Larnaca Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 51 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"experience was the last straw"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The arrival and check in was not to bad, then we had to get in the end of a queue which was horrendous and stretched as far as the eye could see, and this was just to check the boarding passes, and then we queue again to have our passports checked, and then we had to wait to go through the hand luggage check - this was when my wife rang an alarm which was maybe her necklace and am still not quite sure as she was sent to be searched as is procedure but the woman wanted to check her bag. My wife explained that it was something on her and not the bag but the woman started swabbing her bag then went off and never came back, so after a long wait we took our bags and went. This woman was an absolute disgrace as a security operative and a complete joke. We are both pensioners and have been to Cyprus many times but this experience was the last straw coupled with the extra checks which I am sure we never had before. The most stupid thing is having to produce a boarding pass to buy water which in itself is a total rip off and which I am sure is a tax scam and should not be in place. I must also agree with another review that mentioned people pushing in and it was mention by one passenger in our queue that some nationalities very rudely pushed in front of them. If we ever go back it will be Paphos and never Larnaca terrible airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Airport was ridiculously hot"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Airport was ridiculously hot! Temperature was reading 26 degrees indoors and no sign of air con. Everyone was absolutely sweating. Airport itself is ok. Shops are quite nice, etc. Although the rudest man ever in the duty free shop, working on a till. Flight was delayed, not much info given.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"there was no queuing pattern"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The last time we flew from Larnaca was on the morning after Ronald Reagan ordered an attack on Gaddafi's headquarters in Libya so security was tight and we had an armed guard to escort us to our plane. Things were obviously much different this time: a new spacious terminal and a much more relaxed atmosphere. The terminal was actually much larger than I expected, but I would agree with those who have found it passenger-friendly with plenty of seating and wide aisles. We did, however, think that passport control was slow as not all the booths were manned: on our return flight the queues were longer than for security. I would also have welcomed more prominently and strategically displayed screens to have checked the gate for our flight. In the event, our gate was announced over the loudspeaker system before it appeared on the screens. My main criticism, however, concerns the holding area after the departure gate: whether this was just in our case or may happen regularly, but any separation of Speedy Boarders from everyone else at the gate was then nullified when we were herded into an area where there was no queuing pattern. Consequently the first people into this area were blocked in their places till later arrivals had moved onto the stairs leading towards the airport apron. If I had paid for Speedy Boarding (I hadn't) I would have been annoyed that many ordinary customers eventually got onto the plane before me.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
3/10

"are a disgusting rip off"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Although the airport is relatively clean and modern, the prices of food and drink are a disgusting rip off. I have just been charged €2.80 for a 75cl Bottle of water, this I find particularly offensive as passengers are prohibited from bringing their own into the airport. I am traveling alone, for a family, any time spent here could prove very costly. Hermès airports obviously know they have a captive market and are exploiting that to an obscene degree. Absolutely disgusting.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"a very fine airport"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | A fine clean convenient new airport with moving walkways for pedestrians, quick passport control, and fast luggage delivery. However, in such a tourist country the welcome office of the Cyprus Tourism Organisation that provided maps and brochures all these years is now closed . Hopefully the CTO will understand how helpful and essential such an office is. All signs are in Greek and English languages, fast car rentals. All in all this is a very fine airport, named Glafkos Clerides in honour of its late president. For my departure I was disappointed having to be checked at security by non local staff, one of them was rather rude, impolite, who did not even speak Greek whilst police ID check was served only by three officers which meant long delays. Last but not least, prices at this airport for inexplicable reasons are very high, bottled water for example at three times more than in Athens. Any reason to be so expensive in an inexpensive country?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"Staff nice and helpful"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Small, clean, nice! Very easy to find your way to everywhere. Staff nice and helpful. No long lines, no long queuing times. A Kind of a calm island in the hectic world of Airports. Everybody spoke good English. More than enough shopping and eating facilities, at fair prices.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no organised queuing system"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Horrendous! What has changed? Flying out with TUI/Thompson to LGW on a Sunday and in all the years we have been travelling to Cyprus we have never experienced the complete chaos or should I say carnage that we were faced with on this night. There must have been at least 3 flights all delivered to the airport at the same time. There was no organised queuing system, just a free-for-all with the inevitable queue jumping, pushing, shoving and 'me first' selfish behaviour. The queue was actually outside the entrance at one point. The TUI Reps' did little to help the situation and things were getting more tense by the moment as families with young, fractious children were wondering if they would miss their flight. It would have been helpful if bottles of water had been made available for the 2hrs plus spent crawling inexorably to the check-in desks. The inevitable chaos with security was the next hurdle to face and became even more of a disordered scrum when the fast-track system failed miserably as the ticket machines crashed and no-one was available to offer assistance. Having finally cleared security refreshment and a sit-down were high on the agenda. Cannot recall the name of the concession stand but just to the right-hand side past security. The staff were not Cypriot and were disinterested and rude. I asked for a couple of Keo's as they had the draft pumps but was presented with 2 cans and plastic cups from the shelf as the 'draft' not available. When I asked if I could have a couple of cold cans from the fridge I was told there weren't any, even though they were clearly evident in the chilled cabinet behind her. This really was a complete nightmare from start to finish and I seriously hope that all the agencies involved get strategies in place so that this doesn't become standard. Cyprus relies heavily on the tourism industry and if better strategies are not introduced very quickly it could be to the detriment of the island itself. If it had been my first trip to the island I would have very grave reservations in returning! Come on guys, crunch the numbers and get this sorted!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an absolutely horrible airport"

(Greece)

Unverified | This is an absolutely horrible airport in terms of customer service especially at security. Terrible queues, clearly caused by the (private) security agents being extreme amateurs and poorly trained. They make a mess out of passenger cabin bags without really knowing what they are looking for, and then refuse to even help put them back in. They made an absolute mess of my wife's cabin bag then put all its content in a plastic container and just left it lying there. When I complained to their supervisor, a bearded man was extremely arrogant and dismissive to the point of being very insulting! Unacceptable behaviour that the airport does nothing at all to correct. Avoid Larnaca airport at all costs!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Very fast immigration"

(Italy)

Unverified | Very fast immigration arriving from Beirut, was literally out of the door within 5 minutes of deplaning. Also quick passport control (3 min wait) and security (2 min wait) when leaving for Thessaloniki. Seems the Brexit beernchipsbrigade complain about this airport because they fly lemming-like on their packed ultra-cheap U.K. planes all at the same times on the same days. For the rest of us this airport seems quite cosy with nice dining options and solid duty-free selections.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Terrible check in"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Terrible check in, it took over two hours getting through check in, passport control and bag checks. With people jumping queues and no time to look in duty free or any shopping or food. Never have I experienced such bad check in at all the airports I’ve been too in the world and seriously would not want to visit this one again. It was ridiculous, couldn’t tell you about seating except not enough by gate 18.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 48 Reviews