Vote Airport  

La Guardia Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 51 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"thousands of us were stranded"

(United States)

In the days following the major snowstorm on January 23/24, 2016, all United flights into Newark Airport were cancelled, including my return flight on Sunday Jan 24. The best I could do was a flight to La Guardia, arriving Monday night Jan 24 at around 10pm. Apparently I was not the only person in that situation. Apparently the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, the agency that manages the airports in NY were not prepared. So many people arrived at around the same time, many of whom really wanted to get to Newark Airport, all of whom were being picked up by friends, family, taxis or car services, that the traffic in and around the airport was so bad that the good folks at the Port Authority were overwhelmed. Their solution was to shut down every access road into the airport. Bad idea. There were literally thousands of people waiting for cars that never arrived. My driver called me asking if I can meet him in the neighborhood on the other side of the highway. Not possible with the snow, no sidewalks, a suitcase. There were no alternatives. NYC public buses that service the airport were completely full by the time they arrived at my location. The line for the first bus stop on the airport property was ridiculously long. There is no subway or other train service nearby. Thousands of us were stranded. After about an hour waiting for my car service driver to make it on the airport property he called me to meet him at the Departure level, which was empty of people and cars. Almost any other way of dealing with this would have been better than how La Guardia Airport management dealt with it. The best way would have been to utilize both departure and arrival levels for passenger pick up, splitting the traffic load to several locations, actively direct and manage vehicle flow to minimize pick up time and maximize capacity. Not to completely shut access to the airport, stranding thousands of people and creating gridlock outside the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"worst airport in the US"

(United States)

Definitely the worst airport in the US. It's way too crowded and is way beyond it's time. Check in for business class was a zoo. Security takes extremely long since the number of stations aren't enough to handle this much passengers. The gate areas are run down and look quite old. The airline lounges are slightly better but are starting to show their age. There aren't enough boarding gates and we had to be bundled up with another flight during boarding. An extremely chaotic experience, much worse than San Francisco or Denver.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a disgrace to all of NY"

(United States)

Ultra-long security lines and surly guards (even by US standards). Grungy concourses, lack of bars (not one single bar in concourse C), suburban mall fast food options spewing their yeasty fumes and an egregious lack of seating - this airport is beyond redemption. I cannot imagine how it doesn't embarrass the chairman of PANYNJ. It is a disgrace to all of NY.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"does need a lot of upgrading"

(United States)

I use LaGuardia airport for one reason only. Because it is closest to Manhattan. No good places to eat, limited seating at gates, know WiFi, and outdated and junky. No airtrain to terminals D and C which is Delta and US Airways. You have a van to pick you up to take you about 2 miles on the other side of the airport. However those guys do do a great job. This airport does need a lot of upgrading. Still my number one airport in New York City over JFK because of access.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"outdated and lacks consistent cleanliness"

(United States)

Majority of the airport staff are here just to earn a paycheck. Several areas of the airport are outdated and lacks consistent cleanliness. There's hardly any known fast food restaurants such as McDonald's or Burger King.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"only has one security line open"

(United States)

Flying American Airlines out of Gate D and TBA only has one security line open for all passengers going through this gate. When the gentleman behind me complained to one of the agents, the agents response was to tell the customer to complain to the government so that they could schedule more agents. I have flown out of Midway and Hobby at least 50 times each and they always have every security line open and more TSA agents and both are much smaller airports. Finally got through security only to hear and see a tsa agent tell a passenger that she could not take an item on a plane and that it wasn't her problem and that she didn't work for the airlines. I never witnessed so much neglect going through one airport in one day.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very limited seating"

(United States)

Absolutely the worst setup for a waiting area. I don't want to sit at a counter with (sticky) Ipads. There are a total of 5 lounge chairs at this gate and counters with high, backless chairs. Very limited seating. Epic fail.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"disinterested personnel"

(United States)

As an American citizen, I am appalled at the condition of this airport, its inefficiencies, lack of capacity to handle passengers and their needs. I am here on 9/26/15. Long, long lines to get through security, disinterested personnel, lines (20-deep) for Women's restroom, not enough seating at gates. Plus the airport terminal itself looks like the 50's. This is shameful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

La Guardia Airport customer review

(United States)

Literally felt like -30 degrees in the morning and TSA had a big fan blowing right in your face making it feel ever colder in the airport! TSA line are super long. Early morning flights are the worst here - no one around for help, everything is still closed, employees and staff show horrible service and attitudes. My flights were only at 7am.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

La Guardia Airport customer review

(United States)

LGA must be one of the worst airports. Took off from Terminal C today. There is no space to move around people. There is not enough seating in the gate area. Have an early flight? Good luck finding a cup of coffee or someone to help you at the food courts or quick stop places. Employee attitudes in these locations is horrendous, discourteous and rude. The only thing going for this out of date run down airport is proximity to the city
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 51 Reviews