Top 100 Airports  

Leeds Bradford Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 248 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"airport is shabby at best"

(United Kingdom)

This airport is shabby at best. The food hall in departures is dreadfully cramped and dirty. At 07.30hrs there were numerous dirty trays and pots on tables in the foodhall and no one to ckean up. The toilets were disgusting and the whole place is in need of serious renovation. In return the luggage carousels are tiny and completely unfit for purpose. Will try and use another airport next time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"embarrassed by the poor standards"

(United Kingdom)

As a Leeds resident and frequent user of Leeds Bradford Airport I am embarrassed by the poor standards of this airport. I only use it for the location. The firm running this place must be making enough profit to invest and modernise this terrible place. The outbound side of the journey is a little more of a pleasant experience, herding you though the sparkly floors of the so called duty free then packing you into hot, dirty limited seating areas and a couple of usually rammed bars. Charging smokers a pound to go into a cage, how degrading. The arrivals aspect is a complete disaster. Usually you have to walk back almost the entire length from the top end of the runway inside a windy, leaking, freezing, metal clad corridor. Then it's as if someone decided to throw an obstacle in for a bit of fun, 4 flights of steps, no problem for me but I have had to carry and help cases for the elderly many a time up these steps. Then more cramped corridor walking, to the passport control that's again rammed. Best thing is when you get out of this place. Reminds me of an old 1960s school. Is this place being run down, due to relocation plans?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a walk in driving rain to the plane"

(United Kingdom)

Long walk down to check-in at Leeds Bradford airport. Then a walk in driving rain to the plane. On our return, the plane was parked as far from terminal as possible with no bus transfer. I'm going to go back to using Manchester where there is less walking and I won't get rained on. Funny on arrival at Funchal there were 3 busses waiting to take us 100 yards.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"desperate for modernisation"

(United Kingdom)

This airport is desperate for modernisation. It is abysmal, I really don't know where to start, everything about the place is a disaster. The prices to park are terrible, thank goodness we were taken there by the bus from the place we parked our car. If it is raining however, the walk to the terminal is far enough that you get pretty wet. It is old fashioned, crowded, low ceilings, making it feel oppressive. We went to Menorca in July, the aeroplane, was the furthest away that you can get, we only had hand luggage, but had to walk I would say a quarter of a mile along the concourse, which is awful to the extreme, 3 flights of stairs to go down first of all, then rough tarmac surface pulling the poor suitcases along, thinking you are never getting there, why oh why are you not using the buses that are parked on the runway? When we returned there were so many flights arriving at the same time, you could not cope, we waited over an hour to go through passport control, letting a few people in at a time. The same for the outgoing flights. In comparison Mahon airport is a delight, and they have done all the modernisation in the last few years, get your fingers out LBA you are lagging behind.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"pretty dismal"

(United Kingdom)

Tried to find out front of terminal one hour parking charges on Internet. No success - and I am pretty skilled at digging in hopeless websites (pre-booking showed £31). Went to contact number, which has the nerve to charge 13p per minute for a collection of pre-recorded messages. Could only get the half hour rate. Yes I know there is a free pick-up zone but it is a long way in wet weather and/or with bags. If Manchester can show hourly rate why can't LBA? Who is in charge of online information? Why is he/she still in post? Since this is a complaint about parking the other ratings (compulsory) are based on last use as a flyer, which as I recall was pretty dismal.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"struggling with volume of passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived at the airport at 05.20 for an 06.30 Dublin flight, got dropped off within easy walking distance as we had no bags for our day trip - avoided the £3.00 drop off fee and car park congestion. Check in was crowded but fortunately we had checked in online so passed straight through to security where we "fast tracked" to airside without much delay. Had we queued it would have been a different story. Departures was crowded with virtually no spare seating so we wandered (squeezed) around the limited shopping which was far too congested for comfort, was quite a relief to get out when our flight was called. On our return we had a wait on the plane of about 15 mins due to no buses being available before being bussed from a remote part of the airport back to the terminal building where we all crowded into an alleyway in what looked like a service area before entering a side door and immediately up a flight of stairs. Security at the top of the stairs was swift with only a small queue and then back down a flight of stairs to bag reclaim area and exit. Overall very crowded, too much so to be pleasant. Layout leaves much to be desired. Really struggling with volume of passengers. I only use this airport because of the convenience of being local. Dublin airport by contrast was light years ahead - bright, spacious , swift, modern, with hugh selection of shops and refreshments. Sorry Leeds/Bradford but you are seriously in need of a modern terminal. I only recommend this airport because of the convenience of being local.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"baggage hall is miniscule"

(United Kingdom)

Leeds Bradford airport is a joke. There is a bus station style outdoor walkway that is up to a quarter mile to and from the plane. This is England, where the temperature can be from 0 to 20 degrees, not some tropical country. The baggage hall is miniscule, cramped, takes forever and ends up very fractious. You have to pay £1 for a trolley - avoid
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"parking confusing and costly if you get it wrong"

(United Kingdom)

Leeds Bradford is an awful airport. I only use it if I really must, preferring Manchester airpot (extra 30 minutes drive for me, but it's more than worth it to avoid this place). The airport layout is cramped, and filthy. Who's ever heard of an airport toilet that's run out of soap to wash your hands? During departure, I had a problem and the customer service staff who helped me out was great, very friendly and more than happy to help. Arrival was a whole different story. Had a problem with the parking gate on exit, and the guy who answered the telecom at the gate really couldn't be bothered at all. He mumbled something and hung up the call. The parking is very confusing so if you're looking to only stay for a moment, know where the 1 hour free parking is before you come, as wandering into the drop off area can lead to £3 fee for 20 minutes (including if you accidentally stray through the drop off zone). And £18 for 1 hour's parking in the drop off zone, which is different to the short stay (£11 for there). Very confusing, and costly if you get it wrong.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"all drop off areas far from the terminal"

(United Kingdom)

Just when I thought Leeds Bradford could not get any worse I landed here at 18:00. Four planes had landed, no buses to take you to terminal, 25 min wait and on entering the baggage reclaim over 500 people crammed in all trying to get out through two automatic doors while the staff did nothing to prevent the crush. This airport needs to restrict its flights until it modernises and cleans up its act. It also does it self no good with its mafia style taxi service and £3 drop off fee. Plus all drop off areas are far from the terminal. At most other airports customers can drop off at the terminal not a 100 metre windswept walk.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"whole airport needs renovating"

(United Kingdom)

The airport is not large enough to take the passengers that it does. There is nowhere to sit whilst waiting for your gate number. In the arrivals department the toilets are filthy. Whole airport needs renovating. There seems to be priority offloading of bags not taken off in landing order.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no