstepped the mark with the way they spoke to myself and other passengers, rude, aggressive and offensive. Once through to the departure lounges you are faced with areas which are simply just not big enough for the number of people using them. It is a struggle to find anywhere to sit, refreshment queues were a mile long, families forced to sit on the floor, Absolutely dreadful. On to the Departure gates which were fundamentally portakabins totally unsuited to the number of people trying to use them and just not big enough. All in all the Leeds Bradford Airport experience has become a real ordeal. I am very proud of my City and this airport is an embarrassment to it, someone needs to have a rethink and consider creating an international airport elsewhere which will more accurately reflect what the area requires both now and in the future, with good transport links and facilities which are fit for purpose, adequate and not crumbling and decaying.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is outstandingly badly managed"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | This airport is outstandingly badly managed. The facilities are completely inadequate for the number of flights - we waited in the plane for a passenger who required wheelchair assurance for an hour after the departure time as there was no one at the airport who could assist them. The luggage sat outside in the pouring rain for all of this time and they finally started to load this once the final passengers had boarded. Never again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"an absolute disgrace and a rip off"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Leeds Bradford airport charges people for the privilege of dropping off and picking up passengers. £3, its an absolute disgrace and a rip off. It is noted that every effort is made to discourage passengers being dropped off outside the airport to make sure they incur the charge. Not a very welcoming airport. It is not a convenient place to get to with no fast road link.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible experience again at this airport"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Terrible experience again at this airport which is stretched beyond capacity. Jet2 check in and queue for passport control is 2 hours, the queues are so bad that announcements are made so that people with departing flights can be grabbed out of the queue - making it worse for everyone else who arrives in good time. Awful and not worth picking a local airport as there is no convenience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"amazed at the time spent waiting"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | For a small airport I was amazed at the time spent waiting at departure and arrivals with the staff unwilling or incapable of helping. The next annoying thing is the departure gates are no way big enough to accommodate all the people for the flight leading to cramped conditions spilling out into the bar areas. Another really annoying aspect on landing you are cramped into a bus which takes you a few yards to immigration where a 50 minute wait is ridiculous. Unfortunately I have booked to fly out again later in the year but never again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Appalling customer service on arrival"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Appalling customer service on arrival this evening. Interminable wait for buses to the terminal meant we were sat on the plane for 20 minutes. Even longer wait for baggage to be unloaded and placed on carousel. When that eventually happened bags from two flights placed on the same carousel causing confusion and more chaos. Not a single person around to talk to. Monarch got us home ahead of schedule. Border Force got us through passport control quickly and efficiently. The airport could learn a lot from both about customer service. Will be a long, long time before I fly out of LBA again
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"airport really needs to get its act together"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This airport really needs to get its act together. I have used it many times over the years and have seen its expansion/improvement at first hand. So far, so good. But when we arrived back at L/B on Monday evening (3rd July) on a Jet2 flight from Alicante, we could not disembark because we had no busses to board. Why? Well we were told by the captain that L/B airport only had two busses, and since there were two flights already waiting for busses when we landed, we would be third 'in line'. So, after a further 30 minutes we finally made it off the plane. This is not acceptable. Surely L/B management must match their capacity to their resources? While in mini-rant mode I am also heartily fed-up with a) arriving on Jet2 flights and being 'delivered' to the furthest extremity of the site, where we often have to further wait until we are pushed into our final parking place by a 'tug', b) other examples of waiting for busses tho' one might assume that having been in the air for 3h they knew we would be coming and c) the somewhat disingenuous pre-recorded announcements apologising for the delay through passport control "due to the volume of incoming flights", when it is clear that there are no other recent arrivals I am now very seriously looking for other airports to fly from - even though L/B is by far the most conveniently located for me and famiy/friends. I sincerely hope the new chief executive sorts some of these problems out.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Bad signage everywhere"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Drove down rickety roads to get there. Had to wait for a car to leave the mid stay prebooked carpark before I could park. It was chock full. Toilets small, no loo roll, dirty. No staff to assist all of us with automatic case weigh machines. Shifted from one case check-in point to another then back again. Bad signage everywhere. Approached by tin rattling charities who addressed us directly. Mayhem going through security - no proper queue. On return kept waiting in bus on tarmac when we left the plane. Bad signage again. Wife went to loo. The signage was that bad that we ended up going back into a transit area with our cases. Car park an unholy mess. Not properly surfaced. Airport needs re-design from scratch to drag it forward 100 years. We will never fly from or to there again. Cannot verify review as I discarded all paperwork on return home.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"confined area operated and managed by rude staff"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | First off the scanner at security would not read our barcode on the printed boarding cards we were told brusquely "go back to Jet2 and get them reprinted". This we subsequently did. We were not alone with this problem. When we reached the body scanner we were greeted by a female team leader who's manner was verging on rude and offensive by her approach and was extremely officious. Its about time this airport realised that to be truly international you have to provide great customer service not treat people like cattle. The security is a joke, they have expanded all the commercial areas of the airport but have left security in its pathetic, cramped confined area operated and managed by rude staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"very disorganised and poorly managed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Very dirty airport throughout, very disorganised and poorly managed. The bar was very dirty and the service terrible. Unacceptable that there is no priority when travelling with children under 5 or while pregnant. We were still asked to buy the fast track ticket. Disgraceful!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no