Leeds Bradford Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 297 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"my local airport and it's embarrassing"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Leeds is my local airport and it's embarrassing. Small should mean personal and efficient/easier to have attention to detail. I travelled Ryanair. 3 points. 1) The walk to the aircraft in a what appears to be a prefabricated set of old bus shelters is poor when clearly money has been spelt on other less important areas. 2) On landing after a 35 min flight from Dublin we waited another 35 minutes for an airport bus - the pilot said Leeds only had 2 and they were both near horsforth. Come on if you can't unload more than one plane at a time then you are not an airport you are just a landing field. 3) You can't get a trolley for bags unless you pay a £1 - this is bad enough but wait for it - you have to use an old £ coin. A joke. Even my local golf range sorted its coffee machine out to use the new £ coin within a few days of its use. This trolley issue says so much about your management - it is a really good eg of how ineffective your management is and what it deems to be priorities. "If for whatever reason can't adjust the trolley machanism then you should have waived the fee" - no trolleys were used in my time in the luggage retrieval hall and a number of "customers" some of them elderly and infirm wanted them. Oh and whilst you sort this how about making the sign for the ladies toilet one which women have half a chance of seeing. I had to point three ladies in the right direction myself in the ten minutes I was there. I have reviewed a number of failing businesses and Leeds airport has a number of concerns which flag you have issues. Please don't think that your customers can't see these problems and indicators of ineffectiveness - we can - and for Leeds airport to be so poor is embarrassing to all Yorkshire people and businesses as for many it's the first experience of Yorkshire they get.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Why is LBA different"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Poor food. Saltaire diner is a cattle market with no customer service, shoddy food, uncaring attitude of staff and with an monopoly there is nothing to persuade them to change. The practice of having to pay £3 to drop someone off is ridiculous. All other airports have a 15 mins grace period to enable people to be dropped off. Why is LBA different. The only positive thing about this airport is Sentinel car park and the fact that it is only 20 minutes from my home.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"return is so depressing"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Leeds Bradford airport is a joke. We flew Jet2 with a ridiculously long queue but at least they were quick and efficient and we were greeted with a happy faces from all the staff. The queue through security was horrendous - especially with four young children, leaving us only 20 mins in the departure lounge before we were boarding. The food was overpriced and poor and it took forever to be served with some staff acting like it's a local pub, having long chats with customers. On our return it is so depressing, having to queue for miles to get through passport control when non-Europeans can just fly through a separate bit. There isn't any air conditioning and it really isn't pleasant to be queueing watching people in the departure lounge relaxing and eating and drinking.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"each time I am disappointed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Unfortunately I have flown from this airport a number of times and each time I am disappointed. Firstly going through the security gate is a joke - I was stopped and had my bag of liquids emptied because the bag I was carrying them in was too big. Even though this is a bag which is known to be flight approved (it even says that on the front) and I have used this is many other airports without issue. The man then removed the lids from my liquids and tried squishing them all into one smaller bag (showing disregard for my belongings). The bag wouldn't close so he said he needed to take it to be checked. 5 minutes later after watching him stand checking his phone he brought my bag of stuff back and said it was fine. So I had to now put everything back together again. Then to try and find somewhere to sit. We managed to find a seat in the corner or a small coffee shop but this was by chance. The service clearly cannot cope with the number of people they have in the airport as the seats are few and far between. Even then it's not a pleasant place to sit and relax before a flight. Barely any places to get food and they all have very large queues. When arriving back from the holiday there was no direction from staff from where to go. However the man on security and the bus driver to the car park were both very nice and pleasant.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"certainly still not fit for purpose"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This airport is certainly still not fit for purpose after many make overs. We arrived on Saturday morning to find the check in conveyors weren't working properly and luggage piled up behind the staff, herded into the inadequate security system, taken by bus in the pouring rain to the aircraft where our luggage got soaked, delayed an hour as ambulance hoist vehicles were broken down (3 of them). On return we waited over 1/2 hour for baggage as only one belt of three was working. Get a grip LBA.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"LBA will need to up its game"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | My family travel LBA 5 or 6 times each year. Lounges terrible - insufficient areas for this number of passengers, the downstairs lounge/bar area has been in course of refurbishment for 6 months so I'd assume they have run out of money. Given the profit they must take through the bar this would appear a very poor management decision. All the staff cope with huge audiences but you get the impression they are surprised with the number of flights arriving and departing - possible management should deploy staff better to cope with peak times. Generally departures late, missed time slots her and at the arrival airport. Arriving at Leeds is an issue once Swissport get involved - they don't have sufficient people or equipment to get passengers off-loaded. Whats that about? All told LBA will need to up its game significantly if they want to maintain an airport and passenger numbers. We all accept its a business, maybe it should be run by business people?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"has been steadily heading downhill"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | This Airport is not fit for purpose I am afraid. Apart from being located on the top of a hill with little hope for expansion and extremely poor transport links it has been steadily heading downhill for the last few years. I have used LBA frequently over many years and quite frankly it is just getting a more and more dreaded experience. The parking situation at the airport for anyone wanting to pick up/drop off relatives has been set up to milk money out of those people, with surrounding areas being made prohibitive to do so with the use of parking restrictions and cameras in order to force people down the paying route. That is a minor issue however in comparison with the facilities and the absolutely awful attitude towards and treatment of travellers by the airport security staff. It is much more akin to being corralled into a prison camp than the start of a happy holiday. It is just an ordeal to be endured I am afraid. On my latest trip to Gerona one or two of the security staff grossly overstepped the mark with the way they spoke to myself and other passengers, rude, aggressive and offensive. Once through to the departure lounges you are faced with areas which are simply just not big enough for the number of people using them. It is a struggle to find anywhere to sit, refreshment queues were a mile long, families forced to sit on the floor, Absolutely dreadful. On to the Departure gates which were fundamentally portakabins totally unsuited to the number of people trying to use them and just not big enough. All in all the Leeds Bradford Airport experience has become a real ordeal. I am very proud of my City and this airport is an embarrassment to it, someone needs to have a rethink and consider creating an international airport elsewhere which will more accurately reflect what the area requires both now and in the future, with good transport links and facilities which are fit for purpose, adequate and not crumbling and decaying.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is outstandingly badly managed"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | This airport is outstandingly badly managed. The facilities are completely inadequate for the number of flights - we waited in the plane for a passenger who required wheelchair assurance for an hour after the departure time as there was no one at the airport who could assist them. The luggage sat outside in the pouring rain for all of this time and they finally started to load this once the final passengers had boarded. Never again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"an absolute disgrace and a rip off"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Leeds Bradford airport charges people for the privilege of dropping off and picking up passengers. £3, its an absolute disgrace and a rip off. It is noted that every effort is made to discourage passengers being dropped off outside the airport to make sure they incur the charge. Not a very welcoming airport. It is not a convenient place to get to with no fast road link.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible experience again at this airport"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Terrible experience again at this airport which is stretched beyond capacity. Jet2 check in and queue for passport control is 2 hours, the queues are so bad that announcements are made so that people with departing flights can be grabbed out of the queue - making it worse for everyone else who arrives in good time. Awful and not worth picking a local airport as there is no convenience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no