Top 100 Airports  

KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 386 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"two hour long queue"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Two hour long queue at immigration is insane. Landed at 5.30pm, entered the line at 6pm. Cleared the line at 8pm. No idea where my luggage was, because that information had been cleared from the board hours ago. Walked from empty carousel to empty carousel where luggage was piled up at the far end of each.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"too few restaurants at departure"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Most of the facilities at the Kuala Lumpur airport are very good. From the check in counters to the toilets to the baggage collection area. The queuing time is relatively short too. But the problem is there is too few restaurants are the departure level. The waiting area in front of the gate is also very bad, only providing 1 disabled toilet. The air conditioning is not cold enough.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"needs to improve the process"

(Ireland)

Very slow passport and security processing at KLIA Kuala Lumpur. 1 hour from train arrival to gate. No time for breakfast. Security staff are very slow. This used to be one of the world's best airports, sadly no longer. Management needs to improve the process. Why have good facilities if customers get no time to use them?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"staff are very slow"

(India)

This is one of the worst international airports I have visited. Staff are very slow, extremely dirty and smelly toilets. There was no drinking water supply, staff were not sure of flight departure timings and the flight timings delayed were not updated on the board. People just kept asking and waiting while they had no idea. No feedback forms available.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"extremely slow work attitude"

(Malaysia)

The speed of luggage delivery on arrival to the baggage carousel has somewhat improved, but cannot say much for the speed of immigration clearance for foreigners. A friend took 2 hours from arrival to exiting of the arrival exit. This is due to very long queue at the immigration clearance line and their extremely slow work attitude. The placing of the Customs tax rebate counter for departing foreigners is most ridiculously located at the arrival floor area and there was no signage directing to its location on the departure level. No signage of car rental companies for those who wish to pick up a rental car on arrival. Most of the public toilets all over the airport is in an atrocious state.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"happy with the KLIA 2"

(Malaysia)

KLIA 2 does not disappoint as depicted by some of the bad press it received. I have to admit the boarding gates are a long walk but quite similar to the main terminal. The cleanliness is good, however, the signage needs to be improved in certain areas. I would recommend arriving 3 hours before departure since the journey to Gates Q, could take some time. The shops are full of world class products as well as local items, however, snacks can be extremely expensive. The immigration department works well, quick and attentive. Arrival signage was excellently placed and no disappointment there. Very happy with the KLIA 2.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"be prepared for utter misery"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Usual long flight from Africa with no sleep. All good so far as pretty much empty airport and ready for the hotel and a bed. Only one last hurdle to go being immigration. But the horror that awaited us was too much to bear. A completely full hall with lines of immobile tired cranky passengers waiting. The locals counters where empty with as many manned booths as the foreign passport holders. The lines of people shuffled forward with glacial speed and it took us nearly 2 hours to get through. Yup 2 hours. My experience pretty much mirrors other comments on this site so be prepared for utter misery. It was better on the way out but I can see it backing up as the time gets nearer to rush hour
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"worst immigration system I've seen"

(United States)

I was surprised at how bad going through immigration at KLIA Kuala Lumpur was considering that Malaysia wants to increase its tourism numbers. The first problem is at the preliminary entrance to the immigration hall where a single employee checks your passport. Since they had only one person a big line formed. Once I got through that I got to the actual immigration lines which were huge for foreigners. The line for Malaysians and first / business class was basically nothing. The airport has no staff on hand to guide passengers, it's a free for all mess. I've been waiting 45 minutes and still am only half way through the line. This is the worst immigration system I've seen in SE Asia. Again, I'm surprised they are permitting this to happen as it is going to detract tourists from entering Malaysia.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it was chaos at Immigration"

(Germany)

Today we arrived at KLIA on a flight from Bangkok and it was chaos at Immigration. Long lines, we waited over 2 hours to just get to the Immigration counter and the worse thing was that there were only 2 both open for foreigners - for the Malaysian nationals there were 6 open and nobody waited. It was chaos in the lines, no Airport Staff around, no lines set up. Everybody was pushing their way in, people jumped the line, children cried because they were pressed. It was a nightmare - I fly a lot but I have never anywhere in the world experienced anything like this. It was dangerous. I hope that somebody from KLIA will read this comment and do something about it. When we were finally through I went to the desk of the Tourism Authority from Malaysia and complained - but they were not interested at all. If that is the way Malaysia handles tourists, than I will not be back here.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"unhelpful and rude staff"

(United Kingdom)

Long passport security lines before you even get to the baggage security area. We arrived at the airport at 8.15 for a 10.50 flight. We checked in by 09.00 and immediately proceeded to security - we were stood there for almost 90 minutes. The queue was insanely long. If someone has issues with their passport - everyone in the line just has to stand and wait - there isn't a system to refer them to someone else for further questioning. When there was an announcement about our plane boarding - there was still about 25 people ahead of us. I went to speak to the counter staff but they said to just wait in line. There was also a group of about 10 tourists who decided to jump the queue forcefully to ensure they got on their flight - without a care about the people shouting at them and the standoff between the group leader and a traveller who he'd pushed In front of. clearly, I wasn't about to do the same although tempted. There wasn't a fast track service. It was a horrible wait. Finally after security, we start running to our gate, only to be met by the baggage scan security area. After that, it's a shuttle to the gate and a long run. The signs were confusing and my partner and I had a lot of domestics in that airport about where to go. We literally sprint to the gate carrying heavy bags and the woman at the gate started screaming in my face about being late and I should have been there earlier. I explained about the security checks and being at the airport st 8, to which she replied I should have known its peak hours. Her manner was horrid. Anyway, there were a number of other travellers going to London at the back of our line - none of them turned up on the flight and we saw a lot of bags being removed. Also empty seats. The airport needs a lot more staff. There were lots of empty counters at the first security area - if it's "peak travelling time," doesn't it make sense to add more staff at the security checks and open more counters? Ridiculous. I've travelled to 39 countries and never experienced an airport like this. Stressful experience which isn't helped by unhelpful and rude staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no