Best Economy Class Seats  

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 375 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"extremely long queuing for immigration"

(France)

Extremely long queuing time for immigration check at Kuala Lumpur before baggage reclaim. There are over 20 booths but only 3 are open. Signage is non-existant. No one seems in charge. Very unpleasant arrival because of it. Apart from that nice terminals and lots of shops.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"toilets dirty"

(Indonesia)

I am going to write my arrival experience at KLIA and departure experience at KLIA2. First impression, while KLIA is the main international airport and KLIA2 which is for LCC carriers I would say KLIA2 is better. Sure KLIA has all the high-end brands at the airport mall, the hallways are brightly lit, enough signage. But one area they failed miserably is the toilets, which is the basic requirement for all air travelers. Wet floors, no tissue, un-flushed toilets, dirty hand-wash area, used tissue on the floors. Right from upon my arrival all the way to the exit before going to KLIA2, I was looking at 6 or 7 toilets at KLIA in hope finding one that is decent enough, and I cannot find any. And i'm not even a picky guy. No cleaning personnel at the airport, and the one time I saw a cleaning personnel, he spent maybe a minute going through all the stalls and not doing any cleaning.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"all female toilets not ready to use"

(Indonesia)

Arrive early morning at 3.30 at KLIA Kuala Lumpur and going to wait for connecting flight to Jakarta. I'd like to report that all the toiletes were not ready to use. They put yellow standing signs that the toilets are under cleaning progress - this is an international airport with passengers arriving 24 hours, so isn't this ridiculous? My daughter wanted to use one of the female toilets and a member of the cleaning staff shouted to her rudely to use another toilet. We walked through the gates and all female toilets were blocked with the yellow sign stating not ready to use. I end up letting her use one of the toilet with the yellow sign (without the cleaning staff present) and the situation inside quite wet everywhere. I think they seriously need to educate their cleaning services on how to give proper service at the airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"far from being a top int'l airport"

(Australia)

Comparing the KLIA Kuala Lumpur to other international airports like Singapore, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Tokyo, Seoul - it is still far from being a top international airport. The airport queues for Immigration are so long that it takes more than 40 mins to get through. There are no booths or signs for the elderly and children. The immigration staff behaviour is questionable as to who you meet, and what type of mood they have. Alignment of airline staff and management is not there at all, which means that you are stuck at the immigration or security queue and airline staff don't know. If you are at airport 2 hours before the flight time, there are chances that you might miss the flight. Airport management needs to have some sort timeline for queues at each point for frequent travellers, for children's and old people. Time consumed in all these stages should not be more than 20 mins. KLIA still require a long way to go to become efficient and counted as a top international airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not up to standard"

(Singapore)

Generally clean airport. Relative to other international airports I've been to, this is not up to standard though. Restroom cubicle floors are often wet. Wifi is rather expected in most of the airports, and KLIA provides it. Good. Food options are alright. Better than before they had KLIA2 definitely. Customs is a major bugbear. If Sydney airport is 10/10, KLIA I'd say is a 3/10. Inefficient, long queues for foreigners, and you'll see idle staff members at counters for locals. They probably have a SOP to follow, but it makes me wonder if they at least review the system to be more efficient, considering I see the same thing happening every time I arrive and depart from KLIA. Staff not very visible aside from customs. So low rating for that.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"ground staff not too helpful"

(Australia)

We were delayed arriving into KLIA with a connecting flight to Penang. There were no ground staff until the arrival hall. It is a big airport and it took about 40 min to get to where we wanted to go. Ground staff were not too helpful when we asked for directions. Had to clear multiple security checks before getting to our gate.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"needs to improve cleanliness"

(Indonesia)

KLIA 2 is a huge airport and you need a lot of time to walk between check in and the boarding gates. Really needs to improve cleanliness. The staff are not initially welcoming but actually they good when we asked them questions. Although the departure hall is huge it is crowded. Baggage drop and imigration quite fast. I like that there are many stores and restaurants. WiFi is fast.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"I was expecting something different"

(Malaysia)

The new carpet installed is a waste of money. It is trolley unfriendly and collects dust that trigger my allergies. I am amazed how money can be spent this way. The upgrading work took ages and I was expecting something different from what i experienced. The previous floor was perfect though.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"very clean and organised"

(Singapore)

Kuala Lumpur International Airport is a very clean and organised airport with friendly staff and a brilliant viewing mall for aircraft photography/viewing. The airport wireless signal is also very strong and easy to access via the sign in page. Kuala Lumpur International Airport has to be one of my favourite Airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"USB phone charging please"

(Australia)

A plead for this airport and others too, please provide USB phone charging areas. Most of us economy people haven't got the right adapter for every country. If airlines can provide them, surely airports can, especially in transit lounges. Nothing is worse than being in transit for 6+ hours and low battery and nowhere to charge your phone. It's not a big outlay really. Also I suggest something too. When we book our tickets can we please pay upfront that we wish to use the special lounge for transits over 5 hours. Anyway, USB phone charging please.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes