KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 300 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th June 2015

I have flown into KLIA from Heathrow on average every two years since it opened in 1998, to visit family, with some regional/internal flights in-between. It is a well-presented and apparently well-maintained airport with reasonable functionality and transport links. I will focus on the truly negative aspect for this review as it needs highlighting: queuing at Immigration Control. This applies to both arriving and departing passengers, and the latter seems quite unique to KLIA. Upon arrival at KLIA, it is quite normal to join a queue for foreign passports that will last some 20 minutes or more. There doesn't seem to be much in the way of passenger-flow monitoring and accommodating peak periods. When going through ticket presentation from check-in to security, at KLIA there is a row of Immigration desks for passport/biometrics capture. My experiences over the last 17 years have shown this to be a very quiet area, so I was particularly surprised at the queues that I had to join last Wednesday (24th). I don't know if there was a unique event or incident that contributed to this, but everything seemed normal to that point. My queue lasted 20 minutes, and was the quicker queue as an extra desk opened up towards the end. Up to that point, there were three desks out of 7+ open for foreign passports, with an extra two for "First and Business Class" that did not call over any passengers to alleviate the queue when they were not serving anyone. That aside, it was the usual positive experience, if unspectacular. But the queuing desperately needs addressing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit28-06-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
2/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 22nd June 2015

Airport layout is horrible. Immigration was quick when I arrived. Officer was pleasant. For departure, went through countless security checkpoints. Some staff rude, others refused to accept the smartphone Airasia app boarding pass. At the entrance to Departures one staff member said "go to checkin counter and get a boarding pass". His colleague looked at the smartphone and asked me "is it a screenprint" then I had to reload the app to show him it wasnt. Security staff at the bag check and metal detectors had poor attitude.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit22-06-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
3/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 21st June 2015

I travel through KLIA2 at least 20 times since its opening. In terms of infrastructure, it is a better airport than the previous LCCT. Lots of room, better laid out, bright and cheerful, good shopping, and transportation to and from the airport were smooth. However, one problem is the distance from the boarding gates to the terminal building. Insufficient (or absence of) travelators, has made the distance to the boarding gates demanding to say the least, especially for the elderly and the infirm. Confusing signage is another problem. And the widely displayed 3D map only adds to the confusion. I have seen people heading towards to the carpark when they were supposed to be heading towards the check-in counters. The 'official' airport staff were unhelpful when it comes to giving directions. The queuing for both the check-in and in-coming immigration counters were not cordoned off, and as a result, queue jumping, pushing and shoving is normal. Where is the security when they are needed? And the toilets are filthy. Considering that this airport is only about two years old at the time of writing, I can't imagine its condition several years from now.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit21-04-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (Singapore) 15th June 2015

Immigration took more than half an hour to clear 9 people, the x-ray machine at customs broke down, and the walk from customs to the departure gates was ridiculously far (seriously, there was a large shopping mall between the two). Despite being at immigration more than an hour before take-off, I was held up for an absurd amount of time and had to run the entire way to the plane to just squeak through the boarding window, only to find the gate closed with nary a soul in sight. The airline staff returned 30 minutes later, claiming to have left their post only 5 minutes before take-off (yeah, right). I was refused a transfer to the next flight because, and I quote, "Everyday people complain customs slow." In the end, I was forced to purchase a new plane ticket at an inflated price.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
no
2/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (Singapore) 29th May 2015

I frequently travel between Singapore and KL on AirAsia and unfortunately need to use the new KLIA2 airport. It is without a doubt one of the worst airports that I have experienced. In addition to being very badly designed (many of the gates are 15 minutes or more walking distance from the check-in / arrival hall with very few travelators) it is very poorly constructed and maintained. I used it in the 1st week that it was open and it was obvious that operations had commenced before it was finished. Now after little more than 1 year it looks like a 20 year old building. It is dirty and starting to fall apart. The check-in process is bedlam and getting through immigration can often take 30 minutes or more.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
3/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (Taiwan) 5th May 2015

I arrived to airport after 10pm I was looking to buy something to eat and I had to exchange money to do so or at least an ATM. But everything is "temporarily closed" in the airport. Even the convenience store.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
9/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st May 2015

We used KLIA1 four times in March and we had a very pleasant experience the only issue is the distance to and from gates other than that we found it clean modern and plenty of reasonably priced food outlets a word of advise if you arrive on a domestic flight and walk outside for a hotel transfer you are actually on Level 3 and its not obvious with all the taxis its easy to believe you are at ground level.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
0/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (Cambodia) 27th April 2015

KLA2/AirAsia. This is Air Asia's hub airport. It is probably one of the worst designed "new" airports in the world. It is one big shopping mall with airplanes a long way away. The check in is chaos unless your in Air Asia's business class but if your doing a connecting flight you still have to go through customs and drag your bags to be checked in for your connecting flight and if your flight is many hours away you can't check in early to get back into transit to use the transit hotel. You can't stay in transit if you can get to transit for more than 10 hours so if your connecting flight is say 12 hours you have to stay in the country side of customs I believe this is all planned to get you to shop in their giant mall. Going from arrivals to departures for connecting flights is mostly a mystery as the signs are confusing and sometimes the moving stairs don't work and the elevators get jammed up with baggage carts. I had to go through three security checks. At Singapore Airport they check at the gate! Wise up Air Asia! The gates seem like miles away and you have to walk 99% of it. Avoid this terminal at all costs. If you have a short time between flights expect to miss your connecting flight.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
9/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th March 2015

Flew LHR-KUL-PEN-KUL-MEL in transit at KLIA both times very easy to transfer from an international to domestic flight there is a separate escalator once you exit off the train in the main terminal which takes you to an immigration desk then after passing through there yiu are in the domestic departure area. The terminal is well sign-posted with colour codes directing you. The terminal is bright clean and plenty of shops bars and cafes to occupy your time in transit. I find this airport a pleasure to use.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
4/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 17th March 2015

I have used KLIA dozens of times for transfer and I can say it is modern and clean. But there are really some issues: 1) Smoking area next to Burger King is a filthy empty box. people have to sit on the floor. You might dislike smoking but they are still paying guests! 2) Once at the gate there are minimal places to sit. Again the floor is the only alternative. 3) Misunderstandings and unnecessary crowding because of sharing one gate entrance for two flights while other gates are unused. 4) Nice public place (square) to sit is missing. You have to go to a restaurant to have a nice seat. Sorry but it is not my favourite place. Hong Kong is much better.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no