Lanzarote Arrecife Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 26 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Typical holiday airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Very short taxi to terminal gate. Airbridge. Passports checked on arrival at Spanish border. Sinage OK. Toilets in arrival hall were fine. Baggage took a while to appear despite no other flights landing at the same time. When it did appear, the belt stopped 3-4 times. Car rental desks just past the baggage collection. On departure, car hire return is outside of arrivals and once you hand back keys, up a couple of flights of rampway to departures. Security queue kept moving. Security staff were fine. All electrical items have to be removed from baggage and person and placed in separate tray at Arrecife airport. Usual forced route through duty free. Actually, being the Canaries, the duty free is worth a look. Long, straight departure hall. Shops on 1 side, gates on the other. Outside area near the end. Toilets were OK. Usual overpriced food and drink. 500ml bottle of water = €1.55. Airbridge to aircraft. ACE is OK. Typical holiday airport. It's not like there's any other choice when flying in to Lanzarote.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"security staff quite rude and abrupt"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Wasn't much in the way of shops in the airport but for the ones they had they were expensive. The duty free is good for a look round but you can find things cheaper on the island. Myself and my boyfriend found the security staff quite rude and abrupt, security staff in the duty free went through our bags of items that we had bought all seemingly because I returned for an item I wished to spend the last of my euros on. Quite embarrassing being pulled aside whilst you bags are gone through in front of everyone and not even an reason or an apology was given for this behaviour.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"plenty of seating and generally OK"

(United Kingdom)

Not much in the way of facilities upon entering - just a coffee shop really. Once through security and there's a duty free shop (Not that cheap but what is these days?), several clothing outlets and food / drink outlets. Just about enough for the 2 hours we were there but not that comfy if experiencing a delay I would imagine. A bright and modern space, plenty of seating and generally OK.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"security staff abrupt"

(United Kingdom)

Lanzarote airport arrival is good - processed in a reasonable amount of time, although immigration staff abrupt. Good availability of taxis. For departure there are plenty of places for last minute shopping although pricey. The right amount of food outlets for busy airport, but closing at busiest time on Saturday? The worst thing was absolutely no option to buy any sanitary products.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"very expensive"

(United Kingdom)

Very expensive inside, you can't take water through security, no water fountains after security or cold taps so have to buy bottles that range from 1.65 euros for a small bottle to 5.50 for a litre. Coffee is 1.95 euros for a small (200 ml) up to 5.55 euros for a normal size. A fridge magnet that was 1 euro outside was 8 euros or 2 for 12 euros. Check in was painless but a couple who's case was over weight had to take clothes out and carry it on in a plastic bag. delayed the check in time. A Burger king hamburger was 8 or 12 euros I won't be returning.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"security quick, easy and painless"

(United Kingdom)

Lanzarote Arrecife for arrival it would seem that there is only 1 door into Passport Control which was at the opposite end of the terminal to the gate our easyJet flight landed at. We passed quite a few locked doors which I think would of cut the walk down, bearing in mind that the island attracts older visitors. Maybe a bit of common sense would dictate that a short/shorter walk would make the airport more customer friendly. Passport control gave me the impression of the flight had woken the officer from their sleep. Mine did not touch the passport and handed it back unopened? The wait for cases was none as we walked into baggage reclaim the cases were on the belt. Then a short walk to the taxi queue and there was a good supply of taxis. For departure the check in opened at the 2 hour point and was prompt, efficient and easy to follow (Maybe the Swissport staff at Stansted should visit to see how it is done). The staff were friendly, polite, and very helpful. However there is a lack of seats before security. The signs to Security were good and easy to follow. Having read some negative reviews here and on other websites I found the process to be quick easy and painless, maybe I know what to expect and normally arrive at security control, ready to be screened. Once passed security there is the usual duty free shops and a good selections of food outlets, The food outlet I used was reasonably priced for both food and drink. The flight was boarded early and took off early.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"pleasantly surprised"

(United Kingdom)

Pleasantly surprised by this airport after one or two negative reviews. Not a very large airport, and because we departed on a major changeover day for many package holiday companies, it was absolutely thronged with passengers. Long queues at check-in and security, but the airport staff kept them moving quickly. The staff were brisk, but friendly and helpful. A good number of shops, bars and restaurants, including an outside terrace for passengers wanting a final dose of sunshine. Reasonable number of toilets, which seemed clean and well maintained. Only negative points were poor wifi and the comparatively small number of seats for folk waiting for their flights to be called. But all in all, not a bad airport at all.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"arrogant, obnoxious and damn right rude"

(United Kingdom)

On our annual visit to Lanzarote, it never fails to displease me, coming to the island is perfect, no problems whatsoever, I always find islanders and staff at the airport to be very pleasant and courteous, but when you leave, a different story. The security and customs staff are arrogant, obnoxious and damn right rude, every year upon leaving you get rushed through the metal detectors and have yourself prodded and gently shoved about. This year, I wasn't quick enough, 3 times I was put through and then sent me off for a drugs test, of course it was clear. Security not being happy with the result then tried a different drug test machine, again clear so he trotted off and left me in front of everyone, not knowing what to do, I waited on instructions, not happy with that he rudely gave me the thumbs up to go, at a distance of 20 feet. Yes I will be returning to enjoy my annual holidays as I love the island and its people just not the Gestapo staff at the security.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

Lanzarote Arrecife Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Arrival OK. Quickly off the plane and baggage re-claim time reasonable. On return some issues around the staff. Lady on bag drop desk very pleasant but security staff brusque and ill mannered. Appreciate that they have a job to do but shouting "laptop/I pod" randomly at passengers and waving hands does not make for a happy experience. So busy searching for the huge list of things being shouted at me (most of which I didn't have!) was then turned on my heel by a guard shouting "lady - belt!". Could see that older passengers and those with young children were getting a bit stressed. However we hadn't yet met the lady in duty free! On purchasing a gift we were asked if we had 20 cents. Whilst getting out purse/wallet to try and assist we were assailed with a raised voice and a snatched note when we could not apparently magic up the requested coin within 10 seconds. Beer on the terrace very expensive but some decent sandwiches in the shop next to Burger King which we enjoyed on the flight home. This airport used to be better than this. Have scored based on the airport overall - there is no category for staff!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
8/10

Lanzarote Arrecife Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Security search area has been revamped and enlarged which will hopefully put an end to the queues stretching back into the check-in area. Went straight through with no delay at all.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 26 Reviews