Airline of the Year  

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 429 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"the worst airport experience"

(South Korea)

Verified Review | The slowest immigration ever. I had to wait 45 minutes to get past immigration and at least 10 people missed their flights for the flight I reserved (which I also missed) and the same probably happened to people waiting in line for other flights on that day. There was even a man who yelled and complained to the domestic immigration staff for not taking foreigners which everyone applauded. For sure at least 50 people missed their flight on this day. It was the worst airport experience in my life.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"efficient and well planned"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | I'm reviewing KLIA2 airport, which is an airport for budget airlines such as AirAsia and Jetstar. The design of the airport is efficient and well planned. The Check in, Immigration, Customs and boarding gates are located nearby so we dont have to run s in other airports. The air condition was working ok, which is great. The only downside is the slightly "too simple" look of the airport, making it look like a giant boring warehouse.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"please come early"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Arriving and waiting 54 min to get my passport stamped, when departing first 40 min in line to drop bag then 45 minutes to see my passport again, ridiculous. I couldn't spend any money to save my life since the airport would rather have you stand in lines then sit and eat something. Please come early since stress at the start of your holiday is not good. Then we get to the gate and our flight is not showing. We walk back to the front to check the board, yet gate was correct. Turns out the board wasn't changed. Sloppy services.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"very organized and high quality"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | The Terminal is quite nice. So we arrive at KLIA2 from Haneda early in the morning and had a wonderful early morning breakfast. KLIA2 is very organized and high quality, the toilets are clean and there is an excellent choice of restaurants in the terminal. However, when I went through immigration I had to wait 30 mins with 5-8 people in front of me. I went to KLIA1 to take my flight to CGK and the Terminal has a good design with high ceilings and natural lighting but the toilets/restrooms are dark and disgusting, there are cleaning staff inside the toilets but they seem ok with the situation which really bothers me. In KLIA1 MTB there are just 2-4 restaurants which is shocking. Honestly I wouldn't want to use KLIA1 but KLIA2 definitely yes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"good pricing on duty free"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Impressive place. Plenty of room and they use it. No crowding between 1600 and 1900. No bars but good pricing on duty free. Air Con weak in the x-shaped "C" gates section. Coffee better than KL average. Heaps of seating, although KL in general doesn't do this well in public places. Nice automatic monorail shuttle to the separate terminal. Oh the wifi kept flaking out. Impressive.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"KLIA is very well maintained"

(Malaysia)

I have been to KLIA many times now and even though it's old, KLIA is very well maintained. It's overall quite clean but there are many places which are filled with dust, dirt and hair but I understand this because the cleaners cannot clean the whole airport in one go. The signs and directions are good, they led me to where I wanted to go. Queuing times very short because there weren't many people there at that time. Terminal seating by the way was limited. Could only get to sit in the lounge or at the waiting area at the boarding gate. Good choice of food and airport shopping. Airport staff were OK, didn't look angry or reluctant. WiFi was quite strong here in KLIA. Overall a great airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"the tax refund process is a nightmare"

(United States)

Verified Review | KLIA airport is very good with one glaring exception - the tax refund process is a nightmare. Message to KLIA airport management and the Malaysian royal customs Sevice. Malaysia wants to be a tourist shopping hub, the GST refund is part of the attraction, tourists will follow your stupidly long process (which takes 45mins) to get their refunds for this visit, the only thing you will succeed in doing by making it so difficult is to persuade them not to come back! I would strongly rexommmed you review the process including: the customs counter should be in the main terminal, with clear signposting and a streamlined checking process. The refund counter should be better staffed so the line is shorter and located next to the customs point, you could even look at having just one counter if you were really trying.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"quality of the announcements were abysmal and unclear"

(Malaysia)

I was really looking forward to travelling on a regional flight out of KUL but it was mediocre at best. The boarding was very disorganized at the dual boarding gates located at the Main Terminal Building (MTB). The lines were uncontrolled and passengers heading to other onward gates were stranded as a result. There was much confusion for passengers as the display screen stated "Boarding" but the officers managing the gate were clueless to only allow us into the security screening ten minutes prior to departure time. The flight numbers were similar - MH185 (to CMB) and MH186 (BOM) and both were thirty minutes apart with one of them experiencing a delay hence the further confusion to passengers in the queue for both flights. The quality of the announcements were abysmal and unclear. Chaotic conditions did not help the already tense passengers. Security officers were very rude and could do with some empathy toward senior citizens and those who were unable to converse in a common language with them. Toilets were dingy looking, dark and filthy all around the airport, except the premium toilets which were alright. The toilets in this terminal (KLIA 1) require an immediate upgrade to the interiors and please engage professional contractors to maintain the cleanliness of the toilet. They can learn a thing or two from SIN and LHR. KLIA 1 have lost their glory due to the incompetencies of the service staff and the management.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"no ground crew to help"

(United States)

Flight in to KLIA Kuala Lumpur delayed and landed after midnight. Plane sat on tarmac for 30-45 mins, no ground crew to help with disembarkation. Immigration line very long. There were three lanes open, but just too many visitors at this time on the night. Took one hour plus and by then luggage were circling on carousel. Custom lines quiet at this time. Several eatery shops still open and we got a sandwich. On departure, usual lines for immigration and security inspection. Transit hotel there wanted minimum 6 hour charge when I enquired.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"poor little airport"

(Denmark)

Poor little airport without restaurants, bars or any other ways of killing time. Not even a book. I'm sure the terminal for longer hauls have more facilities, but flying in the local area - I was going to Thailand - make sure you have eaten in advance and don't arrive until the latest possible moment.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no