Best Cabin Crew  

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 348 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"total chaos"

(Singapore)

KLIA2 which is the Air Asia hub, is an absolute nightmare. Total chaos. Disgruntled staff. Non existent signage. Masses of people banging into each other. Closed service counters. You would think this is the worst airport experience of your life and you would be right. It's the perfect way to ruin any flight, holiday or business. Guaranteed. The airfares from this airport are only slightly cheaper but the pain and world class suffering is worth 10 times the savings.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queue was simply unbelievable"

(United Kingdom)

I arrived at the airport at 6.50am for a fight to Sydney leaving at 9.00am with Malaysia Airlines. The queue for check in of baggage was simply unbelievable. There was was queue for all international flights and it filled the whole of the entrance lobby and snaked around in a totally haphazard fashion so that it was difficult to see where it started or stopped. There were no audible announcements and no staff available to either supervise the queue or direct customers through more quickly. The queue when I joined it was in the region of 300 people and moving so slowly that after one hour I had made little progress. Despite getting more and more anxious I was told that I had to stay in the queue with everyone else. Although I am British, there was a Malaysian gentleman immediately behind me who could not establish any more information. It was obvious that at this rate I was going to miss my flight. Seeing my distress a fellow passenger offered to mind my luggage whilst I fought my way to the front of the queue and was then told to make my way to the front immediately. I told my Malaysian neighbour and we did this and only just made it to the departure gate in time. I appreciate it was Chinese New Year but I cannot understand why there was no prior information (I was staying in the Sama Same hotel, so it would have been easy to have relayed the information). Also, why was there no loudspeaker or members of staff patrolling the queue and why were there not enough check in desks open. I have travelled extensively for many years all over the world and have never had such an unnecessary anxious experience ever. I shall be returned through KL airport in on month to fly home to the UK and I am wondering how many hours I should allow simply to check in my luggage this time?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"KLIA has never disappointed"

(Malaysia)

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport is simply fantastic. Despite it being large I generally find it takes 10 minutes from gate to taxi which is excellent. I travel about 10 times a year and KLIA has never disappointed. Ground staff are ready to guide passengers, convenient shops are available, luggage is often ready when you come out of customs. There are information and help desks and the signage is excellent. The staff talk a multitude of languages and are always willing to help. There are lockers available along with an array of restaurants, cafes and bars.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"immigration is slow and lethargic"

(United Kingdom)

I can't believe that they have the air-conditioning turned down, it is so hot compared to Singapore Changi. Even the escalators are switched off and you have to use the one lift available for upper deck flight. Toilets are dirty, immigration is slow and lethargic. Boarding is last minute, no urgency. Is like their local airlines, cost cuts all over the place, it was not like this before.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Very convoluted layout"

(India)

Used KLIA 2. Transited inbound, and formally used it on outbound. Functional airport with low-cost sensibilities and a very smooth international-domestic transit. Very convoluted layout, though, involving many snaking corridors. Overactive air conditioning that freezes you, and horrible airside food and shopping options for a city like KL. Landside shopping mall is immense but misses the point completely as it precedes check-in. Snaking corridors (yet again) that make it confusing. Clean, but loos were rarely fully dry.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"few seats, cramped spaces"

(Indonesia)

KLIA has excellent access to and from the city, incredible shopping and restaurant options, and quick lines for security. However, it's a very different place once you pass through security into the boarding areas. The wide open, gorgeous interior now has low ceilings, few seats, cramped spaces, and a very limited amount of places to choose from to eat or drink. If it's your first time through the airport, you have no idea that the incredible options available to the whole public quickly disappear after you commit to finding your boarding gate. This experience is vastly different than what you'd find in America and it's jolting at first. As a frequent traveler, I know to wait to eat or drink until you've passed through security, but at KLIA it's the opposite, with no warning. My first time in the airport left me hungry and thirsty with one very expensive option to choose from. I'm excited to travel to KL again, and to take advantage of most of what KLIA has to offer, but I do not look forward to sitting at the boarding gate again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"lots of bottlenecks"

(Netherlands)

KLIA is so inefficient with lots of bottlenecks. On arrival I love the fast train service to KL. But there was a holdup on the elevators causing unnecessary delays. On departure, it has massive check in counters. But the long queues is ridiculous for Malaysia Airlines. Not enough booths open. Nice is the fact you can checkin quite early leaving you with only carryon bags. In the 2 terminals there are lots of shopping and food options. Also free transfer to close by Outlet mall.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"horrifying experience"

(Singapore)

Visited KLIA2 at Kuala Lumpur on 20th December 2015 - absolutely horrifying experience. Check in was disorganised, staff clueless, crowd management was horrible. We got to the airport 3 hours early and was stuck in the check in queue for almost 2 hours. Besides the fact that facilities are new, I'm not sure how KLIA2 got such a high rating.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Shopping offering is mediocre"

(Malaysia)

Terminal 1 of Kuala Lumpur International Airport it is quite clean overall. Shopping offering is mediocre, and there really isn't much to do, particularly if you don't have lounge access and having to roam around with nothing to do before boarding. But the rain-forest located at the airport was a not bad experience for me.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"KLIA2 was totally messy"

(Singapore)

Went to KL for a day trip last week. KLIA2 was totally messy. The departure hall was crammed with people, it made the check in process chaotic. Airside has few shops and amenities and does not even have a place for viewing. I can't believe KLIA2 was a new terminal as it lacks so much compared to the main satellite terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no