Larnaca Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 45 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"no organised queuing system"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Horrendous! What has changed? Flying out with TUI/Thompson to LGW on a Sunday and in all the years we have been travelling to Cyprus we have never experienced the complete chaos or should I say carnage that we were faced with on this night. There must have been at least 3 flights all delivered to the airport at the same time. There was no organised queuing system, just a free-for-all with the inevitable queue jumping, pushing, shoving and 'me first' selfish behaviour. The queue was actually outside the entrance at one point. The TUI Reps' did little to help the situation and things were getting more tense by the moment as families with young, fractious children were wondering if they would miss their flight. It would have been helpful if bottles of water had been made available for the 2hrs plus spent crawling inexorably to the check-in desks. The inevitable chaos with security was the next hurdle to face and became even more of a disordered scrum when the fast-track system failed miserably as the ticket machines crashed and no-one was available to offer assistance. Having finally cleared security refreshment and a sit-down were high on the agenda. Cannot recall the name of the concession stand but just to the right-hand side past security. The staff were not Cypriot and were disinterested and rude. I asked for a couple of Keo's as they had the draft pumps but was presented with 2 cans and plastic cups from the shelf as the 'draft' not available. When I asked if I could have a couple of cold cans from the fridge I was told there weren't any, even though they were clearly evident in the chilled cabinet behind her. This really was a complete nightmare from start to finish and I seriously hope that all the agencies involved get strategies in place so that this doesn't become standard. Cyprus relies heavily on the tourism industry and if better strategies are not introduced very quickly it could be to the detriment of the island itself. If it had been my first trip to the island I would have very grave reservations in returning! Come on guys, crunch the numbers and get this sorted!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an absolutely horrible airport"

(Greece)

Unverified | This is an absolutely horrible airport in terms of customer service especially at security. Terrible queues, clearly caused by the (private) security agents being extreme amateurs and poorly trained. They make a mess out of passenger cabin bags without really knowing what they are looking for, and then refuse to even help put them back in. They made an absolute mess of my wife's cabin bag then put all its content in a plastic container and just left it lying there. When I complained to their supervisor, a bearded man was extremely arrogant and dismissive to the point of being very insulting! Unacceptable behaviour that the airport does nothing at all to correct. Avoid Larnaca airport at all costs!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Very fast immigration"

(Italy)

Unverified | Very fast immigration arriving from Beirut, was literally out of the door within 5 minutes of deplaning. Also quick passport control (3 min wait) and security (2 min wait) when leaving for Thessaloniki. Seems the Brexit beernchipsbrigade complain about this airport because they fly lemming-like on their packed ultra-cheap U.K. planes all at the same times on the same days. For the rest of us this airport seems quite cosy with nice dining options and solid duty-free selections.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Terrible check in"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Terrible check in, it took over two hours getting through check in, passport control and bag checks. With people jumping queues and no time to look in duty free or any shopping or food. Never have I experienced such bad check in at all the airports I’ve been too in the world and seriously would not want to visit this one again. It was ridiculous, couldn’t tell you about seating except not enough by gate 18.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"shambles of an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Absolute shambles of an airport. Arrived two and a half hours before the flight and the queue to security stretched back to the entrance of the airport. Paid 5 euros to use the fast lane but was no quicker than the normal lane. Apart from only a few lanes open at passport control, it also looked like the staff were on some sort of go slow and taking most people 3-4 minutes to get through to yet another queue to have carry-on bags checked. In total it took 2 hours to get through to the departure hall. Another point to mention is that the Cypriots don't seem to understand what a queue is and tried to barge in where people had been in line for well over an hour. Get your act together Cyprus.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Extremely busy airport"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Extremely busy airport (unable cope with volume of people late on a Sunday night). Bought tickets for express lane for security checks which moved slower than the non express lane. Loud arguments broke out between frustrated passengers - would not use this airport again if I could help it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"There was no wait for the cases"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Our arrival at the airport inbound was as near to perfect as you could wish for. We arrived at approx 1330 on a Friday afternoon. The airbridge was connected within minutes and the disembarkation was started soon after. At the top of the ramp there are clear and easy to follow signs directing you to the Passport Control. There was a queue to the non EU passport desks due to the large number of flights that had arrived from non EU countries and all desks both Non EU and EU were open. There was no wait for the cases and we were in Central Larnaca checking into our apartment (1415) within 45 minutes of arriving at the airport. Having read the reviews and the demise of Monarch. On Friday we decided to allow slightly more time than the recommended time on the airport website. A tip is also to check what flights are leaving around the time of your flight and adjust the arrival time to allow for the queues at passport control and security. This tip paid dividends as we were passed both within 15 minutes of arrival at the airport. Again all lanes were open so the queues were moving fairly fast. All the staff were polite and smiled, they seemed happy in their work. There is a good range of tax free shopping and food outlets at the airport. The staff at the information point were helpful and able to give you your gate number if asked before it was displayed, the gates are a few minutes walk from the shopping and food court. The only slight disappointment was the gate staff who seemed to be more interested in playing with their mobile phones or chatting. They gave the impression that the passengers where a nuisance and disrupting whatever they were doing, which no doubt was not work related as they were running around in a state of panic when boarding started.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"bag drop took over an hour"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This was our first (and will most definitely be our last) trip to the 'new' airport at Larnaca. I only wish I had read the reviews on here before travelling out to Cyprus. At least forewarned is forearmed. We too arrived at the airport 2hrs and 20 mins before our flight departure. Despite checking on online - the bag drop took over an hour. Thankful that ordeal was over we headed to passport control. What a complete nightmare - anarchy ruled - it was everyone for themselves - the queues not only 'snaked' round the usual barriers but round the whole terminal building. Tempers were flaring as people who had politely joined the queue then had to contend with selfish and rude passengers jumping in front of them. As detailed on other reviews even after passing through passport control you then had to merge with (or as some passengers preferred barge into another queue) which led to another huge snake like queue for security. We made it through security with 10 mins to spare before our flight departed. What an absolute joke - this airport has not improved for the better. We were herded like cattle for 2 hours - I have never experienced anything like this in my 30 years of travel. Will never fly into this airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not enough staff to cope"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | We arrived at 20.20 pm in plenty of time for our flight and from arriving queued and queued and queued. First at check in and we could already see the enormous queue for the next part - security, passport control etc. The airport just could not cope. Long story short we finally got through to departure lounge with no time for duty free or even to go to the toilet or get something to eat (luckily we had eaten at the hotel before leaving) as we were directed to departure gate 17 immediately as it was so close to our departure time. We arrived there and were told to take a seat - my husband commented nobody had checked our boarding card or passport. Many people were told to be seated and once the seats were full the queue built up again. The young lady at the desk seemed to be struggling with the computer and eventually an older more proficient man arrived to show her what to do. Once she was shown she then told those of us seated to go join the back of the queue again to have our boarding cards and passports checked. The queue was enormous but we duly joined it - sweltering in the heat! Once we got through to the seating area again it was packed but we were told by the same young lady to move forward to let more people in - we were crammed in like sardines as it was. There were several young children who were getting very upset and crying causing parents to stress and many people were starting to feel ill with the heat and discomfort. We were finally freed from our glass cell onto the bus to take us to the waiting plane feeling very uncomfortable and angry to put it mildly. We will never again travel to and from Larnaca airport - not enough staff to cope with the number of flights departing from here!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"the queues here are horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Although a very pretty airport to fly from the queues here are horrendous! The security part of the airport is not equipped to deal with the amount of flights that depart from the airport on Sunday nights. There were 17 other Thomson Airways flights departing last night along with the large number of flights operated by other airlines. Once I had checked in my family and I proceeded to the queue for security. We were going round in circles. No-one was at the priority line therefore those who would have been able to pass through this line had to wait with the rest of us, causing even more congestion. Once we passed through border control everyone was fed through to the main line in security. As there was only one line before being separated into the different screening areas this meant that everyone passing through passport control had to push into the line. This caused me to become separated from the rest of my family as others pushed in front of them. It was noticed that due to the long waiting times for security other passengers were nearly missing their flights even though they had arrived at the airport in plenty of time. One other problem is that the announcements made were extremely hard to hear due to the noise inside the terminal therefore the flight announcements need to be much louder. Once past security everything else was fine. There is a good selection of food and drink places and there are a good number of duty free shops. The directions to the boarding gates are well signposted and easy to get to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 42 Reviews