KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 461 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"an amazingly easy airport for transit passengers"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Along with Singapore an amazingly easy airport for transit passengers. Straight from aircraft to lounge with no need for security screening like Australia or Hong Kong. Highly recommended as a transit facility when you already have your onward boarding pass.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"immigration queues have got worse"

(Malaysia)

Unverified | KLIA immigration queues have got worse the past 3 years since KLIA2 opened. The chief of immigration was on the radio last month and he said recently he visited the airport before the SEA games and he was shocked to see how big the queues were at immigration. He said they only have 90 immigration staff there and they are 90 staff short of what is required. How did it even get to this stage? Immigration officers don't seem interested and always playing on their phones!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"information boards are everywhere"

(New Zealand)

Unverified | Arrived from Gold Coast 5am in the morning, this is my 3rd or 4th time at this airport. It has been changed, in a positive way, information boards are everywhere, plenty of drinking water places. Only a few places were open at the time. Desperately wanted to find a good coffee. Found a breakfast joint just below the steep elevator. About NZD 7, tuna sandwich and medium coffee, not bad for the money. Then wanted have a seat and rest for few hours until next flight to Colombo at 8am. There are plenty of seats. Lot of people sleeping on the floor. Must be that the floor is well maintained. Toilets are very clean. Airport security are very polite and helpful. Water re-fill station are available after security. This is kind of my priority, I always empty water and re-fill after security. Making re-fill water available for passengers is a responsibility and duty of the Airport in my opinion because de-hydration can lead to so many other heath issues plus travel can be unpleasant experience. Well done Kuala Lumpur. Better than my expectations.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1/10

"Truly disappointed with KL airport staff"

(Singapore)

Unverified | We were running late for our flight and the airport inmigration held us up with a very long queue and a ridiculously slow moving traffic that caused us to miss our flight. No immigration officer was nice enough to let us go through the immigration checkpoint earlier so as to save us from missing our flights. No announcements were made for the last call or with our names. No Jetstar representives to be found in the entire airport to assist us. Only Air Asia personnel who refused to help saying they can't help and they don't know where Jetstar staff were. Truly disappointed with KL airport staff, Jetstar staff and Malaysian immigration department. No one was helpful, no one could be depended upon such a desperate situation.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport for transit"

(United States)

Verified Review | First time here in Kuala Lumpur Airport for transit only. Been to many different airports, but this is the worst airport when it comes to immigration checkpoint and carry on check point. I warn you, if you're transferring to another plane, make sure you have plenty of time between the transfer and your actual time of destination because the line in the immigration takes about 48 years. Before the immigration check, there will be passport and boarding pass check then another one and another one. Not to mention they will scan your carry on bags many zillion times. I understand security, but how many checks do they need? Worst airport! I thought Philippine airports are the worst! Wait til you get here! Never will come back here. I'd rather pay to different transit destination than here.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
2/10

"never had a bad experience until this year"

(Netherlands)

Unverified | I have transferred through KLIA so many times, almost twice every year for the past 6 years. I've never had a bad experience until this year. Their immigration system is super messed up. The employees joke and laugh with each other while you're waiting in a non-moving line for 2 hours and missing your flight because of it. There seems to be no efficient supervision or the person in charge just doesn't care. I will choose Singapore or Hong Kong in the future, because I've never seen a worse immigration system than at KLIA this year. Even my trips to the USA went quicker in regards to the immigration desk.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"8 counters open and about 16 counters closed"

(Thailand)

Unverified | It was very bad at on the 4th July at about 11.30 am. It took me 65 minutes to pass through the Immigration. It was very hot because of so many people waiting in lines. I counted there were 8 counters open and about 16 counters closed. 2 days later on the way back home to Thailand it took me 45 minutes to pass through Immigration, again because they only half of the counters were open. Last year it took about 15 minutes to pass through. This month I will go through here again and if it takes me more than 30 minutes I will not go to Malaysia again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"how can an airport be this poor"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Absolutely poor, what airport takes at least half an hour to check your passport, for departing? Toilets weren't even satisfactory, an airport is the first impression that tourists see, how can an airport be this poor? I recommend you to eat beforehand, as there are not a lot of restaurants at the airport especially after the security check.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
10/10

"totally impressed with the space"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | I do extensive travelling through Asia so must rely on airports for transit. My favourites have always been Hong Kong and Singapore but my last two stops have been through Kuala Lumpur's fantastic KLIA and KLIA2 terminals. I am totally impressed with the space, transport, shops, eateries and efficiency of this airport. The courtesy and helpfulness of their immigration staff is something all other airports could learn from. I'm from New Zealand but reside in Bali, Indonesia, and Bali's airport immigration staff, in particular could take a lesson from their neighbours professional immigration staff. My only criticism of KLIA is there are no snooze lounges like in Singapore, somewhere for transit passengers to take a quick nap.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"hoped they had improved but clearly not"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Shock arrival at KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport, be prepared to wait 2-3 hours as immigration queues were around the block, so hard on the elderly and families with kids. The staff couldn't cope at all, totally ineffective and useless. I would avoid KLIA in the future, they see the massive queues with a lack of any attempt to help. Those of you who think fast track / business and first class queues, well I was in that queue and it took me 1.5 hours. From reports the same happens at the budget terminal. I came a few years ago, it was the same, I had hoped they had improved but clearly not.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no