Vote Now  

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 421 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"the tax refund process is a nightmare"

(United States)

Verified Review | KLIA airport is very good with one glaring exception - the tax refund process is a nightmare. Message to KLIA airport management and the Malaysian royal customs Sevice. Malaysia wants to be a tourist shopping hub, the GST refund is part of the attraction, tourists will follow your stupidly long process (which takes 45mins) to get their refunds for this visit, the only thing you will succeed in doing by making it so difficult is to persuade them not to come back! I would strongly rexommmed you review the process including: the customs counter should be in the main terminal, with clear signposting and a streamlined checking process. The refund counter should be better staffed so the line is shorter and located next to the customs point, you could even look at having just one counter if you were really trying.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"quality of the announcements were abysmal and unclear"

(Malaysia)

I was really looking forward to travelling on a regional flight out of KUL but it was mediocre at best. The boarding was very disorganized at the dual boarding gates located at the Main Terminal Building (MTB). The lines were uncontrolled and passengers heading to other onward gates were stranded as a result. There was much confusion for passengers as the display screen stated "Boarding" but the officers managing the gate were clueless to only allow us into the security screening ten minutes prior to departure time. The flight numbers were similar - MH185 (to CMB) and MH186 (BOM) and both were thirty minutes apart with one of them experiencing a delay hence the further confusion to passengers in the queue for both flights. The quality of the announcements were abysmal and unclear. Chaotic conditions did not help the already tense passengers. Security officers were very rude and could do with some empathy toward senior citizens and those who were unable to converse in a common language with them. Toilets were dingy looking, dark and filthy all around the airport, except the premium toilets which were alright. The toilets in this terminal (KLIA 1) require an immediate upgrade to the interiors and please engage professional contractors to maintain the cleanliness of the toilet. They can learn a thing or two from SIN and LHR. KLIA 1 have lost their glory due to the incompetencies of the service staff and the management.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"no ground crew to help"

(United States)

Flight in to KLIA Kuala Lumpur delayed and landed after midnight. Plane sat on tarmac for 30-45 mins, no ground crew to help with disembarkation. Immigration line very long. There were three lanes open, but just too many visitors at this time on the night. Took one hour plus and by then luggage were circling on carousel. Custom lines quiet at this time. Several eatery shops still open and we got a sandwich. On departure, usual lines for immigration and security inspection. Transit hotel there wanted minimum 6 hour charge when I enquired.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"poor little airport"

(Denmark)

Poor little airport without restaurants, bars or any other ways of killing time. Not even a book. I'm sure the terminal for longer hauls have more facilities, but flying in the local area - I was going to Thailand - make sure you have eaten in advance and don't arrive until the latest possible moment.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"immigration is terrible"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Immigration is terrible at Kuala Lumpur Airport. Always so slow. Never enough officers on the desks. They frequently close desks even when the queue is getting longer. I travel to KL regularly and other destinations in south east Asia and this is the worst when compared to other regional airports. Quality of eateries is also very poor. Not as bad as Manila. However one of the worst.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"filthy - an absolute disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I was looking forward to my transit here en-route from BKK to LHR having done this about 12 years ago and enjoyed it very much. What has happened though in that intervening period? I can only describe the toilets as filthy - an absolute disgrace considering this is a major international airport. I even resorted to trying to use a disabled toilet as it was the only gents toilet I could find that wasn't liberally covered in urine or used tissue, but the sliding door lock mechanism didn't work! Air conditioning isn't strong enough for size of the building, meaning that it is very warm even during the cooler evening. Bizarre layout of high level walkways and lack of access points to ground floor soon gets very frustrating and all in all, it reminded me of the bad old days of hubs in the middle east (Doha, Abu Dhabi etc) before they updated-not places to relax or refresh between flights. Boarding was shambolic thanks to the activities (or lack of!) of airport staff-not what you need with an A380 and a far cry from the orderly way in which Emirates get their A380s boarded. Give me Changi or BKK next time - I will be avoiding KUL at all costs!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"insufficient immigration counters"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Insufficient immigration counters at KLIA Kuala Lumpur for transit passengers between domestic and international flights. On departure, over 100 pax queueing for 4 counters. No self-service passport scanners for Malaysian passports. Immigration officer unhappy when passengers are asking to be processed faster. Connecting flights are issued by system, even 2hr gap, you may miss your flight. On arrival, the counters open at 6am for passengers. Good luck if you came in at 4am. Departure gate information is sorely lacking. You cannot easily look up where is your departure gate. If there are changes, you could be screwed. Just a few display screens at central area. Seats for resting not enough. Think of passengers who have long wait for connecting flights or just waiting to enter gate. If this is some village airport, that is fine. Yes, the airport could be worse, but it sure could be a lot better.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"best transportation services"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I flew into Kuala Lumpur with my family from Kathmandu. This is my second time here and I love this airport as it has everything from shopping, food, transportation etc. They have one of the best transportation services after clearing immigration. The only downside of this beautiful airport is their rather rude immigration officers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"great place to transit and shop"

(Australia)

KLIA Kuala Lumpur airport is organized, the notice boards are clear with detailed instruction, the place was clean and the washrooms were ok compared to other Asian airports. I was there on a 5 hr transit so had a great opportunity to explore this place. Only downside as far as the shops are concerned is that the duty-free shops open at 6am in the morning, there was just one place to get food and coffee. All the rest of the places just told me they are closed. People were not very friendly and poor English, still love the place due to the shopping experience (I rank KLIA over Changi airport for this). I was only able to find one place to get a massage and even that is not full body massage it's just feet and shoulder etc (would be good to have a couple of 24hr spas as this is a main transit hub). Overall a great place to transit and shop.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"there is definitely not enough comfortable seating"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Whereas Changi Airport really tries to cater for everyone's needs, this cannot be said for KL. There are the usual shops and eateries but the one area for smokers whilst reasonably well ventilated compared to some airports, it now has no seating and trolleys are not allowed which presents problems. What do you do with your luggage? The toilets we visited were not clean and when we advised the information desk, it seemed that it was of little interest. Also there are not enough escalators or lifts to the upper floor and there is definitely not enough comfortable seating.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no