KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 303 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (Bangladesh) 22nd July 2015

Kuala Lumpur (KLIA) is one of good airports thanks to all the available facilities. I traveled several times through this airport and found airport staff to be very helpful, and the immigration process took less than 10 mins.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit22-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
4/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 22nd July 2015

First and foremost it was nice to land at such a spacious airport, meaning this is one airport you will never feel over crowded, but you might as well think you have just landed somewhere that is too big for its actual occupancy, the airport is too far out of central KL, meaning you have leave plenty of road (no train options) time to get to your terminal. Service related issues I found were mainly around the food court, most servers are more content to talk amongst themselves than serve customers. Vendors, some accepted foreign currency some did not, most tables in the food court wee full of previous customers trash. Food court was modern with all of the usual outlets available. Only one other place to purchase drinks in the food court, serviced by skeleton staff, not really interested in serving any customers, I found it hard to buy a drink of any kind, I ended up just going to one of the many burger joints to make my purchase. Toilets, yes there are plenty available here, however each one smells. Cleaning equipment left out unattended in eye sight. Receptical over flowing, filthy floors and counter tops, I had to keep reminding my self I'm not in Singapore anymore, Malaysia please take some notes. Not very well managed or maintained in any capacity. Customs, going through the X-ray machines is quick and easy, I found the staff friendly, although their staffing for these areas is over the top, 10+ staff to each machine is over kill most staff stand around talking, in the way of passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit22-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 3rd July 2015

KLIA2 is a poor airport. The design necessitates long walks. Services are inconsistent. Most days there's a buggy service for the upper part of the walk. Today we waited more than half an hour but no buggy for passengers appeared. However there was a buggy ferrying staff with wheelchairs (to fetch passengers). Their attitude is: for passengers not our business.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit03-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
6/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th June 2015

I have flown into KLIA from Heathrow on average every two years since it opened in 1998, to visit family, with some regional/internal flights in-between. It is a well-presented and apparently well-maintained airport with reasonable functionality and transport links. I will focus on the truly negative aspect for this review as it needs highlighting: queuing at Immigration Control. This applies to both arriving and departing passengers, and the latter seems quite unique to KLIA. Upon arrival at KLIA, it is quite normal to join a queue for foreign passports that will last some 20 minutes or more. There doesn't seem to be much in the way of passenger-flow monitoring and accommodating peak periods. When going through ticket presentation from check-in to security, at KLIA there is a row of Immigration desks for passport/biometrics capture. My experiences over the last 17 years have shown this to be a very quiet area, so I was particularly surprised at the queues that I had to join last Wednesday (24th). I don't know if there was a unique event or incident that contributed to this, but everything seemed normal to that point. My queue lasted 20 minutes, and was the quicker queue as an extra desk opened up towards the end. Up to that point, there were three desks out of 7+ open for foreign passports, with an extra two for "First and Business Class" that did not call over any passengers to alleviate the queue when they were not serving anyone. That aside, it was the usual positive experience, if unspectacular. But the queuing desperately needs addressing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit28-06-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
2/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 22nd June 2015

Airport layout is horrible. Immigration was quick when I arrived. Officer was pleasant. For departure, went through countless security checkpoints. Some staff rude, others refused to accept the smartphone Airasia app boarding pass. At the entrance to Departures one staff member said "go to checkin counter and get a boarding pass". His colleague looked at the smartphone and asked me "is it a screenprint" then I had to reload the app to show him it wasnt. Security staff at the bag check and metal detectors had poor attitude.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit22-06-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
3/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 21st June 2015

I travel through KLIA2 at least 20 times since its opening. In terms of infrastructure, it is a better airport than the previous LCCT. Lots of room, better laid out, bright and cheerful, good shopping, and transportation to and from the airport were smooth. However, one problem is the distance from the boarding gates to the terminal building. Insufficient (or absence of) travelators, has made the distance to the boarding gates demanding to say the least, especially for the elderly and the infirm. Confusing signage is another problem. And the widely displayed 3D map only adds to the confusion. I have seen people heading towards to the carpark when they were supposed to be heading towards the check-in counters. The 'official' airport staff were unhelpful when it comes to giving directions. The queuing for both the check-in and in-coming immigration counters were not cordoned off, and as a result, queue jumping, pushing and shoving is normal. Where is the security when they are needed? And the toilets are filthy. Considering that this airport is only about two years old at the time of writing, I can't imagine its condition several years from now.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit21-04-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (Singapore) 15th June 2015

Immigration took more than half an hour to clear 9 people, the x-ray machine at customs broke down, and the walk from customs to the departure gates was ridiculously far (seriously, there was a large shopping mall between the two). Despite being at immigration more than an hour before take-off, I was held up for an absurd amount of time and had to run the entire way to the plane to just squeak through the boarding window, only to find the gate closed with nary a soul in sight. The airline staff returned 30 minutes later, claiming to have left their post only 5 minutes before take-off (yeah, right). I was refused a transfer to the next flight because, and I quote, "Everyday people complain customs slow." In the end, I was forced to purchase a new plane ticket at an inflated price.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (Singapore) 29th May 2015

I frequently travel between Singapore and KL on AirAsia and unfortunately need to use the new KLIA2 airport. It is without a doubt one of the worst airports that I have experienced. In addition to being very badly designed (many of the gates are 15 minutes or more walking distance from the check-in / arrival hall with very few travelators) it is very poorly constructed and maintained. I used it in the 1st week that it was open and it was obvious that operations had commenced before it was finished. Now after little more than 1 year it looks like a 20 year old building. It is dirty and starting to fall apart. The check-in process is bedlam and getting through immigration can often take 30 minutes or more.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
3/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (Taiwan) 5th May 2015

I arrived to airport after 10pm I was looking to buy something to eat and I had to exchange money to do so or at least an ATM. But everything is "temporarily closed" in the airport. Even the convenience store.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
9/10

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st May 2015

We used KLIA1 four times in March and we had a very pleasant experience the only issue is the distance to and from gates other than that we found it clean modern and plenty of reasonably priced food outlets a word of advise if you arrive on a domestic flight and walk outside for a hotel transfer you are actually on Level 3 and its not obvious with all the taxis its easy to believe you are at ground level.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes