Larnaca Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 36 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"the queues here are horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Although a very pretty airport to fly from the queues here are horrendous! The security part of the airport is not equipped to deal with the amount of flights that depart from the airport on Sunday nights. There were 17 other Thomson Airways flights departing last night along with the large number of flights operated by other airlines. Once I had checked in my family and I proceeded to the queue for security. We were going round in circles. No-one was at the priority line therefore those who would have been able to pass through this line had to wait with the rest of us, causing even more congestion. Once we passed through border control everyone was fed through to the main line in security. As there was only one line before being separated into the different screening areas this meant that everyone passing through passport control had to push into the line. This caused me to become separated from the rest of my family as others pushed in front of them. It was noticed that due to the long waiting times for security other passengers were nearly missing their flights even though they had arrived at the airport in plenty of time. One other problem is that the announcements made were extremely hard to hear due to the noise inside the terminal therefore the flight announcements need to be much louder. Once past security everything else was fine. There is a good selection of food and drink places and there are a good number of duty free shops. The directions to the boarding gates are well signposted and easy to get to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"most unorganised airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The most unorganised airport with untrained staff. The only positive point I have to offer is that they had plenty of toilets. Almost every 100 metres there was a toilet. No clear priority line for families/disabled and everyone siphoned into one line for both general entry into passport check. I was body searched - the most intrusive experience ever. The lady proceeded to look for a metal detector wand and had to wait for one that was being used two Q's over. People were shouting and complaining about the wait from the other side of the scanners. General chaos all round. Very little food variety within the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"clearly allowed to run understaffed"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived at Larnaca airport and was treated with total chaos. All Thompson UK flights we're channelled into a single queue which was so long that it was the length of the check in desks and round the side and ended at the security queue. The air conditioning was inadequate and made for a very long sweaty queue, the tills were off line in the shop so it was difficult even to buy overpriced water. It took roughly an hour to get to the check in desk although the agent there was very efficient. Having checked in we then joined the queue for security which proved worse than the check in queue. There are 17 stations for security checks and only six were open eventually. The situation was was not helped by the fact that it was obvious that two of these were chatting to each other by land line from there adjoining stations rather than do their job. Once passed this point we were pushed back into the chaos to get through the security station. At this point people were starting to panic it was 22:02, our flight was at 22:05, the people behind us flight was 22:00. At this point the blue lane markers started to collapse as passengers began to push forward. There was no one there to either organise or retain some semblance of order. The few staff that were there were either unable or incapable of controlling the situation or giving any direction. As a result we were being paged over the public address system and still had not cleared security. Clearly the airport was allowed to run understaffed and many of the staff we did encounter would benefit from training in their relevant roles. It is not that the authorities did not know the numbers coming through heaven knows that flight was booked almost a year ago. I think the faults clearly lie with the management who I understand have a 25 year contract and would need a rethink on their policies if they think this is an acceptable way to run the premier Cypriot international airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"security is chaotic, poorly organised"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Larnaca is a good, small airport on shopping - but that's it. Management is clearly terrible, staff do a give a damn. The experience starts with a long wait for staff to open check in despite sitting there on the phone. Dare to ask and you receive an aggressive response. Security is chaotic, poorly organised, staffed by people who appear unclear of their job and those clearly paid to stand. Two months on and the premium lounge is still an area of the departure lounge due to 'ongoing refurbishment'. Food terrible, staff ambivalent at best.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"lots of cafeterias, restaurants, shops"

(Greece)

Larnaca is an impressive well designed latest generation airport. Moving walkways everywhere, fast check in, clean toilets, lots of cafeterias, restaurants, duty free shops etc. What I disliked was the fact that at duty free shops and security staff did not speak the local language and were rather rude. Not to mention the very expensive cost of consumer goods such as bottled water, soft drinks etc. Comparatively at Athens airport which in general is not cheap, water sells at 0.50 euros and at Larnaca - a cheaper destination - selling price is 2.00 euros.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"full marks for great customer service"

(United Kingdom)

This is an airport that seems to have got the service expected 100% spot on. We used the airport to return to the UK from a 2 week holiday in Larnaca, we arrived using public transport and the fare from the city centre was 1.50 euro and the airport is served by 2 bus routes (417 & 425). On arrival at the terminal there are two banks of check in desks and plenty of monitors away from the entrance and staff to point you in the right direction of your desk. Check in was painless and we were given the chance to check our cabin bags for free as the flight was a busy one and the check in agent explained that she did not think that all the cabin. So we took her up on the offer and checked both of our bags in free of charge. Security screening was a change from the normal standard, with the staff being polite and courteous to passengers, and the word please and thank you were used. The staff gave the impression that they took pride in their job. Once though security you were in a bright terminal with a selection of Duty Free shops and food cafes, bars and take away to either side of a wide open space. The price were competitive and offered a wide choice of food, drink and shopping. The terminal was spotless and cleaners were seen to be cleaning rather than standing around chatting. Once at the gate staff were very well organized and as our aircraft was parked at the distant stand the gate staff filled up one bus at a time and despatched rather than send a convoy of buses. This enabled the boarding to be completed in groups rather than a scrum which is the case at many airports when you are buses to the aircraft. Again their was ground handling staff at the aircraft to point you to the correct door on the aircraft. Full marks for great customer service and it gave a first class memory of our holiday in Cyprus.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"very fast and efficient service"

(United Kingdom)

Well we arrived 35 minutes late into Larnaca on the Cobalt flight from London Stansted. The aircraft was parked on a remote stand and in a matter of minutes the steps were in place, and a fleet of 3 coaches were at the bottom of the steps. We had a brief ride to the terminal and a short walk up a flight stairs to the border controls, and a short wait of 2-3 minutes before passports were examined and during this time extra counters were been opened as the flights behind us were from Russia and non-EU countries. There was very fast and efficient service as we walked in to baggage reclaim the bags where on the carousel. The signage was clear and easy to understand to be able to find taxis and public transport or car hire desks.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"there were no long queues"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The airport is medium-sized and has most of the amenities one would expect at this type of airport. After security, there are some fast food outlets (such as Burger King and Sbarro), plus a couple of bars, a duty-free shop and a souvenir shop. Prices are not cheap, but not the most expensive I've seen, either. There was at least one cash machine. It was easy to find seating and there were some 'calm' areas if you want to get away from crowds. There were enough monitors with gate information. Free wi-fi was advertised as available, but I didn't try it. Toilets were fine. Security was very quick when I went through (in the afternoon) and there were no long queues at the passport control checkpoint for departing passengers. As well as by private transport, the airport is easily accessible via Larnaka's public bus netwok, though the airport bus stop is very poorly signed (if at all!), so I had to ask (it is located on the upper level, past the bridges to the left). If you want to save money, the bus trip is quick (about 20 minutes to Finikoudes Beach) and cheap (1.50).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"complete shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Larnaca is a horrible airport and will never fly out of here ever again. All Thomas Cook flights had one queue - it doesn't matter where you were travelling to you had to join the one queue. The flight was at 22:05, we arrived just after 19:30. Got to the check-in desk just before 21:00. Once through there, we went to passport control which was quick and then to security, and back to waiting an eternity. Once through security we had to run for our gate as it was closing. Once we got through after all being split up, we couldn't find a member of a party and I went to ask if they could call him so he wouldn't miss his flight, and was greated with nothing but rudeness. I basically had to get on my knees and beg. Complete shambles.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"clean and well run"

(United Kingdom)

Overall it's a nice airport, clean and well run, we didn't have to wait long to go through security. The staff are all very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The airport is well sign posted and is easy to reach from motorways. The only disappointment is when we bought duty free our drink was not put in a sealed bag, was told we didn't need to as our follow on flight was within the UK. When we went through security at Heathrow to fly to Edinburgh it was confiscated. Staff at duty free need a bit more training.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 33 Reviews